Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A gorilla sitting in thick green vegetation

A gorilla sitting in thick green vegetation. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

How much does a safari with Volcanoes Safaris cost?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Every figure below is Volcanoes Safaris' own, as its website published it, in its own currency and never converted, with the page it was read from.

How much does a safari with Volcanoes Safaris cost?

Volcanoes Safaris publishes its own rates: lowest published lodge rate: Mount Gahinga Standard Banda, low season 2026, $765 per person sharing (USD). For 2026 the highest is Virunga Deluxe at $2,640.

Lowest published
Lowest published lodge rate: Mount Gahinga Standard Banda, low season 2026, $765 per person sharing (USD). For 2026 the highest is Virunga Deluxe at $2,640.
Rates by season
Lodge-only rates in USD, per person sharing, 2026 (standard banda / deluxe banda), high season (1 Jun-30 Sep, 15 Dec-28 Feb) then low season (1 Oct-14 Dec, 1 Mar-31 May): Bwindi $1,370 / $1,780 then $820 / $1,075. Kibale $1,650 / $2,000 then $990 / $1,200. Kyambura Gorge $1,570 / $1,895 then $950 / $1,140. Mount Gahinga $1,275 / $1,655 then $765 / $1,000.
Prices published
Rates are 'effective on all new 2026 bookings made from 15 May 2026' for safaris and from 20 March 2025 for lodge-only rates.
What the rate includes
Rates include accommodation and meals, soft drinks, standard and premium alcoholic drinks, signature cocktails, cellar collection wines (except French champagne), single malt whiskeys, laundry, any activities at the lodges and all massages (subject to booking and availability), plus government taxes and levies. The lodge table lists a $50 community fee per person separately. At Kyambura Gorge Lodge a $25 per person UWA fee for chimpanzee trekking is included.
Resident rates
Special rates for East African residents and the DRC, as well as bona fide conservation organisations, are available on request from [email protected].

What does a stay with Volcanoes Safaris cost, line by line?

A stay with Volcanoes Safaris is built from its published rate, what that rate includes, getting to camp, park fees or conservation levies and any extras, each line below from its own website.

Stays
Lowest published lodge rate: Mount Gahinga Standard Banda, low season 2026, $765 per person sharing (USD). For 2026 the highest is Virunga Deluxe at $2,640.
Included in the rate
Rates include accommodation and meals, soft drinks, standard and premium alcoholic drinks, signature cocktails, cellar collection wines (except French champagne), single malt whiskeys, laundry, any activities at the lodges and all massages (subject to booking and availability), plus government taxes and levies. The lodge table lists a $50 community fee per person separately.
Getting there
No own aircraft is named.
Paying for it
Safaris (up to 3 rooms): the full value of gorilla and chimpanzee permits plus 20% of the rest of the invoice on receipt of invoice.
Sources: price per person per day, deposit. Read 19 October 2026.
Four people at a sunset picnic on the savannah
Four people at a sunset picnic on the savannah. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Volcanoes Safaris' camp.

What costs extra with Volcanoes Safaris?

The extras Volcanoes Safaris prices on its own website are below: single travellers, children, a private vehicle, exclusive use and flights or transfers where it publishes them.

Single travellers
A Single Traveller Supplement is published for each safari and lodge (for example, in 2026 low season a single traveller at Mount Gahinga Standard Banda pays $765, the same as sharing; in 2026 high season a single traveller at Virunga Deluxe pays $3,170 against $2,640 sharing).
Children
Children under 12 are not permitted at Virunga Lodge. Children aged 12 and under sharing a room with parents pay US $100 per child per night; under 5s stay free; children aged 12 and under in their own room pay adult rates.
Exclusive use
The Virunga Lodge Dian Fossey Map Room can be hired for conferences and private events (price on enquiry).
Flights and transfers
No own aircraft is named. Itineraries include assisted domestic flights (Entebbe to Kasese, Kisoro to Entebbe), road transfers with a Volcanoes guide (about 1 to 2 hours) and airport assistance, but the operator of the flights and whether they are priced into the rates are not stated.
Sources: solo travellers, family and child policy. Read 19 October 2026.

