Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle

Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

How much does a safari with Wilderness Safaris cost?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Every figure below is Wilderness' own, as its website published it, in its own currency and never converted, with the page it was read from.

How much does a safari with Wilderness Safaris cost?

Wilderness publishes its own rates: lowest published nightly rate: USD 480 per person at Doro Nawas, 6 January to 31 March 2027 (also the camps-page 'from' price). The camps page 'from' prices peak at Bisate Reserve, Rwanda (USD 3,549) and Little Mombo and Mombo (USD 3,062).

Lowest published
Lowest published nightly rate: USD 480 per person at Doro Nawas, 6 January to 31 March 2027 (also the camps-page 'from' price). The camps page 'from' prices peak at Bisate Reserve, Rwanda (USD 3,549) and Little Mombo and Mombo (USD 3,062).
Prices published
Prices are published in US dollars. Itineraries also show 'From USD x per person' totals.
What the rate includes
The 'fully inclusive rate covers your accommodation, all meals, twice-daily camp activities, park fees, laundry and all local drinks with the exception of premium imported brands and champagne.' Extras: premium imported drinks and champagne; helicopter flights ('additional costs apply' at Mokete). Wilderness Air seat rates, where 'departure taxes and landing fees' are sometimes excluded and extra luggage beyond 20 kg per person is charged per sector. A conservation levy is not mentioned.

What does a stay with Wilderness cost, line by line?

A stay with Wilderness is built from its published rate, what that rate includes, getting to camp, park fees or conservation levies and any extras, each line below from its own website.

Stays
Lowest published nightly rate: USD 480 per person at Doro Nawas, 6 January to 31 March 2027 (also the camps-page 'from' price). The camps page 'from' prices peak at Bisate Reserve, Rwanda (USD 3,549) and Little Mombo and Mombo (USD 3,062).
Included in the rate
The 'fully inclusive rate covers your accommodation, all meals, twice-daily camp activities, park fees, laundry and all local drinks with the exception of premium imported brands and champagne.' Extras: premium imported drinks and champagne; helicopter flights ('additional costs apply' at Mokete). Wilderness Air seat rates, where 'departure taxes and landing fees' are sometimes excluded and extra luggage beyond 20 kg per person is charged per sector.
Getting there
Inter-camp transfers on Wilderness Air are on seat rates; luggage 20 kg per person in soft bags; departure taxes and landing fees may be extra.
Extras
Yes: 'Private Safari' (exclusive private safari for family and friends) is offered as an experience across Botswana, Namibia, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and Zambia, shown on Chitabe, Chitabe Lediba, Mombo, Qorokwe, Savuti and Linyanti Tented Camp pages.
A herd of African elephants on the savannah, Tanzania
A herd of African elephants on the savannah, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Wilderness' camp.

What costs extra with Wilderness?

The extras Wilderness prices on its own website are below: single travellers, children, a private vehicle, exclusive use and flights or transfers where it publishes them.

Private guide and vehicle
Yes: 'Private Safari' (exclusive private safari for family and friends) is offered as an experience across Botswana, Namibia, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and Zambia, shown on Chitabe, Chitabe Lediba, Mombo, Qorokwe, Savuti and Linyanti Tented Camp pages. Chitabe Lediba is a five-room camp where 'just your group' is hosted.
Exclusive use
Little DumaTau is 'an intimate camp of just four suites, perfect for private and exclusive-use safaris'. Chitabe Lediba (five rooms) and Linyanti Tented Camp (four tents) are pitched to families and small groups.
Flights and transfers
Inter-camp transfers on Wilderness Air are on seat rates; luggage 20 kg per person in soft bags; departure taxes and landing fees may be extra. Offer: 'Three Countries Free Flying' for 6+ nights.

What are Wilderness' deposit and cancellation terms?

Wilderness does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
Not stated on its own website.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit, cancellation charges. Read 19 October 2026.

Is it cheaper to book Wilderness direct or through a planner?

Wilderness' own website does not say whether booking direct is cheaper than booking through a planner; ask both for the same dates and compare.

Where it sells
Direct to guests through 'Travel Designers' (enquiry form and regional phone lines).
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
The Virtuoso 'Best Sustainability Community Partner' award is listed. No agent portal and no preferred-partner statement are shown.

Is Wilderness worth the price? What guests say

Wilderness has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Wilderness') from 71 reviews and 4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 146 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.7 out of 5 from 71 reviews. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Wilderness' name was found.
Trustpilot
4.8 out of 5 from 146 reviews. On the Trustpilot profile 'Wilderness', newest review 18 October 2026.
Awards it lists
Awards named on Wilderness's own pages (not checked on publishers' lists): Condé Nast Traveler 'Six Wilderness Camps win Triple Crown Awards 2026' Robb Report Best of the Best 2026 (Magashi Peninsula). These are the company's own statements; an award counts here once read on the publisher's own list.
Sources: google, trustpilot, every award, 2024 to 2026. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

Wilderness: the questions people ask

How much does Wilderness cost per night?

Lowest published nightly rate: USD 480 per person at Doro Nawas, 6 January to 31 March 2027 (also the camps-page 'from' price). The camps page 'from' prices peak at Bisate Reserve, Rwanda (USD 3,549) and Little Mombo and Mombo (USD 3,062).

How many camps does Wilderness have?

Botswana is given as '19 camps', '21 camps' and '21 properties' on different pages.

What activities does Wilderness offer?

Star Bed sleep-outs (Savuti, Doro Nawas); rhino tracking (Desert Rhino); cultural visits (Damaraland, Doro Nawas, Serra Cafema); quad biking and boating on the Kunene (Serra Cafema); balloons in Namibia, Kenya and Tanzania.

How does Wilderness fund conservation?

Impact pillars 'Educate, Empower, Protect'; aim to double the wilderness protected by 2030 (about 2.2 million ha now). Land leases and joint ventures with conservancies (Torra, Doro !Nawas, Anabeb, Sesfontein), Okavango Community Trust (five villages), concession fees to African Parks (Akagera, Kafue).

What is included in Wilderness' rates?

The 'fully inclusive rate covers your accommodation, all meals, twice-daily camp activities, park fees, laundry and all local drinks with the exception of premium imported brands and champagne.' Extras: premium imported drinks and champagne; helicopter flights ('additional costs apply' at Mokete). Wilderness Air seat rates, where 'departure taxes and landing fees' are sometimes excluded and extra luggage beyond 20 kg per person is charged per sector.

Does Wilderness accept children?

Family units are shown at Mombo, Qorokwe (own splash pool), King's Pool (one family unit), Chitabe Lediba (adjoining bedrooms with a shared en-suite), Savuti, DumaTau, Desert Rhino, Damaraland, Doro Nawas and Serra Cafema. Chitabe Lediba is called 'a quality family escape' and Linyanti Tented Camp is 'ideal for families and small groups'.

Does Wilderness offer a private vehicle?

Yes: 'Private Safari' (exclusive private safari for family and friends) is offered as an experience across Botswana, Namibia, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and Zambia, shown on Chitabe, Chitabe Lediba, Mombo, Qorokwe, Savuti and Linyanti Tented Camp pages. Chitabe Lediba is a five-room camp where 'just your group' is hosted.

What are Wilderness' reviews?

Wilderness has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Wilderness') from 71 reviews and 4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 146 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Can I book Wilderness through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Wilderness' own enquiry page, www.wildernessdestinations.com, or a safari planner.

How current is this page?

Wilderness' website and review listings were read on 19 and 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Wilderness published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Wilderness did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.