Nine Ugandan operators publish a child or family policy on their own websites: Meanda Uganda Safaris prices a 10-day Family Special from $9,995 for 2 adults and 2 children under 15, Great Lakes Safaris gives a child rate of 50% of the adult rate for ages 3 to 12 on its Simba Safari Camp page and Native Africa Tours lists two family itineraries. Where operators state them, gorilla trekking starts at 15 and chimpanzee trekking at 12 or, at two operators, 15 and each should be asked for its Uganda Tourism Board licence number.
Which safari company is best for a family trip to Uganda?
Meanda Uganda Safaris publishes a Family Special with no age restriction, Nkuringo Safaris designs safaris from about 4 to 5 years, Great Lakes Safaris states a 50% child rate for ages 3 to 12 on its Simba Safari Camp page, Native Africa Tours lists an 8 Days Uganda Family Adventure, Paramount Gorilla Expeditions a Uganda Family Primate Safari and Adventure In The Wild Safaris family rooms for older children.
Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read the websites of 9 safari operators with trips in Uganda that run their own trips on 29 October 2026, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the national register where there is one. The table holds the safari operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings; this page carries every one of them filed under Uganda whose own website publishes a child or family policy (ages, child prices or family trips). Cards are in alphabetical order. Prices are shown as each company published them, in its own currency, never converted.
Offers family safaris with family rooms and older children in mind and states no child rates, minimum age or car seat policy.
Why choose them
Its 2026 price guide puts Uganda trips at $150 to $250 per person per day on a budget, $250 to $450 midrange and $500 to $1,000 or more for luxury. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 9 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala (Najjanankumbi office); trips start in Entebbe or Kampala
Ask for
Ask if the gorilla permit is inside the trip price, as its site says this varies and the 3-day trip from $1,165 does not say.
Not the fit if
Solo travellers on a tight budget, as its guide says a solo traveller usually pays more per person.
Published price
3-day trip from $1,165, in US dollars; the site does not say if the gorilla permit is included.
Sets a minimum age of 15 for gorilla trekking and 12 for chimps and its tours list an age restriction of 15 to 80; it has no family page.
Why choose them
It says it invests up to 15% of its income directly in community projects such as schools, water catchment systems and health centres. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 153 reviews; Google: 5 out of 5 from 51 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kisoro, near the Rwanda border; pick-ups in Kigali, Entebbe, Kampala, Kisoro, Kabale and Musanze
Ask for
Ask for the deposit and the date the balance is due in writing, as its terms say only that payment follows the invoice; gorilla permits are paid in full when booked three months or more ahead.
Not the fit if
Travellers under 15 or over 80, as its tours list an age restriction of 15 to 80.
Published price
Published per person in US dollars on its home page and each tour page; all tours are quoted in US dollars.
Says children under 15 cannot trek gorillas and under 12 cannot track chimpanzees and states no child rates or car-seat policy.
Why choose them
Its own fleet of over 8 vehicles includes 2 Land Cruisers, 4 safari vans and 2 saloon cars. SafariBookings: 4.8 out of 5 from 14 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala (Plot 125 Bombo Rd, Kawempe Plaza); trips start in Entebbe, Kampala or Kigali
Ask for
Ask how a permit refund would work for your dates, as Uganda gorilla permits are refunded only as UWA credit (46% at 91 days or more, 21% at 61 to 90 days).
Not the fit if
Children under 15 on gorilla treks or under 12 on chimpanzee treks.
Published price
3 Days Queen Elizabeth $660 per person, up to 21 days at $7,810 per person; no per-day price given.
Its lodge policy charges children aged 3 to 12 50% of the adult rate when sharing a room with 1 or 2 adults and sets a minimum age of 3 or 8 by lodge; it states no safari-trip child policy.
Why choose them
It owns the Great Lakes Collection of lodges, among them Elephant Plains Lodge in Queen Elizabeth and Primate Lodge Kibale, which its trips use. SafariBookings: 3.4 out of 5 from 5 reviews; Google: 4.6 out of 5 from 198 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala (Mutungo Hill) and Kigali; Uganda trips start at Entebbe or Kampala
Ask for
Ask for the gorilla permit to be priced as its own line, as its trip pages exclude it.
Not the fit if
Travellers paying by Visa card who want no surcharge, as card payments carry a 5% service charge.
