Who Are the Best Luxury Tour Operators for Italy? Thirteen Companies Compared on Price, Private Guides and Access

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 15 October 2026

Abercrombie & Kent and Scott Dunn are the luxury operators ChatGPT names every day for Italy; A&K is the only one with its own Italy office, in Florence, and its Rome, Florence and Venice trip starts at $13,195 for 8 days. The same three cities cost about $878 a day with Audley Travel, $931 with Kensington Tours and $1,040 with Black Tomato. For private access, Black Tomato arranges an after-hours Vatican Museum tour and IC Bellagio a key-holder visit to the Sistine Chapel. This page gives no score; every price and claim is the company's own, read on 15 October 2026.

Who is on this page, and why

A company is on this page if it sells luxury trips in Italy and its Italy pages could be read, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. Between 5 and 15 October 2026 ChatGPT named Abercrombie & Kent and Scott Dunn every day, then Audley Travel, Black Tomato, Jacada Travel, Artisans of Leisure and Alma Italia, citing mostly the companies' own sites. We read 15 companies' Italy pages on 15 October 2026; 13 are below. Tauck, an escorted group operator, and Lightfoot Travel, with one priced trip and no reviews, are left off. This page gives no score.

How to read a card. "Italy from" is the company's own published price, in the currency it shows. "Access it states" quotes what the company says it can open for you, in its own words. "Not stated on their website" means we read the pages and the fact is not there; "Could not access" means the page would not open or showed no figure. Reviews are per platform. "Not the fit if" uses only limits the company publishes.
The Colosseum in Rome seen from outside under a clear sky, showing its tiered arches
The Colosseum in Rome. Audley and Kensington Tours both put a private guide here on their Rome, Florence and Venice trips. Photo: Davi Pimentel, Pexels.

The classic trip, priced side by side

Four companies publish a dollar price for the classic Rome, Florence and Venice trip, and the daily cost nearly doubles from the cheapest to the dearest: about $878 a day with Audley, $931 with Kensington Tours, $1,040 with Black Tomato and $1,649 with Abercrombie & Kent. A&K's is the shortest trip and the only one with an office in Florence behind it. In pounds, Original Travel's Tuscany trip starts at £2,700 and Scott Dunn's Iconic Italy at £9,200 for 9 nights.

Rome, Florence and Venice: the same trip, priced by four companiesBar chart: Audley 878 dollars a day, Kensington 931, Black Tomato 1,040, Abercrombie and Kent 1,649, for a Rome, Florence and Venice itinerary. Rome, Florence and Venice: the same trip, priced by four companiesPublished from-price a person in US dollars, divided by days, read 15 October 2026. Audley Travel (10 days)$8,775, about $878 a day Kensington Tours (10 days)$9,310, about $931 a day Black Tomato (9 nights)$10,400, about $1,040 a day Abercrombie & Kent (8 days)$13,195, about $1,649 a day
Each company's own Rome, Florence and Venice itinerary, priced in US dollars on its site on 15 October 2026: Audley Italy's Art Cities, Kensington Best of Rome, Florence and Venice, Black Tomato Highlights of Italy (two sharing, off-peak), A&K Italy's Great Cities. Chart by Uncompromised Travel.

The thirteen companies, one card each

Luxury travel companies that publish priced Italy trips. Alphabetical.

Abercrombie & KentGlobal luxury operator since 1962 · US site · CST 2007274-20

Italy from
Italy's Great Cities: Rome, Florence and Venice, 8 days, from $13,195 a person. Northern Italy, 11 days, $14,795; Southern Italy: Sicily, Puglia and the Amalfi Coast, 12 days, $14,695.
How you travel
Private journeys, or small-group journeys "limited to 18 guests", led by multilingual guides.
Access it states
"A private, after-hours viewing of Da Vinci's The Last Supper in Milan".
In Italy
"Located in the heart of Florence with an experienced staff of over 35".
Protection
Its US Guest Protection Program is trip insurance for US residents, not a bonding scheme.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.4 from 788.
Not the fit if
You want deposit protection rather than insurance: the US Guest Protection Program is optional insurance for US residents only.
Sources: Italy, protection, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Audley TravelWitney, Oxfordshire · ATOL protected, ABTOT · Florida ST39468

