Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A herd of African elephants on the savannah, Tanzania

A herd of African elephants on the savannah, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Rhino Sands Safari Camp a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Rhino Sands Safari Camp is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Rhino Sands Safari Camp?

Rhino Sands Safari Camp has 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Rhino Sands Safari Camp') from 116 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.9 out of 5 from 116 reviews. On the Google listing 'Rhino Sands Safari Camp' (lodge), D464 Rd, Mkuze, South Africa. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Rhino Sands Safari Camp's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Rhino Sands Safari Camp's name was found.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 2 November 2026.

Where are Rhino Sands Safari Camp's camps?

One camp, Rhino Sands Safari Camp.

Camps
One camp, Rhino Sands Safari Camp. Dale Airton also serves as general manager of Rhino River Lodge and the family invested in another property in Manyoni including a safari lodge, but ownership of that is not detailed.
Where they are
Rhino Sands Safari Camp, in Manyoni Private Game Reserve, KwaZulu-Natal (Zululand), South Africa. Rhino River Lodge is also mentioned.
Land and traversing
Set in Manyoni Private Game Reserve, a privately owned Big Five reserve of 57,000 acres. Exclusive traversing is not stated.
Camp sizes
Five luxury tented suites at Rhino Sands, for a maximum of 10 guests.
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Rhino Sands Safari Camp's camp.

How much does Rhino Sands Safari Camp cost?

Rhino Sands Safari Camp publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

What the rate includes
Included: accommodation in a luxury tented suite, all meals and two game drives daily, a selection of local wines, spirits and soft drinks. Excluded: Manyoni Private Game Reserve conservation levies (R180 per adult per night for 2026, not finalised for 2027) and gratuities.
Sources: what the rate includes. Read 2 November 2026.

What are Rhino Sands Safari Camp's booking terms?

Rhino Sands Safari Camp's published terms: a 50% deposit is due within 48 hours of receiving the proforma invoice.

Deposit
A 50% deposit is due within 48 hours of receiving the proforma invoice.
Balance due
Full payment is due 4 weeks prior to arrival; for bookings within 30 days of arrival, full payment is due within 48 hours of receiving the booking.
Cancellation charges
Cancellation 60-30 days before arrival: 50% fee. Cancellation 30 days or less before arrival: 100% fee. All cancellations are also subject to bank and admin fees.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are in South African rand. Bank transfer refunds incur a R200 banking and admin fee; credit card refunds incur a bank fee of 2.5-3.82% of the total paid.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit. Read 2 November 2026.

Who is Rhino Sands Safari Camp best for?

Best for: A five-suite tented camp in Zululand, on Rhino Sands Safari Camp's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
No guests under age 12 unless the camp is booked for exclusive use. If children are part of an exclusive use group they are charged at full rate and count towards the maximum occupancy of ten.
Honeymoon
Honeymoon Offer: one partner gets 25% off the safari package cost; minimum 3-night stay; proof of wedding date required; cannot be booked if travel is more than 3 months after the wedding date.
Solo travellers
Single supplement is charged at 50% of the rate.
Exclusive use
Exclusive use of the camp is available, with a minimum booking for nine individuals and maximum occupancy of ten. No separate villas.
Activities
Two game drives daily in open vehicles, each generally two-and-a-half to three hours, plus sundowner stops and nightly campfires.
Sources: family and child policy, activities. Read 2 November 2026.

When is Rhino Sands Safari Camp not the right choice?

Rhino Sands Safari Camp is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Single travellers
Single supplement is charged at 50% of the rate.
Sources: solo travellers. Read 2 November 2026.

Who owns Rhino Sands Safari Camp?

Family-owned and run by Dale and Shannon Airton, named as the owners.

Owner or parent
Family-owned and run by Dale and Shannon Airton, named as the owners. No parent group or investors are named.
Conservation model
Each guest's nightly conservation levy goes directly to supporting the Zululand Conservation Trust and its community projects (R180 per adult per night for 2026). The camp supports Zululand Conservation Trust and Wildlife ACT; projects named include creche support, the Mandlakazi Food Security Project, matric learner support and pangolin rehabilitation.
Sources: owner or parent, conservation model. Read 2 November 2026.

How do you book Rhino Sands Safari Camp?

Sells direct to guests (online availability search, reservations team, WhatsApp) and has an 'Agent Portal' link for the trade.

Where it sells
Sells direct to guests (online availability search, reservations team, WhatsApp) and has an 'Agent Portal' link for the trade. South African residents have a separate rate available on enquiry.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
No preferred-partner or commission statements are given.

Rhino Sands: the questions people ask

How many camps does Rhino Sands Safari Camp have?

One camp, Rhino Sands Safari Camp.

What activities does Rhino Sands Safari Camp offer?

Two game drives daily in open vehicles, each generally two-and-a-half to three hours, plus sundowner stops and nightly campfires.

Does Rhino Sands Safari Camp have honeymoon offers?

Honeymoon Offer: one partner gets 25% off the safari package cost; minimum 3-night stay; proof of wedding date required; cannot be booked if travel is more than 3 months after the wedding date.

How does Rhino Sands Safari Camp fund conservation?

Each guest's nightly conservation levy goes directly to supporting the Zululand Conservation Trust and its community projects (R180 per adult per night for 2026). The camp supports Zululand Conservation Trust and Wildlife ACT; projects named include creche support, the Mandlakazi Food Security Project, matric learner support and pangolin rehabilitation.

What is included in Rhino Sands Safari Camp's rates?

Included: accommodation in a luxury tented suite, all meals and two game drives daily, a selection of local wines, spirits and soft drinks. Excluded: Manyoni Private Game Reserve conservation levies (R180 per adult per night for 2026, not finalised for 2027) and gratuities.

What deposit does Rhino Sands Safari Camp ask for?

A 50% deposit is due within 48 hours of receiving the proforma invoice.

What are Rhino Sands Safari Camp's cancellation charges?

Cancellation 60-30 days before arrival: 50% fee. Cancellation 30 days or less before arrival: 100% fee.

Does Rhino Sands Safari Camp charge a single supplement?

Single supplement is charged at 50% of the rate.

Does Rhino Sands Safari Camp accept children?

No guests under age 12 unless the camp is booked for exclusive use. If children are part of an exclusive use group they are charged at full rate and count towards the maximum occupancy of ten.

Where are Rhino Sands Safari Camp's camps?

Rhino Sands Safari Camp, in Manyoni Private Game Reserve, KwaZulu-Natal (Zululand), South Africa. Rhino River Lodge is also mentioned.

Who owns Rhino Sands Safari Camp?

Family-owned and run by Dale and Shannon Airton, named as the owners.

What are Rhino Sands Safari Camp's reviews?

Rhino Sands Safari Camp has 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Rhino Sands Safari Camp') from 116 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Rhino Sands Safari Camp published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 2 November 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Rhino Sands Safari Camp did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.