Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A herd of African elephants on the savannah, Tanzania

A herd of African elephants on the savannah, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Kwandwe Private Game Reserve a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Kwandwe Private Game Reserve?

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve has 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kwandwe Private Game Reserve') from 259 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.8 out of 5 from 259 reviews. On the Google listing 'Kwandwe Private Game Reserve' (lodge), R67, Fort Brown, South Africa. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's name was found.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 20 October 2026.

Where are Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's camps?

South Africa only (Eastern Cape). Five places to stay, all on one reserve: two lodges (Great Fish River Lodge, Ecca Lodge) and three sole-use villas (Melton Manor, Uplands Homestead, Fort House), 26 rooms in all.

Countries
South Africa only (Eastern Cape).
Camps
Five places to stay, all on one reserve: two lodges (Great Fish River Lodge, Ecca Lodge) and three sole-use villas (Melton Manor, Uplands Homestead, Fort House), 26 rooms in all. Owned versus managed is not stated.
Where they are
All in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, along the Great Fish River: Great Fish River Lodge, Ecca Lodge, Melton Manor, Uplands Homestead, Fort House. Reception and arrival point for self-drive is Heatherton Towers. About 160 km from Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth).
Land and traversing
Privately owned reserve of 30,000 hectares (74,000 acres) either side of the Great Fish River, with 'a maximum of just 52 guests at any one time'. Not a national park or conservancy.
Mobile and seasonal camps
No mobile camps. Great Fish River Lodge is 'Open: all year'.
Camp sizes
Great Fish River Lodge: 9 suites, max 18 guests. Ecca Lodge: 6 suites (3 Luxury, 3 Private Vehicle), max 12 adults and 6 children.
A male lion resting on rocks, Tanzania
A male lion resting on rocks, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's camp.

How much does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve cost?

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve publishes its own rates: lowest published per person sharing rate R19,400 per night (Luxury Suite at Ecca Lodge or Great Fish River Lodge, 1 May-30 Sep 2027) Lodge pages separately say 'from R 17 930' with no season.

Lowest published
Lowest published per person sharing rate R19,400 per night (Luxury Suite at Ecca Lodge or Great Fish River Lodge, 1 May-30 Sep 2027) Lodge pages separately say 'from R 17 930' with no season.
Prices published
Rack rates on the Rates & Enquiries page (with a season and currency selector) and in the 2027 rack rate PDF, in South African rand (R).
What the rate includes
Excluded: conservation, community and reserve levy, imported champagne, select wines, cigars, private vehicle, rhino drives and other specialist activities, spa treatments, shop purchases, gratuities, transfers to and from the reserve.
Minimum stay
Minimum 2 night stay for lodges and villas (2027 rack rates). The 20% Stay Pay offer needs 4 nights (1 May-30 Sep 2027) or 3 nights (1 Nov-15 Dec).
Resident rates
South African Resident Specials at the three villas and room-only at both lodges, on enquiry; proof of citizenship or residency required; not combinable.
Sources: price per person per day, prices published. Read 20 October 2026.

What are Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's booking terms?

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

Who is Kwandwe Private Game Reserve best for?

Best for: A low-density Eastern Cape reserve, on Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Ecca Lodge Private Vehicle Suites and all three villas accept children of all ages. Great Fish River Lodge and Ecca Luxury Double Suites: 12 years and over, full adult rate. Ecca Private Vehicle Suite: 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 or under; extra child (6-12) R7,800 / R2,550 / R8,450 by 2027 season; under 5 free.
Teenagers and families
Villas and Ecca Private Vehicle Suites let families set their own timetable with a private vehicle and no minimum age. Fort House sleeps 4 adults plus 4 children under 16.
Honeymoon
Honeymooners get 50% off for one partner (minimum 3 nights, within 1 year of marriage) in Luxury Double Suites at Ecca Lodge or Great Fish River Lodge, with an arrival box, sparkling wine and an in-room wellness voucher. Two adults only; not combinable.
Solo travellers
Single supplement +40% in the Luxury Suites at Ecca Lodge and Great Fish River Lodge (2027 rack rates).
Older travellers and limited mobility
Great Fish River Lodge is 'Patrolled'. Bush walks are 'adapted to suit guest age, confidence and conditions on the day'.
Private guide and vehicle
Private guide and vehicle with ranger and tracker are available at extra cost at the lodges (R16,600 per day, 2027), booked for the full stay and are included in all villa stays and Ecca Private Vehicle Suites.
Exclusive use
Three sole-use villas (Uplands Homestead, Melton Manor, Fort House) with nightly sole-use rates and Ecca Lodge sole use for 1-10 guests (R261,800 per night, 1 Oct 2026-30 Apr 2027; R194,000 and R283,000 in later seasons), plus extra adults and children. Backstage Kwandwe can also be booked exclusively.
Activities
Included: twice-daily game drives, night drives, bush walks, a big game walking safari tracking rhino, elephant and buffalo, catch-and-release fishing (Galpin Dam, Great Fish River), bush breaks. Extra: Rhino Monitoring Drive, Rhino Conservation Participation, Backstage Kwandwe, specialist walking, birding (315 species) and photographic safaris.

When is Kwandwe Private Game Reserve not the right choice?

