The Grand Egyptian Museum building at Giza with a tall obelisk in front under a clear blue sky

Grand Egyptian Museum, Giza. Photo: George Wang, Pexels

Who Are the Best Luxury Tour Operators for Egypt? Thirteen Companies Compared on Price, Nile Ships and Guides

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 15 October 2026

Abercrombie & Kent is the luxury operator ChatGPT names first for Egypt, and the only one on this page that owns its Nile ships, five Sanctuary riverboats, with seven offices and more than 400 staff in Egypt; its 10-day Egypt and the Nile starts at $16,995 a person. Audley Travel, Scott Dunn, Kensington Tours and Red Savannah publish private Nile trips from about $660 to $790 a day. Black Tomato and Kensington offer private time at the Grand Egyptian Museum; Extraordinary Journeys and Original Travel sell the Steam Ship Sudan. This page gives no score; every price is the company's own, read on 15 October 2026.

Who is on this page, and why

A company is on this page if it sells luxury Egypt trips and its Egypt pages could be read, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. Between 5 and 15 October 2026 ChatGPT named Abercrombie & Kent every day, then Audley Travel, Scott Dunn, Black Tomato and Kensington Tours, citing mostly those companies' own sites. We read 17 companies' Egypt pages on 15 October 2026. Thirteen are below. Left off: Egypt Planners, whose packages start at $1,270 and carry no luxury label; Kemetale, Cox & Kings and Ampersand Travel, whose Egypt pages showed no trips or would not open; and Artisans of Leisure, whose Egypt page lists no trips. This page gives no score.

How to read a card. "Egypt from" is the company's own published price a person, in the currency it shows. "Not stated on their website" means we read the pages and the fact is not there; "Could not access" means the page would not open or showed no figure. Reviews are per platform, never added together. "Not the fit if" uses only limits the company publishes.
A white multi-deck Nile cruise ship sailing past a mosque and palm trees on the riverbank at Aswan, Egypt
A cruise ship on the Nile at Aswan. Which boat a company puts you on, and whether it owns it, is the biggest difference between the operators below. Photo: Indu Bikash Sarker, Pexels.

What a luxury Egypt trip costs, company by company

The cheapest dollar-priced luxury Egypt trips with a Nile cruise start at about $660 to $790 a person a day (Audley, Scott Dunn, Red Savannah, Kensington Tours) and rise to about $1,700 a day for Abercrombie & Kent's 10-day small-group journey on its own boats. Private charters cost far more: Kensington's 12-day private riverboat charter is $30,150 a person. In pounds, Scott Dunn starts at £3,700 for 10 nights, Audley at £4,395 for 8 days, Original Travel at £4,850 and Black Tomato at £6,000 for 6 nights.

Cheapest published Egypt trip, in US dollars, per dayBar chart of daily cost from the cheapest dollar-priced Egypt trip with a Nile leg or the cheapest listed: Audley 662, Scott Dunn 692, Red Savannah 767, Kensington 784, Extraordinary Journeys 1,111, Tauck 1,149, Abercrombie and Kent 1,700. Cheapest published Egypt trip, in US dollars, per dayFrom-price a person divided by days, as each company states it in dollars, read 15 October 2026. Audley Travel (US site)$5,295 for 8 days, about $662 Scott Dunn (US site)$9,000 for 13 days, about $692 Red Savannah$7,668 for 10 days, about $767 Kensington Tours$7,054 for 9 days, about $784 Extraordinary Journeys$10,000 for 9 days, about $1,111 Tauck (flights in Egypt incl.)$11,490 for 10 days, about $1,149 Abercrombie & Kent$16,995 for 10 days, about $1,700
Daily cost worked from each company's cheapest dollar-priced Egypt itinerary that includes the Nile (Red Savannah: Classic Egypt), read on 15 October 2026. Bases differ: Kensington and Scott Dunn state double occupancy; Tauck includes flights within Egypt; others state no sharing basis. Companies that price in pounds only or publish no price are not drawn. Chart by Uncompromised Travel.

The thirteen companies, one card each

Luxury travel companies that publish a priced Egypt trip. Alphabetical.

