Antarctica Fly-Cruise vs Drake Crossing in 2026: 15 Operators Assessed, 6 Scored Out of 100, and What Happens When the Flight Cannot Fly
By Richard J. · written from Valencia15 operators assessed, 6 scored /100Verified 22 September 2026
The operator that answers the fly-or-sail question most honestly is Quark Expeditions, at 88/100 — it sells both routes, publishes a pros-and-cons comparison of them, and states in its own terms what happens and who pays when the charter flight cannot operate — followed by Aurora Expeditions (64), Antarctica21 (62), HX (61), Viking (61) and Lindblad Expeditions (60). Fifteen operators were assessed against six published criteria worth 100 points. The structural facts first: sailing costs 18 to 24 hours each way in good conditions and 36 to 48 in bad; flying costs about two hours each way and roughly a third more per day. Eight of the fifteen sell the air leg. Only one publishes an even-handed case for both.
Verified 22 September 2026 · operator booking conditions and passenger ticket contracts · IAATO member directory and category definitions · published fare pages · every figure re-read at source
Antarctica fly-cruise and Drake operators, scored out of 100
How the score works (100 points). Route honesty 20 — both routes sold and compared in the operator's own words 20, both sold without a comparison 14, one route with the trade-off stated 10, one route and silent 5 · Price transparency 20 — a published from-price on the operator's own pages, with the inclusion and exclusion list · Weather and cancellation 20 — the published clause for a delayed or cancelled air leg or embarkation 8, the cancellation penalty ladder by days out 7, the force-majeure clause 5 · Landing capacity 15 — passenger count against the IAATO 100-guests-ashore limit 6, guide ratio 5, zodiac count 4 · Operational credentials 15 — IAATO category 5, ice class 4, year built 3, flag state 3 · Time on the ground 10 — days in Antarctica and total trip days both published 10, total days only 3. Pass mark 60. Seven operators cleared it; the six highest are named and ranked and the rest are named below with their published figures and no score. Ties break first on route honesty, then on the number of first-party facts in the record, then alphabetically. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
#
Operator
Score /100
Routes sold
Published from-price
Air-delay terms
Passengers
1
Quark Expeditions
88
Both, and compared
US$17,591, 8 days
Published in full, with costs allocated
138–168
2
Aurora Expeditions
64
Both
US$16,795, 9 days
Contingency plan published; who pays not stated
130
3
Antarctica21
62
Fly-cruise only
US$5,995, 2027-28 season
The sharpest in the field: 2pm day four, 100% refunded
88
4
HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions)
61
Drake only
EUR 8,163, 12 days
Rebooking commitment on operator-booked air
233
5
Viking Expeditions
61
Drake only
US$14,999, 13 days
Delayed embarkation covered at no extra expense
378
6
Lindblad Expeditions / National Geographic
60
Both, in three forms
US$12,600, flights included
None — terms read in full and contain no clause
102–148
1 · Quark Expeditions88 / 100
2 · Aurora Expeditions64 / 100
3 · Antarctica2162 / 100
4 · HX61 / 100
5 · Viking Expeditions61 / 100
6 · Lindblad Expeditions60 / 100
Index cut — the six above are named and ranked
Oceanwide Expeditions60 — cleared the bar, missed on route honesty
Silversea58
Seabourn53
Atlas Ocean Voyages52
Poseidon Expeditions51
Swan Hellenic30
Scenic20 — site unreadable at source
Polar Latitudes Expeditions17 — record incomplete
Ponant5 — site blocked at source
Gold dashed line: the pass mark of 60, fixed before any data was collected. Scenic, Albatros and Ponant sit where they do because their documents could not be read on 22 September 2026, not because they publish nothing. Those criteria are flagged unscorable in the evidence base and a verifiable source closes them.
Fifteen operators on one scale. Quark's twenty-four point lead over the field is not a judgement of its ships — it is the distance between publishing your terms and not publishing them. Chart: Uncompromised Travel, from the scores in the table above.
