Expeditions · Solo Rail Holiday Index 2026

Best Rail Holidays for Solo Travellers in 2026: 13 Operators Assessed, 1 Clears the Bar, Plus Escorted vs Independent, Luxury Trains Priced for One, and Japan and Europe by Rail Alone

By Richard J. · written from Valencia13 operators assessed · 8 luxury trains comparedVerified 23 September 2026

The best rail holiday operator for solo travellers in 2026 is Great Rail Journeys, at 68/100 — it charges a solo traveller only the hotel's single-room cost and nothing on the train, waives even that on listed departures, publishes ABTA V2170, ATOL 3278 and ABTOT 5386, and is the only operator assessed that will tell you whether other solo travellers are booked on your tour — and it is the only one of thirteen to clear the 60-point bar, with Railtrail Tours (30) and Tailor Made Rail (30) next. Thirteen escorted and independent rail operators were scored on seven published criteria, and eight luxury trains were checked, unscored, for whether a solo traveller can book a cabin at a single fare. The finding is consolidation: Great Rail Journeys now owns Vacations By Rail and Rail Discoveries, so three of the thirteen names are one company, and it is also the only one that writes its solo policy down. The page re-cuts the data for escorted versus independent rail, for the luxury trains with a single cabin, and for the two rail systems solo travellers ask about most, Switzerland and Japan.

Verified 23 September 2026 · every operator's own solo-traveller, booking-conditions and accreditation pages · Belmond, Golden Eagle, JR Kyushu · Trustpilot, Feefo, AITO · re-read at source 23 Sep 2026

The best rail holidays for solo travellers in 2026, ranked

How the score works (100 points). Single-supplement policy 25 — no supplement on a listed range 25; supplement limited to the hotel's single-room cost, stated, with no-supplement departures listed 18; reduced or some waived, unlisted 12; a supplement with its basis published 6; nothing 0 · Solo-only departures 15 — a listed solo-only range 15, some 8, none 0 · Tour manager and group cap 15 — a cap of 25 or under with a tour manager throughout 15; a published cap over 25 with a tour manager 10; a tour manager and no cap 5; independent operators score 10 for a 24-hour support line · Financial protection 15 — a licence number 15, a scheme named 8 · Price published 10 — full per-person prices 10, from-prices 5 · Independence 10 — free days or optional excursions stated 10, a general statement 5 · Solos-on-departure disclosure 10 — the operator will say whether other solo travellers are booked 10. Where a page could not be read by us on 23 September the criterion is n/r and the score is rescaled; an operator whose site could not be read at all is assessed, not scored. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
#OperatorScore /100Solo policyEscort and capProtectionBest for
1Great Rail Journeys68Hotel single-room cost only; waived on listed departuresTour manager throughout; 30–40 max by collectionABTA V2170 · ATOL 3278 · ABTOT 5386The solo traveller who wants an escorted rail tour with the policy in writing
Railtrail Tours30Not publishedTour manager; minimum 15, no maximumATOL 9056 · ABTOT 5577Steam and heritage rail with a licence number
Tailor Made Rail30Not published; "rooms for solo occupancy" marketedIndependent, no in-destination representativeTTA Q2542Independent European rail with free days built in
Ffestiniog Travel29Single supplements "at cost"Escorted, average group 18ATOL 3047 · ABTOT · ABTA memberHeritage-railway enthusiasts
Railbookers28"Please give us a call" for individual pricingIndependent; business-hours supportABTA Y6401 · ATOL 7579 (UK) · CST 2115735-40 (US)Custom independent rail itineraries
Planet Rail20Not publishedTailor-made; no cap or 24-hour lineATOL 11962 · ABTOT 5585Family-run tailor-made European rail
The red Bernina Express train curving through the Swiss Alps
The Bernina Express in the Swiss Alps — Great Rail Journeys' Classic Glacier & Bernina Express, nine days from £2,749, is one of its listed no-single-supplement departures for 2027. Photo: iloveswitzerland / Pexels