Abercrombie & KentAbercrombie & Kent · UK: ATOL 2881, ABTA V6398 · US: CST 2007274-20

Egypt from
Egypt and the Nile, 10 days, from $16,995 a person, up to 18 guests. Ultimate Egypt, 13 days, $20,695 (34 guests); Petra, the Pyramids and a Nile Yacht Cruise, 13 days, $23,395 (12 guests).
On the Nile
Its own fleet: A&K Sanctuary Sun Boat III, Sun Boat IV, Nile Adventurer, Zein Nile Chateau and Nile Seray, with a dahabiya option and whole-boat charters. The only company here that owns Nile ships.
Guiding
"An expert A&K Egyptologist at your side"; it picks from "more than 5,000 licensed guides", "fewer than 200" of whom guide its guests.
In Egypt
"Seven offices and more than 400 staff members" in Egypt.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Offered as an add-on in Giza; not stated as included in the itineraries read.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.4 from 788.
Not the fit if
You want a fully private trip at the published price: the priced Egypt journeys are small-group departures of 12, 18 or 34 guests.
Sources: Egypt journeys, UK Egypt page, UK terms, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Audley TravelWitney, Oxfordshire · ATOL protected (UK) · CST 2117258-20 (US)

Egypt from
Highlights of Egypt with a Nile cruise, 8 days, from £4,395 a person ($5,295 on its US site). Luxury Cairo and the Treasures of the Nile, 13 days, £10,395 ($14,395).
On the Nile
Third-party ships: MS Sonesta St George, MS Oberoi Philae on the luxury trip, and the Gaia dahabiya on its 16-day grand tour.
Guiding
"We can pair you with an Egyptologist"; one specialist handles the trip from start to finish.
In Egypt
Not stated on their website.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on three itineraries, including "a full-day, privately guided tour" on the luxury trip.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 5,052. Awards it shows: Wanderlust Gold 2025, Which? Recommended Provider December 2025, Condé Nast Traveller Top Travel Specialists 2026.
Not the fit if
You want a fixed price: its trips are tailor-made and prices are "an indication of how much this kind of trip might cost".
Sources: Egypt, luxury trip (US), Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Black TomatoLondon · ATOL 10531

Egypt from
Ultimate Egypt: Culture on the Nile, 6 nights, £6,000 a person, two sharing, off-peak, excluding flights.
On the Nile
A traditional dahabiya as an option, a private felucca, and Historia, "a boutique hotel that happens to float".
Guiding
"Expert Nubian Egyptologist guide" in Aswan and Luxor; a "world-renowned archaeologist" at Giza.
In Egypt
Not stated on their website.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Its Egypt page offers "a rare private tour of the Grand Egyptian Museum after dark" and behind-the-scenes conservation lab visits.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.6 from 308.
Not the fit if
You want a set itinerary or date: its trips are "examples of what's possible, rather than fixed itineraries", and the one price is off-peak.
Sources: Ultimate Egypt, Egypt (US), Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Extraordinary JourneysPartnerNew York · tailor-made Africa and Egypt specialist

Egypt from
Iconic family trip to Egypt, 9 days, from $10,000 a person. Journey through Egypt's Ancient Wonders, 14 days, $16,000; Legendary Egypt from Cairo to Abu Simbel, 14 days, $14,000.
On the Nile
The Steam Ship Sudan, "originally built for the royal family in 1885" and "the only boat to sail north of Luxor to the town of Qena", 18 cabins and 6 suites; the Merit and Nebyt dahabiyas.
Guiding
"Privately guided by high-caliber Egyptologists"; "credentialed Egyptologists who bring a specialty to touring".
In Egypt
Not stated on their website.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on four itineraries, on the Steam Ship Sudan trip "alongside an Egyptologist".
Reviews
Trustpilot: no reviews. Awards it shows: Travel + Leisure World's Best 2026, Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists 2026.
Not the fit if
You want to compare like for like before calling: prices are "from" figures per person with no sharing basis stated, and no financial protection scheme is named on the pages read.
Sources: Egypt itineraries, Steam Ship Sudan, 14-day itinerary. Read 15 October 2026.
Rows of giant carved sandstone columns in the Great Hypostyle Hall of Karnak Temple, Luxor
The Great Hypostyle Hall at Karnak, Luxor. Every company on this page includes Luxor; the difference is who guides you through it. Photo: Diego F. Parra, Pexels.

