Thornybush Collection is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Thornybush Collection?
Thornybush Collection has 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Thornybush Game Lodge') from 176 reviews and 3.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 2 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Google
4.8 out of 5 from 176 reviews. On the Google listing 'Thornybush Game Lodge' (lodge), Guernsey Rd, Hoedspruit, South Africa. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Thornybush Collection's name was found.
Trustpilot
3.8 out of 5 from 2 reviews. On the Trustpilot profile 'Thornybush', newest review 8 August 2025.
South Africa only. Six properties: three lodges (Thornybush Game Lodge, Saseka Tented Camp, Simbambili Game Lodge) and three exclusive-use villas (Kamara House, Little Saseka, Nkelenga, which opens 1 April 2027).
Countries
South Africa only.
Camps
Six properties: three lodges (Thornybush Game Lodge, Saseka Tented Camp, Simbambili Game Lodge) and three exclusive-use villas (Kamara House, Little Saseka, Nkelenga, which opens 1 April 2027).
Where they are
Thornybush Game Lodge, Saseka Tented Camp and the villas Kamara House (at Thornybush Game Lodge), Little Saseka (at Saseka) and Nkelenga (about 5 minutes from the game lodge): all in Thornybush Nature Reserve, near Hoedspruit, Limpopo. Simbambili Game Lodge: Sabi Sand Nature Reserve (entrance at Gowrie Gate). Both reserves border Kruger National Park.
Land and traversing
Thornybush Nature Reserve is described as an approximately 14,000-hectare, open and unfenced reserve within the Greater Kruger, made up of land from several owners and home to independently owned lodges. Thornybush owns land there.
A male lion resting on rocks, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Thornybush Collection's camp.
How much does Thornybush Collection cost?
Thornybush Collection publishes its own rates: 2026 (1 Jan to 31 Dec): Saseka R28,000 (single R42,000). Thornybush Game Lodge R19,800 (single R29,700). Simbambili 'from' R27,000.
Rates by season
2026 (1 Jan to 31 Dec): Saseka R28,000 (single R42,000). Thornybush Game Lodge R19,800 (single R29,700). Simbambili 'from' R27,000. 2027: Saseka R28,000 to 31 Mar, R31,000 from 1 Apr.
Prices published
Rates are published on the website, in South African rand (ZAR), including VAT. Pages cover international rates per lodge and villa (2026 and 2027) and a separate South African resident rate page.
What the rate includes
Included: accommodation, all meals and snacks, local drinks (soft drinks, house wine, selected beer and spirits), minibar drinks, morning and afternoon game drives with guide and tracker, Wi-Fi and laundry; villas also include a private vehicle. Extra: champagne, premium wines and spirits, curios, spa, gratuities, reserve levies, airstrip landing fees, Gowrie Gate fees and transfers. Levies per person per day 2026: Thornybush Nature Reserve R650, Sabi Sand R850 (both include TOMSA and the conservation and community levies).
Minimum stay
The SA resident rate terms say 'Subject to 2 nights minimum stay'. Offers have minimums: Pay for 3, Stay for 4 needs 4 nights.
Resident rates
South African resident rates are published (2026, 6 Jan to 15 Dec, ZAR including VAT; bookings within 30 days of travel; proof of residency requested): R8,000 per person at Thornybush Game Lodge, R10,500 at Saseka and Simbambili. East African or SADC rates are not stated.
Best for: Owner-run lodges in Thornybush and Sabi Sand, on Thornybush Collection's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Thornybush Game Lodge: all ages; under 6s not on drives unless a private vehicle is booked (R17,500 per day in 2026, R20,500 in 2027); child rate under 12 (75% in a separate room with one adult; three children sharing 50% each). Saseka and Simbambili: 12 and over only. Little Saseka, Kamara House and Nkelenga: all ages.
Teenagers and families
Family Safaris page: multigenerational stays in Kamara House or Little Saseka, with private guide, tracker, vehicle, chef and butler. Kids Activities cover 'toddlers to teenagers' (junior ranger, tracking, baking).
Honeymoon
Honeymoon Special: stay 3 nights or more and get 50% off one partner's accommodation (all lodges except Kamara House; not combinable; valid 15 Jan to 30 Jun and 1 Nov to 15 Dec in 2026 and 2027; excludes transfers). Simbambili has a Honeymoon Suite.
Solo travellers
A 50% single supplement applies (single rate is 1.5 times the per person rate, for example Saseka R42,000 against R28,000 in 2026). Single Additional Traveller offer (2026 and 2027): no single supplement for up to three nights when travelling with three or more guests.
Private guide and vehicle
Private Vehicle Safaris are listed as an activity. The three villas (Kamara House, Little Saseka, Nkelenga) are marketed with a private vehicle, guide and tracker.