Score breakdown by criterion

OperatorSupp. /25Solo-only /15TM & cap /15Protect. /15Price /10Indep. /10Disclose /10Total
Great Rail Journeys18010155101068
Railtrail Tours00515100030
Tailor Made Rail00015510030
Ffestiniog Travel60515n/r0029 26 of 90 read
Railbookers00015n/r10028 25 of 90 read
Planet Rail0001550020
Amtrak Vacations0008n/r009 8 of 90 read

The table shows one operator that has written a solo policy and six that have not. Great Rail Journeys' single travellers page states that its supplement "reflects the extra costs levied by some hotels for single occupancy" and that nothing is added for rail, excursions, transfers, meals or the tour manager, lists departures where even that is waived, and promises to confirm whether other solo travellers are on a tour — the only such promise found in the field, and worth 10 points on its own. Every other operator publishes a licence number and nothing about the solo traveller: Railtrail, Planet Rail and Tailor Made Rail no supplement wording at all, Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations "please give us a call", Ffestiniog "at cost". Nobody runs a solo-only departure. Great Rail Journeys loses points only on group size, where its collections run to 30 and 40 guests (10), and on price, where its listings show from-prices (5). Three operators could not be scored: Byway's site refuses every automated reader, Inntravel's pages return no text outside a browser, and Rail Escapes' domain did not resolve. Vacations By Rail and Rail Discoveries are assessed as what they now are, Great Rail Journeys under other names.

Escorted rail tours vs independent rail holidays for solo travellers

For a solo traveller who wants company the escorted operators are Great Rail Journeys (tour manager throughout, up to 15% of any tour's guests solo, 135 departures with solo places in the 90 days from 23 September), Railtrail Tours (tour manager, groups from 15, ATOL 9056) and Ffestiniog Travel (tour leader, average group 18, ATOL 3047); for the traveller who wants the train and not the group the independent operators are Tailor Made Rail (TTA-bonded, free days built in, no representative in destination), Railbookers (ABTA Y6401 and ATOL 7579 in the UK, solo pricing on request) and Planet Rail (ATOL 11962, tailor-made), with Byway and Inntravel unreadable to us. The test is whether a solo traveller can know before booking who will be there, what happens if nobody is, and who answers the phone at midnight; only the escorted operators answer the first two, and none of the independents publishes a 24-hour line.

Empty first-class seats inside a train carriage in Hamburg, Germany
A first-class carriage — a seat is priced for one, which is why rail is the one form of travel where the solo traveller pays no supplement to move. Photo: Claudia Schmalz / Pexels
OperatorModelSolo policy in its wordsSupportPrice example
Great Rail JourneysEscortedSupplement reflects hotel single-room cost only; waived on select dates; will confirm other solos on request; up to 15% of guests soloTour manager throughoutClassic Glacier & Bernina Express, 9 days, Mar–Jul 2027, from £2,749, no single supplement
Railtrail ToursEscortedNot publishedTour manager; minimum 15Scottish Steam, Malt & Ale Trail, 6 days, 24 Sep 2026, £1,219
Ffestiniog TravelEscorted and unescortedSingle room supplements "at cost"Tour leader on escorted tours; average group 18Not readable by us
Tailor Made RailIndependent"Rooms for solo occupancy" marketed; no supplement wordingWeekdays 9–5:30, Saturday 10–4; "no in-destination representation"Magical Journeys of Switzerland, 6 days, from £1,749
RailbookersIndependent"Pricing is based on double occupancy; for individual traveler pricing, please give us a call"Business hours, seven daysPer itinerary; no example captured
Planet RailTailor-madeNot publishedSmall family firm; no cap or 24-hour line publishedLake Garda via Locarno by first-class rail, from £1,595
Amtrak VacationsIndependentSame wording as Railbookers: call for individual pricingNot publishedNot readable by us

Two things to know. Great Rail Journeys' cap of 15% solo guests per tour is a ceiling, not a promise: on a 30-guest Classic tour that is at most four or five people travelling alone, and the operator will tell you the number if you ask, which is the point of the disclosure criterion. And the independent operators' silence on solo pricing is not a policy: a hotel room is priced for two and the single traveller pays the difference, which none of them prints. The getting around Europe guide covers the choice between train, car and plane that comes before any of this.

