A guide walks through long grass under a full rainbow in the spray of Victoria Falls, Zambia

Photo: Tongabezi Lodge, Victoria Falls, used with permission

Which Safari Company Is Best for a South Africa and Victoria Falls Safari with Teenagers? Eleven Companies Compared on What They Publish, with the Specialist's Own Route

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 14 October 2026

Four safari companies publish a priced itinerary that puts South Africa and Victoria Falls in one trip, and one of them, Extraordinary Journeys, built its version for families with teenagers: the South Africa and Zambia safari, 12 days from $15,000 per person, through Cape Town, MalaMala, Tongabezi at Victoria Falls and the Lower Zambezi. The other three are Go2Africa (Family Cape Town, Kruger & Victoria Falls, 10 days, EUR 14,370 to 15,175 per person sharing), Audley Travel (South Africa & Victoria Falls family adventure, 10 days, from CAD 17,850 per person on its Canadian site) and Yellow Zebra Safaris (A Safari Exploration, 22 nights, GBP 29,105 per person for four adults). Scott Dunn prices South Africa and Zambia teen trips separately (9 nights from GBP 5,300; 10 nights from GBP 8,700); Expert Africa, Aardvark Safaris, Africa Odyssey, Rhino Africa, Original Travel and Safari Consultants publish teenage guidance or a priced Victoria Falls trip without the combination. This page gives no score. Each company is shown with what its own website says and the date it was read, and the route advice comes from Pearl Jurist-Schoen, Head of Africa Sales at Extraordinary Journeys, who answered this site’s questions in writing.

Who is on this page, and why

A company is on this page if its own website publishes a safari product for families with teenagers, or a priced itinerary that pairs South Africa with Victoria Falls, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Of the 50 African safari companies whose public facts this site keeps in one table, 35 say they take teenagers and all but two plan South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe; the eleven below are the ones whose pages give a buyer something concrete, a priced trip or a teenage programme, to ask for. The rest are not on the page, which says nothing about whether they could plan the route.

How to read a card. “Not stated on their website” means the company’s pages were read and the fact is not there. “Could not access” means the page that would hold it would not open. Prices are the company’s own, per person, as printed on 12 October 2026, in the currency the page showed; nothing is converted. Reviews are shown per platform and never added together.
Two people in rain ponchos stand at the edge of Livingstone Island with the Victoria Falls and a rainbow in the spray behind them
The lip of the Falls from Livingstone Island, reached only from the Zambian side. Photo: Green Safaris, Tongabezi Lodge, used with permission.

South Africa and the Falls: what the specialist says

The questions below were put to Pearl Jurist-Schoen, Head of Africa Sales at Extraordinary Journeys, who is one of the two specialists Condé Nast Traveler lists for the company. The itinerary she describes pairs MalaMala in the Sabi Sand with Livingstone for the Falls and the Lower Zambezi in Zambia; her answers are quoted as written.

Zambia or Zimbabwe for the Falls: which do you recommend, and does it change by month?

“It does change by month. When the water is low (October to December), the Zimbabwe side can offer better views because more water is still flowing on that side. Outside those months, there are great options on either side, so it depends on a few factors. This itinerary includes the Lower Zambezi in Zambia, so staying in Livingstone simplifies things: one less border crossing and one less visa. Livingstone Island is also only accessible from the Zambia side, which made it a good fit for this sample family. Tongabezi is a great family lodge too, but there are others!”

Pearl Jurist-Schoen, Head of Africa Sales, Extraordinary Journeys, written answers to Uncompromised Travel, October 2026

Why MalaMala for the safari part of the trip?

“MalaMala is one of the best concessions in the Sabi Sands. It’s enormous and private, and it has extensive river frontage. There are a few lodge options here that vary in their level of luxury, but none compromises on the quality of game viewing. This isn’t an overly luxurious trip, and MalaMala Camp is really well done without being overly fancy or romantic, which makes it a great fit for families.”

What does the Lower Zambezi add after the Falls?

“Exceptional game viewing! Both destinations sit on the Zambezi River, but they have a very different feel. At the Falls, you’re out and about doing different activities and focusing less on wildlife and nature immersion. The Lower Zambezi offers some of the best wildlife viewing in Africa, and Dulini’s location is remote and quiet. So you get a great land- and water-based safari without the bustle of the Falls.”

