Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A white rhino on the savannah, South Africa

A white rhino on the savannah, South Africa. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

How much does a safari with MalaMala cost?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Every figure below is MalaMala's own, as its website published it, in its own currency and never converted, with the page it was read from.

How much does a safari with MalaMala cost?

MalaMala publishes its own rates: 2026 per person sharing: lowest R26 100 (MalaMala Camp luxury room), highest R50 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak season). 2027: lowest R29 160 (MalaMala Camp luxury room and Kirkman's Kamp cottage, high season), highest R60 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak).

Lowest published
2026 per person sharing: lowest R26 100 (MalaMala Camp luxury room), highest R50 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak season). 2027: lowest R29 160 (MalaMala Camp luxury room and Kirkman's Kamp cottage, high season), highest R60 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak). The R5 600 'Pilot Guide Room' rate and private vehicle fees are left out.
Prices published
Rack rates are published on each camp page, in South African rand (ZAR, shown as 'R'), for 2026 and 2027. Khensani River Lodge (opening December 2026) shows no rates.
What the rate includes
What the rate includes is not listed. The rate tables say only 'Please enquire for Child Rates, Transfers, Conservation Levies and contracted rates', so transfers and conservation levies are not in the quoted rack rate and child rates are quoted separately. Meals, drinks and activities are described on the camp pages but not tied to the rate.
Sources: price per person per day. Read 19 October 2026.

What does a stay with MalaMala cost, line by line?

A stay with MalaMala is built from its published rate, what that rate includes, getting to camp, park fees or conservation levies and any extras, each line below from its own website.

Stays
2026 per person sharing: lowest R26 100 (MalaMala Camp luxury room), highest R50 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak season). 2027: lowest R29 160 (MalaMala Camp luxury room and Kirkman's Kamp cottage, high season), highest R60 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak).
Included in the rate
What the rate includes is not listed. The rate tables say only 'Please enquire for Child Rates, Transfers, Conservation Levies and contracted rates', so transfers and conservation levies are not in the quoted rack rate and child rates are quoted separately.
Getting there
Tambo to the MalaMala private airstrip 'via scheduled shuttle services'.
Extras
A private vehicle is sold per vehicle, per night: 2026 R23 000 at Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp; 2027 R22 000 (high) or R25 500 (peak) at MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp, Rattray's, Tengile and Kirkman's.
Sources: price per person per day. Read 19 October 2026.
A cheetah sitting in dry grass
A cheetah sitting in dry grass. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not MalaMala's camp.

What costs extra with MalaMala?

The extras MalaMala prices on its own website are below: single travellers, children, a private vehicle, exclusive use and flights or transfers where it publishes them.

Single travellers
MalaMala Camp has a 'Luxury Single Suite' (2026) at R27 600 per night, the same as the per-person sharing rate; a 2027 'Luxury Solo Suite' is at the same price as the sharing rate. Sable Camp's 2027 'Luxury Solo Suite' also matches its sharing rate.
Children
Rattray's does not allow under 16s (over 12 if the whole lodge is booked). Tengile River Lodge and Sable Camp do not take under 12s unless booked for exclusive use.
Private guide and vehicle
A private vehicle is sold per vehicle, per night: 2026 R23 000 at Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp; 2027 R22 000 (high) or R25 500 (peak) at MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp, Rattray's, Tengile and Kirkman's. These are ZAR rack rates.
Exclusive use
Exclusive use is offered: Tengile River Lodge and Sable Camp take under 12s only if booked for exclusive use. Rattray's is 'great for intimate exclusive use groups'
Flights and transfers
Tambo to the MalaMala private airstrip 'via scheduled shuttle services'. 'Private charter flights can also be arranged.' Transfers are not shown as included in the rate ('Please enquire for ... Transfers').
Sources: solo travellers, exclusive-use camps and villas. Read 19 October 2026.

What are MalaMala's deposit and cancellation terms?

MalaMala does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: how guest payments are protected. Read 19 October 2026.

Is it cheaper to book MalaMala direct or through a planner?

MalaMala's own website does not say whether booking direct is cheaper than booking through a planner; ask both for the same dates and compare.

Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
The FAQ says the team works closely with guests and trade partners to put together the most suitable options. No agent portal or preferred partner list is shown.
Sources: price against booking through a planner. Read 19 October 2026.

Is MalaMala worth the price? What guests say

MalaMala has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve') from 560 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.7 out of 5 from 560 reviews. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in MalaMala's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in MalaMala's name was found.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

MalaMala: the questions people ask

How much does MalaMala cost per night?

2026 per person sharing: lowest R26 100 (MalaMala Camp luxury room), highest R50 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak season). 2027: lowest R29 160 (MalaMala Camp luxury room and Kirkman's Kamp cottage, high season), highest R60 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak).

How many camps does MalaMala have?

Five operating lodges and camps (Tengile River Lodge, Rattray's, Kirkman's Kamp, MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp), described as two lodges and three camps.

What activities does MalaMala offer?

Twice-daily game drives in 4x4 vehicles (sensitive off-road driving; Sable Camp drives carry a maximum of six guests), bird watching (500 species), nature walks in the winter months at some camps, on-foot safaris at Sable Camp, night drives and stargazing, spa and wellness treatments and tennis at Kirkman's Kamp. Tengile also offers a pool and gym area.

How does MalaMala fund conservation?

Conservation work: anti-poaching ('millions of Rands'), a rhino de-horning programme twice a year 'partly funded through guest levies and donations', research with Panthera, the Mabula Ground Hornbill project, bush thinning and controlled burns.

What is included in MalaMala's rates?

What the rate includes is not listed. The rate tables say only 'Please enquire for Child Rates, Transfers, Conservation Levies and contracted rates', so transfers and conservation levies are not in the quoted rack rate and child rates are quoted separately.

Does MalaMala charge a single supplement?

MalaMala Camp has a 'Luxury Single Suite' (2026) at R27 600 per night, the same as the per-person sharing rate; a 2027 'Luxury Solo Suite' is at the same price as the sharing rate. Sable Camp's 2027 'Luxury Solo Suite' also matches its sharing rate.

Does MalaMala accept children?

Kirkman's Kamp and MalaMala Camp take children of all ages. Rattray's does not allow under 16s (over 12 if the whole lodge is booked).

Does MalaMala offer a private vehicle?

A private vehicle is sold per vehicle, per night: 2026 R23 000 at Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp; 2027 R22 000 (high) or R25 500 (peak) at MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp, Rattray's, Tengile and Kirkman's. These are ZAR rack rates.

What are MalaMala's reviews?

MalaMala has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve') from 560 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Can I book MalaMala through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use MalaMala's own enquiry page, www.malamala.com, or a safari planner.

How current is this page?

MalaMala's website and review listings were read on 19 and 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts MalaMala published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. MalaMala did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.