Which Is the Best eSIM for Turkey? Thirteen Options Compared on Price, Networks and the Rules That Catch Travellers Out

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 15 October 2026

For most trips to Turkey, Nomad and Ubigi are the cheapest eSIMs for 10 GB at $13 for 30 days, and Maya Mobile the cheapest unlimited plan at $27.99 for 14 days. Whichever you pick, buy and install it before you land: since July 2025 Turkey's regulator has reportedly blocked the apps and websites of Airalo, Holafly, Nomad, Saily and others inside the country, so you may not be able to buy or top up there. For calls and a Turkish number, Turkcell sells a tourist eSIM in its app for 1,800 TL for 28 days. This page gives no score; every price is the provider's own, read on 15 October 2026.

Who is on this page, and why

A provider is on this page if it sells a Turkey plan whose price could be read on its own site, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. Between 5 and 15 October 2026 ChatGPT named Nomad and Holafly in every answer, with Nomad its first choice on six of seven days, then Airalo, Saily, Ubigi and Turkcell, citing expatica.com most. We read 13 providers on 15 October 2026, including Turkey's three mobile operators. This page gives no score.

How to read a card. "Not stated on their website" means we read the page and the fact is not there; "Could not access" means it would not open. Prices are as shown that day, in the currency shown. Reviews are per platform, read on Trustpilot itself. "Not the fit if" uses only limits the provider publishes.
Aerial view of the Blue Mosque in Istanbul with its domes and minarets, the city and the Bosphorus behind
The Blue Mosque and the Bosphorus, Istanbul. Install your eSIM before you fly here: several providers' apps and websites are reported blocked inside Turkey. Photo: Oğuz Ata, Pexels.

Buy and install before you land

In July 2025 Turkey's telecoms regulator, BTK, reportedly blocked the websites and apps of several travel eSIM sellers inside Turkey, including Airalo, Holafly, Nomad and Saily, so you may not be able to buy or top up once you arrive. The reports come from the sellers themselves: Holafly says travellers "are not affected" if they buy and install before arriving; Saily says restrictions affect "new purchases and top-ups inside Turkey" and that "eSIMs activated before arrival should keep working"; GigSky says it still works "but with one important condition: you need to purchase your eSIM before arriving"; Ubigi tells buyers to install before the flight because its app and site are "reportedly inaccessible from within Turkey". Holafly notes BTK has not issued an official statement, and we found none. Buy enough data for the whole trip, and save the QR code. Sources: Holafly, Saily, GigSky.

What 10 GB and unlimited data cost in Turkey

For 10 GB over 30 days, Nomad and Ubigi are the cheapest at $13, with GigSky at $13.58; Kolet and Saily charge $15.49 and $15.99. For unlimited data over two weeks the spread is wider, from Maya Mobile at $27.99 for 14 days, which says "no caps, no throttling", to Holafly at $50.50 for 15 days. Roam like at home does not help here: the European Commission says countries outside the EU and EEA are not covered, so EU phone plans pay roaming in Turkey unless the operator chooses to include it.

10 GB of data in Turkey, by providerBar chart of the price of 10 GB for 30 days in Turkey: Nomad 13 dollars, Ubigi 13, GigSky 13.58, Kolet 15.49, Saily 15.99. 10 GB of data in Turkey, by providerEach provider's own Turkey page or price table, US dollars, 30 days, read 15 October 2026. Nomad$13 (sale price) Ubigi$13 GigSky$13.58 Kolet$15.49 Saily$15.99
The price of a 10 GB, 30-day Turkey plan from each provider's own page (GigSky: its July 2026 price table), read 15 October 2026. Vodafone Travel (€11 for 10 GB plus 10 GB free, 15 days) and Yesim (€16) price in euros and are not drawn. Chart by Uncompromised Travel.
Unlimited data in Turkey for about two weeksBar chart of unlimited Turkey plans for about two weeks: Maya 27.99 dollars, Ubigi 37, Airalo 39, GigSky 43.69, Holafly 50.50. Unlimited data in Turkey for about two weeksEach provider's own Turkey page, US dollars, read 15 October 2026. Maya Mobile (14 days)$27.99, "no caps" Ubigi (15 days)$37, full speed to 5 GB a day Airalo (15 days)$39, cap not quoted GigSky (14 days)$43.69, 3.5 GB a day Holafly (15 days)$50.50, hotspot 1 GB a day
Unlimited Turkey plans of 14 or 15 days on each provider's own page, read 15 October 2026, with the limit each states. Chart by Uncompromised Travel.

The thirteen options, one card each

Fixed-data eSIMs, ordered by the price of 10 GB; those priced in euros last.

