Eight flight compensation companies state on their own websites that they take UK261 claims, and only one of them, Bott and Co, is a UK-regulated law firm that publishes a timeline: court proceedings within 30 days, your money within 14 days of the firm receiving it from the airline, on a fee of 42% plus VAT. AirHelp (35% including VAT) and Flightright (usually 20 to 30% plus VAT) are the most-reviewed, with 245,024 and 4,546 Trustpilot reviews, but neither names a UK dispute body or a UK court in its terms. Skycop, Flight-Delayed, AirAdvisor, SkyRefund and EUclaim also state UK261; none is UK-registered and all quote fees in euros. This page gives no score. Each company is shown with what is public about it, read on 14 October 2026, and the line that says who it is not the fit for comes only from limits the company itself publishes.
Who is on this page, and why
A company is on this page if its own website says it takes claims under UK261, the UK version of EC261 that has covered flights departing the UK, and flights arriving in the UK on a UK or EU airline, since 1 January 2021. We tracked 18 flight compensation companies and read each one's UK pages and terms on 14 October 2026. Eight state UK261 and are below. Five state only the EU regulation and are left off: MYFLYRIGHT, ClaimFlights, Click2Refund, Refundor and refund.me, which mentions a six-year UK limit but names no UK law. Three could not be read that day: Compensair's site returned a server error, Colibra's blocks readers, and FairPlane now redirects to a solicitors' site that returned no page text. ClaimCompass redirects to AirHelp. GIVT is a donation app, not a claims company.
How to read a card. "Not stated on their website" means we read the company's pages and the fact is not there. "Could not access" means we could not open the page that would hold it. "No profile found" means no listing on that platform. None of the three means the company does not have it. Fees are the company's own figures from its fee or terms page. Reviews are shown per platform and are never added together; Google ratings were not read for this page. Nothing here is a recommendation: the right company depends on the three questions at the foot of the page.
easyJet aircraft at Gatwick North Terminal. UK261 covers every flight departing a UK airport, on any airline. Photo: Robin Webster, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 2.0.
The eight companies, one card each
Alphabetical. Every link is to a page we opened on 14 October 2026.
Yes. Its terms define "UK 261" as the Air Passenger Rights and Air Travel Organisers' Licensing (Amendment) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019, and it has a UK261 page.
Regulated as
A registered debt collection service provider under German law (Local Court Charlottenburg HRB 196015 B). Not a law firm; its terms say legal advice is not part of the service.
Fee
35% of the compensation, VAT included, no win no fee. A legal action fee of 15% (VAT included) is added where a case goes to legal action, which AirHelp puts at about 3% of cases.
UK process stated
Legal action "may include filing in court or before a national enforcement body". No UK dispute body (AviationADR, CEDR) and no UK court is named; its UK261 page says "we may need to go to court".
Payout timing
"A few weeks, a few months, or sometimes longer." No fixed time to pass money on once the airline pays.
Payment
Method and currency not stated on the terms page read; the fee examples are in euros.
Time limit it states
Six years from the disruption under UK law.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.5 from 245,024 reviews (airhelp.com, read 14 Oct 2026). Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want to keep talking to the airline yourself, or to bring in a solicitor later: the terms route all contact through AirHelp and bar a second representative once a claim is submitted.
Bott and CoBott and Co Solicitors Ltd, England and Wales
States UK261
Yes. Its UK261 guide says UK261 "continues to provide passengers with exactly the same legal rights to compensation and assistance as EU261".
Regulated as
A law firm authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority, SRA 605593; company number 8615712. The only UK-regulated firm on this page.
Fee
42% of the compensation plus VAT, no win no fee. Its terms of business show the charge in pounds: £112 on a £220 award and £270 on a £520 award, VAT included, so you keep £108 or £250. Court fees are paid by the firm and recovered from the airline.
UK process stated
It says it issues court proceedings within 30 days of taking a claim, in the small claims track. It does not use the CAA's ADR schemes.
Payout timing
Money reaches the firm 7 to 42 days after the airline settles, then it is paid to you within 14 days. Its terms give an average of about 72 days to settle, and over a year for complex cases.
Payment
Bank transfer (BACS), or cheque on request, in pounds.
Time limit it states
Six years in England, Wales and Northern Ireland; five years for flights from a Scottish airport.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.7 from 2,881 reviews (read 14 Oct 2026). Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
Your flight neither left nor arrived in England or Wales and was not on an English or Welsh airline: the firm says such cases "may not be handled in court". For Ryanair flights it asks you to claim directly with the airline first.
EUclaimYource B.V., Amsterdam (trading as EUclaim, Arnhem)
States UK261
Only in its terms, which list "UK 261" among the regulations it relies on. Its homepage describes the EU regulation and links to a UK air passenger rights page in the footer. The weakest statement on this page.
