Tanda Tula is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Tanda Tula?
Tanda Tula has 5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Tanda Tula') from 103 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Google
5 out of 5 from 103 reviews. On the Google listing 'Tanda Tula' (lodge), Greater Kruger National Park, South Africa. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Tanda Tula's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Tanda Tula's name was found.
South Africa only (Timbavati, Greater Kruger). One current camp: Tanda Tula Safari Camp (nine suites, rebuilt and reopened June 2023).
Countries
South Africa only (Timbavati, Greater Kruger).
Camps
One current camp: Tanda Tula Safari Camp (nine suites, rebuilt and reopened June 2023). Owned versus managed not stated.
Where they are
Tanda Tula Safari Camp, on the banks of the Nhlaralumi river in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve (55,626 hectares), part of the Greater Kruger, Limpopo, near Hoedspruit.
Land and traversing
Inside the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which is unfenced from Kruger National Park. Traversing rights are 'carefully managed' by lodges and landowners.
Camp sizes
Nine suites: seven Safari Suites (maximum 2 adults) and two Family Suites (two bedrooms, maximum 2 adults and 2 children). Only one camp is described, so smallest and largest are the same.
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Tanda Tula's camp.
How much does Tanda Tula cost?
Tanda Tula publishes its own rates: lowest adult: Safari Suite sharing, 31,500 per person per night in 2026.
Lowest published
Lowest adult: Safari Suite sharing, 31,500 per person per night in 2026.
What the rate includes
Included: accommodation, all meals, local beverages (house wines, beers, spirits, soft drinks, tea/coffee), laundry, twice-daily game drives and guided walks, transfers to and from Rockfig Airstrip. Not included: wellness treatments, premium spirits, imported wines, champagne, Rockfig landing and departure fees, road transfers, curios, gratuities, private vehicle hire and the Sustainability Levy (2026 ZAR 1,815 adult 12+, ZAR 910 child 6-11 per night; 2027 ZAR 1,955 and ZAR 1,085).
Minimum stay
Minimum 2-night stay (Booking Conditions). The honeymoon offer needs 3 nights, the aerial patrol promotion 3 nights and exclusive use of the camp needs a booking of eight suites.
Tanda Tula's published terms: 20% refundable deposit to confirm a booking.
Deposit
20% refundable deposit to confirm a booking. A provisional hold lasts up to 14 days.
Balance due
Final payment due 60 days prior to arrival.
Cancellation charges
'Confirmed with refundable deposit': no cancellation fee up to 61 days before arrival. 'Confirmed with commitment' (deposit converted to a 20% non-refundable fee when another request overlaps the dates): cancelling more than 60 days out costs the 20% fee. 'Confirmed with full-payment': cancelling within 60 days forfeits the full reservation value.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are in ZAR; the invoice amount must be received 'nett of bank charges'. Payment by direct transfer, cash or credit card.
Best for: A family-led Timbavati tented camp, on Tanda Tula's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Children aged 6 to 16 welcome; 17+ pay the full adult rate; under 6 'by special arrangement only' (younger children may be accommodated for exclusive use). Child (6-16) rate is ZAR 15,750 (2026). Two Family Suites with two en-suite bedrooms.
Teenagers and families
Family Suites hold up to 2 adults and 2 children; 17+ pay adult rates. Children can join game drives with tailored activities such as tracking, cooking lessons and nature walks.
Honeymoon
Honeymoon Safari: 'Save 50% on one partner's stay', minimum 3 nights, reservation within one year of the wedding date, valid all year 2026 and 2027. The blog adds a private starlit dinner on the deck; the FAQ says private dinners and special turn-downs are included.
Solo travellers
Single occupancy of a Safari Suite is charged at 150% of the sharing rate (ZAR 47,250 against 31,500 in 2026; 52,425 against 34,950 in 2027). No solo-specific offers stated.
Older travellers and limited mobility
'Suitable for those with mobility challenges' / 'Accessible for guests with mobility challenges'. No details of steps or walkways.
Private guide and vehicle
Private vehicles are available on request at additional cost, subject to availability; the amount is not published ('ask our reservations team'). Standard vehicles carry a maximum of six guests.
Exclusive use
Exclusive use of the entire camp is available, with a minimum booking of eight suites; rates on request. No separate villas.