Kensington ToursToronto · TICO 50022233, CST 2141973-70, Florida ST44278

Egypt from
Egypt Highlights and Nile Cruise, 9 days, from $7,054 a person, double occupancy. Exclusive Egypt with a Private Luxury Nile Riverboat Charter, 12 days, $30,150.
On the Nile
Sonesta St George on the 9-day trip; the flagship charters Kazazian Cruises' eight-unit sailing vessel Arax "exclusively for your group".
Guiding
Private Egyptologist at the pyramids and at Karnak and Luxor.
In Egypt
Not stated on their website.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on both trips, with a private 4-hour guided tour on the flagship.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.8 from 2,838.
Not the fit if
You want meals and tips in the price: it excludes international flights, visas, insurance, tips and "most meals and drinks" unless listed.
Sources: 9-day trip, charter trip, about, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Original TravelLondon · ABTA and ATOL protected (logos, no numbers)

Egypt from
Alternative Egypt dahabieh voyage, 10 days, £4,850 to £6,300 a person. A Taste of the Nile on the Steam Ship Sudan, 10 days, £6,900 to £8,950.
On the Nile
The Steam Ship Sudan, "owned by the parent company, Voyageurs du Monde", and the seven-cabin dahabieh Flaneuse du Nil, which "can be fully privatised" for up to 14.
Guiding
"Expert local guide"; archaeologists for behind-the-scenes visits.
In Egypt
"Four in-country Concierges".
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on A Taste of the Nile.
Reviews
Its own site: 4.9 from 103 (platform not named). Trustpilot: no reviews on its .co.uk profile.
Not the fit if
You need a single price: Egypt trips are shown only as season-dependent ranges, sharing basis not stated.
Sources: Egypt holidays, A Taste of the Nile. Read 15 October 2026.

Red SavannahUK and US · founded 2011

Egypt from
Treasures of Ancient Thebes with a Nile leg, 8 days, $3,647 a person. Splendours of Egypt, 11 days, from $11,920 sharing; Sailing the Nile on the Mövenpick SB Feddya, 9 days, $14,500.
On the Nile
Third-party: Oberoi Zahra ("the only boat on the Nile with a full-service spa"), Oberoi Philae, Kazazian (private charter), Historia, Sonesta St George, SB Feddya. Notes two Oberoi dahabiyas "due to launch in late 2026".
Guiding
"A private Egyptologist transforms visits to temples, tombs and museums."
In Egypt
"Experienced teams on the ground"; no office stated.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on Splendours of Egypt.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want to compare protection: ATOL and ABTA are not mentioned on the pages read, and only one itinerary states a sharing basis.
Sources: Egypt, Splendours of Egypt, our company. Read 15 October 2026.

Scott DunnLondon · ATOL protected, ABTOT member

Egypt from
Timeless Egypt, 10 nights, from £3,700 a person. Exceptional Egypt, 12 nights, from £6,900 ($9,000 on its US site), two sharing, excluding flights.
On the Nile
Exceptional Egypt spends five nights on Nour El Nil, "a dahabiya (traditional sailing boat)".
Guiding
"An expert Egyptologist" on the Nile days; private English-speaking guides elsewhere.
In Egypt
Not stated on their website.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Not stated on the trip page read, which names the Egyptian Museum in Cairo.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.6 from 278. Award it shows: Condé Nast Traveller Top Travel Specialists, 13 years in a row.
Not the fit if
You are travelling alone: prices are "based on two people sharing" and solo pricing is on request.
Sources: Egypt tours, Exceptional Egypt, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

TauckUS escorted tour operator · CST 2016001-20

Egypt from
Egypt: Jewels of the Nile, 10 days, from $11,490 a person including flights within Egypt. Jordan and Egypt: Petra to the Pyramids, 13 days, $14,590.
On the Nile
Four nights on the Oberoi Philae or Oberoi Zahra.
Guiding
A Tauck Director throughout; "an expert Egyptologist" at Giza on the Petra trip.
In Egypt
Not stated on their website.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on Petra to the Pyramids; not mentioned on Jewels of the Nile.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 2.7 from 93. Awards it lists: Travel + Leisure World's Best in each of the last 29 years.
Not the fit if
You want to travel privately: these are escorted departures on set dates, small groups averaging 24 guests.
Sources: Jewels of the Nile, Petra to the Pyramids, awards, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Luxury companies with Egypt trips but no visible price. Alphabetical.