A pack of African wild dogs on a dry riverbed in front of an open safari vehicle at Dulini Anabezi Camp, Lower Zambezi, Zambia
Wild dogs in front of the vehicle at Dulini Anabezi Camp, Lower Zambezi National Park. Photo: Dulini Anabezi Camp, used with permission.

What makes this trip work for families with teenagers?

“The trip is still very much geared toward game viewing, and exceptional, varied game viewing at that. It doesn’t focus much on the softer, non-safari activities that are great for younger kids who might get bored of game viewing. But these particular camps and areas still have plenty of flexibility and variety built in.”

What do you know about putting South Africa and the Falls together that only comes from doing it many times?

“A Kruger safari is quintessential. You can see a huge amount of wildlife in a short time, mostly from the vehicle. It’s nice to pair that with a lodge in a more remote part of Africa that also offers amazing wildlife but feels a little more adventurous. With epic bush walks and water activities, it also offers wonderful opportunities to experience the bush outside a vehicle.”

A bedroom at Tongabezi Lodge open on one side to the Zambezi River, with a wooden desk, white bed and a river view
A river room at Tongabezi Lodge above the Zambezi, upstream of the Falls on the Zambian side. Photo: Green Safaris, Tongabezi Lodge, used with permission.

The itinerary we feature: South Africa and Zambia safari, for families travelling with teenagers

Cape Town, MalaMala Game Reserve on the Kruger boundary, Tongabezi Lodge at Victoria Falls and Dulini Anabezi in the Lower Zambezi, in that order. Suggested duration 12 days, from $15,000 per person, as published on Extraordinary Journeys’ itinerary page (read 14 October 2026). The page prints no inclusions list beside the price, so ask for one in writing; the day plan below is summarised from that page, and the camps named are the ones it names.

South Africa and Zambia safari, for families travelling with teenagersExtraordinary Journeys · 12 days · from $15,000 per person

Days 1 to 3
Cape Town. The Victoria & Alfred Hotel on the V&A Waterfront with Table Mountain in the window. The Table Mountain cableway, a Cape Malay cooking class in a Bo-Kaap home, a kelp-forest snorkel with a freediver conservationist at Windmill Beach, the penguins at Boulders Beach and Chapman’s Peak Drive home.
Days 4 to 6
MalaMala Game Reserve. Unfenced to Kruger National Park. A guide and tracker, twice-daily drives following fresh tracks, time by the pool between them, and bush walks. The camp was chosen, the page says, for “breathing room for everyone”: pool, games room and oversized decks.
Days 7 to 8
Victoria Falls, Zambia, Tongabezi Lodge. A short flight from MalaMala to a family space on the Zambezi upstream of the Falls, a sunset cruise, then a private Falls tour planned to the season: rainforest viewpoints, Devil’s Pool if conditions allow, Livingstone Island. Back at the lodge: fishing, a village visit, or microlight flights and whitewater rafting for the thrill-seekers.
Days 9 to 12
Lower Zambezi National Park, Dulini Anabezi. Private game drives, canoeing past hippos, tiger fishing and tracking on foot with the camp’s rangers; “teens stretch their independence in the safely held wilderness”. A last sunrise over the Zambezi before the journey home.
Who it is for
In the company’s words: “parents wanting meaningful time together, teens craving independence and fun, and travelers who appreciate comfort without compromising on adventure.”
Make it yours
The page offers a Cape Town surf lesson, a Bo-Kaap photography walk, or extra nights in the Lower Zambezi as add-ons.
Source: the itinerary page, read 14 October 2026. Day plan summarised; the company’s page has the full text.
A lion cub walking along a fallen tree trunk in soft light at Dulini Anabezi Camp, Lower Zambezi, Zambia
A lion cub on a fallen tree at Dulini Anabezi, the Lower Zambezi camp the featured route ends at. Photo: Dulini Anabezi Camp, used with permission.

Enquire about this itinerary. The company that built this route will price it for your dates, confirm which side of the Falls suits your month, and say which camps have the family rooms your party needs. Contact Extraordinary Journeys. The enquiry goes to the company that designed the route; it will price it for your dates and party.