Score breakdown by criterion
Operator
Route honesty /20
Price /20
Weather & cancellation /20
Landing capacity /15
Credentials /15
Time ashore /10
Total
Quark Expeditions
20
20
20
6
12
10
88
Aurora Expeditions
14
14
8
10
15
3
64
Antarctica21
5
14
20
8
12
3
62
HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions)
5
14
18
6
15
3
61
Viking Expeditions
5
14
18
6
15
3
61
Lindblad Expeditions
16
16
7
6
5
10
60
The table shows something the brochures do not. Route honesty and weather terms are inversely distributed across this field: the operator that talks most openly about the choice, Quark, is one of the few that also publishes the failure clause, while Antarctica21 — which has by some distance the best-drafted air-delay terms in Antarctic travel — scores five out of twenty on honesty because it sells only flying and never says so as a trade-off. HX and Viking tie at 61 on every single criterion and are listed alphabetically. The criterion that decides the order overall is weather and cancellation, worth twenty points: every operator scoring 18 or above finishes in the top five, and Lindblad, which is otherwise one of the most open operators here, drops to sixth almost entirely because its reservation terms were read in full and contain no air-delay clause at all.
Aurora Expeditions' Greg Mortimer off Antarctica, January 2020 — the 132-passenger, PC6-rated ship that established Aurora's Antarctic fleet before the Sylvia Earle took over its fly-cruise programme. Photo: Wikimedia Commons (file page).
Which Antarctica operators offer a fly-cruise, and which only sail
Eight of the fifteen operators assessed sell a King George Island air leg — Antarctica21, Quark, Aurora, Lindblad, Silversea, Atlas Ocean Voyages, Oceanwide and the newly merged Polar Latitudes Expeditions — and only Antarctica21 flies every guest both ways on every itinerary; the other seven sell Drake crossings only. This is our own tally of the operators in this index, not a figure IAATO publishes. The distinction matters more than the marketing suggests, because an operator that sells only one route has no commercial reason to describe the other one fairly, and fourteen of fifteen do not.
Antarctica21Fly-cruiseFly-cruise only — every itinerary, both directions
Quark ExpeditionsFly-cruiseDrakeBoth, and compared in its own words
Aurora ExpeditionsFly-cruiseDrakeBoth — fly-fly and fly-sail on Sylvia Earle
Lindblad ExpeditionsFly-cruiseDrakeBoth, in three forms including sail-one-way
SilverseaFly-cruiseDrakeBoth — Antarctica Bridge plus Drake sailings
Atlas Ocean VoyagesFly-cruiseDrakeBoth — a dedicated 7-night King George Island roundtrip
Oceanwide ExpeditionsFly-cruiseDrakeBoth — Fly and Cruise via Frei Base
HX (Hurtigruten)DrakeDrake only, from Ushuaia
Viking ExpeditionsDrakeDrake only — contract confirmed to hold no Antarctica-specific clause
SeabournDrakeDrake only, from Ushuaia
Poseidon ExpeditionsDrakeDrake only, on the 114-passenger Sea Spirit
Swan HellenicDrakeDrake only, roundtrip Ushuaia
ScenicDrakeDrake only, so far as could be established
Polar Latitudes ExpeditionsFly-cruiseDrakeBoth — the merged Polar Latitudes and Albatros business, selling fly both ways, sail one way, or a combination
PonantNot establishedEvery Ponant domain was blocked on 22 September 2026
Blue marks a King George Island air leg, gold a Drake Passage sailing, grey a route that could not be established. Each mark carries its label in words.
Two cautions. Silversea's own fly-cruise page now shows Puerto Williams rather than Punta Arenas for voyages from 2026, so a 2027 booking may not leave from the city an older guide names. And Oceanwide's fly-and-cruise runs via Frei Base — the Chilean station on King George Island — rather than a separate airstrip, which is the same landing point the other fly operators use. For the wider operator picture beyond the route question, see our Antarctica expedition operator index.
What happens when the charter flight cannot fly
This is the clause the whole fly-cruise decision turns on, and of the fifteen operators assessed, Antarctica21, Quark and Oceanwide publish it properly, Aurora publishes the operational plan but not who pays, and Lindblad publishes nothing at all. A King George Island flight is weather-dependent in both directions, and the terms below decide whether a cancelled leg costs you a day, a trip, or the whole fare. Every clause here was read at the operator's own document on 22 September 2026.
