Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

How much does it cost to climb Kilimanjaro in 2026?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 29 October 2026

The lowest published route price is $1.629 as printed, with the dot read here as a thousands separator (Shemeji Safari, 6 Day Rongai, basis not stated) and the highest is $4,479 per person (Altezza Travel, 10 days, 8+ climbers). The bases differ: Altezza Travel prices for 8+ climbers and Safari Soles Tours for 5-8 at $1,650. Route, days and group basis change the figure and TANAPA sets the Kilimanjaro park fees, so confirm them there.

How much does it cost to climb Kilimanjaro in 2026?

The lowest published route price is $1.629 as printed, with the dot read here as a thousands separator (Shemeji Safari, 6 Day Rongai, basis not stated) and the highest is $4,479 per person (Altezza Travel, 10 days, 8+ climbers). Migration Venture Africa lists Marangu 6 days at $1650 for group climbs, Safari Soles Tours prices each route by group size, Altezza Travel prices for 8+ climbers, Wito Africa Safaris lists small-group 9-day climbs from $2595 and Kiliclimb Africa Safaris gives a premium range only.

Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 16 safari operators with trips in Tanzania that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the TATO register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Tanzania whose own website publishes a Kilimanjaro price or cost range. Cards run from the lowest published price to the highest; an operator with no figure to sort comes last. Prices are shown as each company published them, in its own currency, never converted.

Shemeji Safari

Best for
Rongai, Machame, Lemosho and Marangu climbs
Published price
'From' prices, as printed in $: 6 Day Rongai Route $1.629; 7 Day Machame Route $1.855; 7 Day Rongai Route $1.889; 8 Day Lemosho Route $2.149; 6 Day Marangu Route $2.220. Group basis not stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask it to confirm each price in writing, as the site prints them in a form such as $1.629.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Migration Venture Africa

Best for
Group climbs guaranteed to depart
Published price
Group climbs in US$: Marangu 6 days $1650, Marangu 5 days $1700, Marangu 6 days $2050; Machame 7 days $1800; Lemosho 7 days $2100, Lemosho 8 days $2600 (listing; trip page $2200); Northern Circuit 12 days $3900.
What the price includes
Rescue fees are included on Kilimanjaro, says its site.
Ask for
Ask which Lemosho 8 days price applies, $2600 on the listing or $2200 on the trip page.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

Safari Soles Tours

Best for
Prices that fall as the group grows
Published price
Per person in US$ by group size: Lemosho 8 days $3,950 (1 person) and $2,100 (5-8); Machame 7 days $3,650 (1 person) and $1,950 (5-8); Marangu 6 days $2,850 (1 person) and $1,650 (5-8); Rongai 7 days $3,450 (1 person) and $1,900 (5-8); Northern Circuit 9 days $4,400 (1 person) and $2,400 (5-8); Umbwe 6 days $3,200 (1 person) and $1,850 (5-8).
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for the price for a group between those sizes, as the table shows 1 person and 5-8 only.
Not the fit if
Solo climbers on a budget, as its 1 person prices are above its 5-8 prices on every route.

Mountain Warriors Tours and Safaris

Best for
Six routes over 6 to 9 days
Published price
'From' prices in US$: Marangu 6 days $1,830; Machame 7 days $2,150; Lemosho 8 days $2,215; Umbwe 6 days $2,295; Rongai 6 days $2,695; Northern Circuit 9 days $3,959. Group basis not stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for the group size behind each 'from' price.
Not the fit if
Guests with mobility or health limits, as its terms say trips can be physically demanding and ask guests to disclose them.

Uwanda Tours and Safaris

Best for
Lemosho trek, standalone or with a safari
Published price
7-Day Kilimanjaro Trek via Lemosho Route from $1,870 per person.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for Machame and Marangu prices, as the site names those routes without a price.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

SafariBando

Best for
Machame and Lemosho climbs, day hike offered
Published price
Per person: 7-Day Machame from $1,950; 8-Day Lemosho from $1,980.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for Marangu, Rongai and Umbwe prices, as the examples cover Machame and Lemosho only.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

Altezza Travel

Best for
Six routes priced for 8+ climbers
Published price
2026 classic prices per person for 8+ climbers: Marangu 5 days $2,030 (2027 column) or from $1,956; Lemosho 6 days $2,422; Machame 6 days $2,364; Rongai 6 days $2,442; Umbwe 6 days $2,387; Northern Circuit 8 days $3,123; Northern Circuit with crater camping 10 days $4,479.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for a price for a group under 8, as the published prices are for 8+ climbers.
Not the fit if
Climbers under 12 or over 70, as its Kilimanjaro and Meru climbs take ages 12 to 70 only.