The company this page features, then the alternatives

Extraordinary Journeys comes first because the itinerary above is its route and its specialist answered the questions; its facts were read the same way as everyone else’s. The ten alternatives follow in alphabetical order. Every fact is from the company’s own website or the named review platform, read on 12 October 2026, and each card ends with the limits the company itself publishes.

Extraordinary JourneysSafari specialist, Washington, D.C., USA · Partner

Teenagers
"South Africa and Zambia safari: wild adventures for families traveling with teenagers", 12 days from $15,000 pp. Its family guide says teens face fewer age restrictions; the Bush to Beach active safari is built around teens.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
South Africa and Zambia safari, 12 days, from $15,000 per person: Cape Town, MalaMala, Tongabezi Lodge at Victoria Falls (Zambian side) and Dulini Anabezi in the Lower Zambezi (itinerary page read 14 Oct 2026; no inclusions list beside the price). Also a Zimbabwe and Botswana family safari, 13 days from $10,000 pp.
Price per day
South Africa about $1,000 per person per night, based on two sharing. No Zambia or Zimbabwe figure.
Minimum child age
No single minimum. Some camps set 12, others six; it recommends waiting until children are six to eight. Gorilla and chimp trekking is usually 16+, canoeing usually 12+.
Private vehicle and guide
Optional and set per itinerary, not a site-wide guarantee. Its Kenya itineraries describe exclusive-use vehicles and a private guide.
Reviews
Google 5.0 from 182 reviews; Trustpilot: profile claimed, 0 reviews; SafariBookings 4.9 from 35, newest Aug 2025 (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, Best Safari Outfitters, 6th of 10 (readers' survey). Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Elizabeth Gordon, Family & Multigenerational Safaris (editors' selection).
Payment protection
No scheme named; payments "go directly toward securing your arrangements" with lodges, camps, guides and air operators.
Not the fit if
You want a named bond or scheme: its terms say it is not liable for supplier financial failure and recommend cancellation insurance. Private vehicles are set per itinerary.

Alternatives to Extraordinary Journeys for a South Africa and Victoria Falls safari with teenagers

Alphabetical. These are the other companies whose own websites meet the rule at the top of the page.

Aardvark SafarisAardvark Safaris Ltd, Tidworth, England

Teenagers
Its October half-term guide has a section "Older children (13 and over)" with Tanzania and Botswana teenager itineraries (balloon ride, walking, mokoro, Victoria Falls rafting and bungee). No prices are given. It also advises on multi-generational trips.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe (destinations page). No combined itinerary or price was found; its linked 8-day malaria-free South Africa family sample itinerary is unpriced and was not in the pages read.
Price per day
Could not access
Minimum child age
No general minimum age stated. Gorilla tracking: children older than 15; mobile riding safaris typically around 14; some riding safaris 16+.
Private vehicle and guide
Optional: clients are told to "take a private guide to accompany you throughout your safari". Not guaranteed.
Reviews
Google 5.0 from 286 reviews; Trustpilot: no profile found (page returned a 404); SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Condé Nast Traveller (UK) travel specialists list, 7 Nov 2025: listed under "lesser-known Africa" (hand-picked by the UK editors).
Payment protection
"Fully bonded" by the CAA under ATOL 5356, with non-flight packages protected through ABTOT (membership 5704); its guarantee and booking-conditions pages differ on whether all flights are ATOL protected.
Not the fit if
You want a published price: none was found for family itineraries. Its teenager ideas name Tanzania and Botswana, and a private guide is not guaranteed.

