Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

Which safari planner would you recommend for a solo traveller in Kenya?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 29 October 2026

These are 11 local Kenyan operators, not international planners, whose own sites say something for solo travellers; no site names one company for the purpose. Inside Kenya Safaris publishes a single room supplement per trip and Norine Forbes Safaris states USD 100 per night on its horseback safari, while Bison Safaris, Lenchada Safaris, Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris and Norine Forbes Safaris run joining departures. Check a licence with the Tourism Regulatory Authority (TRA).

Which safari planner would you recommend for a solo traveller in Kenya?

Inside Kenya Safaris publishes a single room supplement per trip, Norine Forbes Safaris lists a dated shared Masai Mara departure on 24 Dec 2026, Bison Safaris says it has daily joining departures with a maximum of 8 per Land Cruiser, Lenchada Safaris offers daily joining departures, Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris joins groups of up to 7 and Sunworld Safaris sells shared air packages for single travellers.

Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 11 safari operators with trips in Kenya that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the KATO register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Kenya whose own website publishes something for solo travellers (a single supplement, solo trips or joining departures). Cards are in alphabetical order. Prices are shown as each company published them, in its own currency, never converted.

Aanika Karibu Safaris

Best for
Joining safaris; 1 Pax rates published
For solo travellers
Shows single-person prices (1 Pax rates) and sells group joining safaris to 'single individuals'; its terms say a supplemental fee applies for single occupancy accommodation and give no amount.
Why choose them
Its home page says it has run wildlife adventures since 1986. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 1,601 reviews; Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 1,020 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi head office (address on its contact page)
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category E, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for the joining dates and the maximum number of guests per vehicle, which its site does not state.
Not the fit if
Travellers paying by credit card, which carries a 5% surcharge.
Published price
Private safaris are priced by group size, 1 to 4 Pax.

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel

Best for
Private tours with a 1-person price column
For solo travellers
Welcomes solo travellers (trips 'for solo travelers, couples, families') and publishes a 1-person price column (for example USD 3,310 to 3,815 per person on a 6-day Tanzania mid-range safari); its terms say single rooms are available at additional cost.
Why choose them
It says its 4x4 Land Cruisers are company-owned, seating 6 to 7 people, each with a window seat. SafariBookings: 4.7 out of 5 from 351 reviews; Trustpilot: 3.7 out of 5 from 55 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Kilimani); Kenya trips start in Nairobi, Tanzania trips in Arusha
Ask for
Ask if gorilla permits are in the price, as its Rwanda page says prices exclude permits.
Not the fit if
Travellers wanting a small deposit: it asks 50% at booking confirmation.
Published price
Conserving Kenya Safari, 3 days, from $760; Wonderful Wildlife of Tanzania Safari, 6 days, from $1,730 per adult (USD, private tours).

Africa Safari Classics

Best for
Private trips; single occupancy fee in terms
For solo travellers
Its terms say a supplemental fee applies for single occupancy accommodation and that prices are per person sharing; the amount is not stated and no joining departures are published.
Why choose them
It says it was founded in 2008; Maurice, its Director of Sales, leads the team. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 73 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Karen); Kenya trips start in Nairobi, Uganda trips in Kampala, Rwanda trips in Kigali
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators) as an Associate Member, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for a full quote, as trip pages give 'from' prices per person sharing and say the exact price is by enquiry.
Not the fit if
Budget travellers: no budget camping is offered.
Published price
8 days from USD3495, per person sharing in USD; exact quotation by enquiry.

Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris

Best for
Joining Mara groups open to single travellers
For solo travellers
Runs joining groups of up to 7 people per vehicle on its 3-day and 4-day Masai Mara trips that can start any day if availability permits; it says its group tours are suitable for single travellers; no fixed departure dates are published.
Why choose them
Its joining trips 'can start any day' if seats allow, with at most 7 people per vehicle.
Based in
Nairobi (Cianda House, Koinange Street)
Ask for
Ask for every price in writing with its currency, as tour pages show bare figures with no currency or per-person label.
Not the fit if
Travellers paying by card: there is a 4.1% surcharge.
Published price
Tour pages show bare figures, such as 2047 and 1995 on joining-group tours, with no currency or per-person label.