NomadPartnerTurkey plan page

10 GB in Turkey
$13 for 10 GB, 30 days (on sale from $15).
Smallest and unlimited
1 GB $4 (7 days); 50 GB $31 (30 days). Unlimited 5 days $17, 10 days $28; daily cap not quoted.
Network in Turkey
"Network for Turkey: Avea" (Türk Telekom), with other local networks to switch to.
Hotspot and number
"Nomad's eSIMs support tethering / hotspot." Some Nomad eSIMs include a number; the Turkey page does not say which.
Buying in Turkey
Named in Holafly's and Saily's reports of the July 2025 block: buy before you arrive.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.3 from 46,064 (getnomad.app).
Not the fit if
You need unlimited data for more than 10 days: its Turkey unlimited plans run 5 or 10 days only. Plans must be activated within 60 days of purchase.
Sources: Turkey page, Turkey and Greece, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

UbigiOperated by Transatel, an NTT company

10 GB in Turkey
$13 for 10 GB, 30 days; 25 GB for $25. Covers Northern Cyprus too.
Smallest and unlimited
Unlimited 15 days $37: 5 GB a day at full speed, then "optimized to 2 Mbps".
Network in Turkey
Türk Telekom and Turkcell.
Hotspot and number
"Data sharing allowed". Data only.
Buying in Turkey
"Install and activate the eSIM before your flight, since the app and website are reportedly inaccessible from within Turkey."
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.1 from 48,364 (cellulardata.ubigi.com).
Not the fit if
You live in Turkey: the plan "cannot be used by Turkey residents while in Turkey".
Sources: 10 GB plan, unlimited plan, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

GigSkyGigSky's own Turkey price table, "as of July 2026"

10 GB in Turkey
$13.58 for 10 GB, 30 days.
Smallest and unlimited
Free 500 MB trial for 7 days; 1 GB $2.99. Unlimited 14 days $43.69, 30 days $62.22, with 3.5 GB a day at high speed.
Network in Turkey
Not named; 5G in most places, some 4G between cities.
Hotspot and number
"Unlimited hotspot sharing". Voice and SMS not included.
Buying in Turkey
"GigSky still works in Turkey, but with one important condition: you need to purchase your eSIM before arriving."
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.3 from 6,626 (gigsky.com).
Not the fit if
You plan to buy or manage it after landing: its own article says app and website access is limited in Turkey without a VPN.
Sources: Turkey prices, Turkey block, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

KoletTurkey plan page

10 GB in Turkey
$15.49 for 10 GB, 30 days; 20 GB $19.99.
Smallest and unlimited
1 GB $3.99. No unlimited Turkey plan listed.
Network in Turkey
Not stated on their website.
Hotspot and number
Its help centre says it adds no hotspot restriction of its own. Number not stated.
Buying in Turkey
Not named in the block reports read; not stated on its Turkey page.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.7 from 2,159 (kolet.com).
Not the fit if
You want unlimited data or a named Turkish network: neither appears on its Turkey page.
Sources: Turkey page, unlimited plans help, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.
Istanbul skyline with the stone Galata Tower rising above the rooftops
Galata Tower, Istanbul. GigSky says most of its Turkey coverage is 5G, with some 4G on long drives between cities. Photo: Ninety Seven Years, Pexels.

SailyTurkey plan page

10 GB in Turkey
$15.99 for 10 GB, 30 days; 20 GB $22.99.
Smallest and unlimited
1 GB $3.99 (7 days). Unlimited $48.99 (duration not tied to the price on the page).
Network in Turkey
Not named; 3G to 5G "depending on local network providers".
Hotspot and number
"No hotspot restrictions or limitations." Data only; a Saily number is separate.
Buying in Turkey
Its own report: restrictions affect new purchases and top-ups inside Turkey; "eSIMs activated before arrival should keep working". Its Europe plan (35 countries) includes Turkey.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.7 from 32,028 (saily.com).
Not the fit if
You expect to top up in Turkey: its own article says you cannot, so buy enough before you fly.
Sources: Turkey page, Turkey block, Europe plan, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Vodafone Travel eSIMVodafone Group travel eSIM (not Vodafone Turkey)

10 GB in Turkey
€11 for 10 GB plus 10 GB free, 15 days; 20 GB plus 20 GB free, 30 days, €17.
Smallest and unlimited
3 GB €8 (7 days). Unlimited 15 days €41; cap not quoted.
Network in Turkey
Not named; "5G ready".
Hotspot and number
Hotspot not stated. "Data eSIM only."
Buying in Turkey
Not stated on the page.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 3.0 from 294 (travel.vodafone.com).
Not the fit if
You need a hotspot or a named network: the page states neither.
Sources: Turkey page, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