Luxury trains with single cabins or a single fare for solo travellers

Of eight luxury trains checked, Golden Eagle is the only one that both publishes a single fare and runs a cabin designed for one — €17,600 for a Deluxe single against €11,800 per person twin on Castles of Transylvania, and Cabin 5 in each Gold Class carriage of the Trans-Siberian train reserved for singles — while Belmond's Eastern & Oriental Express prints a Presidential Suite for sole occupancy at $5,500 for three nights, the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express and Royal Scotsman describe every cabin as sleeping two with no single pricing, Seven Stars in Kyushu states in its English FAQ that a solo guest pays the full room rate, and Rocky Mountaineer, Rovos Rail and the Maharajas' Express publish no fare on the pages we could read. The test is the operator's own accommodation and fares pages: a single cabin, a single fare, or a stated rule for a solo guest in a double.

TrainSingle cabin?Single fare or rule, as publishedExample fareSource
Golden Eagle (Trans-Siberian, Transylvania)Yes: Cabin 5 in each Gold Class carriage "reserved for singles"Deluxe single €17,600 vs twin €11,800 pp, Castles of Transylvania 2026€11,800–25,300 pp, 7 nightsCastles of Transylvania
Eastern & Oriental ExpressNo; suites sleep up to 2"Presidential Suite for Sole Occupancy" $5,500 per adult, Essence of Malaysia$5,500, 3 nights, sole occupancyJourneys
Venice Simplon-Orient-ExpressNo; Historic Cabins, Suites and Grand Suites for twoNo single pricing shown£4,275 per adult, Paris–Venice, Historic Cabin, double occupancyJourneys
Belmond Royal ScotsmanNo; Grand Suites, Double and Twin Cabins all for twoNo single pricing shown£7,050 pp, 2 nights, A Taste of Scotland with Tom KitchinJourneys
Seven Stars in KyushuNot statedEnglish FAQ: a solo guest may travel but pays the full single-occupancy room rate; no sharingFare table not locatedEnglish site
Rocky MountaineerNot applicable: daylight seating, hotels at nightPages returned 403 to us; no current solo wording readNot readable by usrockymountaineer.com
Rovos RailNot statedNo fare or supplement on journey pages; rates by brochureDar es Salaam journey 16 nights from 2026; no price shownDar es Salaam
Maharajas' ExpressNot obtainedTariff pages unreadable to usNot readable by usthe-maharajas.com

Golden Eagle's single fare is about 49% above its twin fare per person, which is what a solo guest pays for a cabin built for two on any train that will sell it to one; the number is the useful thing, not the percentage, because Belmond will not print either for the Orient-Express or the Royal Scotsman, and a solo enquiry there is a telephone negotiation. Rocky Mountaineer's daytime model — seats on the train, hotels off it — means the supplement lives in the hotel nights, which is the same structure as an escorted rail tour. The luxury train journeys ranking, the Orient-Express guide and the Royal Scotsman guide cover the trains themselves.

Solo travel by train in Switzerland and Japan: what the operators sell

For the two rail systems solo travellers ask about most, the escorted options are Great Rail Journeys' Glacier and Bernina tours (Highlights of the Glacier Express, 8 days, £1,799, departed 27 September 2026 with solo places; Classic Glacier & Bernina Express, 9 days from £2,749, no single supplement, 2027) and Planet Rail's and Tailor Made Rail's independent Swiss itineraries from £1,595 and £1,749; for Japan the only priced product in this field is Seven Stars in Kyushu's rule that a solo guest pays the full room rate, so a solo traveller in Japan is better served by the rail pass than by a packaged tour. The test is a priced, dated product a solo traveller can book today, and Switzerland has several while Japan, in this field, has one rule and no package.