Cheetah Plains, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Kapama Private Game Reserve, Londolozi, MalaMala and MORE Family Collection also own and run their own camps in South Africa only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Cheetah Plains: best for: Sole-use villas in the Sabi Sand. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cheetah Plains Private Game Reserve') from 73 reviews.
Elephant Plains Game Lodge: best for: Big Five game viewing in the northern Sabi Sand. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Elephant Plains Game Lodge') from 242 reviews.
Kapama Private Game Reserve: best for: A large Greater Kruger private reserve. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kapama Private Game Reserve') from 870 reviews.
Londolozi: best for: Five camps on the Sand River. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Londolozi Game Reserve') from 242 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
MalaMala: best for: Owner-led lodges in the Sabi Sand. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve') from 560 reviews.
Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.
Who owns Tanda Tula?
'Co-owned and led by the Scott, Jackson, Hartog and Mathebula families.' Ricky Hartog joined as 'the sixth member of our shareholders' team' during COVID.
Hoedspruit, Limpopo, South Africa (the registered office address).
Owner or parent
'Co-owned and led by the Scott, Jackson, Hartog and Mathebula families.' Ricky Hartog joined as 'the sixth member of our shareholders' team' during COVID. Formen Mathebula is co-owner, director and manager.
In its own words
'An unhurried, soulful African safari', 'proudly African, co-owned and led by the Scott, Jackson, Hartog and Mathebula families'.
Certifications
Fair Trade Tourism certified 'as of July 2025', following an independent audit (auditor Morwesi Ramonyai).
Direct and through agents. The booking terms refer to 'the agent', the privacy policy defines 'Trade Partners' as travel professionals who sell the camps and a guest quotes 'feedback through their agent'.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Partly stated. It sells through travel professionals ('Trade Partners', 'the agent') and thanks 'travel partners' and tour operators and offers a free tour leader place for groups.
Lowest adult: Safari Suite sharing, 31,500 per person per night in 2026.
How many camps does Tanda Tula have?
One current camp: Tanda Tula Safari Camp (nine suites, rebuilt and reopened June 2023).
What activities does Tanda Tula offer?
No boating, fishing or horseback stated.
Does Tanda Tula have honeymoon offers?
Honeymoon Safari: 'Save 50% on one partner's stay', minimum 3 nights, reservation within one year of the wedding date, valid all year 2026 and 2027. The blog adds a private starlit dinner on the deck; the FAQ says private dinners and special turn-downs are included.
What is included in Tanda Tula's rates?
Included: accommodation, all meals, local beverages (house wines, beers, spirits, soft drinks, tea/coffee), laundry, twice-daily game drives and guided walks, transfers to and from Rockfig Airstrip. Not included: wellness treatments, premium spirits, imported wines, champagne, Rockfig landing and departure fees, road transfers, curios, gratuities, private vehicle hire and the Sustainability Levy (2026 ZAR 1,815 adult 12+, ZAR 910 child 6-11 per night; 2027 ZAR 1,955 and ZAR 1,085).
What deposit does Tanda Tula ask for?
20% refundable deposit to confirm a booking.
What are Tanda Tula's cancellation charges?
'Confirmed with refundable deposit': no cancellation fee up to 61 days before arrival. 'Confirmed with commitment' (deposit converted to a 20% non-refundable fee when another request overlaps the dates): cancelling more than 60 days out costs the 20% fee.
Does Tanda Tula charge a single supplement?
Single occupancy of a Safari Suite is charged at 150% of the sharing rate (ZAR 47,250 against 31,500 in 2026; 52,425 against 34,950 in 2027). No solo-specific offers stated.
Does Tanda Tula accept children?
Children aged 6 to 16 welcome; 17+ pay the full adult rate; under 6 'by special arrangement only' (younger children may be accommodated for exclusive use). Child (6-16) rate is ZAR 15,750 (2026).
Does Tanda Tula offer a private vehicle?
Private vehicles are available on request at additional cost, subject to availability; the amount is not published ('ask our reservations team'). Standard vehicles carry a maximum of six guests.
Where are Tanda Tula's camps?
Tanda Tula Safari Camp, on the banks of the Nhlaralumi river in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve (55,626 hectares), part of the Greater Kruger, Limpopo, near Hoedspruit.
Who owns Tanda Tula?
'Co-owned and led by the Scott, Jackson, Hartog and Mathebula families.' Ricky Hartog joined as 'the sixth member of our shareholders' team' during COVID.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Tanda Tula published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Tanda Tula did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.