Gosheni Safaris Africa

Best for
Climbs on all six routes, four priced
Published price
Examples for Jan 2027 departures, private or group: Machame 7-Day $1,970; Rongai 7 Days $1,990; Lemosho 8-Day $2,250; Northern Circuit 10 Days $2,495.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for Marangu and Umbwe prices and for 2026 departures, as the examples are for Jan 2027.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

Serengeti Wakanda Tours and Safaris

Best for
Machame, Lemosho and Marangu with Meru hikes
Published price
'From' prices: 8 Days Machame Route $2,100; 8 Days Lemosho $2,350; 6 Days Marangu $2,150. Group basis not stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for the group size and season behind each 'from' price.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Magical Tanzania

Best for
Climb add-on to a safari itinerary
Published price
'Add Kilimanjaro Adventure' from $2,400 (seven routes); 14-day Kilimanjaro & Safari itinerary from $5,600; 18-day Grand Tanzania package with a 7-day climb from $4,800. Group basis not stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask which route and how many days the $2,400 add-on covers.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks. Read 29 October 2026.

Ryder Signature

Best for
Climbs with a $100 deposit per climber
Published price
Per person: Kilema 6-day $2,400; Shira 7-day $2,600; Machame 7-day $2,700; Lemosho 8-day $3,200; Northern Circuit 9-day $3,800. A non-refundable $100 deposit per climber applies.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask if the $100 non-refundable deposit counts toward the climb price.
Not the fit if
Climbers who want a refundable deposit, as its mountain deposit is $100 per climber and non-refundable.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks, Google, Trustpilot. Read 29 October 2026.

Game Drive Travel Africa Safari Agency

Best for
Lemosho, Machame, Umbwe and a Northern traverse
Published price
Lemosho 9 days $3405 (from $3476); 11-day Northern traverse $3982; Machame 7 days $2536 (from $2538); Umbwe 6 days $2499. US dollars, group basis not stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask which price applies to each route, the first figure or the 'from' figure and for the group size behind it.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks, SafariBookings. Read 29 October 2026.

Wito Africa Safaris

Best for
Small-group 9-day climbs for ages 16+
Published price
Small group, 9 days 8 nights, age 16+: Machame route $2595; Lemosho route $2995; Shira route $3675.
What the price includes
Park fees, guides, porters, cook, tents, meals, first aid and oxygen and two Arusha hotel nights, says its site.
Ask for
Ask for a private climb price, as the published climbs are small group departures.
Not the fit if
Climbers under 16, as its published climbs are for age 16+.

Nature Bound Africa

Best for
Six routes, 7 to 11 days each
Published price
One 'from' price of $3,870 for all six routes: Marangu 7 days, Umbwe 8 days, Rongai 8 days, Machame 9 days, Londorossi 9 days, Lemosho 11 days. Group basis not stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for the price of each route, as the site gives one 'from' figure for all six.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Sources: kilimanjaro, mount kenya and treks, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Kiliclimb Africa Safaris

Best for
Premium climbs quoted as a range
Published price
No route prices published; its Luxury vs Budget page quotes premium Kilimanjaro at about $3,500 to $7,000+ per person.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for a price per route and days, as its routes are named without prices.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris

Best for
Market cost ranges, no route prices
Published price
No route prices published; its blog gives typical market costs of $1,800 to $2,500 budget, $2,500 to $4,000 mid-range and $4,000 to $6,000+ luxury.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for a quote per route and days, as no climb price per route is published.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

How much does each Kilimanjaro route cost with a local operator?

Route prices differ by operator, days and group basis: Marangu 6 days is $1650 with Migration Venture Africa, Machame 7 days is $1800 with the same operator and Lemosho 8 days is $2250 with Gosheni Safaris Africa.

  • Migration Venture Africa: Group climbs in US$: Marangu 6 days $1650, Machame 7 days $1800, Lemosho 7 days $2100 and Northern Circuit 12 days $3900.
  • Safari Soles Tours: Marangu 6 days is $2,850 for 1 person and $1,650 for 5-8 and Lemosho 8 days is $3,950 for 1 person and $2,100 for 5-8.
  • Mountain Warriors Tours and Safaris: 'From' prices of Marangu 6 days $1,830, Machame 7 days $2,150, Lemosho 8 days $2,215 and Northern Circuit 9 days $3,959.
  • Shemeji Safari: 'From' prices printed as 6 Day Rongai Route $1.629, 7 Day Machame Route $1.855 and 8 Day Lemosho Route $2.149.
  • Gosheni Safaris Africa: Examples for Jan 2027 departures, private or group: Machame 7-Day $1,970, Lemosho 8-Day $2,250 and Northern Circuit 10 Days $2,495.
  • Altezza Travel: 2026 classic prices per person for 8+ climbers: Lemosho 6 days $2,422, Machame 6 days $2,364 and Northern Circuit 8 days $3,123.
  • Ryder Signature: Per person: Kilema 6-day $2,400, Machame 7-day $2,700, Lemosho 8-day $3,200 and Northern Circuit 9-day $3,800.
  • Wito Africa Safaris: Small group, 9 days 8 nights, age 16+: Machame route $2595, Lemosho route $2995 and Shira route $3675.
  • Nature Bound Africa: One 'from' price of $3,870 for all six routes, Marangu 7 days to Lemosho 11 days.