Switzerland is the easiest solo rail country in Europe because the product is the train, not the group: the Swiss Federal Railways sells the Glacier Express and Bernina Express seats that these operators package, and a seat is priced for one. Japan is the same, for the same reason, and the JR Pass guide is the place to start; the Twilight Express Mizukaze guide and Seven Stars vs Mizukaze cover the two luxury sleepers, both of which sell cabins for two.

Every operator was scored on the same seven criteria, fixed before any site was read, and no score on this page is influenced by a commercial relationship. The bar was set at 60 in advance and one operator clears it; the rubric was not softened to produce six names. Byway and Inntravel could not be read at all and are assessed without a score. Corrections go to the address in the disclosure.

The one operator that clears the bar, in detail

1. Great Rail Journeys — 68/100

A train crossing the Landwasser Viaduct in Switzerland amid forested slopes
The Landwasser Viaduct on the Glacier Express route — Great Rail Journeys' eight-day Highlights of the Glacier Express departed 27 September 2026 at £1,799 with solo places still open. Photo: Jean-Paul Wettstein / Pexels

York, founded 1973 · owned by Vitruvian Partners since May 2025 · ABTA V2170, ATOL 3278, ABTOT 5386 · Trustpilot 4.8/5 from about 29,000 reviews · now includes Vacations By Rail (US) and Rail Discoveries

Great Rail Journeys scores 18 on the supplement because it does two things nobody else in the field does: it states what the supplement is for — "the extra costs levied by some hotels for single occupancy", with nothing added for rail, excursions, transfers, meals or the tour manager — and it lists departures on which even that is waived, on its no-single-supplement page, where the nine-day Classic Glacier & Bernina Express runs from £2,749 in 2027. It takes the full 10 for disclosure, because its single travellers page promises to confirm whether other solo travellers are booked and to say when only single rooms remain, and the full 10 for independence, stating that group excursions are "by no means required". It publishes all three protection numbers on its accreditation pages. It loses on solo-only departures, which it does not run (0); on group size, where Discoveries tours average 30–35 with a maximum of 40 and Classic tours 20–25 with a maximum of 30 (10); and on price, where its listings are from-prices (5). It caps solo guests at "up to 15%" of any tour, which is the honest number behind the phrase "solo-friendly". Its late-availability page showed 135 tours with solo places in the 90 days from 23 September 2026. Since 14 July 2026 Vacations By Rail trades as Great Rail Journeys in the US, and raildiscoveries.com now redirects to greatrail.com.

The other twelve operators, assessed and not ranked

Railtrail Tours, Tailor Made Rail, Ffestiniog Travel, Railbookers, Planet Rail and Amtrak Vacations were scored and fell short; Byway and Inntravel could not be read; Vacations By Rail and Rail Discoveries are now Great Rail Journeys; Rail Escapes' domain did not resolve; Riviera Travel's UK rail tours could not be reached. Every fact below was read at the company's own site on 23 September 2026, with the URL beside it.