Exclusive use
Yes, three exclusive-use villas: Little Saseka (up to 6; from R120,000 per night for 4), Kamara House (3 bedrooms, up to 6, extra rates to 8; from R92,000 for 4) and Nkelenga (up to 8, 10 on application; from R90,000 for 6, opening 1 April 2027), all in ZAR. Whole-lodge buy-out rates are not stated.
Activities
Twice-daily Big Five game drives (evening drives extend into the night); optional guided bush walks (not under 16). K9 anti-poaching experience; in-bush photoshoots; spa and wellness. 5-night Impact Safari.
What are the best alternatives to Thornybush Collection?
Cheetah Plains, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Kapama Private Game Reserve, Londolozi, MalaMala and MORE Family Collection also own and run their own camps in South Africa only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Cheetah Plains: best for: Sole-use villas in the Sabi Sand. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cheetah Plains Private Game Reserve') from 73 reviews.
Elephant Plains Game Lodge: best for: Big Five game viewing in the northern Sabi Sand. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Elephant Plains Game Lodge') from 242 reviews.
Kapama Private Game Reserve: best for: A large Greater Kruger private reserve. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kapama Private Game Reserve') from 870 reviews.
Londolozi: best for: Five camps on the Sand River. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Londolozi Game Reserve') from 242 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
MalaMala: best for: Owner-led lodges in the Sabi Sand. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve') from 560 reviews.
Direct to guests through the reservations team and online booking enquiry form ([email protected], +27 11 253 6500).
Where it sells
Direct to guests through the reservations team and online booking enquiry form ([email protected], +27 11 253 6500). Rates are published for international guests and for South African residents (proof of residency requested); rates are 'valid for FIT and Group bookings'.
How it is paid
Direct bookings: guests send a booking enquiry to the reservations team ([email protected]). No agent commission statement, trade rates or trade portal appear.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Six properties: three lodges (Thornybush Game Lodge, Saseka Tented Camp, Simbambili Game Lodge) and three exclusive-use villas (Kamara House, Little Saseka, Nkelenga, which opens 1 April 2027).
What activities does Thornybush Collection offer?
Twice-daily Big Five game drives (evening drives extend into the night); optional guided bush walks (not under 16). K9 anti-poaching experience; in-bush photoshoots; spa and wellness. 5-night Impact Safari.
Does Thornybush Collection have honeymoon offers?
Honeymoon Special: stay 3 nights or more and get 50% off one partner's accommodation (all lodges except Kamara House; not combinable; valid 15 Jan to 30 Jun and 1 Nov to 15 Dec in 2026 and 2027; excludes transfers). Simbambili has a Honeymoon Suite.
How does Thornybush Collection fund conservation?
The company calls itself the single largest contributor to Thornybush Nature Reserve. No land lease is described.
What is included in Thornybush Collection's rates?
Included: accommodation, all meals and snacks, local drinks (soft drinks, house wine, selected beer and spirits), minibar drinks, morning and afternoon game drives with guide and tracker, Wi-Fi and laundry; villas also include a private vehicle. Extra: champagne, premium wines and spirits, curios, spa, gratuities, reserve levies, airstrip landing fees, Gowrie Gate fees and transfers.
What are Thornybush Collection's cancellation charges?
Published only for SA resident rates: '100% cancellation fees will apply if the booking is cancelled'.
Does Thornybush Collection charge a single supplement?
A 50% single supplement applies (single rate is 1.5 times the per person rate, for example Saseka R42,000 against R28,000 in 2026). Single Additional Traveller offer (2026 and 2027): no single supplement for up to three nights when travelling with three or more guests.
Does Thornybush Collection accept children?
Thornybush Game Lodge: all ages; under 6s not on drives unless a private vehicle is booked (R17,500 per day in 2026, R20,500 in 2027); child rate under 12 (75% in a separate room with one adult; three children sharing 50% each). Saseka and Simbambili: 12 and over only.
Does Thornybush Collection offer a private vehicle?
Private Vehicle Safaris are listed as an activity. The three villas (Kamara House, Little Saseka, Nkelenga) are marketed with a private vehicle, guide and tracker.
Where are Thornybush Collection's camps?
Thornybush Game Lodge, Saseka Tented Camp and the villas Kamara House (at Thornybush Game Lodge), Little Saseka (at Saseka) and Nkelenga (about 5 minutes from the game lodge): all in Thornybush Nature Reserve, near Hoedspruit, Limpopo. Simbambili Game Lodge: Sabi Sand Nature Reserve (entrance at Gowrie Gate).
Who owns Thornybush Collection?
Owned by Inzalo Investment Holdings (Pty) Ltd (the registered entity trading as Thornybush).
What are Thornybush Collection's reviews?
Thornybush Collection has 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Thornybush Game Lodge') from 176 reviews and 3.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 2 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Thornybush Collection published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Thornybush Collection did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.