Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

How much does a trip with Intrepid Travel cost?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 4 November 2026

Intrepid Travel publishes prices on its trip listings in the traveller's regional currency, with US dollars on the US site. Three priced trips from the US home page are covered here; the booking terms come from its Australian site. Travel insurance is compulsory on international trips.

How much does a trip with Intrepid Travel cost?

Three of the trips on its US home page, read 3 November 2026, run from USD 2,085 for the 8-day Highlights of Italy to USD 8,245 for the 15-day Premium Egypt in Depth, about US$261 a day for Italy and about US$550 a day for Egypt. Intrepid suits small-group travellers who accept compulsory insurance; on family trips it prefers smaller establishments to big chain hotels.

Limestone islands in Ha Long Bay, Vietnam
Limestone islands in Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. Photo: Saaremees, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What do its trips cost?

What Intrepid Travel's own website says, read 3 November 2026.

  • Highlights of Italy: Runs an 8-day Highlights of Italy trip from USD 2,085, listed on the US site. Source
  • Premium Japan: Runs a 12-day Premium Japan trip from USD 7,515, listed on the US site. Source
  • Premium Egypt in Depth: Runs a 15-day Premium Egypt in Depth trip from USD 8,245, listed on the US site. Source
  • Price per day: Worked out from the published prices, Highlights of Italy comes to about US$261 a day, Premium Japan to about US$626 a day and Premium Egypt in Depth to about US$550 a day. Source

What does the price include?

What Intrepid Travel's own website says, read 3 November 2026.

  • Family trips: On family trips, all accommodation, on-trip transport and an Intrepid leader are included at a minimum. Source

What costs extra?

What Intrepid Travel's own website says, read 3 November 2026.

  • Travel insurance: Travel insurance is compulsory on all trips for those travelling internationally. Source
  • Minimum cover: Cover must at a minimum include medical expenses and emergency repatriation. Source

What are the deposit, balance and cancellation terms?

What Intrepid Travel's own website says, read 3 November 2026.

  • Changes: Travellers can generally change their plans up to 56 days before departure, or 30 days for European Union bookings, without additional fees. Source
  • Balance: Payment in full is due 56 days before departure, or 30 days for European Union bookings. Source
  • Cancellation: A booking can be cancelled up to 56 days before departure, with the deposit moved to another trip or held as credit. Charges inside 56 days and the current deposit amount are not stated on the pages read. Source
  • Guaranteed departures: Trips are guaranteed to depart once they have one fully paid customer, unless the minimum group size for the trip says otherwise. Source

How is your money protected?

What Intrepid Travel's own website says, read 3 November 2026.

  • Client accounts: Holds payments from travellers or their travel agent in designated client accounts until after the trip departs. No scheme number is given. Source

What kind of trips does it sell?

What Intrepid Travel's own website says, read 3 November 2026.

  • Style: Sells small group adventures. Describes its four trip types as running from basic to higher-end. Source
  • Group size: Groups are usually 12 to 14 people. Source
  • Family group size: Family trips have a maximum group size of 16 and usually average 10 people. Source
  • Hotels, family trips: Prefers smaller establishments to big chain hotels on family trips. Source

How is Intrepid Travel rated?

Trustpilot: 4.4 out of 5 from 2,535 reviews, newest 2 November 2026. Read 3 November 2026; each platform's figure stands on its own.

Intrepid Travel trip prices: the questions people ask

How much does an Intrepid trip cost?

Three of the trips on its US home page run from USD 2,085 for the 8-day Highlights of Italy to USD 8,245 for the 15-day Premium Egypt in Depth.

How much does Intrepid cost per day?

Worked out from the published prices, about US$261 a day for Highlights of Italy, about US$550 for Premium Egypt in Depth and about US$626 for Premium Japan.

Is travel insurance required on Intrepid trips?

Yes. It is compulsory on all trips for those travelling internationally.

What must Intrepid travel insurance cover?

At a minimum, medical expenses including emergency repatriation.

Can I change or cancel an Intrepid booking?

On its Australian site, travellers can generally change plans up to 56 days before departure, or 30 days for European Union bookings, without additional fees. They can cancel up to 56 days out with the deposit held as credit or moved to another trip; charges inside 56 days and the deposit amount are not stated.

Is my money safe with Intrepid?

Payments are held in designated client accounts until after the trip departs.

What is included on Intrepid family trips?

At a minimum, all accommodation, on-trip transport and an Intrepid leader.

How big are Intrepid groups?

Usually 12 to 14 people and family trips have a maximum of 16.

Where can I check these facts myself?

Every line on this page links the page of the company's own website it was read from, read 3 November 2026.

Is any company on this page paying to be here?

No. No company on this page is a partner of Uncompromised Travel; none paid to be on it.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: what each company published on its own website, read on 3 November 2026, with links to the pages read, with its Google and Trustpilot figures where the listing carries the company's own name, from the Uncompromised Travel luxury tour operators table. Cards are in alphabetical order. Photos show the places named in their captions, not any company's trips. No company on this page is a partner of Uncompromised Travel. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.