Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania

An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Bushtops Camps a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Bushtops Camps is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Bushtops Camps?

No rating for Bushtops Camps was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Google
No Google listing in Bushtops Camps' name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Bushtops Camps' name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Bushtops Camps' name was found.
Sources: trustpilot. Read 20 October 2026.

Where are Bushtops Camps' camps?

Kenya (Mara Bushtops) and Tanzania (Serengeti Bushtops and Roving Bushtops). Three luxury tented camps: Mara Bushtops, Serengeti Bushtops and Roving Bushtops.

Countries
Kenya (Mara Bushtops) and Tanzania (Serengeti Bushtops and Roving Bushtops).
Camps
Three luxury tented camps: Mara Bushtops, Serengeti Bushtops and Roving Bushtops. Camps are described as managed by Orion Hotels companies; owned versus managed is not further stated.
Where they are
Mara Bushtops: Isaaten Conservancy next to the Masai Mara reserve, Kenya (Siana airstrip). Serengeti Bushtops: within Serengeti National Park, northern Tanzania (Kogatende airstrip). Roving Bushtops: northern Serengeti near the Mara River (June to October) and Kusini, southern Serengeti (December to March).
Land and traversing
Mara Bushtops is in a private conservancy: 'a unique leasehold partnership with local Maasai tribes' over the 6,500 hectare Isaaten Conservancy. Serengeti Bushtops is inside Serengeti National Park (park and concession fees apply).
Mobile and seasonal camps
Roving Bushtops is the mobile camp: northern Serengeti 1 June to 31 October and southern Serengeti (Kusini) 21 December to 31 March, so it moves with the wildebeest. Birthing season in the south is January to March.
Camp sizes
Roving: 8 tents, maximum 16 guests. Smallest is Roving (8); largest are Mara and Serengeti (about 15 suites).
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Bushtops Camps' camp.

How much does Bushtops Camps cost?

Bushtops Camps publishes its own rates: lowest published adult rate: $1090 per person per night at Serengeti Bushtops, Mid season (6 Jan to 2 Apr, 1 Nov to 20 Dec), 2026.

Lowest published
Lowest published adult rate: $1090 per person per night at Serengeti Bushtops, Mid season (6 Jan to 2 Apr, 1 Nov to 20 Dec), 2026.
What the rate includes
Mara: accommodation, a la carte full board, two game drives a day or a full-day drive with picnic (private for non-solo bookings), airstrip transfers (may be shared), sundowner and night drive, walking safari, laundry, wifi, non-alcoholic drinks, beers, house wines and selected house spirits, spa membership. Not included: conservancy fee USD 104.40 and park fee USD 100 (Jan to Jun) or USD 200 (Jul to Dec), daily. Serengeti park fee USD 82.60 per 24 hours plus concession fee USD 59.00 or 70.80 a day.
Sources: price per person per day. Read 20 October 2026.

What are Bushtops Camps' booking terms?

Bushtops Camps' published terms: '30% non refundable deposit'.

Deposit
'30% non refundable deposit'.
Balance due
Final payment '45 days prior to arrival'.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
Currencies and card fees
Rates and extras are in USD ('all camp extras are charged in US$'; US dollars printed after 2000 are preferred in Tanzania). Tips cannot be paid by credit card.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit. Read 20 October 2026.

Who is Bushtops Camps best for?

Best for: Tented camps in the Mara and Serengeti, on Bushtops Camps' own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
'The Bush is not ideal for very young children. However, for anyone over the age of seven' the camps are suited. Child rate (under 18) is 60% of adult, for example Mara 2026 Peak $1122. Family tents: Mara Leopard and Rhino suites (up to 6), Serengeti combined tents (up to 6 or 8), Roving combined wheeled tents (up to 6).
Teenagers and families
'Whether you are a mum, dad, teenager or cub'. Family tents can be linked, or a whole camp booked for a family.
Solo travellers
Rates are per person per night (shared). A single supplement is not stated.
Private guide and vehicle
A private game drive vehicle is included for every non-solo booking ('Game drives are on a private basis for all non solo bookings').
Exclusive use
Exclusive use of Roving Bushtops: 8 doubles/twins with up to 4 extra beds, minimum 2 nights, 4 vehicles included. Festive season on request.
Activities
Mara: early, full-day, afternoon and night game drives, sunrise, walking safari, balloon, Masai village, Kakiya Cave, school visit, bush breakfast, sundowner. Serengeti: early, afternoon and full-day drives, walking safaris, balloon, Klipspringer dinner, Simba's Rock sundowner, school visit.
Sources: family and child policy, solo travellers, activities. Read 20 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Bushtops Camps?