OperatorModelSolo policyProtectionReviewsNote
Railtrail ToursEscorted; minimum group 15Not publishedATOL 9056 · ABTOT 5577Trustpilot 4.7/5 from 307Scottish Steam, Malt & Ale Trail, 6 days, 24 Sep 2026, £1,219. Booking conditions
Tailor Made RailIndependent, London, founded 2013"Rooms for solo occupancy" marketed; no wording on costTTA Q2542Trustpilot 4.8/5 from 758Magical Journeys of Switzerland, 6 days, from £1,749. FAQ
Ffestiniog TravelEscorted and unescorted, PorthmadogSingle supplements "at cost"ATOL 3047 · ABTOT · ABTA and AITO memberAITO 97% excellent from 605Average group 18; no priced tour readable. Things you need to know
RailbookersIndependent, Boston and London"Give us a call" for individual pricingABTA Y6401 · ATOL 7579 (UK) · CST 2115735-40 (US)Trustpilot 4.6/5 from 739 (UK)Railbookers Group, formerly Yankee Leisure Group; also owns Amtrak Vacations. FAQ
Planet RailTailor-made, North Yorkshire, family-runNot publishedATOL 11962 · ABTOT 5585Trustpilot 3.7/5Lake Garda via Locarno, from £1,595. Booking conditions
Amtrak VacationsIndependent, USSame call-for-pricing wording as RailbookersVia parent: CST 2115735-40Trustpilot 4.5/5 from 106Railbookers Group brand. FAQ
BywayIndependent, flight-free, London B CorpUnreadable: robots.txt refuses every pathUnreadableUnreadable£5m Series A (2024) and 2026 sleeper routes reported by trade press. byway.travel
InntravelSelf-guided walking and rail, YorkUnreadable: pages return no text outside a browserUnreadableFeefo 4.6/5 from 2,422Publishes a top-ten of walking holidays for solo travellers. Solo travel
Vacations By RailNow Great Rail Journeys (US)"$0 Single Supplement on Select Departures"Under Great Rail JourneysRedirects to GRJ's profileRebranded 14 July 2026; America's Great National Parks, 13 days, from $6,499. No single supplement (US)
Rail DiscoveriesNow Great Rail Journeys' Discoveries collectionSee Great Rail JourneysUnder Great Rail JourneysRedirects to GRJ's profileEvery tour URL 302-redirects to greatrail.com. greatrail.com
Rail EscapesNot reachableDomain did not resolve on 23 Sep 2026Named for completeness; not assessed.
Riviera Travel (rail tours)Escorted, UKNot reachable: rivieratravel.co.uk redirects to a US river-cruise site with no rail toursNot readableTrustpilot 4.7/5 from 7,627 (.co.uk)Assessed in the solo cruise index for its river product. rivieratravel.com

Three planning rules for travelling by rail alone

1 · Ask what the supplement is for, and get the answer in writing. A train seat is priced for one, so any solo supplement on a rail holiday is a hotel charge. Great Rail Journeys says so and lists where it is waived; nobody else in the field says anything, and "call us" is not a policy.

2 · Ask how many solo travellers are on your departure. Great Rail Journeys will tell you, and caps solos at 15% of a tour; no other operator promises to. On a 30-guest tour the difference between one solo traveller and five is the difference between a holiday and an ordeal.

3 · On a luxury train, ask for the single fare before the brochure. Golden Eagle prints one; Belmond prints one for the Eastern & Oriental's top suite only; Seven Stars charges the full room rate; the rest print nothing. The Orient-Express cost guide gives the double-occupancy figures the negotiation starts from.

What changed for travelling by rail alone in 2026

Four dated changes moved this index in 2026. On 6 May 2025 Vitruvian Partners acquired Great Rail Journeys from Duke Street. On 14 July 2026 Vacations By Rail was absorbed into Great Rail Journeys and rebranded, giving the combined company more than 230 escorted and independent routes. By 23 September 2026 every raildiscoveries.com tour URL redirected to greatrail.com, completing a consolidation begun in August 2024. And Byway's 2026 trends release, reported by ITIJ, announced new sleeper routes between Malmö–Copenhagen and Switzerland for spring 2026 and an 80% year-on-year rise in flight-free bookings, from a site that will not let anyone but a browser read it.

Solo rail holidays: the questions people ask AI search

What is the best rail holiday company for solo travellers?