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Children
Great Fish River Lodge and Ecca Luxury Double Suites: 12 years and over, full adult rate.
Minimum stay
Minimum 2 night stay for lodges and villas (2027 rack rates).
Single travellers
Single supplement +40% in the Luxury Suites at Ecca Lodge and Great Fish River Lodge (2027 rack rates).
Sources: family and child policy. Read 20 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Kwandwe Private Game Reserve?

Cheetah Plains, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Kariega Game Reserve, Lalibela Game Reserve, Samara Karoo Reserve and Shamwari also own and run their own camps in South Africa only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Cheetah Plains: best for: Sole-use villas in the Sabi Sand. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cheetah Plains Private Game Reserve') from 73 reviews.
  • Elephant Plains Game Lodge: best for: Big Five game viewing in the northern Sabi Sand. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Elephant Plains Game Lodge') from 242 reviews.
  • Kariega Game Reserve: best for: A malaria-free Eastern Cape Big 5 reserve.
  • Lalibela Game Reserve: best for: A malaria-free Eastern Cape reserve.
  • Samara Karoo Reserve: best for: Three stays on a Great Karoo reserve. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Samara Karoo Reserve') from 165 reviews.
  • Shamwari: best for: A Big 5 Eastern Cape reserve.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Kwandwe Private Game Reserve?

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's ownership is not stated on its own website.

Trading name
Trading name 'Kwandwe Private Game Reserve' (Kwandwe). Address: Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, 6140, South Africa.
Based in
Eastern Cape, South Africa (reserve and reservations office at Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District).
In its own words
'Your Private Wilderness': 30,000 hectares (74,000 acres) in the Eastern Cape.
Conservation model
Levy of R1,500 per adult and R750 per child (under 19) per night, split 50% Kwandwe Reserve, 25% Ubunye Foundation, 25% Kwandwe Rhino Conservation Trust.

How do you book Kwandwe Private Game Reserve?

Direct to guests through the reservations team (enquiry form, [email protected]) and 'Book online' for each lodge or villa.

Where it sells
Direct to guests through the reservations team (enquiry form, [email protected]) and 'Book online' for each lodge or villa. Trade: 'For trade partners, sign up to receive news from the Kwandwe team'.
How it is paid
Direct bookings through reservations or online. A trade sign-up is offered ('For trade partners, sign up to receive news').
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Trade sign-up for news only ('For trade partners, sign up to receive news from the Kwandwe team'). One itinerary is packaged with two other properties through an outside planner contact.
Sources: where it sells. Read 20 October 2026.

Kwandwe: the questions people ask

How much does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve cost per night?

Lowest published per person sharing rate R19,400 per night (Luxury Suite at Ecca Lodge or Great Fish River Lodge, 1 May-30 Sep 2027) Lodge pages separately say 'from R 17 930' with no season.

How many camps does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve have?

Five places to stay, all on one reserve: two lodges (Great Fish River Lodge, Ecca Lodge) and three sole-use villas (Melton Manor, Uplands Homestead, Fort House), 26 rooms in all.

When are Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's camps open?

No mobile camps. Great Fish River Lodge is 'Open: all year'.

What activities does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve offer?

Included: twice-daily game drives, night drives, bush walks, a big game walking safari tracking rhino, elephant and buffalo, catch-and-release fishing (Galpin Dam, Great Fish River), bush breaks. Extra: Rhino Monitoring Drive, Rhino Conservation Participation, Backstage Kwandwe, specialist walking, birding (315 species) and photographic safaris.

Does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve have honeymoon offers?

Honeymooners get 50% off for one partner (minimum 3 nights, within 1 year of marriage) in Luxury Double Suites at Ecca Lodge or Great Fish River Lodge, with an arrival box, sparkling wine and an in-room wellness voucher. Two adults only; not combinable.

How does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve fund conservation?

Levy of R1,500 per adult and R750 per child (under 19) per night, split 50% Kwandwe Reserve, 25% Ubunye Foundation, 25% Kwandwe Rhino Conservation Trust.

What is included in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's rates?

Excluded: conservation, community and reserve levy, imported champagne, select wines, cigars, private vehicle, rhino drives and other specialist activities, spa treatments, shop purchases, gratuities, transfers to and from the reserve.

Does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve charge a single supplement?

Single supplement +40% in the Luxury Suites at Ecca Lodge and Great Fish River Lodge (2027 rack rates).

Does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve accept children?

Ecca Lodge Private Vehicle Suites and all three villas accept children of all ages. Great Fish River Lodge and Ecca Luxury Double Suites: 12 years and over, full adult rate.

Does Kwandwe Private Game Reserve offer a private vehicle?

Private guide and vehicle with ranger and tracker are available at extra cost at the lodges (R16,600 per day, 2027), booked for the full stay and are included in all villa stays and Ecca Private Vehicle Suites.

Where are Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's camps?

All in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, along the Great Fish River: Great Fish River Lodge, Ecca Lodge, Melton Manor, Uplands Homestead, Fort House. Reception and arrival point for self-drive is Heatherton Towers.

What are Kwandwe Private Game Reserve's reviews?

Kwandwe Private Game Reserve has 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kwandwe Private Game Reserve') from 259 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Kwandwe Private Game Reserve published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Kwandwe Private Game Reserve did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.