Italy from
Italy's art cities: Venice, Florence and Rome, 10 days, from £5,155 a person ($8,775 on its US site). Classic luxury Italy and Amalfi Coast, 13 days, £16,455.
How you travel
"100% tailor-made"; on the art cities trip, private guides at St Mark's, the Colosseum, the Vatican and Pompeii, a private water taxi in Venice and a private driver in Florence.
Access it states
A "privately guided tour" of the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel; "direct entry" at the Colosseum.
In Italy
Not stated; UK specialists who "have traveled extensively or lived" in Italy, with 24-hour support.
Protection
ATOL protected, ABTOT member (UK); Florida and California seller of travel (US).
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 5,052.
Not the fit if
You want a fixed price: Audley says it has no set prices, and its figures are "an indication".
Sources: Italy, art cities (US), Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Black TomatoLondon and New York · ATOL 10531 (as agent for Hays Tour Operating)

Italy from
Highlights of Italy: Rome, Florence and Venice, 9 nights, from $10,400 a person, two sharing, off-peak, excluding flights. Its UK FAQ: Italy trips "start at £7,000 per person per week".
How you travel
Tailor-made with "Italy destination experts"; private guided tours, a private Jeep on Etna, a private balloon over the Val d'Orcia.
Access it states
"An after-hours tour of the Vatican Museum with a once in a lifetime chance to skip the crowds".
In Italy
Not stated on their website.
Protection
ATOL 10531. "No planning fees."
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.6 from 308. Awards it shows: Best Custom Luxury Holidays, Best of Luxury Travel Awards 2025.
Not the fit if
You are travelling in peak season on a set budget: the published price is off-peak and "may rise in peak season".
Sources: Italy, Rome, Florence and Venice, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Butterfield & RobinsonToronto · TICO registered (wholesale 1322989, retail 1321983)

Italy from
Tuscany Wine Country Biking, 6 days, $6,995 a person; single supplement $1,900.
How you travel
Guided cycling and walking, up to 16 guests, with "all special events, private tours, guest experts and entrance fees" included.
Access it states
A private tasting and dinner at a top Chianti winery.
In Italy
A Florence-based Experience Designer; only a Toronto office is listed.
Protection
TICO registered; travel insurance optional and extra.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 205.
Not the fit if
You do not want to cycle or travel in a group: this is a guided biking trip of up to 16, and guide tips and travel protection are extra.
Sources: Tuscany biking, travel protection, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.
Aerial view of the Amalfi Drive coast road winding past the hillside houses of Positano above the sea
The Amalfi Drive at Positano. Scott Dunn's Southern Italy tour includes a private driver for this stretch. Photo: Matteo Parisi, Pexels.

Kensington ToursToronto · private guided tours

Italy from
Best of Rome, Florence and Venice, 10 days, from $9,310; Rome and Amalfi Coast Discovery, 8 days, $5,490; The Grand Tour of Italy, 12 days, $12,625. Nineteen Italy itineraries listed.
How you travel
"Your own private guide & vehicle".
Access it states
Not stated on the Italy page.
In Italy
"24/7 in-country support"; location not stated.
Protection
Not stated on the Italy page.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.8 from 2,838.
Not the fit if
You expect every day to be private: some tours mix in shared excursions, such as "private touring with shared Capri excursions".
Sources: Italy tours, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Original TravelLondon · "now Voyageurs du Monde" · ABTA and ATOL logos

Italy from
The Treasures of Tuscany, 8 days, £2,700 to £4,300; Slow Sicily, 11 days, £2,700 to £3,900; Highlights of Southern Italy, 8 days, £3,000 to £4,200. The lowest prices on this page.
How you travel
Tailor-made "slow travel" trips with a network of local concierges.
Access it states
Not stated on their website.
In Italy
"Our network of local Concierges".
Protection
ABTA and ATOL logos, no numbers printed.
Reviews
Its Italy page: 4.7 from 30 (platform not named). Trustpilot: no reviews.
Not the fit if
You need to know what the price covers: Italy prices are ranges with no per-person or sharing basis stated.
Sources: Italy, slow travel Italy. Read 15 October 2026.