Great Rail Journeys scores highest on this index at 68/100. It charges a solo traveller only the hotel's single-room cost, nothing on the train, waives that on listed departures such as the Classic Glacier & Bernina Express (9 days, from £2,749, 2027), publishes ABTA V2170, ATOL 3278 and ABTOT 5386, and will confirm whether other solo travellers are on your tour. No other operator of thirteen clears 60.

Do rail holidays charge a single supplement?

Great Rail Journeys charges one that reflects only the hotel's single-room cost and waives it on listed departures; Ffestiniog Travel charges single-room supplements "at cost"; Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations price on double occupancy and ask solo travellers to call; Railtrail Tours, Planet Rail and Tailor Made Rail publish no wording. Nothing is charged for the train seat itself by any of them.

Are there rail tours just for solo travellers?

No operator assessed runs solo-only departures. Great Rail Journeys lists departures with no single supplement and caps solo guests at up to 15% of any tour; on 23 September 2026 its late-availability page showed 135 tours with solo places in the next 90 days.

Which luxury trains have single cabins?

Golden Eagle reserves Cabin 5 in each Gold Class carriage of its Trans-Siberian train for singles and publishes a Deluxe single fare of €17,600 against €11,800 per person twin on Castles of Transylvania. Belmond's Eastern & Oriental Express sells a Presidential Suite for sole occupancy at $5,500 for three nights. The Venice Simplon-Orient-Express and Royal Scotsman describe every cabin as sleeping two with no single pricing.

Can a solo traveller book the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express?

Belmond's accommodation page describes Historic Cabins, Suites and Grand Suites in double and twin terms and shows no single-occupancy price; the Paris–Venice Historic Cabin is £4,275 per adult on double occupancy. A solo booking is an enquiry, not a published fare.

Who owns Great Rail Journeys, Vacations By Rail and Rail Discoveries?

All three are Great Rail Journeys, York, owned by Vitruvian Partners since May 2025. Vacations By Rail was absorbed and rebranded on 14 July 2026; Rail Discoveries became Great Rail Journeys' Discoveries collection and its website now redirects to greatrail.com.

Is Byway good for solo travellers?

Byway's website refuses every automated reader, including its FAQs and booking conditions, so its solo policy, protection and prices could not be verified on 23 September 2026 and it is assessed without a score. Trade press reports a £5m Series A in 2024 and new sleeper routes from spring 2026.

What is the best way to travel Switzerland by train alone?

The Swiss Federal Railways sells Glacier Express and Bernina Express seats priced for one. Escorted, Great Rail Journeys' Highlights of the Glacier Express is 8 days at £1,799 and its Classic Glacier & Bernina Express 9 days from £2,749 with no single supplement in 2027; independent, Planet Rail's Lake Garda via Locarno is from £1,595 and Tailor Made Rail's Magical Journeys of Switzerland from £1,749.

Can you travel solo on Seven Stars in Kyushu?

Yes. Seven Stars' English FAQ states that a solo guest may travel but pays the full single-occupancy room rate; there is no sharing and no single cabin stated. The fare table was not located on the pages we could read.

Rankings are scored against published criteria fixed before any operator was read. Partners are labelled; there are none on this page. No link on this page is paid: every operator, railway, review and press link is editorial. Sources verified 23 September 2026: the solo-traveller, booking-conditions and accreditation pages of Great Rail Journeys, Railbookers, Vacations By Rail, Byway (blocked), Inntravel (unreadable), Planet Rail, Tailor Made Rail, Ffestiniog Travel, Rail Discoveries, Amtrak Vacations, Railtrail Tours and Riviera Travel; Belmond's journey pages for the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express, Royal Scotsman and Eastern & Oriental Express; Golden Eagle Luxury Trains; Rovos Rail; JR Kyushu's Seven Stars English site; Trustpilot, Feefo and AITO; Railway PRO of 6 May 2025; TravelPulse of 14 July 2026; ITIJ of 12 November 2025.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.