Madikwe Safari Lodge is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Madikwe Safari Lodge?
No rating for Madikwe Safari Lodge was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Google
No Google listing in Madikwe Safari Lodge's name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Madikwe Safari Lodge's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Madikwe Safari Lodge's name was found.
Three camps and a private villa: Lelapa Camp, Kopano Camp, Dithaba Camp and Elela Villa.
Camps
Three camps and a private villa: Lelapa Camp, Kopano Camp, Dithaba Camp and Elela Villa. Owned versus managed not stated.
Land and traversing
Not stated on their website in terms of land tenure (concession, conservancy or community land) or exclusive traversing. The lodge sits inside Madikwe Game Reserve, a fenced reserve; vehicle numbers at sightings are limited and there is no off-roading.
Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Madikwe Safari Lodge's camp.
How much does Madikwe Safari Lodge cost?
Madikwe Safari Lodge publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.
What the rate includes
Extra: Madikwe Game Reserve entrance fee, guest conservation contribution and landing fees, premium drinks, cigars, flights and other transfers, spa treatments, Safari Boutique purchases, private safari vehicle hire, exclusive bush breakfasts and dinners, babysitting, laundry, phone calls, gratuities.
Madikwe Safari Lodge does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.
Balance due
Standard and group bookings: balance 45 days before arrival (full payment at booking if booked within 45 days). Peak season (20 Dec to 09 Jan): balance 120 days before arrival.
Cancellation charges
Standard: 46-61 days prior 10% fee or free postponement; 31-45 days 50% fee or 30% postponement fee; 14-30 days 75% fee or 50% postponement fee; 13 days or less 100%. Groups (6+ rooms): 46-59 days 50% fee or 30% postponement; 0-45 days 100%. Peak (20 Dec to 09 Jan): 121 days prior 50% fee; 120 days or less 100%.
Best for: Three camps and a villa in Madikwe, on Madikwe Safari Lodge's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Lelapa Camp: children of all ages welcome; under 6 not on game drives or safari activities (a family game drive is offered after breakfast); under 16 not on bush walks; ages 0-5 stay free, 6-15 pay 50% of adult sharing rate, 16+ full adult rate; max 4 people per family room plus an infant under 2 in a cot. Kopano and Dithaba: no children under 16 unless booked exclusively. Elela Villa: no children under 10 in the terms (special requests considered), though the FAQ says children of all ages are welcome; max 6 guests.
Teenagers and families
Lelapa suits multi-generational groups and families with children of all ages, including a Kids' Adventure Safari Club at the Eco House. Teens 16+ are welcome at Kopano and Dithaba; children under 12 aged 6-11 may join normal game drives and 12+ are treated as adults on safari.
Honeymoon
Honeymoon offer: spend a minimum of 3 nights at any of the three camps and one spouse gets 50% off their accommodation; applies to stays within 12 months of the wedding, marriage certificate required. Kopano is described as ideal for honeymooners.
Solo travellers
Single rates are published at 150% of the sharing rate. Kopano is described as suited to solo guests.
Older travellers and limited mobility
Not stated on their website in terms of step-free access or medical statements. Kopano and Dithaba are linked to Lelapa by walkways.
Private guide and vehicle
Private vehicle is included in Elela Villa rates.
Exclusive use
Elela Villa is booked on a fully exclusive-use basis for up to 6 guests. Dithaba is described as a popular exclusive-use choice; groups of up to 46 have been hosted across camps.
Activities
Game drives (two daily, about three hours each), bush walks (guests 16+), stargazing, wildlife lectures, bush breakfasts, picnic lunches and bush dinners, Kids' Adventure Safari Club at Lelapa, spa, gym and wellness. Night viewing with a spotlight on the evening drive.
When is Madikwe Safari Lodge not the right choice?
Madikwe Safari Lodge is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.
Children
Lelapa Camp: children of all ages welcome; under 6 not on game drives or safari activities (a family game drive is offered after breakfast); under 16 not on bush walks; ages 0-5 stay free, 6-15 pay 50% of adult sharing rate, 16+ full adult rate; max 4 people per family room plus an infant under 2 in a cot. Kopano and Dithaba: no children under 16 unless booked exclusively.
Madikwe Safari Lodge's ownership is not stated on its own website.
Conservation model
The conservation levy is charged by the reserve (R520 per adult and R260 per child 12 and younger per night, plus entrance fees) and funds anti-poaching, habitat and water management, monitoring and research and community employment and training. Guests may join conservation safaris (rhino notching and microchipping, collaring) subject to reserve needs.
Three camps and a private villa: Lelapa Camp, Kopano Camp, Dithaba Camp and Elela Villa.
What activities does Madikwe Safari Lodge offer?
Game drives (two daily, about three hours each), bush walks (guests 16+), stargazing, wildlife lectures, bush breakfasts, picnic lunches and bush dinners, Kids' Adventure Safari Club at Lelapa, spa, gym and wellness. Night viewing with a spotlight on the evening drive.
Does Madikwe Safari Lodge have honeymoon offers?
Honeymoon offer: spend a minimum of 3 nights at any of the three camps and one spouse gets 50% off their accommodation; applies to stays within 12 months of the wedding, marriage certificate required. Kopano is described as ideal for honeymooners.
How does Madikwe Safari Lodge fund conservation?
The conservation levy is charged by the reserve (R520 per adult and R260 per child 12 and younger per night, plus entrance fees) and funds anti-poaching, habitat and water management, monitoring and research and community employment and training. Guests may join conservation safaris (rhino notching and microchipping, collaring) subject to reserve needs.
What is included in Madikwe Safari Lodge's rates?
Extra: Madikwe Game Reserve entrance fee, guest conservation contribution and landing fees, premium drinks, cigars, flights and other transfers, spa treatments, Safari Boutique purchases, private safari vehicle hire, exclusive bush breakfasts and dinners, babysitting, laundry, phone calls, gratuities.
What are Madikwe Safari Lodge's cancellation charges?
Standard: 46-61 days prior 10% fee or free postponement; 31-45 days 50% fee or 30% postponement fee; 14-30 days 75% fee or 50% postponement fee; 13 days or less 100%. Groups (6+ rooms): 46-59 days 50% fee or 30% postponement; 0-45 days 100%.
Does Madikwe Safari Lodge charge a single supplement?
Single rates are published at 150% of the sharing rate. Kopano is described as suited to solo guests.
Does Madikwe Safari Lodge accept children?
Lelapa Camp: children of all ages welcome; under 6 not on game drives or safari activities (a family game drive is offered after breakfast); under 16 not on bush walks; ages 0-5 stay free, 6-15 pay 50% of adult sharing rate, 16+ full adult rate; max 4 people per family room plus an infant under 2 in a cot. Kopano and Dithaba: no children under 16 unless booked exclusively.
Does Madikwe Safari Lodge offer a private vehicle?
Private vehicle is included in Elela Villa rates.
What are Madikwe Safari Lodge's reviews?
No rating for Madikwe Safari Lodge was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Can I book Madikwe Safari Lodge through Uncompromised Travel?
No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Madikwe Safari Lodge's own enquiry page, madikwesafarilodge.co.za, or a safari planner.
How current is this page?
Madikwe Safari Lodge's website and review listings were read on 2 November 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Madikwe Safari Lodge published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 2 November 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Madikwe Safari Lodge did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.