Red SavannahCheltenham · ATOL 10454, ABTOT 5566

Italy from
Venice, Dolomites and Italian Lakes, 9 days, from $6,875 a person; A Tale of Three Cities, 10 days, $8,905; UNESCO Wonders of Ancient Sicily, 8 days, $11,624.
How you travel
Tailor-made tours "shaped around your interests"; an expert guide for Sicily's ancient sites.
Access it states
Its Italy page mentions an after-hours Vatican visit.
In Italy
Not stated on their website.
Protection
"Full financial protection" for flight-inclusive packages under ATOL 10454; ABTOT 5566 for the rest.
Reviews
Trustpilot: no reviews on its www profile. Awards it shows: Condé Nast Top Travel Specialist 2026.
Not the fit if
You want private guides as standard: the Italy page does not confirm them, and no sharing basis is given for prices.
Sources: Italy, financial protection. Read 15 October 2026.

Scott DunnLondon, with offices in the US, Singapore and Hong Kong · ATOL and ABTOT logos

Italy from
Focus: Sailing Sardinia, 8 nights, £3,600 a person; Iconic Italy, 9 nights, £9,200; Iconic Southern Italy: Amalfi Coast and Puglia, 9 nights, £12,700. Two sharing, excluding flights.
How you travel
"Private English-speaking local guides are included" on the Southern Italy tour, with a private driver on the Amalfi Coast and a private skipper.
Access it states
Vatican experiences such as "Keys to the Vatican" are listed.
In Italy
"Dedicated 24/7 team providing in-country support"; no Italy office named.
Protection
ATOL protected and ABTOT member (logos).
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.6 from 279. Award it shows: Condé Nast Traveller Top Travel Specialists, 14 years in a row.
Not the fit if
You are travelling alone or want a firm price: prices are "a guideline only" and "based on two people sharing".
Sources: Italy tours, Southern Italy, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Italy specialists: based in Italy, or selling only Italy. Alphabetical.

Alma Italia TravelItaly · run by the Mazza family, from Alma Italia Design

Italy from
Not stated on its own site. Travelstride lists its 12-day Amalfi Coast and her Islands private tour from $6,300, "for 4 travelers".
How you travel
"Private luxury escorted tours for small groups, families and friends"; "your private driver and Alma Italia tour host".
Access it states
"Exclusive experiences that take you away from crowds"; Golden Luxury Tours with helicopter transfers.
In Italy
"An international team based in the heart of Italy".
Protection
"Fully refundable deposit"; no scheme named.
Reviews
Travelstride: 4.9 from 60. Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want a published price on the company's own site: none is shown.
Sources: home, Grand Italy Tour, Travelstride. Read 15 October 2026.

Bellini TravelLondon · Italy only, since 2000 · founder Emily FitzRoy

Italy from
Not stated: no itineraries or prices published. It works by referral.
How you travel
Bespoke trips across Italy, from the Aeolian Islands to the Dolomites; private guides and boats.
Access it states
"Unprecedented access to Italy's most important museums, collections and galleries." Vogue, quoted on its homepage: it can "book after hours tours of the Sistine Chapel".
In Italy
Not stated on their website.
Protection
Packages covered by an insurance policy through Travel & General Insurance Services; no ATOL or ABTA stated.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You might cancel late: the deposit is lost more than 42 days out, 75% of the cost from 42 to 29 days and 100% inside 29 days.
Sources: home, terms. Read 15 October 2026.

