Tintswalo is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Tintswalo?
Tintswalo has 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Tintswalo Safari') from 107 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Google
4.9 out of 5 from 107 reviews. On the Google listing 'Tintswalo Safari' (lodge), South Africa. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Tintswalo's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Tintswalo's name was found.
Awards it lists
One claim: the Tintswalo Boulders page carries the line 'Fodor's Finest Hotels for 2025'. These are the company's own statements; an award counts here once read on the publisher's own list.
South Africa. Seven properties listed on the collection page: Tintswalo Atlantic, Safari, Boulders, Manor, Waterberg, Scops Rest and Summer House.
Countries
South Africa. All seven properties on the collection list are in South Africa (Western Cape, Limpopo).
Camps
Seven properties listed on the collection page: Tintswalo Atlantic, Safari, Boulders, Manor, Waterberg, Scops Rest and Summer House. Owned or managed is not stated; the collection is called 'family-owned'.
Where they are
Atlantic: Chapmans Peak, Hout Bay, Cape Town (within Table Mountain National Park). Safari and Manor: Manyeleti Game Reserve, Orpen Road, Hoedspruit, Greater Kruger. Boulders: 7 Gay Road, Simon's Town, Cape Town. Waterberg: Welgevonden Game Reserve, Limpopo. Scops Rest: Klaserie Private Nature Reserve, Hoedspruit. Summer House: 14 Glen Road, Glencairn, Cape Town.
Land and traversing
Safari and Manor: Manyeleti Game Reserve, 'nestled amidst the unfenced borders of the Kruger National Park, Sabi Sands and the Timbavati Reserves'. Waterberg: Welgevonden Game Reserve ('limited vehicle access').
Camp sizes
Only Boulders gives a count: nine suites, maximum 18 guests on exclusive use. Named suites in the category lists: Atlantic ten island and mountain suites (Corsica, Elba, Ithaca, Robben Island, Sicily, Zanzibar, Lamu, Cousine, Antigua, Saint Marie).
A cheetah sitting in dry grass. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Tintswalo's camp.
How much does Tintswalo cost?
Tintswalo publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.
What the rate includes
Boulders rates include luxury accommodation with en-suite bathroom, daily breakfast, sunset canapes and cocktails, complimentary Wi-Fi and free parking. Excluded: all unspecified meals and beverages, transfers, excursions, minibar items, a conservation levy of R100 per person per stay and personal items.
Minimum stay
Boulders exclusive use: 'Minimum 2 nights required for bookings falling over a Friday or Saturday'.
Best for: Family-owned lodges and hotels in South Africa, on Tintswalo's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Boulders: children of all ages welcome; under 16s must share a suite with an adult (16 and over); extra children aged 6 to 15 pay 25% of the suite rate, 5 and under free; extra guests 16 and over pay 50%. Waterberg: children's programme, babysitting R150 per hour, bush walks 16 and over only. Safari and Manor: no children under 16 on game walks.
Teenagers and families
Family suites include Baines Presidential Villa, Grant Suite, The Manor, Kingfisher, Eagle and Roller Bird, plus Boulders family suites. A 4x4 experience is pitched for family outings and father-son bonding.
Activities
Scops Rest: Big 5 and night drives with thermal cameras. Atlantic and Boulders: boat trips, horse riding, water sports, whale watching.
Tintswalo is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.
Children
Boulders: children of all ages welcome; under 16s must share a suite with an adult (16 and over); extra children aged 6 to 15 pay 25% of the suite rate, 5 and under free; extra guests 16 and over pay 50%. Waterberg: children's programme, babysitting R150 per hour, bush walks 16 and over only.
Minimum stay
Boulders exclusive use: 'Minimum 2 nights required for bookings falling over a Friday or Saturday'.
Cheetah Plains, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Kapama Private Game Reserve, Londolozi, MalaMala and MORE Family Collection also own and run their own camps in South Africa only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Cheetah Plains: best for: Sole-use villas in the Sabi Sand. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cheetah Plains Private Game Reserve') from 73 reviews.
Elephant Plains Game Lodge: best for: Big Five game viewing in the northern Sabi Sand. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Elephant Plains Game Lodge') from 242 reviews.
Kapama Private Game Reserve: best for: A large Greater Kruger private reserve. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kapama Private Game Reserve') from 870 reviews.
Londolozi: best for: Five camps on the Sand River. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Londolozi Game Reserve') from 242 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
MalaMala: best for: Owner-led lodges in the Sabi Sand. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve') from 560 reviews.
Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.
Who owns Tintswalo?
Described as a 'Luxury Collection of family-owned properties and boutique hotels in Southern Africa'.
Trading name
Tintswalo Lodges (Pty) Ltd, trading as Tintswalo Lodges / Tintswalo Collection. No company registration number is published.
Based in
Cape Town, South Africa (Constantia Nek / Hout Bay address; reservations telephone +27 21 773 0900).
Owner or parent
Described as a 'Luxury Collection of family-owned properties and boutique hotels in Southern Africa'. Legal entity is Tintswalo Lodges (Pty) Ltd with affiliated companies.
Conservation model
Partners: Nourish Eco Village, Abundant Village, GKEPF, WWF. Boulders charges a conservation levy of R100 per person per stay.
Direct to guests through 'Book Online' buttons and the reservations team ([email protected], +27 21 773 0900), plus gift vouchers and a Tintswalo Travellers Club.
Where it sells
Direct to guests through 'Book Online' buttons and the reservations team ([email protected], +27 21 773 0900), plus gift vouchers and a Tintswalo Travellers Club.
How it is paid
Direct bookings through 'Book Online' and the reservations team.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Seven properties listed on the collection page: Tintswalo Atlantic, Safari, Boulders, Manor, Waterberg, Scops Rest and Summer House.
What activities does Tintswalo offer?
Scops Rest: Big 5 and night drives with thermal cameras. Atlantic and Boulders: boat trips, horse riding, water sports, whale watching.
How does Tintswalo fund conservation?
Partners: Nourish Eco Village, Abundant Village, GKEPF, WWF. Boulders charges a conservation levy of R100 per person per stay.
What is included in Tintswalo's rates?
Boulders rates include luxury accommodation with en-suite bathroom, daily breakfast, sunset canapes and cocktails, complimentary Wi-Fi and free parking. Excluded: all unspecified meals and beverages, transfers, excursions, minibar items, a conservation levy of R100 per person per stay and personal items.
Does Tintswalo accept children?
Boulders: children of all ages welcome; under 16s must share a suite with an adult (16 and over); extra children aged 6 to 15 pay 25% of the suite rate, 5 and under free; extra guests 16 and over pay 50%. Waterberg: children's programme, babysitting R150 per hour, bush walks 16 and over only.
Where are Tintswalo's camps?
Atlantic: Chapmans Peak, Hout Bay, Cape Town (within Table Mountain National Park). Safari and Manor: Manyeleti Game Reserve, Orpen Road, Hoedspruit, Greater Kruger.
Who owns Tintswalo?
Described as a 'Luxury Collection of family-owned properties and boutique hotels in Southern Africa'.
What are Tintswalo's reviews?
Tintswalo has 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Tintswalo Safari') from 107 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Can I book Tintswalo through Uncompromised Travel?
No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Tintswalo's own enquiry page, www.tintswalo.com, or a safari planner.
How current is this page?
Tintswalo's website and review listings were read on 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Tintswalo published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Tintswalo did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.