Operator
What the clause says
Who pays
When the trip is declared over
Antarctica21
Will keep attempting on days 3 and 4; meals and accommodation included throughout
The operator, for meals and accommodation during the wait
2pm on day four. Accommodation with breakfast provided, and 100% of the cruise fare refunded
Quark Expeditions
"If the charter flight cannot operate on the final attempt day, Quark, in its sole discretion, may officially interrupt the Expedition"
Split: Quark refunds the cruise fare and one extra hotel night; the passenger pays airfare changes, further hotel nights and meals
At Quark's discretion after the final attempt day; trip-interruption letters issued for insurance
Oceanwide Expeditions
May delay or postpone by up to 24 hours "for any reason in terms of a proper and/or safe execution"
Beyond 24 hours you may cancel, but only elements booked through Oceanwide are refunded — outside flights and hotels are not
After the 24-hour window, at the passenger's election
Aurora Expeditions
Outbound, hotel, full board and guided excursions during a days 2–4 delay. Returning, if no flight within 72 hours the ship relocates guests to Puerto Williams to disembark
Not stated anywhere in the published contingency plan
6am on day four if flight authorisation has not been granted; programme ends after breakfast on day five
Atlas Ocean Voyages
General terms disclaim liability for "any injury, damages, loss, accident, delay, or irregularity" caused by any company or person. A King George-specific document exists as an image-based flipbook that cannot be read as text
Not established
Not established
Lindblad Expeditions
Nothing. The reservation terms were read in full and contain no air-delay clause; the only relevant language is that flexibility is key
Unaddressed
Unaddressed. Note the cancellation policy defines trip cost as including the charter airfare
Silversea
Could not be read. The guest ticket contract sits behind a country-of-residence selector with no directly reachable per-country address
Not established
Not established
Two specifics worth carrying into a booking conversation. First, no operator in this field publishes a delay statistic of its own, and neither does IAATO; the figures circulating online — that 75% or 83% of King George Island flights depart on the intended day — come from a third-party booking agent, are inconsistent with each other, and should not be treated as verified. Second, the difference between Antarctica21's clause and Lindblad's is not a difference of intent but of drafting, and it is worth roughly the price of the trip: one refunds 100% of the cruise fare at a named hour on a named day, the other is silent and defines the charter airfare as part of the cancellable trip cost. Read the clause, not the brochure. Our note on how to book an expedition cruise sets out the rest of the paperwork.
Scores here measure what each operator publishes, not the quality of its expedition. A criterion scored zero means the evidence was not published or could not be read at the sources listed on 22 September 2026 — it is a gap in the record, not a judgement, and a verifiable source closes it. Scenic, Albatros and Ponant score low mainly for that reason, and Silversea loses two criteria to it. No operator paid to be assessed and no position on this page is for sale.
Antarctica expedition with the most wildlife encounters
If wildlife is the reason for the trip, sail at least one direction: the Drake Passage is open Southern Ocean and is the only part of an Antarctic itinerary where pelagic seabirds — wandering and light-mantled sooty albatrosses, petrels, prions — follow the ship, and where hourglass dolphins and humpbacks are seen from the rail. A two-hour flight over the same water at altitude gives you none of it. Once you are on the Peninsula the wildlife is identical whichever way you arrived; what changes is how many days you get there and how many guides are with you when you land.
#
Operator
Why it suits a wildlife trip
Days in Antarctica
Passengers ashore
1
Lindblad Expeditions
Sells a sail-one-way, fly-the-other product, which is the only published way to get the Drake seabirds and still save half the sea time. National Geographic photographer aboard on selected departures
4 full days of 8, published
102 on Orion, 148 on Explorer — both inside Category 1
2
Aurora Expeditions
15 Zodiacs through four dedicated doors on Sylvia Earle — the only zodiac count published by any operator here, and the thing that determines how fast 130 people get off the ship
Not itemised
130 maximum
3
Antarctica21
88 guests against a 100-ashore limit means effectively no rotation — the whole ship lands at once. 67 staff and crew for 88 guests on Magellan Discoverer
Not itemised
88 — the smallest in the index
4
Quark Expeditions
Publishes the day count honestly and sells both routes, so the Drake can be chosen deliberately rather than by default
4 full days of 8, published
138–168, rotated
5
Poseidon Expeditions
114 passengers on Sea Spirit and Drake-only sailings of 12 to 21 days — the longest published itineraries at the small end of the fleet
Not itemised; 12–21 day trips
114
Two cautions specific to landings. The IAATO limit is one hundred passengers ashore at any one time with a guide-to-passenger ratio no worse than one to twenty, reflected in Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting Measure 15 of 2009 — so on a 378-passenger ship such as Viking Octantis or a 264-passenger Seabourn Venture you are ashore in shifts, and the advertised landing count is not the same as your landing time. And only one operator in this entire field, Aurora, publishes a zodiac count, which is the actual constraint on how long a rotation takes. Our guide to what to expect on an expedition cruise covers the daily rhythm; small-group versus private covers the size question in general.