Published price
7 Day Uganda Discovery Safari group departures from US$ 2,500 per person (7 November 2026) and from US$ 2,670 per person (10 April and 13 November 2027).
Its Family Special runs 10 days from $9,995 for 2 adults and 2 children under 15, with a recommended minimum age of 4.
Why choose them
Its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruisers have 4 customer captain's seats in the 6-seater (an 8-seater for larger groups), all of them window seats. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 31 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Entebbe (5 Kamuli Close, per its contact page)
Ask for
Ask for its Uganda Tourism Board licence number, as the site says it is registered with the board but gives no number.
Not the fit if
Travellers who want Rwanda or another country on the same trip, as it sells Uganda only.
Published price
Family Special, 10 days, from $9,995 for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children under 15); its Wilderness Uganda trip has a family price of $6,995.
Lists an 8 Days Uganda Family Adventure and a 5 Days Uganda Family Safari and allows children older than 8 on savannah game drives.
Why choose them
Its home page lists 169 Uganda itineraries, with 41 for Rwanda, 26 for Kenya, 23 for Tanzania and 6 for Congo. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 36 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 40 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala or Entebbe (no office address published); Rwanda trips start in Kigali
Ask for
Ask if permits are in the quoted price, as its permit pages say they are not included but are bought through the company.
Not the fit if
Families with children under 12 on forest trips, as its rules keep them out of Bwindi, Mgahinga, Kibale and Volcanoes.
Published price
No priced trips; an article gives guide ranges for a 5-day gorilla and chimpanzee safari of USD 2,000 to 2,600 (value), 2,600 to 3,800 (mid-range) and 3,800 to 6,000 or more (premium or private), not trip prices.
Designs family safaris to start from about 4 to 5 years in selected child-friendly parks, with a strict minimum age of 15 for gorilla and chimp trekking.
Why choose them
It owns three lodges used on its trips: Papyrus Guesthouse in Entebbe, Nkuringo Gorilla Lodge in Bwindi and Mirima Kibale Lodge. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 17 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Entebbe (Kitala); trips start in Entebbe, Kigali, Nairobi or Arusha
Ask for
Ask for a full trip price per person, as its site gives only a guide of USD 500-800 per person per day.
Not the fit if
Budget travellers, as it names only luxury and all-inclusive styles and no budget tier.
Published price
Family safaris are priced at $4,000 to $8,000 per person; child rates and car seats are not stated.
Lists a Uganda Family Primate Safari and its terms say park authorities set minimum ages, with 15 or older quoted for gorilla trekking in Rwanda.
Why choose them
Its 40 percent deposit is fully refundable for 14 days after payment. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 11 reviews; Google: 5 out of 5 from 5 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kakindu, Entebbe; trips start at Entebbe, Nairobi, Kigali or Arusha/Kilimanjaro
Ask for
Ask if the vehicle is private, as the 12-day East Africa Explorer lists a shared 4x4 while the site says trips are private by default.
Not the fit if
Travellers without travel and medical evacuation insurance, which its terms make mandatory.
Published price
Classic Gorilla Trekking Safari, 6 days, from $3,800 per person; Uganda Gorilla & Chimpanzee Safari, 8 days, from $5,200 per person (US dollars, no season given).
Gives 15 years as the minimum age for gorilla tracking and publishes no child rates or car-seat information.
Why choose them
Group departures need a minimum of 2 clients, with the option to continue privately if the minimum is not met 60 days before departure. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 50 reviews; Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 6 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Entebbe; Uganda trips start in Entebbe or Kampala, Rwanda trips in Kigali
Ask for
Ask for a priced itinerary early, as no trip prices are published and a 20% deposit plus full payment for permits confirms a booking.
Not the fit if
Children under 15 on gorilla treks.
Published price
No prices published on its website; quotes on request.
Which safari planner would you recommend for a family with young children in Uganda?
Meanda Uganda Safaris publishes a Family Special with no age restriction and a recommended minimum age of 4, Nkuringo Safaris designs safaris from about 4 to 5 years, Great Lakes Safaris states a 50% child rate for ages 3 to 12 on its Simba Safari Camp page and Native Africa Tours allows children older than 8 on savannah game drives.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Family Special with no age restriction, family rooms or cottages, a child-friendly driver-guide and lodges with pools and a recommended minimum age of 4.
