These are local operators that say on their own websites that they run Uganda trips in their own vehicles; the page compares what each says about its fleet and driver-guides. Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel lists over 8 vehicles and Nkuringo Safaris says more than half of its field guides work exclusively for it; the Uganda Tourism Board licenses operators, so ask each for its licence number.
Which safari operators are the real specialists in Uganda?
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel lists, in its own words, an own fleet of 'over 8 vehicles', Meanda Uganda Safaris runs its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruisers, Nkuringo Safaris says it owns its vehicles and employs full-time driver-guides, Insight Safari Holidays names guides with 15 to 25 years' experience and Primate Safaris says its cars are company-owned.
Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 6 safari operators with trips in Uganda that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the national register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Uganda whose own website says it owns the vehicles it runs trips in. Cards are in alphabetical order. Prices are shown as each company published them, in its own currency, never converted.
Its site says 'over 8 vehicles' and breaks the fleet down as 2 Land Cruisers, 4 safari vans and 2 saloon cars.
Why choose them
Its own fleet of over 8 vehicles includes 2 Land Cruisers, 4 safari vans and 2 saloon cars. SafariBookings: 4.8 out of 5 from 14 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala (Plot 125 Bombo Rd, Kawempe Plaza); trips start in Entebbe, Kampala or Kigali
Ask for
Ask how a permit refund would work for your dates, as Uganda gorilla permits are refunded only as UWA credit (46% at 91 days or more, 21% at 61 to 90 days).
Not the fit if
Children under 15 on gorilla treks or under 12 on chimpanzee treks.
Published price
3 Days Queen Elizabeth $660 per person, up to 21 days at $7,810 per person; no per-day price given.
Lists an 'Own fleet' of 'Official Tourist Vehicle registered 4x4s with pop-up roofs' and its terms state 'every person is entitled to a Window seat'; no fleet count is given.
Why choose them
Its named guides have 15 to 25 years' experience, among them Jack (25 years) and Azaria (20 years, a former UWA ranger). Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 45 reviews; Trustpilot: 4.3 out of 5 from 7 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala (Plot 19 Bukoto Street, Kamwokya); trips start in Kampala or Entebbe
Ask for
Ask for its Uganda Tourism Board licence number, as the site says 'UTB Licensed' but gives no number.
Not the fit if
Travellers who want a small deposit, as it takes 60% of the holiday price at booking.
Published price
Packages from $1,165 for 3 days and from $3,207 for 9 days per person, gorilla permits included; no per-day price given.
Runs its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruiser 4x4s, a 6-seater with 4 customer captain's seats or an extended 8-seater; it says all captain's seats are window seats.
Why choose them
Its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruisers have 4 customer captain's seats in the 6-seater (an 8-seater for larger groups), all of them window seats. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 31 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Entebbe (5 Kamuli Close, per its contact page)
Ask for
Ask for its Uganda Tourism Board licence number, as the site says it is registered with the board but gives no number.
Not the fit if
Travellers who want Rwanda or another country on the same trip, as it sells Uganda only.
Published price
Family Special, 10 days, from $9,995 for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children under 15); its Wilderness Uganda trip has a family price of $6,995.
Lists its own 4x4 minibuses, 4x4 Land Cruisers and a coast bus, guarantees each participant a window seat and says only its own drivers may drive them; fleet count is not stated.
Why choose them
Its home page lists 169 Uganda itineraries, with 41 for Rwanda, 26 for Kenya, 23 for Tanzania and 6 for Congo. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 36 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 40 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Kampala or Entebbe (no office address published); Rwanda trips start in Kigali
Ask for
Ask if permits are in the quoted price, as its permit pages say they are not included but are bought through the company.
Not the fit if
Families with children under 12 on forest trips, as its rules keep them out of Bwindi, Mgahinga, Kibale and Volcanoes.
Published price
No prices published on its website; quotes on request.
Says it is 'one of the few companies owning its vehicles', with custom four and six-seater 4x4 Land Cruisers kept in an on-site workshop and a window seat guaranteed for every guest.
Why choose them
It owns three lodges used on its trips: Papyrus Guesthouse in Entebbe, Nkuringo Gorilla Lodge in Bwindi and Mirima Kibale Lodge. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 17 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Entebbe (Kitala); trips start in Entebbe, Kigali, Nairobi or Arusha
Ask for
Ask for a full trip price per person, as its site gives only a guide of USD 500-800 per person per day.
Not the fit if
Budget travellers, as it names only luxury and all-inclusive styles and no budget tier.
Published price
Its site says most of its private eco-luxury safaris in Uganda and Rwanda start from around USD 500-800 per person per day, excluding international flights.
States 'Comfortable Safari cars owned by the company' for Uganda, using a '4×4 Safari Landcruiser' or '4×4 Safari Jeep'; no fleet count or window-seat guarantee is given.