IC BellagioBellagio, Lake Como · destination management company · founder Andrea Grisdale

Italy from
No priced itineraries. Single experiences from €208 to €640 (basis not stated).
How you travel
"An award-winning destination management company for Italy", with a team of 40 and villa rentals.
Access it states
"Exclusive Vatican Visit with the Key Holder": "You will have the great honour to open and switch on the lights of the Sistine Chapel."
In Italy
Office in Bellagio; 40 people on its team page.
Protection
Not stated on their website.
Reviews
Trustpilot: one review. Award it shows: Virtuoso Culinary Community Award 2022.
Not the fit if
You want a complete priced trip online: it sells experiences one by one and shows no itinerary prices.
Sources: experiences, team. Read 15 October 2026.
A lakeside villa on the shore of Lake Como with forested mountains behind
Villas on Lake Como. IC Bellagio, the Italy specialist on this page with the largest team, is based on the lake. Photo: Sam A, Pexels.

Private-only companies with no published Italy price. Alphabetical.

Artisans of LeisureNew York · private tours only · CST 2132140-40

Italy from
"Upon request": Luxuries of Northern Italy, 11 days, Venice, Bologna, Milan and Lake Como.
How you travel
"Private touring with your own personal guides and drivers", departing daily.
Access it states
"Special access to museums and art sites" on request; tickets to The Last Supper and La Scala.
In Italy
"Associate offices in each destination".
Protection
IATAN and ASTA member; California seller of travel.
Reviews
Trustpilot: one review. Awards it shows: Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists 2020 to 2026, Robb Report Travel Masters 2023 to 2026.
Not the fit if
You want a price before you call: none is published for Italy.
Sources: Northern Italy, about. Read 15 October 2026.

Jacada TravelUK and US · private tailor-made trips

Italy from
Could not access: every Italy trip shows a placeholder "From $0 pp".
How you travel
"Privately guided tours" and "Private transfers"; a private driver in Chianti.
Access it states
On its Grand Tour, Vatican early access where you enter "with just a few others".
In Italy
A 12-person Europe team; no Italy office stated.
Protection
Not stated on the pages read.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 2,605.
Not the fit if
You want a price before you enquire: none is visible on its Italy pages.
Sources: Italy, Grand Tour, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

After-hours Vatican and other access: who says what

The Vatican Museums' own ticket page sells no after-hours or early-entry ticket to the public: a full ticket is €20, plus €5 to skip the line, Monday to Saturday from 8:00 to 20:00. So any private early or late visit is arranged privately, and what each company says it can arrange is worth reading closely. Black Tomato: "an after-hours tour of the Vatican Museum". IC Bellagio: you "open and switch on the lights of the Sistine Chapel" with the key holder. Bellini Travel quotes Vogue saying it can "book after hours tours of the Sistine Chapel". Jacada: early access "with just a few others". Audley: a "privately guided tour" of the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel. Abercrombie & Kent's Italy page names "a private, after-hours viewing of Da Vinci's The Last Supper in Milan". Source: Vatican Museums tickets, read 15 October 2026.

Venice: the city's access fee ran as a trial on 60 days between 3 April and 26 July 2026, at €5 booked ahead or €10 in the last four days, for day visitors. The trial has ended and the city's portal says Venice can now be visited without payment; whether it returns in 2027 is undecided. Source: Comune di Venezia, 26 July 2026.

Aerial view of Florence at sunset with the dome of the cathedral, Il Duomo, rising above the terracotta rooftops
Florence and Il Duomo at sunset. Abercrombie & Kent runs its Italy operation from an office here with more than 35 staff. Photo: Fatih Altuntas, Pexels.

Three questions before you book

1. Private or group? Kensington, Audley, Artisans of Leisure, Jacada and Scott Dunn build private trips with your own guide or driver. Abercrombie & Kent's published prices include small-group journeys of up to 18; Butterfield & Robinson's biking trip takes up to 16.