Africa OdysseySafari specialist, Putney, London, UK

Teenagers
Its family pages say a South Africa trip suits "a large family full of teenagers", Zimbabwe is "better for teens with a sense of adventure", and a Tanzania north-plus-Zanzibar itinerary is "perfect for teenagers".
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe, but no combined price is published. Priced separately: Zimbabwe Adventure 1, 6 nights Victoria Falls and Hwange, from $3,543 pp including internal flights; Botswana Adventure 1, 10 nights including Victoria Falls, from $7,124 pp.
Price per day
No per-day total. Lodge rates per person per night: Zambia $800 to $1,500; Zimbabwe $700 to $1,350. No South Africa figure.
Minimum child age
No company-wide minimum. Lodges are "child-friendly above a minimum age of 6 years old"; some Botswana lodges take no children under 8; Zambia national park walking is prohibited under 12.
Private vehicle and guide
Recommended, not guaranteed as policy: "We recommend that you book a private vehicle and guide" (Botswana family page). Fly-in camps use the lodge's vehicles and guides.
Reviews
Google 5.0 from 19 reviews (the listing found is named Tanzania Odyssey); Trustpilot 5.0 from 379 reviews, newest 29 Sep 2026; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
None read from a publisher for 2024 to 2026. The company lists British Travel Awards from 2014 to 2016 on its own site (not confirmed).
Payment protection
"We are ATOL bonded" (ATOL 5397), though its terms add that not all services it sells are protected by the ATOL scheme.
Not the fit if
You want a priced South Africa and Victoria Falls itinerary: none is published. A private vehicle is recommended, not guaranteed.
Sources: family safaris page, priced trips page, terms, Trustpilot. Read 12 October 2026.

Audley TravelAudley Travel Group Limited, Witney, England

Teenagers
Not stated on their website. The pages read name no teenage trips or age guidance.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
South Africa & Victoria Falls family adventure, 10 days from CAD 17,850pp (Canada list): family-friendly excursions in Cape Town, family suites, three nights in a private reserve and a private guided Victoria Falls tour. The price was seen on its Canada page only.
Price per day
Not stated on their website
Minimum child age
Not stated on their website
Private vehicle and guide
Offered, not stated as guaranteed on every trip: Victoria Falls with "a private guide", and private escorted tours in Namibia. Self-drive trips are unguided by design.
Reviews
Google: no single listing shown; Trustpilot 4.9 from 5,049 reviews, newest 24 Sep 2026; Tripadvisor 3.9 from 57 reviews; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Condé Nast Traveller (UK) travel specialists list, 7 Nov 2025: listed under "classic tailor-made" (hand-picked by the UK editors). The company lists further awards on its own site (not confirmed).
Payment protection
"All the trips we arrange through our UK offices are protected by either ATOL or ABTOT."
Not the fit if
You need a price in sterling: the South Africa and Victoria Falls price read is in CAD. It states no teenager trips or minimum age.

Expert AfricaSafari specialist, Richmond, London, UK

Teenagers
Its family page has a teenager section (age 13+) saying teens can do walking safaris, canoe trips, quad biking and wildlife photography courses. A "Friends and Family Gatherings" collection covers multi-generational trips.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe, but no combined price is published. Nearest priced trip: Klipspringer Safari (Zimbabwe, 8 days), US$3,340 to $3,930 pp based on two travellers.
Price per day
Not stated on their website
Minimum child age
Recommends children aged "about eight and above". Camp rules vary; walking safaris have a minimum age "usually 12, 14 or 16".
Private vehicle and guide
Optional, not guaranteed. It can arrange private vehicles and privately guided trips on request; some camps include them.
Reviews
Google 4.9 from 306 reviews; Trustpilot 2.9 from 2 reviews, newest 29 June 2025; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Condé Nast Traveller (UK) travel specialists list, 7 Nov 2025: listed under "Expert safari experience" (hand-picked by the UK editors). The company lists 2025 British Travel Awards (public vote) on its own site (not confirmed).
Payment protection
Flight-inclusive bookings are protected by ATOL (licence 5206) and other holidays by ABTOT (member 5715), per its booking conditions.
Not the fit if
You want a priced South Africa and Victoria Falls trip: none is published. Private vehicles and guides are optional, not guaranteed.

Go2AfricaSafari specialist, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa

Teenagers
No itinerary is specifically labelled for teens. Its family page says accommodation matters for teens wanting space and for multi-generational travel.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
Family Cape Town, Kruger & Victoria Falls, 10 days: EUR 14,370 to 15,175 per person sharing (read from Spain; another listing shows $16,100 to $17,000). Includes meal plans, permits, park fees, specified activities, 24/7 assistance and its money-back guarantee; excludes international flights and visas.
Price per day
Guideline USD per person per night sharing, low to high season, excluding flights and visas: South Africa $920 to $3,020; Zambia $1,100 to $2,530; Zimbabwe $1,000 to $2,200; Victoria Falls $400 to $1,800.
Minimum child age
Not stated on their website as a general age. Hiring a private game vehicle "alters the minimum age of children allowed on game drives, at the discretion of your guide".
Private vehicle and guide
Optional: private game vehicles "can be hired". Not stated as guaranteed on the three standard itineraries read.
Reviews
Google: no figure visible; Trustpilot 4.8 from 181 reviews, newest 21 Sep 2026; SafariBookings 4.4 from 106, newest Jul 2025 (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, Best Safari Outfitters, 8th of 10 (readers' survey). Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Justin Chapman, Adventure & Active Safaris (editors' selection).
Payment protection
An automatic Money-Back Guarantee covers services it books if a supplier becomes insolvent (up to $30,000 per person per its blog), alongside SATSA bonding.
Not the fit if
You want cover for the company itself failing: its pages do not say what protects client money then. Prices exclude international flights and visas.

Original TravelTravel specialist, London, UK

Teenagers
Says teenagers suit Tanzania (Great Migration, Serengeti) or Namibia (rhino conservation). It also offers private-hire properties for multi-generational groups, including a whole-family safari in South Africa.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe; no combined price is published. Priced separately: a Cape Town, Kruger and Johannesburg itinerary, 11 days, £3,745 to £4,780; Victoria Falls & Unforgettable Safaris (Zimbabwe/Botswana family), 11 days, £6,050 to £8,150.
Price per day
Not stated on their website
Minimum child age
No general minimum stated; recommends a family safari such as Madikwe (South Africa) for children as young as five.
Private vehicle and guide
The "vast majority" of its holidays are entirely private with no joining groups. A guaranteed private safari guide and vehicle is not specifically stated.
Reviews
Google: no listing shown; Trustpilot: unclaimed profile, 0 reviews; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Condé Nast Traveler (US) Travel Specialists, Safari: 2 specialists listed, James Back and Paul Tyler (editors' selection). Condé Nast Traveller (UK) list, 7 Nov 2025: listed under "extra services".
Payment protection
Flight-inclusive holidays are ATOL protected (ATOL 5922), and packages without a flight by an ABTA bond (member Y5632).
Not the fit if
You want one combined South Africa and Victoria Falls price: none is published. Per-person basis and inclusions are not stated beside prices.
Sources: South Africa ideas, family Africa holidays, FAQs, terms. Read 12 October 2026.

Rhino AfricaSafari specialist, Cape Town, South Africa

Teenagers
Its Serengeti page says a safari "works especially well for older children and teenagers"; Namibia and Rwanda pages mention families with teenagers. South Africa is described as "one of Africa's strongest family destinations".
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe; no combined price is published. Priced separately: Water, Wild & Wonder (Botswana and Zimbabwe, 12 days) $14,958 per person sharing; a 17-day South Africa self-drive family itinerary, $8,172.
Price per day
Zambia $500 to $3,000 per person per night; Sabi Sand (South Africa) $808 to $2,694 per person per night. No Zimbabwe figure.
Minimum child age
Not stated on their website as a company-wide age. Set by lodge: Ellerman House 12 and older, Tsala Treetop Lodge 10 and older, Camp Okavango and Chief's Camp 6 and older.
Private vehicle and guide
Optional, not guaranteed: its Travel Experts "can arrange private transfers, a private guide and vehicle" (Garden Route page).
Reviews
Google 4.6 from 223 reviews; Trustpilot 5.0 from 5,513 reviews, newest 4 Oct 2026; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
None read from a publisher for 2024 to 2026. The company lists a 2026 Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award and 2026 World Travel Awards titles on its own site (not confirmed).
Payment protection
No scheme named; it offers "complimentary financial protection" and a "100% refundable deposit" promise, and says it is not travel insurance.
Not the fit if
You want a named bond: its terms say it "acts solely in the capacity of an agent". Ages are set lodge by lodge.