Regulated as
A Dutch company (KvK 52683702). Not a law firm.
Fee
31% of the claim, VAT included, plus a €33 handling fee per passenger; its homepage puts it as "you receive 69% of the compensation".
UK process stated
Not stated on their website.
Payout timing
Within 30 days of receiving your payment details, once the airline has paid.
Payment
Bank account (IBAN) or PayPal. Prices are in euros.
Time limit it states
Not stated. Its homepage says "even after 10 years, claims are still paid", which is not a deadline.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access on 14 Oct 2026. Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want the company to say on its UK pages how it handles a UK claim: only the terms mention UK261, and the terms let it decline to continue a claim without giving reasons.
Yes, in its terms, which list "UK 261" among the regulations relied on; its UK homepage says "claim up to £520". flight-delayed.co.uk redirects to flight-delayed.com/en-gb.
Regulated as
A Dutch company (KvK 52683702), the same company as EUclaim. Not a law firm.
Fee
35% service fee plus a 15% legal fee if legal action is needed, both VAT included. Its own example: from £520 you keep £338 without legal action, £260 with it. Cancel during the legal phase and both fees are charged.
UK process stated
Not stated on their website: court action is at the company's discretion, and no UK dispute body or court is named.
Payout timing
Within 30 days of receiving your bank details, once the compensation has been collected.
Payment
Bank account. Rates are "expressed in euros".
Time limit it states
Six years.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.4 from 37,055 reviews, listed under Yource (flight-delayed.com, read 14 Oct 2026). Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want a company that states a UK process, or that will carry on once you have spoken to the airline: the terms bar you from contacting the airline, count any cheque or voucher the airline sends you as payment, and let Yource stop a claim "without providing reasons".
Yes. Its UK homepage has a "UK 261 Regulation" section: "the applicable legislation after Brexit".
Regulated as
A German company (Local Court Charlottenburg HRB 249849). Not a law firm; its terms say it is not permitted to represent you before the civil courts and uses contract lawyers where needed.
Fee
"Usually 20 to 30%" plus VAT, with a 14% solicitor's surcharge plus VAT where a lawyer is used. The exact percentage is set during ordering. Charged only on success.
UK process stated
Its terms say it does not take part in consumer arbitration. No UK dispute body or UK court is named.
Payout timing
"Immediately" on success, once all documents are received. No fixed number of days.
Payment
Bank account; PayPal offered as an alternative. Transfer fees to non-SEPA accounts fall on you. Currency not stated; the terms' examples are in euros.
Time limit it states
Six years for a flight that departed from or landed in the UK.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.7 from 4,546 reviews (flightright.com, read 14 Oct 2026). Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want every settlement offer put to you: the terms let Flightright accept an airline offer of 80% or more of the claim without consulting you, and reject lower offers on your behalf.
AirAdvisorAirAdvisor International Inc., Delaware, or Air Advisor Ltd, Kraków
States UK261
Yes. Its homepage describes "Regulation UK261, which is nearly identical to the passenger rights laws in the EU", and its fee table has a "UK 261 and equivalent" row.
Regulated as
A US (Delaware 7649235) or Polish company, depending on the contract. Not a law firm.
Fee
30% for delays and cancellations, VAT included; 50% where legal action is taken; 40% for baggage claims, with minimum fees on small baggage and expense claims (£80 at or below £200). No win no fee.
UK process stated
Not stated on their website: its terms say disputes "must be resolved in court" under Delaware or Polish law and do not mention ADR.
Payout timing
"Usually up to 6 weeks", and up to a year if the airline rejects the claim. Pays within 30 days of receiving correct bank details.
Payment
Bank transfer. Fee thresholds are listed in pounds, euros, US, Canadian and Australian dollars.
Time limit it states
Not stated for the UK; "each country has its own deadline".
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.3 from 2,600 reviews (read 14 Oct 2026). Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want a UK or EU contracting party, or your claim is a small baggage or expenses one: the £80 minimum fee applies at or below £200. Its terms also let unclaimed funds pass to the company after 180 days.
Yes. Its UK261 page says "UK261 covers departures from a UK airport on any airline".
Regulated as
A Lithuanian company (code 304423851); its terms are under Lithuanian law. Not a law firm.
Fee
Flat fees, VAT included: €110 from a €250 award, €176 from €400, €264 from €600; 44% of other amounts. With legal proceedings: €125, €200 or €300, or 50%. No win no fee. No fee schedule in pounds.
UK process stated
Its UK261 page explains the passenger's own route (the airline's ADR scheme, or the CAA where there is none) and says a direct claim costs nothing. It does not say Skycop itself takes cases to ADR.
