Every figure below is Great Plains Conservation's own, as its website published it, in its own currency and never converted, with the page it was read from.
How much does a safari with Great Plains Conservation cost?
Great Plains Conservation publishes its own rates: lowest at its own camps: $1,225 at Mara Expedition Camp (no season or year given on its website, read 19 October 2026).
Lowest published
Lowest at its own camps: $1,225 at Mara Expedition Camp (no season or year given on its website, read 19 October 2026).
What the rate includes
Included (typical camp page): accommodation, all meals, scheduled wildlife activities, laundry, non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks including premium spirits and champagne, airstrip road transfers and in Kenya national reserve or conservancy fees (ol Donyo includes Big Life conservation fees and horseback riding). Botswana and Kenya rates include scheduled seat-in-plane air transfers (2-night minimum). Extra per the terms: travel to and from camps, some inter-camp flights, insurance, gratuities, hot air ballooning and other excursions, spa treatments and any park fees or conservancy levies not included.
Minimum stay
Included scheduled air transfers apply 'subject to a minimum 2-night stay' (Kenya and Botswana camps). At Tembo Plains one Mana Pools wildlife experience is included on 3-night stays or longer.
What does a stay with Great Plains Conservation cost, line by line?
A stay with Great Plains Conservation is built from its published rate, what that rate includes, getting to camp, park fees or conservation levies and any extras, each line below from its own website.
Stays
Lowest at its own camps: $1,225 at Mara Expedition Camp (no season or year given on its website, read 19 October 2026).
Included in the rate
Included (typical camp page): accommodation, all meals, scheduled wildlife activities, laundry, non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks including premium spirits and champagne, airstrip road transfers and in Kenya national reserve or conservancy fees (ol Donyo includes Big Life conservation fees and horseback riding). Botswana and Kenya rates include scheduled seat-in-plane air transfers (2-night minimum).
Getting there
Flying is subcontracted: 'we subcontract the flying services to independent charter operations'.
Fees and levies
Examples: Olare Motorogi conservation fees support over 1,000 Maasai families.
Extras
Shared open vehicles seat a maximum of 4 guests 'with private hire possible'.
A cheetah sitting in dry grass. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Great Plains Conservation's camp.
What costs extra with Great Plains Conservation?
The extras Great Plains Conservation prices on its own website are below: single travellers, children, a private vehicle, exclusive use and flights or transfers where it publishes them.
Single travellers
Rates are per person sharing. 'Single guest' rates are 'available on request' (ol Donyo, Mpala Jena).
Children
Family accommodation: 2-bedroom family tents at Mara Nyika, Mara Expedition and Selinda Explorers, family suite at ol Donyo and Mpala Jena (2 family suites). 'Child rates' are available on request (ol Donyo, Mpala Jena). ol Donyo runs 'Young Explorers programs'; the menu lists 'Kids on Safari'.
Private guide and vehicle
Shared open vehicles seat a maximum of 4 guests 'with private hire possible'. The 2-bedroom Suites 'often include the services of their own private butler, chef, guides and safari vehicle'.
Exclusive use
Private 2-bedroom suites: Jahazi (Mara Plains), Sambuk (Mara Nyika), Dhow (Zarafa), Selinda Suite, Duba Plains Suite, Sitatunga Private Island Suite, Zanji (Tembo Plains), plus Mpala Jena Private Villas (partner). A whole-camp buy-out or sole-use rate is not stated.
Flights and transfers
Flying is subcontracted: 'we subcontract the flying services to independent charter operations'. No own aircraft stated.
Honeymoon offers
No named honeymoon offer. Zarafa is described as a 'romantic Botswana safari experience'
What are Great Plains Conservation's deposit and cancellation terms?
Great Plains Conservation does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.
Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
The balance is 'payable in full, no later than 60 days prior arrival date' and according to third-party supplier terms. Some suppliers may require full payment at booking.