YesimPrices from Yesim's own Turkey article; its plan pages returned an error

10 GB in Turkey
€16 for 10 GB, 30 days, per its article.
Smallest and unlimited
500 MB for 3 days €0.50; unlimited 30 days at €2.14 a day.
Network in Turkey
Not stated.
Hotspot and number
Could not access its plan pages.
Buying in Turkey
Its help centre: "IMEI countdown is cumulative. The IMEI will be blocked after 120 days", and Yesim cannot register a phone for you.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.3 from 2,951 (yesim.app).
Not the fit if
You stay in Turkey long enough to need IMEI registration: Yesim says you must do it yourself, in Turkey, with your documents.
Sources: Turkey article, IMEI help, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Unlimited-only eSIMs. Alphabetical.

AiraloTurkey plan page

Unlimited
3 days $11.50; 15 days $39; 30 days $69. No fixed-data plan shown. Cap not quoted.
Network in Turkey
Türk Telekom (Avea).
Hotspot and number
Not stated on the Turkey page.
Buying in Turkey
Named in Saily's and GigSky's reports of the block.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.1 from 47,096 (airalo.com).
Not the fit if
You need hotspot or fair-use terms in writing: its Turkey page states neither.
Sources: Turkey page, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

HolaflyTurkey plan page

Unlimited
3 days $11.90; 15 days $50.50; 30 days $73.90. A fair-use slowdown "for no more than one (1) day".
Network in Turkey
Turkcell and Türk Telekom mobile; 5G where available.
Hotspot and number
Hotspot up to 1 GB a day. No phone number.
Buying in Turkey
Its own report says travellers "are not affected" if they buy and install before arriving, and suggests saving the QR code.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.7 from 114,792 (esim.holafly.com).
Not the fit if
You want to top up or share data with a laptop: no top-ups, and hotspot is capped at 1 GB a day.
Sources: Turkey page, Turkey block, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Maya MobileTurkey plan page

Unlimited
3 days $9.99; 14 days $27.99; 30 days $49.99. "No caps, no throttling, no surprises."
Network in Turkey
Not named; "the strongest local network".
Hotspot and number
"Hotspot included." Number not stated.
Buying in Turkey
Not named in the block reports read.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.5 from 12,824 (maya.net).
Not the fit if
You want a small fixed plan: it sells unlimited plans only.
Sources: Turkey page, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Tourist SIMs from Turkey's three mobile operators. Alphabetical.

Turkcell TouristTurkcell, Turkish mobile operator

Price
Tourist Welcome Pack 1,800 TL for 28 days: 20 GB, 200 local minutes (offer to 31 December 2026).
How you get it
eSIM in the Turkcell app with a biometric passport and an NFC phone, or a physical SIM in store. Buy within 90 days before or after arrival.
Hotspot and number
"Hotspot use is unrestricted." A Turkish number with calls and texts.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 1.7 from 32 (turkcell.com.tr, unclaimed).
Not the fit if
You do not have a passport with you or a phone with NFC: "national ID cards not accepted", and the in-app eSIM needs both.
Sources: Tourist SIM, Welcome Pack. Read 15 October 2026.

Vodafone TurkeyVodafone Türkiye · Welcome to Turkey Pack

Price
Pack included on the New Easy Tariff; "New SIM Card fee may vary from shop to shop."
Allowance
20 GB, 750 minutes, 1,000 SMS for 28 days, plus WhatsApp data.
How you get it
Physical SIM or eSIM, "You can take your e-SIM from Vodafone Shops", with a foreign passport.
Reviews
Not checked.
Not the fit if
You want to set it up before you fly: the eSIM is collected in a Vodafone shop, and the tourist line is "deactivated automatically after 60 days".
Sources: Vodafone Turkey. Read 15 October 2026.

Türk Telekom TouristTürk Telekom, Turkish mobile operator

Price
Welcome 10GB, 320 TL for 7 days; Welcome 25GB, 420 TL for 28 days; Welcome 50GB, 550 TL for 28 days.
Allowance
Each includes minutes and SMS, for example 750 of each on the 25 GB pack.
How you get it
A prepaid SIM from a Türk Telekom store or at the airport. eSIM not mentioned.
Reviews
Not checked.
Not the fit if
You need 10 GB to last more than a week: the 10 GB pack runs 7 days.
Sources: Tourist SIM. Read 15 October 2026.
Hot air balloons floating at sunrise over the rock formations of Cappadocia, Turkey
Balloons over Cappadocia at sunrise. Outside the big cities, which network your eSIM uses matters more: Ubigi and Holafly name two Turkish networks each. Photo: Hazal Celik, Pexels.