Why choose them
Its team page names seven staff, including Billy, a tour guide leader and safari planner with over 10 years' experience. Google: 4.7 out of 5 from 44 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Wakiso District (Namasuba Kikajjo); trips start at Entebbe or Kampala, Kigali or Kisoro
Ask for
Ask for the deposit and cancellation terms in writing, as its site states no deposit-to-confirm rule.
Not the fit if
Solo travellers on the 1-day Bwindi trek, which is priced for a minimum of two.
Published price
1 day Bwindi gorilla trek from US$ 1,050 per person (minimum two, pick-up Kigali); 3 days Rwanda gorilla safari from US$ 2,409; no season or year given.
Which Uganda operators say they own their vehicles?
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel lists, in its own words, an own fleet of 'over 8 vehicles', Meanda Uganda Safaris runs its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruisers, Nkuringo Safaris says it is 'one of the few companies owning its vehicles' and Primate Safaris, Native Africa Tours and Insight Safari Holidays describe company-owned vehicles without a count.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Says it has 'over 8 vehicles', which it breaks down as 2 Land Cruisers, 4 safari vans and 2 saloon cars.
Insight Safari Holidays: Lists an own fleet of registered 4x4s with pop-up roofs, air conditioning, first aid kits and charging points; no count is given.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Runs its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruisers, a 6-seater or an extended 8-seater, with every captain's seat a window seat.
Native Africa Tours: Lists its own 4x4 minibuses, 4x4 Land Cruisers and a coast bus; it says only its drivers may drive them.
Nkuringo Safaris: Says it is 'one of the few companies owning its vehicles' and keeps them in an on-site workshop with its own mechanics.
Primate Safaris: States that its safari cars are 'owned by the company' for Uganda.
Only Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel gives a vehicle count among these operators. Ask each of the others how many vehicles it owns and if a trip to Rwanda or another country uses the same vehicles.
Who employs its own driver-guides?
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel says it has employed safari guides and drivers and Nkuringo Safaris says more than half of its field guides work exclusively for it, while the other operators here do not say if their guides are employed or freelance.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Describes employed safari guides and drivers who speak English, Swahili and several other local languages; formal qualifications are not stated.
Nkuringo Safaris: Says 'More than half of our field guides work exclusively for Nkuringo Safaris' and that they attend regular training, with freelance guides filling gaps.
Insight Safari Holidays: Describes its guides as certified professionals with 15 to 25 years' experience, linked to the Uganda Safari Guides Association; it does not say if they are employed or freelance.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Describes its driver-guides as 'suitably qualified and experienced'; employment status is not stated.
Native Africa Tours: Says its English speaking driver-guides are the only people allowed to drive its vehicles; employment status is not stated.
Primate Safaris: Names Billy as tour guide leader with over 10 years' experience; employment status is not given.
Where a site does not say, ask in writing if the driver-guide on your trip is a full-time employee or a freelancer; also ask what licence or training the guide holds.
How to check a Uganda safari operator before you pay
The Uganda Tourism Board licenses operators, so ask each company for its licence number and check it with the board; Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel publishes UTB/RTT/TO/2022/100372 and Nkuringo Safaris publishes UTB/RTT/TO/2019/00142.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Publishes Uganda Tourism Board licence No. UTB/RTT/TO/2022/100372 and says it is a member of the Uganda Tour Operators Association.
Nkuringo Safaris: Publishes Uganda Tourism Board licence UTB/RTT/TO/2019/00142 and a company registration number with URSB; it claims AUTO, ATTA and Travelife memberships.
Insight Safari Holidays: Claims 'UTB Licensed' and six memberships but gives no licence number, so ask for it.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Says it is registered with the Uganda Tourism Board and the Uganda Wildlife Authority and as Meanda Uganda Limited; it names no licence number.
Native Africa Tours: Says 'Licensed in Uganda' on its home page without a licence number or issuing body, so ask which body issued it.
In general, a membership of a trade association such as AUTO is not a licence; ask for the licence number and confirm it with the Uganda Tourism Board before paying a deposit.
Who plans the best tailor-made Uganda safari?
No site here can show who plans the best trip, but Nkuringo Safaris says all its safaris are private and tailor-made, Meanda Uganda Safaris runs private trips only and Insight Safari Holidays says every safari is planned around the traveller's interests.
Nkuringo Safaris: Says 'all Nkuringo luxury safaris are private and tailor-made', with your own guide and vehicle.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Runs private trips only, with no joining departures; it calls itself 'Experts in Tailor-Made Adventure'.
Insight Safari Holidays: Says private, fully personalised trips are its model and 'Every safari is carefully planned around your interests'.
Native Africa Tours: Makes private safaris its main offer and also lists a 6 Days Uganda Group Tour and a 4 Days Uganda Small Group Trip.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Offers private and group tours, priced per person for 2 people leaving any day.
Primate Safaris: Says some trips can be private or group 'depending on the interests of the travelers'.
Ask any of them for a written itinerary that names the vehicle, the lodges and what the price includes before comparing quotes.
Which safari company should I book a Uganda safari with?