Payout timing
"No guaranteed payment date." A separate "Fast Payout" option exists on its own terms.
Payment
Bank transfer to a SEPA account; bank fees come out of your share. Price list in euros.
Time limit it states
Six years in England and Wales, five in Scotland, citing the CAA.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 2.7 from 8,616 reviews (read 14 Oct 2026). Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want fees and payment in pounds, or you would accept vouchers: Skycop accepts only cash compensation, and you may not contact the airline or accept its payment directly.
Yes. Its rights page: "UK261 is the UK Air Passenger Rights Regulation, the version of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004 kept in UK law after Brexit."
Regulated as
A Bulgarian company. Not a law firm; disputes go to the Sofia courts.
Fee
35% success fee, VAT included, plus a 15% legal action fee (VAT included) where a case goes to legal action. No win no fee.
UK process stated
Its rights page says UK261 claims "are enforceable in court" as a last resort; its terms allow referral to "a dispute resolution body or a relevant administrative body". No UK body or court is named.
Payout timing
"Without unreasonable delay" once the airline pays. No fixed number of days.
Payment
Bank transfer in euros; you bear the transfer cost, and a €25 fee applies if the money has to be resent because of wrong details.
Time limit it states
Six years in England, Wales and Northern Ireland; five in Scotland.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access on 14 Oct 2026. Google: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want to be paid in pounds, or would accept miles or vouchers: payment is in euros at your cost, and the terms treat a voucher offer as a refusal.
UK261 pays £220, £350 or £520 a person for a delay of three hours or more at arrival, depending on flight distance, and the same bands for a cancellation with under 14 days' notice. The figures are the Civil Aviation Authority's. On flights over 3,500 km, a delay of three to four hours pays £260 and more than four hours £520. The regulation covers flights departing a UK airport on any airline, and flights arriving in the UK on a UK or EU airline. The time limit to bring a claim is six years in England, Wales and Northern Ireland and five years in Scotland, a difference that Bott and Co, Skycop and SkyRefund all state on their sites and that AirHelp and Flightright do not. For the differences from the EU rules see EU261 vs UK261: what changed after Brexit, and for every deadline flight compensation claim deadlines.
UK261 compensation a person by flight distance, as the Civil Aviation Authority states it: £220 under 1,500 km, £350 from 1,500 to 3,500 km, and over 3,500 km £260 for a delay of three to four hours or £520 for more than four. Chart drawn by Uncompromised Travel from the CAA delays page, read 14 October 2026.
Airline first, then ADR or court: the UK route
The CAA's advice is to claim from the airline yourself first, which costs nothing, and only then escalate: to the airline's approved dispute scheme if it belongs to one, or to the small claims court if it does not. Two schemes are approved. AviationADR handles easyJet, Ryanair, Virgin Atlantic, Wizz Air, TUI Airways, KLM, Air France, Delta, Turkish Airlines and TAP among others. CEDR handles British Airways, BA CityFlyer, Cathay Pacific and SAS, and the airports at Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted, Manchester, Bristol and Cornwall. Lufthansa group airlines sit with the German Schlichtungsstelle Reise und Verkehr. The CAA also warns that "not all airlines will deal with your complaint if you use services such as Resolver or Claims Management Companies". None of the eight companies above says it uses the two UK schemes; Bott and Co goes to court, Flightright says it does not take part in arbitration, and the rest do not say. If the airline has already said no, what to do when an airline rejects your claim sets out the steps.
1. Who would you be dealing with if it went wrong? Bott and Co is regulated by the SRA in England and Wales. The other seven are companies registered in Germany, the Netherlands, Lithuania, Bulgaria, Poland or the United States, and their terms send disputes to those countries' courts. That matters more on a UK claim than on an EU one, because UK261 cases are heard in UK courts.
2. What do you keep from £520? Only Bott and Co and Flight-Delayed put the answer in pounds: £250 and £338. For the others, work it from the percentage and ask whether VAT is inside it. Fees run from Flightright's "usually 20 to 30%" plus VAT to Bott and Co's 42% plus VAT, and most add 15% or more if the case goes to legal action.
3. Does the company say how long it takes, in a number? Two do. Bott and Co: proceedings within 30 days, payment within 14 days of receiving the money, an average of about 72 days overall. AirAdvisor: usually up to six weeks. AirHelp says weeks or months; Flightright "immediately"; Skycop "no guaranteed payment date". Which company pays out fastest, on published promises, is the subject of its own page.
Before you sign anything, claim once yourself. Every company on this page takes 20% to 50% of money that is yours by law. If the airline is British Airways, its own claim route is set out here; if the airline is in the AviationADR or CEDR scheme, a refusal can go to that scheme at no cost. Claims companies versus claiming yourself shows where each is worth it.