Cancellation charges
Standard schedule for Great Plains arrangements: more than 61 days before arrival, 25% of the refundable deposit is forfeited; 60 to 46 days before arrival, 50% of the reservation's full value; fewer than 45 days before arrival and no shows, 100% of full value. Third-party services follow their own policies, told at confirmation. Changes only effective on written notice.
Currencies and card fees
Preferred method is electronic bank transfer, or credit card, which 'will incur an additional processing fee' (no percentage given). Cheques are not accepted.
Is it cheaper to book Great Plains Conservation direct or through a planner?
Great Plains Conservation's own website does not say whether booking direct is cheaper than booking through a planner; ask both for the same dates and compare.
Where it sells
Sells direct to guests through its reservations office and a 'Safari Designer' who quotes each booking (email, phone, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. SAST Monday to Friday). The menu has a 'Trade & Media Login' and an 'Agent Details' form for agents.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Trade & Media Login and an Agent Details form for agents. Mpala Jena is described as a 'preferred 3rd party property' where it holds an exclusive sales, marketing and central reservations arrangement.
Is Great Plains Conservation worth the price? What guests say
No rating for Great Plains Conservation was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Google
No Google listing in Great Plains Conservation's name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Great Plains Conservation's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Great Plains Conservation's name was found.
Great Plains Conservation: the questions people ask
How much does Great Plains Conservation cost per night?
Lowest at its own camps: $1,225 at Mara Expedition Camp (no season or year given on its website, read 19 October 2026).
How many camps does Great Plains Conservation have?
No total number is given.
What activities does Great Plains Conservation offer?
Open-vehicle drives (day and night where allowed), guided walks, boating, canoe or poled mokoro, tag and release fishing, spa treatments. Examples: ol Donyo adds horseback, bike and helicopter safaris, night drives, hides and star beds.
Does Great Plains Conservation have honeymoon offers?
No named honeymoon offer. Zarafa is described as a 'romantic Botswana safari experience'
How does Great Plains Conservation fund conservation?
Model called 'Conservation Tourism', supported by the Great Plains Foundation. Examples: Olare Motorogi conservation fees support over 1,000 Maasai families.
What is included in Great Plains Conservation's rates?
Included (typical camp page): accommodation, all meals, scheduled wildlife activities, laundry, non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks including premium spirits and champagne, airstrip road transfers and in Kenya national reserve or conservancy fees (ol Donyo includes Big Life conservation fees and horseback riding). Botswana and Kenya rates include scheduled seat-in-plane air transfers (2-night minimum).
What are Great Plains Conservation's cancellation charges?
Standard schedule for Great Plains arrangements: more than 61 days before arrival, 25% of the refundable deposit is forfeited; 60 to 46 days before arrival, 50% of the reservation's full value; fewer than 45 days before arrival and no shows, 100% of full value. Third-party services follow their own policies, told at confirmation.
Does Great Plains Conservation charge a single supplement?
Rates are per person sharing. 'Single guest' rates are 'available on request' (ol Donyo, Mpala Jena).
Does Great Plains Conservation accept children?
Family accommodation: 2-bedroom family tents at Mara Nyika, Mara Expedition and Selinda Explorers, family suite at ol Donyo and Mpala Jena (2 family suites). 'Child rates' are available on request (ol Donyo, Mpala Jena). ol Donyo runs 'Young Explorers programs'; the menu lists 'Kids on Safari'.
Does Great Plains Conservation offer a private vehicle?
Shared open vehicles seat a maximum of 4 guests 'with private hire possible'. The 2-bedroom Suites 'often include the services of their own private butler, chef, guides and safari vehicle'.
Is there a minimum stay with Great Plains Conservation?
Included scheduled air transfers apply 'subject to a minimum 2-night stay' (Kenya and Botswana camps).
What are Great Plains Conservation's reviews?
No rating for Great Plains Conservation was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Great Plains Conservation published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Great Plains Conservation did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.