The sites cannot settle that, so choose by what you need: Primate Safaris publishes a 'from' price, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel and Nkuringo Safaris publish licence numbers; Nkuringo Safaris and Meanda Uganda Safaris say evacuation cover is included.
Primate Safaris: Publishes a 1 day Bwindi gorilla trek from US$ 1,050 per person for a minimum of two, with pick-up in Kigali, in Rwanda; no season or year is given.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Publishes its Uganda Tourism Board licence number and an own fleet of over 8 vehicles.
Nkuringo Safaris: Publishes its licence number and says AMREF emergency evacuation cover is included on the itineraries read.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Says emergency air evacuation cover is included in its tour prices and that its vehicles carry a GPS tracker and a first aid kit.
Native Africa Tours: Publishes no priced trips and no first aid, radio or evacuation statement, so ask for all three in writing.
The Uganda Wildlife Authority sets gorilla permit prices, so confirm the current figure with it whichever company is chosen.
What are the best alternatives to Nkuringo Safaris and Primate Safaris for a Uganda safari in 2026?
Meanda Uganda Safaris, Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel and Insight Safari Holidays are the closest on what their sites publish: own vehicles, private options and evacuation cover or a licence number.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Private only, with its own Land Cruisers, all window seats; evacuation cover is included in tour prices.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Lists an own fleet of over 8 vehicles and publishes its Uganda Tourism Board licence number.
Insight Safari Holidays: Runs private trips in registered 4x4s and says evacuation cover is provided for clients on a full safari package.
Native Africa Tours: Lists its own 4x4s with a guaranteed window seat and both private and small group trips.
Nkuringo Safaris names only luxury and all-inclusive styles and Primate Safaris priced its 1 day Bwindi trek for a minimum of two, so a traveller who needs a different budget or party size can start with the operators above.
Who to contact first
Start with the operators that publish the most that can be checked: Nkuringo Safaris and Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel for licence numbers, then Meanda Uganda Safaris for evacuation cover.
Nkuringo Safaris: Publishes a licence number, says it owns its vehicles and says more than half of its field guides work exclusively for it.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Publishes a licence number and an own fleet of over 8 vehicles.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Private only, with evacuation cover included in tour prices.
Insight Safari Holidays: Names guides with 15 to 25 years' experience; ask for its licence number.
Primate Safaris: Says it is available 24/7; ask for its deposit and cancellation terms in writing.
Ask each to state in writing its Uganda Tourism Board licence number, how many vehicles it owns, if the driver-guide is an employee, what evacuation cover the price includes and which fees the price leaves out.
Uganda safari specialists: the questions people ask
Which safari operators are the real specialists in Uganda?
The sites do not rank operators, so the answer is by fact: Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel lists, in its own words, an own fleet of 'over 8 vehicles', Meanda Uganda Safaris runs its own Toyota 70 Series Land Cruisers and Nkuringo Safaris says it is 'one of the few companies owning its vehicles'.
Which Uganda operators say they own their vehicles?
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel, Insight Safari Holidays, Meanda Uganda Safaris, Native Africa Tours, Nkuringo Safaris and Primate Safaris each say they own or have their own vehicles. Only Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel gives a count (over 8).
Do Uganda safari operators employ their own driver-guides?
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel says it has employed safari guides and drivers; Nkuringo Safaris says more than half of its field guides work exclusively for it. The other operators here do not say if their guides are employed.
How do I check a Uganda safari operator's licence?
The Uganda Tourism Board licenses operators, so ask for the licence number and confirm it with the board. Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel publishes UTB/RTT/TO/2022/100372 and Nkuringo Safaris publishes UTB/RTT/TO/2019/00142; AUTO is a trade association, not a licence.
Can I book a private tailor-made safari in Uganda?
Yes. Nkuringo Safaris says all its safaris are private and tailor-made, Meanda Uganda Safaris runs private trips only and Insight Safari Holidays makes private, personalised trips its model.
Does any Uganda operator include evacuation cover in its price?
Nkuringo Safaris lists AMREF emergency evacuation cover as included on the itineraries read. Meanda Uganda Safaris says emergency air evacuation cover is included in its tour prices.
Do Uganda operators guarantee a window seat?
Insight Safari Holidays, Native Africa Tours, Nkuringo Safaris and Meanda Uganda Safaris each state a window seat for every guest. Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel and Primate Safaris do not state one.
What are the best alternatives to Nkuringo Safaris in 2026?
Meanda Uganda Safaris runs private trips in its own Land Cruisers with evacuation cover included in its tour prices; Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel lists an own fleet of over 8 vehicles. Nkuringo Safaris names only luxury and all-inclusive styles.
What are the best alternatives to Primate Safaris in 2026?
Insight Safari Holidays runs private trips in registered 4x4s and Meanda Uganda Safaris runs private trips only. Primate Safaris priced its 1 day Bwindi gorilla trek for a minimum of two.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Uganda whose own website says it owns its vehicles is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards are in alphabetical order; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 29 October 2026 · updated 29 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.