Lions Rump on King George Island, South Shetland Islands — a headland on the west side of the entrance to King George Bay, charted and named by Discovery Investigations personnel in 1937. King George Island is where every fly-cruise lands and where the Chilean airstrip sits. Photo: Wikimedia Commons (file page).
How to book an Antarctic expedition cruise
Decide the route before the ship, because it sets the trip length, the risk and roughly a third of the cost — then read three documents before paying anything: the air-delay clause if you are flying, the cancellation ladder, and the inclusions list. Cancellation terms in this field are severe and wildly inconsistent, and they are the single most expensive thing most buyers never read.
Operator
Cancellation ladder as published
What the fare includes
Total days
Viking Expeditions
120+ days US$100 flat · 119–90 20% · 89–70 35% · 69–50 50% · 49–30 75% · under 30 100%
Not itemised on the pages read
13
Quark Expeditions
Free within 15 days of confirmation if booked 180+ days out · to 120 days 25% · 119–90 75% · 89 or fewer 100%
All zodiac cruising, accommodation, meals and beverages, expedition leadership, pre and post Punta Arenas hotel, and the King George Island flights. Excludes international airfare, insurance, waterproof trousers and gratuities
8
Lindblad Expeditions
120+ days no penalty, as a 12-month travel certificate · 119–90 50% · 89–0 100%. Trip cost includes the charter airfare
Flights to and from Antarctica, all meals, zodiac excursions, expedition team and naturalists
8, 9 or 10
HX (Hurtigruten)
90+ days 25% · 60–89 50% · 30–59 75% · under 30 100%
Not itemised on the pages read
12
Seabourn
121+ days US$100pp · 120–91 15% · 90–61 50% · 60–46 75% · 45 or fewer 100%
Zodiac tours and landings, expedition parka and day pack, expedition team and enrichment speakers
10–25
Antarctica21
210+ days full refund less US$1,000pp · 209–120 deposit lost · 119–90 10% refunded · 89–60 7.5% · 59–30 5% · 29 days to departure nothing
A two-hour charter flight in each direction, included in all fares
Varies by itinerary
Poseidon Expeditions
Over 90 days, the 20% deposit is forfeit · 90 days or fewer, the entire price paid is forfeit
Not itemised on the pages read
12–21
Oceanwide Expeditions
To 90 days 20% · 89–60 50% · 59 days to departure 100%
Not itemised on the pages read
10–32
Two things that catch buyers out. Read the definition of "trip cost" before the percentage: Lindblad's policy is generous at 120 days but its trip cost expressly includes the charter airfare, so the 50% band inside 119 days is charged on a larger number than you might assume. And Antarctica21's 210-day threshold is the earliest in the field by a wide margin — beyond it you lose US$1,000 per person, inside it you lose the whole deposit, and the step happens roughly seven months before departure, which is earlier than most people have firm plans. For the destination background rather than the paperwork, start with our Antarctica expedition guide.
The six highest-scoring Antarctica operators in detail
1. Quark Expeditions — 88/100
US$17,591 for the 8-day Antarctic Express · 4 full days in Antarctica of 8 · Quark Expeditions, Inc., Seattle, owned by Travelopia
Quark finishes twenty-four points clear of the field and it does so on paperwork, not ships. It is the only operator in this index that sells both routes and then publishes a pros-and-cons guide weighing them — describing flying as "swift" and yielding "maximum Antarctic expedition days" while granting that sailing offers the wildlife viewing — which is worth the full twenty on route honesty. It is also the only operator whose air-delay clause allocates every cost: it refunds the full cruise fare and unused adventure options plus one additional hotel night, and states plainly that the passenger pays airfare changes, further hotel nights and meals. Its price page carries a discounted figure against a list price, its inclusions and exclusions are itemised down to waterproof trousers, and its day count is published — four full days in Antarctica out of eight, days three to six. Where it loses points is the ships: 138 to 168 passengers on World Voyager and Ocean Explorer is comfortably inside IAATO's Category 1, but Quark publishes no guide ratio and no zodiac count, and no build year for either vessel, which costs it nine points across the last two criteria. Official source: Quark booking terms and conditions. See also expedition versus luxury cruise.