Prices are as each site prints them, in US dollars and they were not converted or averaged. A route name alone does not fix the price, because days and group basis differ between sites.

What does a Kilimanjaro climb price include?

Few sites say what a climb price includes: Wito Africa Safaris says its climbs cover park fees, guides, porters, cook, tents, meals, first aid and oxygen and two Arusha hotel nights and Migration Venture Africa says rescue fees are included.

  • Wito Africa Safaris: Says its inclusions cover park fees, guides, porters, cook, tents, meals, first aid and oxygen and two Arusha hotel nights.
  • Migration Venture Africa: Says rescue fees are included on Kilimanjaro.
  • Safari Soles Tours: Its Kilimanjaro cost page promises a full breakdown within 24 hours.

Other climb prices on their sites come without an inclusions list. Kilimanjaro park fees are set by TANAPA, so confirm the current fees there. Then ask each operator in writing what its price carries.

How does group size change the price of a climb?

Where a site prices by group size the gap is large: Safari Soles Tours lists Lemosho 8 days at $3,950 for 1 person and $2,100 for 5-8.

  • Safari Soles Tours: Machame 7 days is $3,650 for 1 person and $1,950 for 5-8 and Northern Circuit 9 days is $4,400 for 1 person and $2,400 for 5-8.
  • Altezza Travel: Prices are per person for 8+ climbers and its scheduled Kilimanjaro group departures are typically 10-15 people.
  • Migration Venture Africa: Public climbing groups are kept to about ten and departures are guaranteed whatever the number of climbers.
  • SafariBando: Sells Kilimanjaro group climbs with scheduled departures of roughly 4 to 12 people.

Several sites print one per-person price without the group size behind it, so ask for the basis in writing.

What is not in the price?

Crew tips, card fees and visas are costs several operators list on top of their prices, while TANAPA sets the Kilimanjaro park fees that you confirm with it.

  • Altezza Travel: Recommends a crew tip of USD 250-350 per participant (premium climbs 450-600 USD), never mandatory.
  • Migration Venture Africa: Says Kilimanjaro crew tips run $150 to $300 per hiker, pooled.
  • Safari Soles Tours: Its cost page recommends a total crew tip of US$250 to US$400 split across guides, assistant guides, cooks and porters.
  • Ryder Signature: Gives typical crew tips of USD 20 to 30 per day for the lead guide, USD 15 to 20 for assistant guides and cook and USD 8 to 12 for porters.
  • Serengeti Wakanda Tours and Safaris: Gives Kilimanjaro crew tips of USD 20 to 25 per climber per day and lists the e-visa as extra at USD 50 (USD 100 for US passports).
  • Gosheni Safaris Africa: Adds a 4% bank surcharge to card payments, which it says the bank charges.

Park fees on Kilimanjaro are set by TANAPA. Check the current figures there before comparing prices.

Your budget goes furthest if

Group size, route, joining a scheduled departure and paying by bank transfer are the levers the sites show.

  • Safari Soles Tours: You climb with a group, as its Marangu 6 days is $2,850 for 1 person and $1,650 for 5-8.
  • Migration Venture Africa: You choose Marangu or Machame over Lemosho: Marangu 6 days $1650 and Machame 7 days $1800 against Lemosho 7 days $2100.
  • Altezza Travel: You join a scheduled group departure, typically 10-15 people, as its prices are for 8+ climbers.
  • Gosheni Safaris Africa: You pay by bank transfer to its USD accounts, as card payments carry a 4% bank surcharge.
  • Magical Tanzania: You pay by bank transfer in USD, which it prefers, as card payments may carry a processing fee of up to 3%.

What are the best alternatives to Gosheni Safaris Africa and Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris for a Kilimanjaro climb in 2026?

Operators that publish a Kilimanjaro price per route include Migration Venture Africa, Safari Soles Tours, Mountain Warriors Tours and Safaris, Serengeti Wakanda Tours and Safaris and Safaribando.