2. Who is on the ground? Abercrombie & Kent (Florence, 35-plus staff), IC Bellagio (Bellagio, a team of 40) and Alma Italia (a team in Italy) say where their people are. Most others offer 24-hour support from abroad.

3. How is your money protected? Red Savannah (ATOL 10454, ABTOT 5566), Black Tomato (ATOL 10531), Audley and Scott Dunn (ATOL, ABTOT) and Original Travel state UK schemes; Butterfield & Robinson states TICO registration in Ontario. A&K's US programme is insurance, and Bellini's is an insurance policy.

Luxury Italy tour operators: the questions people ask

Who are the best luxury tour operators for Italy?

Thirteen luxury companies were compared on 15 October 2026. Abercrombie & Kent (Florence office with more than 35 staff, Rome, Florence and Venice from $13,195 for 8 days) and Scott Dunn (from £3,600, private guides on its Southern Italy tour) are the two ChatGPT names every day. Audley Travel (from £5,155), Black Tomato (from $10,400, after-hours Vatican Museum), Kensington Tours (private guide and vehicle, from $5,490) and Jacada are the other large names; IC Bellagio, Bellini Travel and Alma Italia are Italy specialists. This page gives no score.

How much does a luxury Italy tour cost?

For the classic Rome, Florence and Venice trip, published dollar prices read on 15 October 2026 work out at about $878 a day with Audley (10 days, $8,775), $931 with Kensington Tours (10 days, $9,310), $1,040 with Black Tomato (9 nights, $10,400) and $1,649 with Abercrombie & Kent (8 days, $13,195). Original Travel's Italy trips start at £2,700 and Scott Dunn's at £3,600.

Can you visit the Vatican or Sistine Chapel after hours?

Not with a public ticket: the Vatican Museums' official site sells only standard tickets (€20, plus €5 to skip the line). Private visits are arranged by companies: Black Tomato says it arranges an after-hours Vatican Museum tour, IC Bellagio sells a visit with the key holder who opens the Sistine Chapel, and Bellini Travel quotes Vogue saying it books after-hours Sistine Chapel tours.

Which Italy tour companies have an office in Italy?

Abercrombie & Kent has an office in Florence with more than 35 staff. IC Bellagio is based in Bellagio on Lake Como with a team of 40. Alma Italia Travel has "an international team based in the heart of Italy". Artisans of Leisure says it has associate offices in each destination. The other companies on this page do not state an Italy office.

Do I need to pay to enter Venice in 2026?

Not any more. Venice's access fee ran as a trial on 60 days between 3 April and 26 July 2026, at €5 in advance or €10 late, and the city says the trial has ended and Venice can be visited without payment. Whether the fee returns in 2027 is undecided.

Which Italy tour operators are financially protected?

Red Savannah (ATOL 10454, ABTOT 5566), Black Tomato (ATOL 10531, as agent for Hays Tour Operating), Audley and Scott Dunn (ATOL and ABTOT) and Original Travel (ABTA and ATOL logos) state UK protection. Butterfield & Robinson is TICO registered in Ontario. Abercrombie & Kent's US Guest Protection Program is insurance, not a bond.

Is a private Italy tour better than a small-group tour?

It depends on budget and pace. Kensington Tours, Artisans of Leisure, Jacada and Scott Dunn build private trips with your own guide or driver. Abercrombie & Kent sells small-group journeys of up to 18 at published prices, and Butterfield & Robinson's Tuscany biking trip takes up to 16 with guides and all entrance fees included.

Can a company pay to be on this page?

No. A company is on this page because it sells luxury Italy trips and its pages could be read, or because ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links and no paid placements, and no company has paid to appear or to be shown differently.

This page gives no score and no ranking; within each group companies are listed alphabetically. A company is included if it sells luxury Italy trips and its pages could be read, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links and no paid placements. Sources: each company's own Italy pages, terms and award pages, read 15 October 2026; Trustpilot and Travelstride; the Vatican Museums and the Comune di Venezia. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.