2. Aurora Expeditions — 64/100
From US$16,795 for a 9-day Antarctic Explorer Express · 130 passengers, 15 zodiacs, PC6 · Founded 1991 by Greg and Margaret Mortimer
Aurora publishes the most operationally detailed weather-contingency plan in Antarctic travel, and then does not say who pays for it. The document sets out the outbound case hour by hour — hotel, full board and guided excursions during a days 2 to 4 delay, and the voyage terminated if flight authorisation has not been granted by 6am on day four, with the programme ending after breakfast on day five — and the return case too, where if no flight can operate within 72 hours the ship relocates guests to Puerto Williams to disembark with full board aboard. It is the only operator to publish the return leg at all. What it does not publish is the cost allocation or a cancellation ladder, and the terms page did not render one on 22 September 2026, which is why it scores eight of twenty on the criterion despite having the best plan. It is strongest on the ships: 130 passengers maximum on Sylvia Earle, PC6, and the only zodiac count published by anyone in this field at fifteen through four dedicated doors. Official source: Aurora contingency plans.
3. Antarctica21 — 62/100
From US$5,995, 2027-28 season · 88 passengers on Magellan Discoverer, PC6 · The operator that invented the fly-cruise, Punta Arenas, 2003
Antarctica21 has the best air-delay clause in Antarctic travel and the worst route-honesty score of any operator that clears the pass mark, and both statements are fair. The clause is exact: every effort to fly on days three and four with meals and accommodation included, and "if by 2 PM of Day 4 of the itinerary Antarctica21 is not be able to transport passengers to Antarctica, the trip will be interrupted" with 100% of the cruise fare refunded. No other operator names an hour. Its cancellation ladder is published in six bands and its force-majeure clause is explicit. Then it scores five of twenty on honesty, because it sells only flying, markets it as strictly superior — it invites guests to "skip the Drake" — and nowhere acknowledges what a Drake crossing offers that a flight does not. Its ships are the smallest here: 88 guests in air-cruise configuration on the new hybrid-electric Magellan Discoverer, with 67 staff and crew, which against a 100-ashore limit means the whole ship lands at once. IAATO lists it under air cruise operations, a category of its own. Official source: Antarctica21 terms and conditions.
4. HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions) — 61/100
EUR 8,163 for 12 days — the lowest published fare in this index · MS Fridtjof Nansen, 233 passengers, PC6, Norway · Drake only
HX offers the cheapest published way into Antarctica of any operator assessed, at EUR 8,163 discounted from EUR 9,789 for a twelve-day Highlights of Antarctica, and it publishes a complete terms document: a four-band cancellation ladder from 25% at 90 days to 100% inside 30, a full force-majeure clause, and an Assured Arrival commitment on operator-booked air that promises to rebook you on the next available flight to the embarkation port or, failing that, to the next feasible port of call. It sells no King George Island air leg, so it scores five of twenty on route honesty and says nothing about the alternative its guests are implicitly choosing against. Two things to note in the record. Its terms live on the Hurtigruten corporate domain rather than the HX site, which is a documentation split worth knowing about before you go looking for them. And at 233 passengers MS Fridtjof Nansen is an IAATO Category 2 vessel, so landings are rotated against the 100-ashore limit. HX ties with Viking at 61 on every criterion; they are listed alphabetically. Official source: Hurtigruten general terms and conditions.
5. Viking Expeditions — 61/100
US$14,999 for the 13-day Antarctic Explorer · Viking Octantis, 378 passengers, PC6, Bergen · Drake only, Ushuaia
Viking publishes the clearest single document any operator in this field produces: one passenger ticket contract covering the whole voyage, with a six-band cancellation ladder that starts at a flat US$100 beyond 120 days — by a distance the most forgiving early-cancellation term here — a long and specific force-majeure clause naming ice, weather and surf among a dozen other causes, and a delayed-embarkation clause committing to shoreside accommodation and food "at no additional expense to you for the duration of the delay". It sells no air leg, and its contract was confirmed to contain no Antarctica-specific language at all, which is the honest reading of a company running large expedition ships on a cruise-line contract. The weak score to state plainly: at 378 passengers in 189 staterooms, Viking Octantis is the largest vessel in this index and an IAATO Category 2 ship, which means every landing is rotated in shifts against the 100-guest limit — a materially different experience from Antarctica21's 88 guests, for a comparable fare. Official source: Viking passenger ticket contract. See also Lindblad vs Silversea vs Seabourn vs Scenic Eclipse.