Safari ConsultantsSafari specialist, Great Cornard, Suffolk, UK

Teenagers
Suggests Zimbabwe, Zambia or Botswana for "older, very active teenage children"; Zambia is described as good for "families with older children". No teen itinerary or price was found.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe among 14 countries. No combined itinerary or price was found; its country family pages could not be accessed.
Price per day
Not stated on their website
Minimum child age
No company-wide minimum. Some camps take no children under a certain age, "often 12 years"; wilderness safaris with walking and canoeing suit children 14 or 15 and over.
Private vehicle and guide
Optional: "it is usually possible to arrange private and/or specialist guiding"; exclusive vehicle use costs extra.
Reviews
Google 4.9 from 73 reviews; Trustpilot 5.0 from 480 reviews, newest 3 Sep 2026; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
None read from a publisher for 2024 to 2026. The company's own site shows none dated 2024 to 2026.
Payment protection
Says "fully bonded": ATOL licence 3783 for flight-inclusive holidays and ABTOT membership 5246 for non-flight packages.
Not the fit if
You want a published South Africa and Victoria Falls price: none was found. Exclusive vehicle use costs extra.

Scott DunnScott Dunn Limited, London, UK

Teenagers
South Africa for Teenagers, 9 nights from £5,300; Zambia Safari for Teenagers, 10 nights from £8,700 (private houses). Also South Africa & Namibia for Teenagers, 13 nights from £6,200. Prices per person, 2 adults and 2 children sharing. Its CREW programme is for ages 11+.
South Africa with Victoria Falls
It sells South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe, with separate teenager itineraries for South Africa and Zambia. No combined South Africa and Victoria Falls itinerary or price was found.
Price per day
Not stated on their website
Minimum child age
Not stated on their website for safaris. Its Explorers kids clubs cover 4 months to 11 years and CREW is 11+.
Private vehicle and guide
Stated on itineraries rather than as a blanket guarantee: tours are labelled "private tour", and Iconic Kenya names "your private guide".
Reviews
Google: no listing shown; Trustpilot 4.6 from 278 reviews, newest 27 Sep 2026; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Bjorn Behlert, Family & Multigenerational Safaris (editors' selection). Condé Nast Traveller (UK) list, 7 Nov 2025: listed under "going anywhere".
Payment protection
"Fully bonded tour operator... 100% financial security": ATOL 2471 for flight packages and ABTOT 5222 for non-flight packages.
Not the fit if
You want one Victoria Falls itinerary price: none published. Prices assume 2 adults and 2 children and exclude local taxes paid in destination.

Yellow Zebra SafarisYellow Zebra Travel Ltd, Kingston upon Thames, England

Teenagers
Recommends Tanzania (Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Zanzibar) and Botswana for teens. On its 22-night A Safari Exploration it says "Teenage children are perfect".
South Africa with Victoria Falls
A Safari Exploration, 22 nights across Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana and South Africa, with a Victoria Falls helicopter flight: £29,105 pp, based on four adults, high season only. Separately: Ultimate South Africa Family Safari, 9 nights, £4,598 to £4,964 pp; Zimbabwe Family Adventure, £5,982 to £7,532 pp.
Price per day
Not stated on their website for South Africa, Zambia or Zimbabwe.
Minimum child age
No general minimum. A Safari Exploration: "this is not a safari for anyone younger" than teenagers; adventurous itineraries suit over 10s.
Private vehicle and guide
Optional. Lodges typically cap vehicles at 6 people; a private vehicle throughout costs extra. A Safari Exploration is guided throughout by an in-house guide.
Reviews
Google 4.9 from 243 reviews; Trustpilot 4.9 from 1,783 reviews, newest 2 Oct 2026; SafariBookings: could not access (all read 12 Oct 2026).
Awards read from publishers
Condé Nast Traveler (US) Travel Specialists, Safari: 1 specialist listed, Julian Carter-Manning (editors' selection). The company lists UK list and World Travel Awards titles on its own site (not confirmed).
Payment protection
"Fully accredited and bonded under ATOL 10614", with an ATOL Certificate listing what is protected.
Not the fit if
You want a short trip with a Victoria Falls price: the only combined one is 22 nights, priced for four adults. A private vehicle throughout costs extra.