Jacada TravelUK and US · private tailor-made trips

Egypt from
Could not access: six Egypt trips show a placeholder "From $0 pp".
On the Nile
Oberoi Zahra, Historia and the Dahabiya Lazuli.
Guiding
"An expert academic Egyptologist" briefing at the start of the trip.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Not stated on the pages read.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 2,605. Awards it shows: Travel + Leisure 2026, Condé Nast Traveller UK Top Travel Specialists 2026.
Not the fit if
You want a price before you enquire: none is visible on its Egypt pages.
Sources: Egypt, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Ker & DowneyTexas, United States · founded 1985

Egypt from
Not stated: seven private Egypt journeys, "Speak with a Ker & Downey travel designer for a quote".
On the Nile
Historia, Sanctuary Nile Adventurer and Sanctuary Sun Boat.
Guiding
"A private Egyptologist" accompanies the journey.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Not stated on the pages read.
Reviews
Trustpilot: no reviews. Awards it lists: Travel + Leisure World's Best 2026, No. 5 Best Tour Operators.
Not the fit if
You want a published price or a stated protection scheme: neither appears on the pages read.
Sources: Egypt, awards. Read 15 October 2026.

Based in Egypt. Alphabetical.

Egypt Encompassed LuxuryEgypt-based team · private journeys

Egypt from
No prices: "by private proposal". It suggests 10 to 15 days.
On the Nile
"A traditional Dahabiya reserved entirely for your traveling party".
Guiding
"A licensed Egyptologist" working privately with each party.
Grand Egyptian Museum
Not stated on the home page.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.8 from 87 (on its egyptencompassed.com profile).
Not the fit if
You want to see a price before talking to anyone: none is published.
Sources: home, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Memphis ToursEgypt · "Established in 1955"

Egypt from
Luxury collection from $2,499 (10 days, small group sharing) to $11,169 (12 days by dahabiya). Oberoi Philae and Cairo, 8 days, $6,955.
On the Nile
Oberoi Philae, Oberoi Zahra, and the Nuun and Nebyt dahabiyas.
Guiding
Packages "typically include private Egyptologist guides".
Grand Egyptian Museum
Included on at least two luxury packages, "GEM with Fast Track".
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.6 from 571. Its own site: 4.96 from 1,737.
Not the fit if
You want a private trip at the lower prices: the cheaper luxury packages are small-group sharing departures.
Sources: luxury tours, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.
The four colossal seated statues of Ramesses II carved into the rock face of the Great Temple at Abu Simbel under a clear sky
The Great Temple at Abu Simbel. Extraordinary Journeys, Kensington Tours and Ker & Downey publish itineraries that go this far south. Photo: Tito Zzzz, Pexels.

On the Nile: who owns the boat

Abercrombie & Kent is the only company on this page that owns its Nile ships: five A&K Sanctuary riverboats. Everyone else books third-party boats, and the same few appear again and again. The Oberoi Philae and Oberoi Zahra are sold by Audley, Tauck, Red Savannah, Jacada and Memphis Tours. The Steam Ship Sudan, owned by Voyageurs du Monde, Original Travel's parent group, is also sold by Extraordinary Journeys. Dahabiyas, the traditional two-masted sailing boats with a handful of cabins, appear at Scott Dunn (Nour El Nil), Original Travel (Flaneuse du Nil), Audley (Gaia), Extraordinary Journeys (Merit, Nebyt), Jacada (Lazuli) and Egypt Encompassed. Kensington Tours charters Kazazian's eight-cabin Arax for one group.

The Grand Egyptian Museum

The Grand Egyptian Museum at Giza fully opened to the public in November 2025, and six companies on this page include it in a priced itinerary: Audley, Extraordinary Journeys, Kensington Tours, Original Travel, Red Savannah and Tauck. Black Tomato offers a private after-dark visit; Abercrombie & Kent sells it as an add-on. Ahram Online reported the foreign adult ticket at EGP 1,450 on opening, Egypt Independent at EGP 1,700; the museum's own site would not open on 15 October 2026. Sources: Ahram Online. Our guide to a luxury Nile trip and the Grand Egyptian Museum covers the visit.

The entrance pylon of Luxor Temple with its obelisk and seated statues of Ramesses II under a clear sky
Luxor Temple. The UK government's advice against all but essential travel to much of the Western Desert names Luxor and Aswan as exceptions. Photo: Francesco Albanese, Pexels.

Three questions before you book

1. Private or group? Abercrombie & Kent's and Tauck's published prices are group departures (A&K up to 34, Tauck averaging 24). Audley, Black Tomato, Kensington, Scott Dunn, Red Savannah, Extraordinary Journeys and Jacada build private trips.

2. Ship or dahabiya? A ship has more cabins and more on board, such as the spa on the Oberoi Zahra; a dahabiya has a handful of cabins and sails. Kensington's chartered Arax has eight units and the Flaneuse du Nil seven cabins. Ask which boat by name before you pay.