6. Lindblad Expeditions / National Geographic — 60/100
US$12,600 including the required flights · 4 full days in Antarctica of 8, published · Puerto Natales to King George Island, about 2 hours, DAP Airline
Lindblad sells the most flexible answer to the route question of anyone here — fly both ways, sail one way and fly the other, or sail both — and it is the only operator whose own pages let you buy the compromise. It also publishes its Antarctic day count honestly, four full days out of eight, arriving day two and departing day seven, which earns it the full ten on time ashore alongside Quark. It names the air leg properly too: Puerto Natales to King George Island, about two hours direct, flown by DAP Airline onto a gravel runway at a Chilean research station. Then it scores seven of twenty on weather and cancellation, and that is the honest and uncomfortable finding of this index: its reservation terms were read in full and contain no clause of any kind about a delayed or cancelled air leg, on a product whose entire premise is a charter flight. Its published cancellation policy, effective 1 May 2023, is otherwise generous — no penalty beyond 120 days as a twelve-month travel certificate — but expressly defines trip cost as including that charter airfare. It also publishes no ice class, build year or flag state for its Antarctic vessels, costing it ten of fifteen on credentials. Official source: Lindblad cancellation policy.
The nine operators assessed but not ranked
Oceanwide cleared the pass mark at 60 and lost sixth place on the tie-break; Silversea, Seabourn, Atlas, Poseidon, Swan Hellenic, Scenic, Polar Latitudes Expeditions and Ponant did not clear it. Assessment is free and identical for everyone, and every operator below is named with its published figures and no score. Where a record is thin because a document could not be read rather than because it does not exist, that is stated.
Sells a King George Island fly-and-cruise via Frei Base that almost nobody lists among the fly operators. Publishes a 24-hour delay clause, a three-band cancellation ladder and a force-majeure clause. Publishes almost nothing about its ships beyond passenger counts
The largest gap in this index. The UK booking conditions give a full cancellation ladder and force-majeure clause, but the guest ticket contract sits behind a country-of-residence selector that could not be opened, so the air-delay terms are unread. Silver Endeavour is PC6, 2021, 200 passengers. Gateway moving to Puerto Williams for voyages from 2026
Unusually candid contract: describes its own relationship with airlines as "that of an independent travel advisor" with "no liability for any acts or omissions of any airline". Full cancellation ladder and force majeure published. Seabourn Venture, 264 passengers, PC6, 2022 — Category 2, so landings rotate
Runs a dedicated 7-night King George Island roundtrip with a private charter jet to the Chilean air base, and is expanding it for 2027-28, yet publishes no price for it. Its King George-specific terms exist only as an image-based flipbook that cannot be read as text. Cancellation ladder and force majeure are published in the general terms
US$10,961 for 12 days, to US$26,195 for 21 days in 2028
Prices published on its own site and a force-majeure clause in modern drafting. The cancellation policy has only two bands and the second is absolute: inside 90 days the entire price paid is forfeit. Terms exclude all air costs from any remedy. Sea Spirit carries up to 114
Three 152-passenger ships built 2021–2023 and a genuinely inclusive list covering gratuities and Wi-Fi. The conditions of carriage push liability away from the carrier — "the Passenger whose sole remedy will be against the Organiser" — and the cancellation fee schedule renders only in the browser and could not be read
Every Scenic domain returned a robots error on 22 September 2026, so price, terms and cancellation are unverified rather than absent. Scenic Eclipse carries 228 — above the Category 1 ceiling, so Category 2 and rotated landings
Formed by the merger of Polar Latitudes and Albatros Expeditions, and describing itself as "a new company… really, we're the very best of two companies". Operates Ocean Albatros, Ocean Victory, MV Discoverer and Ocean Nova, and sells Fly and Cruise voyages — fly both ways, sail one way, or a combination. The albatros-expeditions.com domain now redirects here. Price, terms and ship specifications could not be confirmed at source, so the record is thin by evidence rather than by conduct
Every Ponant domain and regional variant was blocked on 22 September 2026, so whether Ponant sells a King George Island fly-cruise could not be established either way. The record is open, not negative. French, Marseille, owned by Groupe Artémis since 2015
Three planning rules for Antarctica in 2026
1 · Choose the route on your tolerance for the airstrip, not your tolerance for the swell. The Drake's reputation is about discomfort, which is survivable and lasts 18 to 48 hours each way. The fly-cruise risk is schedule: King George Island is a gravel runway in a weather system, and the clause that governs a grounded flight varies from a named hour and a 100% refund at Antarctica21 to no clause at all at Lindblad. Seasickness ends. A cancelled trip does not. Read the destination background first.