What are Volcanoes Safaris' deposit and cancellation terms?

Volcanoes Safaris' published terms: safaris (up to 3 rooms): the full value of gorilla and chimpanzee permits plus 20% of the rest of the invoice on receipt of invoice.

Deposit
Safaris (up to 3 rooms): the full value of gorilla and chimpanzee permits plus 20% of the rest of the invoice on receipt of invoice. Groups of 4 or more rooms: permits plus 35%.
Balance due
Safaris: final balance due 45 days before arrival; bookings within 45 days need full payment on receipt of invoice. Lodge-only bookings: balance due 30 days before arrival; within 30 days, full payment on receipt.
Currencies and card fees
All rates are in US dollars (USD).
Sources: deposit. Read 19 October 2026.

Is it cheaper to book Volcanoes Safaris direct or through a planner?

Volcanoes Safaris' own website does not say whether booking direct is cheaper than booking through a planner; ask both for the same dates and compare.

Where it sells
A trade portal is not mentioned. East African residents, DRC residents and conservation organisations can ask for special rates by email.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.

Is Volcanoes Safaris worth the price? What guests say

Volcanoes Safaris has 4.5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Volcanoes Safaris') from 18 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.5 out of 5 from 18 reviews. On the Google listing 'Volcanoes Safaris' (travel agents), Office Block B, 2nd Floor, 1 Kololo Hill Drive, Uganda. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Volcanoes Safaris' name was found.
Awards it lists
AFAR magazine 2025 (Kibale Lodge, best new hotels in the world). Travel + Leisure 500 List 2025 (Bwindi Lodge). These are the company's own statements; an award counts here once read on the publisher's own list.
Sources: google, trustpilot, every award, 2024 to 2026. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

Volcanoes Safaris: the questions people ask

How much does Volcanoes Safaris cost per night?

Lowest published lodge rate: Mount Gahinga Standard Banda, low season 2026, $765 per person sharing (USD). For 2026 the highest is Virunga Deluxe at $2,640.

How many camps does Volcanoes Safaris have?

Five lodges, all built by the company: Virunga, Bwindi, Mount Gahinga, Kyambura Gorge and Kibale.

What activities does Volcanoes Safaris offer?

These are mostly listed as experiences, not per lodge.

How does Volcanoes Safaris fund conservation?

The 7-night Great Ape Conservation Safari includes a $3,000 per person tax-deductible donation.

What is included in Volcanoes Safaris' rates?

Rates include accommodation and meals, soft drinks, standard and premium alcoholic drinks, signature cocktails, cellar collection wines (except French champagne), single malt whiskeys, laundry, any activities at the lodges and all massages (subject to booking and availability), plus government taxes and levies. The lodge table lists a $50 community fee per person separately.

What deposit does Volcanoes Safaris ask for?

Safaris (up to 3 rooms): the full value of gorilla and chimpanzee permits plus 20% of the rest of the invoice on receipt of invoice.

Does Volcanoes Safaris charge a single supplement?

A Single Traveller Supplement is published for each safari and lodge (for example, in 2026 low season a single traveller at Mount Gahinga Standard Banda pays $765, the same as sharing; in 2026 high season a single traveller at Virunga Deluxe pays $3,170 against $2,640 sharing).

Does Volcanoes Safaris accept children?

Children of all ages are welcome at Mount Gahinga, Bwindi, Kibale and Kyambura Gorge lodges. Children under 12 are not permitted at Virunga Lodge.

Does Volcanoes Safaris publish resident rates?

Special rates for East African residents and the DRC, as well as bona fide conservation organisations, are available on request from [email protected].

What are Volcanoes Safaris' reviews?

Volcanoes Safaris has 4.5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Volcanoes Safaris') from 18 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Can I book Volcanoes Safaris through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Volcanoes Safaris' own enquiry page, volcanoessafaris.com, or a safari planner.

How current is this page?

Volcanoes Safaris' website and review listings were read on 19 and 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Volcanoes Safaris published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Volcanoes Safaris did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.