Three ways to choose

1. Do you want the combination priced before you enquire? Four companies print one. Extraordinary Journeys prices the teenage version of the route (12 days, from $15,000 per person, set out above) but prints no inclusions list. The other three: Go2Africa’s Family Cape Town, Kruger & Victoria Falls (10 days, EUR 14,370 to 15,175 per person sharing, with meal plans, park fees and activities listed), Audley Travel’s South Africa & Victoria Falls family adventure (10 days, from CAD 17,850 per person, on its Canadian price list) and Yellow Zebra Safaris’ 22-night A Safari Exploration (GBP 29,105 per person for four adults, with a helicopter flight over the Falls).

2. Which side of the Falls? Pearl Jurist-Schoen’s rule: Zimbabwe in the low-water months of October to December, either side the rest of the year, and Zambia whenever the trip continues to the Lower Zambezi, because it saves a border and a visa and is the only side from which Livingstone Island can be reached. Go2Africa’s guideline cost for Victoria Falls is $400 to $1,800 per person per night; Discover Africa’s Zambia range, read for another page, is $600 to $1,840.

3. Teenagers: who says what they can do? Expert Africa’s family page has a section for 13 and over (walking safaris, canoe trips, quad biking, wildlife photography courses). Scott Dunn sells trips named for teenagers in South Africa and Zambia. Safari Consultants points “older, very active teenage children” to Zimbabwe, Zambia or Botswana. Extraordinary Journeys says teenagers face fewer age restrictions than younger children and builds its route around game viewing rather than softer activities. Walking safaris carry a minimum age of 12, 14 or 16 depending on the camp, and the Lower Zambezi’s canoeing usually 12 and over.

Three African penguins standing on a granite boulder on the Cape Peninsula near Cape Town, South Africa
African penguins on the granite boulders of the Cape Peninsula. The Cape Town leg is where most of these itineraries start before the Kruger or Sabi Sand. Photo: Pam Ivey on Unsplash.

Money. The UK companies on this page publish a protection scheme with a number you can check (Aardvark ATOL 5356, Africa Odyssey ATOL 5397, Expert Africa ATOL 5206 and ABTOT 5715, Original Travel ATOL 5922 and ABTA Y5632, Safari Consultants ATOL 3783, Scott Dunn ATOL 2471, Yellow Zebra ATOL 10614; Audley says ATOL or ABTOT). Go2Africa publishes a supplier-failure guarantee of up to $30,000 per person. Extraordinary Journeys and Rhino Africa name no scheme. The full comparison is on the payment terms page.

South Africa and Victoria Falls with teenagers: the questions people ask

Which safari company is best for a South Africa and Victoria Falls safari with teenagers?

On what the companies publish, read 12 and 14 October 2026, four print a priced itinerary that combines South Africa with Victoria Falls: Extraordinary Journeys (South Africa and Zambia safari for families travelling with teenagers, 12 days, from $15,000 per person, the only one built for teenagers: Cape Town, MalaMala, Tongabezi at the Falls, the Lower Zambezi), Go2Africa (Family Cape Town, Kruger & Victoria Falls, 10 days, EUR 14,370 to 15,175 per person sharing), Audley Travel (10 days, from CAD 17,850 per person) and Yellow Zebra Safaris (22 nights, GBP 29,105 per person for four adults). Scott Dunn prices South Africa and Zambia teenage trips separately. The page gives no score.

What are the best alternatives to Extraordinary Journeys for South Africa and Victoria Falls with teenagers?

On what they publish (read 12 October 2026), the closest alternatives are Go2Africa (Family Cape Town, Kruger & Victoria Falls, 10 days, EUR 14,370 to 15,175 per person sharing, with inclusions listed), Scott Dunn (South Africa for Teenagers 9 nights from GBP 5,300 and Zambia Safari for Teenagers 10 nights from GBP 8,700, priced separately; ATOL 2471) and Audley Travel (South Africa & Victoria Falls family adventure, 10 days, from CAD 17,850 per person). Expert Africa has the fullest published teenage programme (13 and over) without a combined price; Yellow Zebra prices a 22-night version. Extraordinary Journeys remains the only one with a priced teenage itinerary that runs Cape Town, the Sabi Sand, the Falls and the Lower Zambezi in one trip.

Zambia or Zimbabwe: which side of Victoria Falls is better for a family?

Pearl Jurist-Schoen of Extraordinary Journeys: Zimbabwe in the low-water months of October to December, when more water still flows on that side; either side for the rest of the year. If the trip continues to the Lower Zambezi in Zambia, staying in Livingstone saves a border crossing and a visa, and Livingstone Island, at the lip of the Falls, can only be reached from the Zambian side.