2 · Match the ship to the landing limit, not to the brochure. IAATO allows one hundred passengers ashore at once with a guide ratio no worse than one to twenty. On Antarctica21's 88-guest Magellan Discoverer the whole ship lands together; on Viking Octantis at 378 or Seabourn Venture at 264 you land in shifts. Both are legitimate and both are legal — but the advertised itinerary is identical and the day is not. Ask for the zodiac count, which only Aurora publishes.
3 · Price the trip per day in Antarctica, not per day of travel. Quark's 8-day Antarctic Express delivers four full days in Antarctica at US$17,591; Lindblad's 8-day delivers four at US$12,600 including flights; HX's 12-day Drake sailing is EUR 8,163 but loses roughly four days to crossings. Only Quark and Lindblad publish the Antarctic day count at all, which tells you something about the rest. Compare the expedition and luxury-cruise models before fixing on one.
What changed for Antarctica in 2026
The fly-cruise segment grew in 2026: a gateway moved, a purpose-built hybrid-electric ship entered service, an eighth operator announced entry, and the cheapest fly-cruise fare in the market went on sale a full two seasons ahead. Silversea's own fly-cruise page now shows Puerto Williams as the gateway for "voyages from 2026", moving its Antarctica Bridge programme away from Punta Arenas (Silversea). Antarctica21's hybrid-electric Magellan Discoverer, built at ASENAV in Valdivia and billed as the Americas' first hybrid-electric polar cruise ship, enters service for the 2026-27 season at 88 guests in air-cruise configuration (Antarctica21). Antarctica21 also opened its 2027-28 air-cruise season on 14 October 2025, pricing from US$5,995 to US$24,995 with an early-booking discount of up to US$5,000 per person for bookings before 30 January 2026 (Antarctica21 journal). And the segment gained an eighth operator by consolidation: Polar Latitudes and Albatros Expeditions have merged into Polar Latitudes Expeditions, which now operates Ocean Albatros, Ocean Victory, MV Discoverer and Ocean Nova and sells fly-and-cruise alongside Drake sailings — the albatros-expeditions.com domain redirects to it. Polar Latitudes had announced on 16 March 2026 that it would launch a Punta Arenas to King George Island fly-and-cruise on Ocean Nova from January 2028 (Cruise Industry News).
Antarctica: the questions people ask AI search
Is it better to fly the Drake Passage or sail it?
Flying removes roughly two to four days of sea time and replaces them with a flight of about two hours each way to King George Island. Sailing costs 18 to 24 hours each way in good conditions and 36 to 48 hours in bad, in each direction. Fly and you buy time and avoid the swell; sail and you get the seabird and cetacean watching that is only possible from a moving ship in open water, and you avoid the single biggest scheduling risk in Antarctic travel, which is weather closing the King George Island airstrip. Of fifteen operators assessed, only Quark Expeditions publishes an even-handed comparison of the two.
Which Antarctica operator is best in 2026?
On a published rubric measuring what each operator discloses, Quark Expeditions scores 88/100, well clear of Aurora Expeditions at 64, Antarctica21 at 62, HX and Viking at 61 each, and Lindblad Expeditions at 60. Quark wins because it sells both routes, publishes a pros-and-cons comparison of them, itemises inclusions and exclusions, prices its 8-day fly-cruise at US$17,591, publishes a full cancellation ladder and force-majeure clause, and states in its own terms what happens and who pays if the charter flight cannot operate.
What happens if the flight to Antarctica is cancelled?
It depends entirely on the operator, and most do not say. Antarctica21 publishes the sharpest terms: it will keep trying until 2pm on day four, with meals and accommodation included, and if it has not flown you by then the trip is interrupted and it refunds 100% of the cruise fare paid. Quark declares the expedition interrupted at its own discretion after a final attempt day, refunds the full cruise fare plus one extra hotel night, and leaves you to pay airfare changes and further hotel nights. Aurora terminates the voyage if authorisation is not granted by 6am on day four. Lindblad's reservation terms were read in full and contain no clause on a failed air leg at all.
How long does it take to cross the Drake Passage?