3. How is your money protected? Abercrombie & Kent (ATOL 2881, ABTA), Audley, Scott Dunn, Black Tomato (ATOL 10531) and Original Travel state UK protection; Kensington states Ontario, California and Florida registrations. Read the UK Foreign Office's Egypt travel advice (updated 4 August 2026) and the US State Department's Level 2 advisory too.

Luxury Egypt tour operators: the questions people ask

Who are the best luxury tour operators for Egypt?

Thirteen luxury companies were compared on 15 October 2026. Abercrombie & Kent is the only one that owns its Nile ships (five Sanctuary riverboats) and states its own Egypt operation (seven offices, more than 400 staff), from $16,995 for 10 days. Audley Travel (from £4,395 for 8 days, Oberoi Philae on its luxury trip), Scott Dunn (from £3,700, a dahabiya on Exceptional Egypt), Kensington Tours (from $7,054, private Egyptologist and the Grand Egyptian Museum) and Black Tomato (£6,000 for 6 nights) are the others ChatGPT names most. Extraordinary Journeys and Original Travel sell the Steam Ship Sudan. This page gives no score.

How much does a luxury Egypt tour cost?

On published prices read on 15 October 2026, from about $660 to $790 a person a day for the cheapest luxury Nile trips (Audley $5,295 for 8 days, Scott Dunn $9,000 for 12 nights, Red Savannah $7,668 for 10 days, Kensington $7,054 for 9 days) to about $1,700 a day for Abercrombie & Kent's 10-day journey at $16,995. A private riverboat charter with Kensington Tours is $30,150 a person for 12 days.

Which Egypt tour operator owns its own Nile cruise ships?

Abercrombie & Kent: its A&K Sanctuary fleet is Sun Boat III, Sun Boat IV, Nile Adventurer, Zein Nile Chateau and Nile Seray. Original Travel says the Steam Ship Sudan is owned by its parent company, Voyageurs du Monde. The other companies on this page book third-party ships such as the Oberoi Philae and Oberoi Zahra.

Which luxury tours include the Grand Egyptian Museum?

Audley (three itineraries, one with a full-day private tour), Extraordinary Journeys (four itineraries), Kensington Tours (both trips read), Original Travel (A Taste of the Nile), Red Savannah (Splendours of Egypt) and Tauck (Petra to the Pyramids). Black Tomato offers a private after-dark visit; Abercrombie & Kent sells it as an add-on. Read 15 October 2026.

Is a dahabiya better than a Nile cruise ship?

It depends what you want. A dahabiya is a small sailing boat with a few cabins that can moor where large ships cannot; a ship such as the Oberoi Zahra has more facilities, including the only full-service spa on the Nile according to Red Savannah. Scott Dunn, Original Travel, Audley, Extraordinary Journeys, Jacada and Egypt Encompassed all sell dahabiya voyages.

Who sells the Steam Ship Sudan?

Original Travel, whose parent company Voyageurs du Monde owns it, from £6,300 for 10 days, and Extraordinary Journeys, whose 14-day Journey through Egypt's Ancient Wonders on the ship is from $16,000. Extraordinary Journeys says it is "the only boat to sail north of Luxor to the town of Qena".

Is it safe to travel to Egypt in 2026?

The UK Foreign Office, in advice updated 4 August 2026, advises against all travel to North Sinai and near the Libyan border, and against all but essential travel to parts of South Sinai and much of the Western Desert, with Luxor, Aswan, Faiyum and Siwa named as exceptions. The US State Department rates Egypt Level 2, "Exercise increased caution". Read both before you book.

Which Egypt luxury operators are financially protected?

Abercrombie & Kent (ATOL 2881, ABTA V6398), Audley (ATOL protected), Scott Dunn (ATOL protected, ABTOT), Black Tomato (ATOL 10531) and Original Travel (ABTA and ATOL logos) state UK protection. Kensington Tours lists Ontario, California and Florida seller registrations. Ker & Downey, Red Savannah, Jacada, Extraordinary Journeys and Memphis Tours name no protection scheme on the pages read.

Can a company pay to be on this page?

No. A company is on this page because it sells luxury Egypt trips and its pages could be read, or because ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links. Extraordinary Journeys, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and appears by the same rule as everyone else, in alphabetical order.

This page gives no score and no ranking; within each group companies are listed alphabetically. A company is included if it sells luxury Egypt trips and its Egypt pages could be read, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links. Extraordinary Journeys, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and is listed by the same rule as everyone else. Sources: each company's own Egypt pages, terms and award pages, read 15 October 2026; Trustpilot; the UK Foreign Office and US State Department; Ahram Online. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.