The 120-day phone registration rule

Turkey's regulator says a phone brought from abroad can be used for 120 days from the date of entry without registration; after that, an unregistered phone is cut off. BTK's consumer site states it plainly, and registration runs through the government's e-Devlet portal. The rule is about the phone's IMEI, not the SIM, and nothing from BTK or the three operators says whether a foreign eSIM starts the clock. Yesim says the countdown "is cumulative" across visits and that it cannot register a phone for you. One BTK page also mentions 365 days, and no official page we read gives a 2026 fee for foreign phones, so ignore figures quoted without a BTK source. For a normal holiday, 120 days does not come into it. Sources: BTK consumer site, BTK device registration FAQ.

Three ways to choose

1. A week or two, normal use: 10 GB for 30 days from Nomad or Ubigi at $13, bought and installed at home. Ubigi uses both Türk Telekom and Turkcell.

2. Heavy use or a hotspot: Maya Mobile's unlimited plan ($27.99 for 14 days, hotspot included) or GigSky's (3.5 GB a day, unlimited hotspot sharing). Holafly caps hotspot at 1 GB a day.

3. Calls and a Turkish number: Turkcell's tourist eSIM in its app (1,800 TL for 28 days, 20 GB and 200 minutes) if you have a biometric passport and an NFC phone; otherwise Vodafone Turkey or Türk Telekom in a shop or at the airport. More on eSIMs for the Middle East and how much data you need.

eSIM for Turkey: the questions people ask

Which is the best eSIM for Turkey?

On prices read on 15 October 2026, Nomad and Ubigi are the cheapest for 10 GB at $13 for 30 days; Ubigi uses both Türk Telekom and Turkcell, Nomad lists Türk Telekom (Avea). For unlimited data, Maya Mobile is the cheapest at $27.99 for 14 days and says it has no caps. Whatever you choose, buy and install it before you arrive: several providers report their apps and websites are blocked inside Turkey.

Do eSIMs work in Turkey in 2026?

Yes, if you buy and install them before you arrive. Since July 2025 Turkey's regulator has reportedly blocked the websites and apps of several eSIM sellers inside the country, according to Holafly, Saily and GigSky. They say eSIMs installed before arrival keep working, but new purchases and top-ups inside Turkey may not.

What is the cheapest eSIM for Turkey?

For 10 GB over 30 days: Nomad $13 (sale price), Ubigi $13, GigSky $13.58, Kolet $15.49 and Saily $15.99. Vodafone's travel eSIM gives 10 GB plus 10 GB free for €11 over 15 days. GigSky offers a free 500 MB trial. Prices read 15 October 2026.

Is there an unlimited eSIM for Turkey?

Yes. Maya Mobile ($27.99 for 14 days, "no caps, no throttling"), Ubigi ($37 for 15 days, full speed to 5 GB a day then 2 Mbps), Airalo ($39 for 15 days), GigSky ($43.69 for 14 days, 3.5 GB a day at high speed) and Holafly ($50.50 for 15 days, hotspot 1 GB a day).

Does my EU phone plan work in Turkey?

Not at home prices by law. The European Commission says countries outside the EU and EEA are not covered by roam like at home, though some operators include them voluntarily. Check your operator's Turkey rate before you go.

Do I need to register my phone in Turkey?

Only for long stays. Turkey's regulator BTK says a phone brought from abroad can be used for 120 days from entry without registration and is then cut off if not registered. Nothing official says whether a foreign eSIM starts the clock; Yesim says the countdown is cumulative across visits.

Can tourists get a Turkcell eSIM?

Yes, in the Turkcell app with a biometric passport and a phone with eSIM and NFC; national ID cards are not accepted. The Tourist Welcome Pack is 1,800 TL for 28 days with 20 GB and 200 local minutes. Without those, a physical SIM is available in store.

Which eSIM networks are used in Turkey?

Turkey has three networks: Turkcell, Vodafone and Türk Telekom. Ubigi and Holafly use Türk Telekom and Turkcell; Airalo and Nomad list Türk Telekom (Avea). Kolet, Saily, Maya, GigSky and Vodafone Travel do not name a network on their Turkey pages.

Can a provider pay to be on this page?

No. A provider is on this page because it sells a Turkey plan whose price could be read, or because ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links. Nomad, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and appears by the same rule as everyone else.

This page gives no score and no ranking. Fixed-data eSIMs are ordered by the price of 10 GB; the rest are grouped by type. A provider is included if it sells a Turkey plan whose price could be read on its own site, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links. Nomad, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and is listed by the same rule as everyone else. Sources: each provider's own Turkey page, read 15 October 2026; Trustpilot; BTK; the European Commission. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.