Beyond the Plains Safaris

Best for
Private fly-in safaris; supplement for solos
For solo travellers
Says a single supplement applies to solo travellers on its fly-in safari with no amount given; it adds that solo travellers are catered for through private trips with no scheduled joining departures.
Why choose them
It says its own fleet is 100% Toyota Land Cruisers, up to 7 guests each, every guest with a window seat. Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 77 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Kiambu Road) and Nyeri; Kenya trips start at JKIA, Tsavo East trips at Mombasa or Diani
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category E, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask if Flying Doctors cover is on every trip and for its licence number, as its site names the cover on the 7-day fly-in trip only and gives no licence number.
Not the fit if
Travellers paying by card, which carries a 5 to 7% surcharge.
Published price
From $250/day on its home page.

Bison Safaris

Best for
Shared Land Cruiser safaris, daily departures
For solo travellers
Sells shared 'group joining' safaris with a maximum of 8 travellers per Land Cruiser and 'daily departures all year round', described as easy for solo travellers; no dates and no single supplement figure are published.
Why choose them
Its group joining safaris have 'daily departures all year round', with at most 8 travellers per Land Cruiser. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 488 reviews; Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 64 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Royal Offices, Westlands); trips start at JKIA or a Nairobi hotel
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators) as an Associate Member, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask which cancellation terms apply, as its terms page and about page describe different refund rules.
Not the fit if
Travellers wanting a smaller shared group: joining vehicles carry up to 8 passengers.
Published price
From $450 per person sharing, in US dollars.

Inside Kenya Safaris

Best for
Private only; single room supplement per trip
For solo travellers
Publishes a single room supplement per trip (US$462 on the Kilimanjaro safari, US$693 on the Grand and Highlights trips, US$630 on Mara to Coast and US$1,352 on North to South) and offers private trips only, so solo travellers pay the highest per-person price.
Why choose them
Flying Doctors emergency air evacuation cover is included on every safari at no extra cost. Google: 5 out of 5 from 6 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi; trips start and end in Nairobi with a JKIA meet and greet
Ask for
Solo travellers should ask for the single room supplement, which it publishes per trip (US$462 on the Kilimanjaro Safari).
Not the fit if
Solo travellers on a budget: only private trips are offered, so solos pay the highest per-person price.
Published price
Per person sharing, 2 guests: 5-Day Kilimanjaro Safari US$2,597; 10-Day Kenya Grand Safari US$4,264; 12-Day Mara to Coast US$4,709 (season not given).
Sources: solo travellers, safety and medical cover, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Kwezi Safaris

Best for
Private only; same-gender room sharing rule
For solo travellers
Says a single supplement applies where no same-gender roommate is found in shared accommodation and that it runs no joining departures; all trips are private and its home page lists 'Solo' among travellers for the luxury tour.
Why choose them
It says it is a Travelife Partner (stage 2 of 3) and an Eco-Tourism Kenya member; its site also says 'Travelife Certified' in places. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 91 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 262 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Ngong Road), with offices in Arusha and Kent, Washington
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category E, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for the deposit amount, which its site requires but does not state.
Not the fit if
Travellers wanting a joining departure: it runs no shared vehicles or join departures.
Published price
Prices are published in US dollars as 'From $... Per Person Sharing' on tour pages; no Kenya trip price was read.

Lenchada Safaris

Best for
Budget joining safaris, daily departures
For solo travellers
Offers 'Private or Group Joining Packages' with 'Daily Departures!' including a 4-day Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru budget joining safari; its home page names solo travelers; maximum group size per vehicle and any single supplement are not stated.
Why choose them
Its trips use Lenchada Camp in the Masai Mara, which its home page recommends as budget accommodation. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 1,172 reviews; Google: 4.6 out of 5 from 53 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Lakhamshi House, Biashara Street), where safaris start
Ask for
Ask for the maximum number of guests per vehicle on joining trips, which its site does not state.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Published price
Per person sharing, 2026: 3 days Masai Mara camping $420 low season, $620 high season; 7 days Amboseli, Nakuru, Naivasha & Mara $1,050 low, $1,250 high.