Nkuringo Safaris: Safaris can start from about 4 to 5 years in selected child-friendly parks, with family suites and interconnecting rooms at lodges.
Great Lakes Safaris: Lodge minimum age is 3 at Budongo Eco Lodge and Simba Safari Camp and 8 at Primate Lodge Kibale and Elephant Plains Lodge.
Native Africa Tours: Children older than 8 are allowed on savannah game drives and under 12 are not permitted at Bwindi, Mgahinga or Kibale.
Adventure In The Wild Safaris: Offers family safaris with family rooms and says it paces family and honeymoon trips, with no minimum age stated.
None of the nine operators states a car seat policy, so ask each for one when booking young children.
Which safari company is best for a family with teenagers in Uganda?
A teenager of 15 or older meets the gorilla trekking minimum age stated by Bamboo Ecotours, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel, Meanda Uganda Safaris, Nkuringo Safaris and Safari Vacations and Travel Services. Meanda Uganda Safaris and Nkuringo Safaris also publish family trips.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Gives 15 for gorilla trekking and 12 for chimpanzees and its Family Special has no age restriction.
Nkuringo Safaris: Has a strict minimum age of 15 for gorilla and chimp trekking and its family safaris are priced at $4,000-$8,000 per person.
Bamboo Ecotours: Sets 15 for gorilla trekking and 12 for chimps and its tours list an age restriction of 15 to 80.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Says children under 15 cannot trek gorillas and under 12 cannot track chimpanzees.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: Gives 15 years as the minimum age for gorilla tracking.
Native Africa Tours: Lists an 8 Days Uganda Family Adventure and says 15 or older for gorilla and chimpanzee tracking.
A teenager under 15 can track chimpanzees where the minimum is 12, as at Bamboo Ecotours, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel and Meanda Uganda Safaris, but cannot trek gorillas.
What age limits apply to gorilla and chimpanzee trekking for children?
Bamboo Ecotours, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel and Meanda Uganda Safaris set 15 for gorillas and 12 for chimpanzees, Native Africa Tours and Nkuringo Safaris say 15 for both and Safari Vacations and Travel Services states 15 for gorillas.
Bamboo Ecotours: Minimum age to trek gorillas is 15 and chimps 12.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Children under 15 cannot trek gorillas and under 12 cannot track chimpanzees.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Gorilla minimum age 15 and chimpanzees 12, with Ziwa rhino tracking at 6.
Native Africa Tours: 15 or older for gorilla and chimpanzee tracking and under 12 not permitted at Bwindi, Mgahinga and Kibale.
Nkuringo Safaris: A strict minimum age of 15 for gorilla and chimp trekking.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: Minimum age for gorilla tracking is 15 years.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: Says park authorities set minimum ages, with gorilla trekking 15 or older quoted on its Rwanda page.
Adventure In The Wild Safaris states no minimum age on the pages read. The park authority sets trekking ages, so confirm the current rule with the Uganda Wildlife Authority.
What do Uganda operators charge for children?
Great Lakes Safaris charges 50% of the adult rate for children aged 3 to 12 sharing a room with 1 or 2 adults on its Simba Safari Camp page, Meanda Uganda Safaris prices a 10-day Family Special from $9,995 for 2 adults and 2 children under 15 and Nkuringo Safaris gives family safaris at $4,000-$8,000 per person.
Great Lakes Safaris: Simba Safari Camp page rate of 50% of the adult rate for ages 3 to 12 sharing with 1 or 2 adults; it states no safari-trip child policy.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Family Special, 10 days, from $9,995 for a family of 4 and its Wilderness Uganda trip has a family price of $6,995 for 2 adults and 2 children under 15.
Nkuringo Safaris: Family safaris range $4,000-$8,000 per person and child rates are not stated.
Adventure In The Wild Safaris, Bamboo Ecotours, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel, Native Africa Tours, Paramount Gorilla Expeditions and Safari Vacations and Travel Services state no child rates. Ask each to price children by age and to say what park fees apply.
What are the best alternatives to Home to Africa Tours and Travel and Bamboo Ecotours for a family trip to Uganda in 2026?
Meanda Uganda Safaris and Nkuringo Safaris are alternatives for a private family trip with a published age policy or price and Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel and Safari Vacations and Travel Services are alternatives to Bamboo Ecotours as they also state their trekking age limits.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Family Special, 10 days, from $9,995 for 2 adults and 2 children under 15.