Between 18 and 24 hours in good conditions and 36 to 48 hours in rough seas, each way, which is why most operators describe it as two days in each direction. The flight alternative from Punta Arenas or Puerto Natales to King George Island takes about two hours, typically on a BAe 146 landing on a gravel runway at a Chilean research station; Lindblad names DAP Airline as the carrier on its route. A 12-day sailing and an 8-day fly-cruise can therefore deliver a similar number of days actually in Antarctica.
How much does an Antarctica fly-cruise cost in 2026?
Published from-prices for fly-cruise products: Lindblad from US$12,600 including the required flights, Aurora from US$16,795 for a 9-day Antarctic Explorer Express, Quark at US$17,591 for an 8-day Antarctic Express, and Antarctica21 from US$5,995 for its Antarctica Express in the 2027-28 season. Atlas Ocean Voyages sells a 7-night King George Island roundtrip but publishes no figure at all, listing it as Call for Fares. Silversea publishes no from-price on its own Antarctica pages.
Which Antarctica operators offer a fly-cruise?
Of the fifteen operators assessed here, eight sell a King George Island air leg: Antarctica21, which flies every guest both ways on every itinerary, plus Quark Expeditions, Aurora Expeditions, Lindblad Expeditions, Silversea, Atlas Ocean Voyages, Oceanwide Expeditions and Polar Latitudes Expeditions, the company formed by the merger of Polar Latitudes and Albatros Expeditions. The remaining seven — HX, Viking, Seabourn, Poseidon, Swan Hellenic, Scenic and Ponant — sell Drake crossings only, so far as could be established at source. This is our own tally of the operators assessed, not a figure published by IAATO.
Do you see more wildlife sailing the Drake Passage?
You see different wildlife. The Drake Passage is open Southern Ocean and is where the pelagic seabirds are: wandering and light-mantled sooty albatrosses, petrels and prions follow ships across it, and hourglass dolphins and humpbacks are recorded there. None of that is available on a two-hour flight. Once ashore on the Peninsula the wildlife is the same whichever way you arrived, and a fly-cruise can buy you more days there — Quark's 8-day Antarctic Express delivers four full days in Antarctica, and Lindblad's 8-day itinerary also delivers four.
How many passengers can go ashore in Antarctica at once?
One hundred, with a guide-to-passenger ratio of no more than one to twenty, under the IAATO rule reflected in Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting Measure 15 of 2009. This is why ship size matters more than it looks: IAATO classifies vessels carrying 13 to 200 passengers as Category 1 and 201 to 500 as Category 2, and both make landings, but a 378-passenger ship such as Viking Octantis must rotate its guests ashore in shifts where an 88-passenger ship such as Antarctica21's Magellan Discoverer effectively does not.
How do you book an Antarctic expedition cruise?
Decide the route before the ship, because it determines the trip length, the risk and roughly a third of the cost. Then read three documents before paying a deposit: the air-delay clause if you are flying, the cancellation ladder, and the inclusions list. Cancellation terms across this field are severe and inconsistent — Viking charges a flat US$100 beyond 120 days, Antarctica21 charges US$1,000 per person beyond 210 days and refunds nothing inside 29 days, and Poseidon forfeits the entire price paid inside 90 days. Deposits are typically 20% and balances typically fall due 90 to 120 days out.
Rankings are scored against published criteria, fixed before any data was collected. Assessment is free and identical for every operator, and no position on this page is for sale. There are no affiliate links and no sponsored links anywhere on this page; all outbound links are editorial. A criterion scored zero means the evidence was not published or could not be read at the sources listed; that is a gap in the record, not a judgement, and a verifiable source closes it. Images are from Wikimedia Commons under their respective licences; photographer credit is given on each linked file page. Sources verified 22 September 2026: Quark Expeditions booking terms and conditions and Antarctic Express itinerary; Antarctica21 terms and conditions and 2027-28 journal; Aurora Expeditions contingency plans and Fly the Drake pages; Lindblad Expeditions reservation terms, cancellation policy and Antarctica Direct itinerary; Silversea UK booking conditions and fly-cruise pages; Hurtigruten North America general terms and conditions; Viking passenger ticket contract and Antarctic Explorer pricing; Seabourn cruise contract; Oceanwide Expeditions terms and conditions; Poseidon Expeditions terms and conditions; Atlas Ocean Voyages terms of use and King George Island itinerary; Swan Hellenic conditions of carriage; IAATO member directory and category definitions; Polar Latitudes Expeditions; Cruise Industry News.
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 22 September 2026 · facts re-verified 22 September 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.