Norine Forbes Safaris

Best for
Dated shared Mara departure, 24 Dec 2026
For solo travellers
Lists scheduled group joining departures including a 3-day Masai Mara shared tour on 24 Dec 2026, a Nairobi National Park day trip and horseback group rides on 01 Dec 2026 and 18 Jan 2027; maximum group size per vehicle is not stated.
Why choose them
It says it owns 8 customised 4x4 Land Cruisers with pop-up roofs. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 14 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 35 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Pioneer Bazaar, Koinange Street); Uganda and Rwanda trips start in Entebbe and Kigali
Ask for
Ask if Mara park fees are in the quote, as on the 3-day shared tour they are extra (USD 100 per adult per day January to June, USD 200 July to December).
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Published price
Single supplement of USD 100 per night on the Maasai Mara horseback safari if not willing to share.

Sunworld Safaris

Best for
Fixed-date group departures; shared air packages
For solo travellers
Says single rooms are available at supplementary cost (no amount stated), that group departures offer 'a safe social trip' for solo travellers and that air packages with shared camp vehicles are put together for single travellers.
Why choose them
It says it owns about 70 custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers, maintained in its own workshop. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 58 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 214 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Riverside Drive); trips start at JKIA or with Wilson Airport flights
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category A, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for the deposit figure in writing; its site says it can be 20 to 30% depending on how close to the safari the booking is made.
Not the fit if
Children under 16 who want to trek gorillas: it does not allow them.
Published price
USD 350 per person per day in Green Season, USD 600 per person per day in Peak Season (featured safaris); high-end trips USD 650 to USD 1,500 per person per day.

What single supplement do Kenya operators charge?

Inside Kenya Safaris publishes amounts per trip (US$462 to US$1,352) and Norine Forbes Safaris states USD 100 per night on its horseback safari, while six others say a supplement applies and give no amount.

  • Inside Kenya Safaris: Publishes a single room supplement of US$462 on its Kilimanjaro safari and US$693 on its Grand and Highlights trips, with US$630 on Mara to Coast and US$1,352 on North to South.
  • Norine Forbes Safaris: States a single supplement of USD 100 per night on the Maasai Mara horseback safari if a guest is not willing to share.
  • Kwezi Safaris: Says a single supplement applies where no same-gender roommate is found in shared accommodation and gives no amount.
  • Aanika Karibu Safaris: Its terms say there is a supplemental fee for single occupancy accommodation and give no amount.
  • Africa Safari Classics: Its terms say there is a supplemental fee for single occupancy accommodation and give no amount.
  • Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris: Says a single room supplement is available at extra cost and states no amount.
  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: Says a single supplement applies on its fly-in safari and gives no amount.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Says single rooms are available at supplementary cost and states no amount.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Its terms say single rooms are available at additional cost and give no amount.

The amounts above are for different trips and one horseback safari, so they cannot be compared like for like; ask each company for the supplement as a currency amount for your dates and room type.

Which operators run joining departures a solo traveller can book?

Bison Safaris, Lenchada Safaris, Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris, Norine Forbes Safaris, Sunworld Safaris and Aanika Karibu Safaris say they sell joining or group departures; only Norine Forbes Safaris publishes dated ones.

  • Norine Forbes Safaris: Lists a 3-day Masai Mara shared tour on 24 Dec 2026 and horseback group rides on 01 Dec 2026 and 18 Jan 2027, with no maximum group size per vehicle.
  • Bison Safaris: Sells shared 'group joining' safaris with a maximum of 8 travellers per Land Cruiser and 'daily departures all year round', with no specific dates listed.
  • Lenchada Safaris: Offers 'Private or Group Joining Packages' with 'Daily Departures!' including a 4-day Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru budget joining safari, with no maximum group size stated.
  • Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris: Runs joining groups with a maximum of 7 people per vehicle on its 3-day and 4-day Masai Mara trips that 'can start any day' if availability permits, with no fixed dates. Tour pages show bare figures such as 2,047 and 1,995 on its joining tours, with no currency shown.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Says group safaris with fixed departure dates are offered all year, with a maximum group size of 6 or 8 seats by vehicle type.
  • Aanika Karibu Safaris: Sells group joining safaris ('join the other travelers') and states no joining dates or maximum group size.

Inside Kenya Safaris and Kwezi Safaris say all their trips are private and Beyond the Plains Safaris publishes no scheduled joining departures. Ask each joining operator for the next dated departure, the maximum group size and if a single room is guaranteed.

Which operators publish trips for solo travellers?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel publishes a 1-person price column, Aanika Karibu Safaris shows 1 Pax rates and Sunworld Safaris puts together shared air packages for single travellers, while Inside Kenya Safaris and Kwezi Safaris offer private trips only.