Why combine the Kruger or Sabi Sand with the Lower Zambezi?

Because they feel different. In Pearl Jurist-Schoen's words, a Kruger safari lets you "see a huge amount of wildlife in a short time, mostly from the vehicle", while the Lower Zambezi adds bush walks and river activities, "opportunities to experience the bush outside a vehicle". Both the Falls and the Lower Zambezi sit on the Zambezi River, but the Falls is about activities and the Lower Zambezi is about wildlife in a remote, quiet setting.

Why MalaMala rather than another Sabi Sand lodge for a family?

MalaMala is "one of the best concessions in the Sabi Sands. It's enormous and private, and it has extensive river frontage," according to Pearl Jurist-Schoen, and MalaMala Camp "is really well done without being overly fancy or romantic, which makes it a great fit for families."

How much does a South Africa and Victoria Falls safari cost?

From the companies' own prices on 12 October 2026: Go2Africa EUR 14,370 to 15,175 per person sharing for 10 days; Audley Travel from CAD 17,850 per person for 10 days; Extraordinary Journeys from $15,000 per person for 12 days (teenage version, with the Lower Zambezi); Yellow Zebra GBP 29,105 per person for 22 nights. Per-night guidance from Go2Africa: South Africa $920 to $3,020, Zambia $1,100 to $2,530, Zimbabwe $1,000 to $2,200, Victoria Falls $400 to $1,800. Extraordinary Journeys gives about $1,000 per person per night for South Africa.

What can teenagers do on this route that younger children cannot?

Walking safaris (minimum ages of 12, 14 or 16 depending on the camp), canoeing on the Lower Zambezi (usually 12 and over), Livingstone Island and the activities around the Falls, and, on Expert Africa's family page for 13 and over, quad biking and wildlife photography courses. Extraordinary Journeys says its teenage itinerary is built around game viewing rather than softer activities.

Is the trip malaria-free?

No. The Kruger, the Sabi Sand, Victoria Falls and the Lower Zambezi are all malaria areas. South Africa's malaria-free reserves (Madikwe, the Eastern Cape, the Waterberg) are a different route; Mahlatini and Extraordinary Journeys publish malaria-free South Africa family itineraries, covered on the multi-generational Kenya page's choices.

Which of these companies protects my money with a scheme I can check?

The UK companies: Aardvark Safaris (ATOL 5356, ABTOT 5704), Africa Odyssey (ATOL 5397), Audley Travel (ATOL or ABTOT), Expert Africa (ATOL 5206, ABTOT 5715), Original Travel (ATOL 5922, ABTA Y5632), Safari Consultants (ATOL 3783, ABTOT 5246), Scott Dunn (ATOL 2471, ABTOT 5222) and Yellow Zebra Safaris (ATOL 10614). Go2Africa publishes a money-back guarantee against supplier insolvency of up to $30,000 per person and SATSA bonding. Extraordinary Journeys and Rhino Africa name no scheme.

Can a company pay to be on this page?

No. A company is on this page because its own website publishes a teenage safari product or a priced itinerary pairing South Africa with Victoria Falls, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Extraordinary Journeys is shown first because the page features its itinerary and its specialist; its facts are read the same way as everyone else's, and no company has paid for how its facts read. There are no affiliate links and no score.

This page gives no score and no ranking. Extraordinary Journeys, whose itinerary and specialist the page features, is shown first; the alternatives are alphabetical. A company is included if its own website publishes a safari product for families with teenagers or a priced itinerary pairing South Africa with Victoria Falls, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Extraordinary Journeys is a paid partner of this site; it is included by the same rule and with its facts read the same way as every other company, and partners pay for labelled placement, never for how their facts read. There are no affiliate links. Facts read 12 October 2026 from each company's own website and booking terms, the Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists, Google, Trustpilot, Tripadvisor and SafariBookings. Pearl Jurist-Schoen's answers were given in writing to this site in October 2026 and are quoted unedited. Photographs are supplied by Green Safaris (Tongabezi Lodge) and Dulini Anabezi Camp and used with permission, and by Pam Ivey on Unsplash. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.