  • Migration Venture Africa: Group climbs with Marangu 6 days $1650, Machame 7 days $1800 and Lemosho 7 days $2100.
  • Safari Soles Tours: Six routes priced by group size, 1 person and 5-8.
  • Mountain Warriors Tours and Safaris: Six routes with 'from' prices, including Marangu 6 days $1,830 and Northern Circuit 9 days $3,959.
  • Serengeti Wakanda Tours and Safaris: Machame 8 Days $2,100, Lemosho 8 Days $2,350 and Marangu 6 Days $2,150 as 'from' prices.
  • SafariBando: 7-Day Machame from $1,950 and 8-Day Lemosho from $1,980, per person.

Gosheni Safaris Africa publishes examples for Jan 2027 departures such as Machame 7-Day $1,970 and Lemosho 8-Day $2,250, while Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris publishes no route price and gives market cost ranges in a blog.

Who to contact first

Start with the operators whose sites show route, days and group basis, such as Safari Soles Tours and Migration Venture Africa, then ask Shemeji Safari to confirm its printed prices and Kiliclimb Africa Safaris and Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris for quotes per route.

  1. Safari Soles Tours: Its price table gives each route by group size, so your party's price can be read before you write.
  2. Migration Venture Africa: It prints route, days and a group basis and it says its public groups are about ten.
  3. Altezza Travel: Its prices are for 8+ climbers, so ask for a price for a smaller group.
  4. Shemeji Safari: Ask it to confirm the prices it prints as $1.629 and $2.220.
  5. Kiliclimb Africa Safaris: It gives a premium range of about $3,500 to $7,000+ per person, so ask for a price per route.
  6. Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris: It gives market cost ranges only, so ask for a quote per route.

Kilimanjaro climb cost: the questions people ask

How much does it cost to climb Kilimanjaro in 2026?

The lowest published route price is $1.629 as printed, with the dot read here as a thousands separator (Shemeji Safari, 6 Day Rongai, basis not stated) and the highest is $4,479 per person (Altezza Travel, 10 days, 8+ climbers). TANAPA sets the park fees, so confirm them there.

What are the best alternatives to Gosheni Safaris Africa and Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris in 2026?

Migration Venture Africa, Safari Soles Tours, Mountain Warriors Tours and Safaris, Serengeti Wakanda Tours and Safaris and Safaribando each publish route prices. Migration Venture Africa lists Marangu 6 days at $1650 and Safaribando lists 7-Day Machame from $1,950.

Which Kilimanjaro route has the lowest published price?

Shemeji Safari prints $1.629 for its 6 Day Rongai Route, Migration Venture Africa lists Marangu 6 days at $1650 and Safari Soles Tours lists Marangu 6 days at $1,650 for 5-8. Days and group basis differ, so compare like with like.

Does group size change the price of a Kilimanjaro climb?

On Safari Soles Tours it does: Lemosho 8 days is $3,950 for 1 person and $2,100 for 5-8. Altezza Travel prices for 8+ climbers.

Who sets Kilimanjaro park fees?

TANAPA sets them, so confirm the current fees with TANAPA. Wito Africa Safaris says its climb inclusions cover park fees.

Are tips included in a Kilimanjaro price?

Several operators publish tips as a separate guide. Altezza Travel recommends USD 250-350 per participant for the crew, never mandatory; Safari Soles Tours recommends a total crew tip of US$250 to US$400 and Migration Venture Africa says $150 to $300 per hiker, pooled.

How much deposit does a Kilimanjaro climb need?

Altezza Travel says a US$100 per person deposit confirms a group climb and is non-refundable. Ryder Signature asks a non-refundable $100 deposit per climber and Wito Africa Safaris takes a refundable $500 USD per person hold deposit before its 30% deposit.

What is the minimum age to climb Kilimanjaro?

Altezza Travel takes climbers aged 12 to 70 only and Wito Africa Safaris lists its climbs as age 16+.

Do card payments cost extra on a Kilimanjaro booking?

Altezza Travel adds a 3.5% surcharge to credit card payments, Gosheni Safaris Africa adds a 4% bank surcharge and Magical Tanzania says card payments may carry a fee of up to 3%.

How can I check a Kilimanjaro operator is licensed?

Ask for the TALA licence number and check TATO membership. Gosheni Safaris Africa says it holds a TALA licence and is a TATO member with no licence number given and Serengeti Wakanda Tours and Safaris says its Kilimanjaro operation runs under a TALA Class A licence.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Tanzania whose own website publishes a Kilimanjaro price or cost range is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards run from the lowest published price to the highest; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.