UK261 claim companies: the questions people ask
Which flight compensation company is best for a UK261 claim?
Eight companies state on their own websites that they take UK261 claims: AirHelp, Bott and Co, EUclaim, Flight-Delayed, Flightright, AirAdvisor, Skycop and SkyRefund. Bott and Co is the only one regulated in the UK (SRA 605593) and the only one that publishes a timeline: court proceedings within 30 days and payment within 14 days of the firm receiving the money from the airline, on a fee of 42% plus VAT. AirHelp (35% including VAT, 245,024 Trustpilot reviews) and Flightright (usually 20 to 30% plus VAT, 4,546 reviews) are the most used. This page gives no score; the facts for each were read on 14 October 2026.
What is UK261?
UK261 is the UK's version of EU Regulation 261/2004, kept in UK law by the Air Passenger Rights and Air Travel Organisers' Licensing (Amendment) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019. Since 1 January 2021 it has covered flights departing a UK airport on any airline, and flights arriving in the UK on a UK or EU airline. The compensation bands are £220, £350 and £520 a person.
How much is UK261 compensation?
For a delay of three hours or more at arrival: £220 under 1,500 km, £350 from 1,500 to 3,500 km, and over 3,500 km £260 for three to four hours or £520 for more than four hours, all a person. The same bands apply to a cancellation with under 14 days' notice, with half-rate amounts of £110, £175 and £260 in some cases where the airline rerouted you with 7 to 14 days' notice. These are the Civil Aviation Authority's figures, read 14 October 2026.
Can I make a UK261 claim myself for free?
Yes. The Civil Aviation Authority says to contact the airline directly first. If the airline refuses, you can take the dispute to its approved scheme, AviationADR or CEDR, or to the CAA if the airline is in neither, and as a last resort to the small claims court. None of these steps carries a claims-company fee. Claims companies charge 20% to 50% of the award for doing the same steps for you.
What do flight compensation companies charge for a UK261 claim?
As published on 14 October 2026: AirHelp 35% including VAT, plus 15% if legal action is needed. Flightright usually 20 to 30% plus VAT, plus a 14% solicitor's surcharge where a lawyer is used. Bott and Co 42% plus VAT (its charge is £112 on £220 and £270 on £520, VAT included). Flight-Delayed 35% plus 15% for legal action, VAT included. AirAdvisor 30%, or 50% with legal action. Skycop flat fees of €110, €176 or €264 by award band. SkyRefund 35% plus 15%. EUclaim 31% plus €33 a passenger.
How long do I have to make a UK261 claim?
Six years in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and five years in Scotland, according to the Civil Aviation Authority's report CAP 1275 and the companies that state a UK limit. Bott and Co, Skycop and SkyRefund state both figures on their sites; AirHelp, Flightright and Flight-Delayed state six years only; AirAdvisor and EUclaim state no UK limit.
Which UK261 claim companies are regulated in the UK?
Of the eight that state UK261, one: Bott and Co Solicitors Ltd, authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 605593. AirHelp and Flightright are German companies, Flight-Delayed and EUclaim are the Dutch company Yource B.V., Skycop is Lithuanian, SkyRefund is Bulgarian, and AirAdvisor contracts through a Delaware or a Polish company. Their terms send disputes to their home courts.
Do claims companies use the UK ADR schemes?
None of the eight says it does. Bott and Co issues court proceedings instead. Flightright's terms say it does not take part in consumer arbitration. Skycop's UK261 page describes the ADR route as something the passenger can do. The other five do not name AviationADR, CEDR or the CAA in the pages read on 14 October 2026.
Which company is best for a UK261 claim in Scotland?
The time limit in Scotland is five years, not six, and Bott and Co says cases outside England and Wales "may not be handled in court", so it may not take a flight that left a Scottish airport on a non-English airline. Skycop and SkyRefund both state the five-year Scottish limit. Check the limit before you choose, and ask any company in writing whether it will take a Scottish case to court.
Can a company pay to be on this page?
No. A company is on this page because its own website states that it takes UK261 claims, and for no other reason. There are no affiliate links and no paid placements; this site earns nothing from any company on the page.
This page gives no score and no ranking; companies are listed alphabetically. A company is included if its own website states that it takes UK261 claims. There are no affiliate links and no paid placements on this page, and no company has paid to appear or to be shown differently. Sources read 14 October 2026: each company's own website, fee page and terms; the Civil Aviation Authority's pages on delays, cancellations, making a claim, alternative dispute resolution and court, and its report CAP 1275; Trustpilot. Google ratings were not read. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 15 October 2026 · updated 15 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.