Angama, Cottar's Safaris, Enkewa Camp, Entumoto Safari Camp, Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps and Governors' Camp Collection also own and run their own camps in Kenya only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Angama: best for: The Mara Triangle and Amboseli.
  • Cottar's Safaris: best for: A family-run Mara camp in Olderkesi. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cottar') from 132 reviews.
  • Enkewa Camp: best for: Owner-run camps in the southern Mara.
  • Entumoto Safari Camp: best for: A family-run camp in Mara Siana. 5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'ENTUMOTO') from 8 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
  • Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps: best for: Kenya conservancy camps at Amboseli and Mara. 4.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 121 reviews.
  • Governors' Camp Collection: best for: Riverside camps inside the Masai Mara.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Bushtops Camps?

Described as 'family-run' with 'Kenyan roots go back four generations'.

Trading name
Trading names 'Bushtops' and 'Bushtops Camps'. Mara Bushtops 'is managed by Orion Hotels Ltd.'
Based in
Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya (head office of Orion Hotels Limited).
Owner or parent
Described as 'family-run' with 'Kenyan roots go back four generations'. Founder Claudia Stuart coordinates infrastructure and sponsorship.
In its own words
'Rediscover primal life' and 'Wild Luxury Safaris'.
Conservation model
Mara Bushtops has a leasehold partnership with Maasai landowners over the 6,500 hectare Isaaten Conservancy; rent funds livelihoods and extra revenue funds community healthcare and education. Founder member of the Maasai Mara Wildlife Conservancies Association.

How do you book Bushtops Camps?

Direct: a 'Check Availability' form and [email protected].

Where it sells
Direct: a 'Check Availability' form and [email protected]. No resident rates or trade portal are mentioned.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Sells through representatives: Andrea Hugo Associates (USA and Canada), Travel Promoters (UK), HIP Hotels (Brazil), PHC (Latin America), DiaMonde (Germany, Switzerland, Austria) and a Hong Kong and China contact. No agent portal or preferred partner statement.
Sources: where it sells, trade and planner partnerships. Read 20 October 2026.

Bushtops Camps: the questions people ask

How much does Bushtops Camps cost per night?

Lowest published adult rate: $1090 per person per night at Serengeti Bushtops, Mid season (6 Jan to 2 Apr, 1 Nov to 20 Dec), 2026.

How many camps does Bushtops Camps have?

Three luxury tented camps: Mara Bushtops, Serengeti Bushtops and Roving Bushtops.

What activities does Bushtops Camps offer?

Mara: early, full-day, afternoon and night game drives, sunrise, walking safari, balloon, Masai village, Kakiya Cave, school visit, bush breakfast, sundowner. Serengeti: early, afternoon and full-day drives, walking safaris, balloon, Klipspringer dinner, Simba's Rock sundowner, school visit.

How does Bushtops Camps fund conservation?

Mara Bushtops has a leasehold partnership with Maasai landowners over the 6,500 hectare Isaaten Conservancy; rent funds livelihoods and extra revenue funds community healthcare and education. Founder member of the Maasai Mara Wildlife Conservancies Association.

What is included in Bushtops Camps' rates?

Mara: accommodation, a la carte full board, two game drives a day or a full-day drive with picnic (private for non-solo bookings), airstrip transfers (may be shared), sundowner and night drive, walking safari, laundry, wifi, non-alcoholic drinks, beers, house wines and selected house spirits, spa membership. Not included: conservancy fee USD 104.40 and park fee USD 100 (Jan to Jun) or USD 200 (Jul to Dec), daily.

What deposit does Bushtops Camps ask for?

'30% non refundable deposit'.

Does Bushtops Camps charge a single supplement?

Rates are per person per night (shared). A single supplement is not stated.

Does Bushtops Camps accept children?

'The Bush is not ideal for very young children. However, for anyone over the age of seven' the camps are suited. Child rate (under 18) is 60% of adult, for example Mara 2026 Peak $1122.

Does Bushtops Camps offer a private vehicle?

A private game drive vehicle is included for every non-solo booking ('Game drives are on a private basis for all non solo bookings').

Where are Bushtops Camps' camps?

Mara Bushtops: Isaaten Conservancy next to the Masai Mara reserve, Kenya (Siana airstrip). Serengeti Bushtops: within Serengeti National Park, northern Tanzania (Kogatende airstrip).

Who owns Bushtops Camps?

Described as 'family-run' with 'Kenyan roots go back four generations'.

What are Bushtops Camps' reviews?

No rating for Bushtops Camps was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Bushtops Camps published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Bushtops Camps did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.