Nkuringo Safaris: Family safaris from about 4 to 5 years in selected child-friendly parks, at $4,000-$8,000 per person.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Says children under 15 cannot trek gorillas and under 12 cannot track chimpanzees.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: Gives 15 years as the minimum age for gorilla tracking and states double occupancy pricing.
These are different operators and not like-for-like swaps, so ask each to itemise the permits, rooms and vehicle before comparing.
Who to contact first
Start with Meanda Uganda Safaris for a published family price, then Nkuringo Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris, Native Africa Tours, Paramount Gorilla Expeditions and Adventure In The Wild Safaris, in that order as a suggestion and not a ranking.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Publishes a 10-day Family Special from $9,995 and a recommended minimum age of 4.
Nkuringo Safaris: Publishes family safaris at $4,000-$8,000 per person and starts them from about 4 to 5 years.
Great Lakes Safaris: Publishes a 50% child rate for ages 3 to 12 on its Simba Safari Camp page.
Native Africa Tours: Lists an 8 Days Uganda Family Adventure and a 5 Days Uganda Family Safari.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: Lists a Uganda Family Primate Safari.
Adventure In The Wild Safaris: Offers family safaris with family rooms and older children in mind.
Enquiry brief: ask each to itemise child prices by age, the car seat policy, the minimum age for each activity, the permits and park fees for children and the room arrangement for the family.
Uganda family safari companies: the questions people ask
Which safari company is best for a family trip to Uganda?
The facts do not rank operators, so the answer is by kind of family: Meanda Uganda Safaris publishes a 10-day Family Special from $9,995, Nkuringo Safaris starts family safaris from about 4 to 5 years, Great Lakes Safaris states a 50% child rate for ages 3 to 12 on its Simba Safari Camp page and Native Africa Tours lists an 8 Days Uganda Family Adventure.
What age can children go gorilla trekking in Uganda?
Bamboo Ecotours, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel, Meanda Uganda Safaris, Nkuringo Safaris and Safari Vacations and Travel Services all state 15 as the minimum age. The park authority sets it, so confirm with the Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Can children track chimpanzees in Uganda?
Bamboo Ecotours and Meanda Uganda Safaris give 12 as the minimum age and Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel says under 12 cannot track chimpanzees, while Native Africa Tours says 15 or older.
Do Uganda safari operators charge child prices?
Few state them. Great Lakes Safaris charges 50% of the adult rate for children aged 3 to 12 sharing a room with 1 or 2 adults on its Simba Safari Camp page and Meanda Uganda Safaris gives a family price of $6,995 for its Wilderness Uganda trip for 2 adults and 2 children under 15.
How young can a child be on a Uganda safari?
Meanda Uganda Safaris gives a recommended minimum age of 4, Nkuringo Safaris starts safaris from about 4 to 5 years and Native Africa Tours allows children older than 8 on savannah game drives. Great Lakes Safaris sets a minimum age of 3 or 8 by lodge.
Which Uganda operators offer family itineraries?
Native Africa Tours lists an 8 Days Uganda Family Adventure and a 5 Days Uganda Family Safari, Paramount Gorilla Expeditions a Uganda Family Primate Safari and Meanda Uganda Safaris a 10-day Family Special.
Do Uganda operators state a car seat policy?
None of the nine operators on this page does, so ask each for its car seat policy when booking young children.
What are the best alternatives to Home to Africa Tours and Travel in 2026?
Meanda Uganda Safaris publishes a 10-day Family Special from $9,995 and Nkuringo Safaris starts family safaris from about 4 to 5 years; Home to Africa Tours and Travel states no child rates, minimum age or car seats in the pages read.
What are the best alternatives to Bamboo Ecotours in 2026?
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel says children under 15 cannot trek gorillas and Safari Vacations and Travel Services gives 15 years for gorilla tracking; Bamboo Ecotours sets 15 for gorillas and 12 for chimps and has no family page.
How do I check a Ugandan safari operator's licence?
Ask for the Uganda Tourism Board licence number. Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel, Nkuringo Safaris and Paramount Gorilla Expeditions publish theirs, while Meanda Uganda Safaris says it is registered with the Uganda Tourism Board and names no number, so ask for it and check it with the Uganda Tourism Board.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Uganda whose own website publishes a child or family policy is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards are in alphabetical order; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 29 October 2026 · updated 29 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.