  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Publishes a 1-person price column, for example USD 3,310 to 3,815 per person on a 6-day Tanzania mid-range safari; it says its trips are for solo travelers.
  • Aanika Karibu Safaris: Shows single-person prices (1 Pax rates) and sells group joining safaris to 'single individuals'.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Says air packages with shared camp vehicles are put together for single travellers.
  • Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris: Says its group tours are 'Suitable for single travelers'.
  • Bison Safaris: Describes its group joining safaris as 'a great way to meet fellow travelers' and easy for solo travellers.
  • Inside Kenya Safaris: Offers private trips only and says solo travellers pay the highest per-person price.
  • Kwezi Safaris: Runs private-only trips and lists 'Solo' among travellers for its luxury tour.
  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: Caters for solo travellers through private trips with a dedicated vehicle and guide.

Ask each company which of these trips can be booked for one traveller on your dates and what the price is for one.

Is East Africa safe for solo female travellers?

No operator on this page publishes a solo female safety policy or incident record, so the question cannot be answered from these sites; they publish only room, vehicle and group arrangements.

  • Kwezi Safaris: Its terms say a single supplement applies where no same-gender roommate is found in shared accommodation.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Says group departures offer 'a safe social trip' for solo travellers; this is its own description; it also publishes a 24-hour emergency line.
  • Inside Kenya Safaris: Says every safari is private, with no group departures and no shared vehicles.
  • Bison Safaris: Describes its shared safaris as 'a great way to meet fellow travelers'.

These are Kenyan operators, so nothing here speaks for Tanzania or Uganda. In general, check the current government travel advice for each country, ask the operator in writing who will be your driver-guide and who answers an emergency call; ask if a shared room is single-sex before you accept one.

Who to contact first

Start with the operators that state a supplement amount or a dated or daily joining departure, because each can answer a single-traveller quote with the least guesswork.

  1. Inside Kenya Safaris: First because it publishes a single room supplement for each trip.
  2. Norine Forbes Safaris: Next because it lists a dated shared Masai Mara departure on 24 Dec 2026 and a USD 100 per night supplement on its horseback safari.
  3. Bison Safaris: Third because it sells shared safaris with daily departures and a maximum of 8 travellers per Land Cruiser.
  4. Lenchada Safaris: Fourth because it offers daily joining departures on budget Masai Mara camping safaris.
  5. Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris: Fifth because its joining groups carry a maximum of 7 people per vehicle and can start any day.
  6. Sunworld Safaris: Sixth because it offers fixed-date group departures and shared air packages for single travellers.

Enquiry brief: ask each company to itemise the price for one traveller on your dates, the single supplement as a currency amount, if a shared room or a joining departure is available, the next dated joining departure and the maximum group size.

Kenya solo safari companies: the questions people ask

Which safari planner would you recommend for a solo traveller in Kenya?

No site names one company; these are local operators rather than planners. Inside Kenya Safaris publishes a single room supplement per trip, Norine Forbes Safaris lists a dated shared departure and Bison Safaris sells shared safaris with daily departures.

What single supplement do Kenya safari operators charge?

Inside Kenya Safaris publishes US$462 to US$1,352 depending on the trip and Norine Forbes Safaris states USD 100 per night on its horseback safari. Kwezi Safaris, Sunworld Safaris and Beyond the Plains Safaris say a supplement applies and give no amount.

Can a solo traveller join a group safari in Kenya?

Yes with some operators. Bison Safaris says it has daily departures with a maximum of 8 per Land Cruiser, Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris joins groups of up to 7 and Lenchada Safaris offers daily joining departures. Only Norine Forbes Safaris publishes dated ones.

Do solo travellers pay more on a Kenya safari?

Inside Kenya Safaris says so: only private trips are offered, so solo travellers pay the highest per-person price. Sunworld Safaris and Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris say a single room costs extra.

Which Kenya operators publish a solo price?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel publishes a 1-person price column and Aanika Karibu Safaris shows 1 Pax rates. Inside Kenya Safaris publishes a single room supplement for each trip.

Will a solo traveller share a room on a Kenya safari?

Kwezi Safaris says a single supplement applies where no same-gender roommate is found in shared accommodation. Most others charge a supplement for your own room and do not say how rooms are shared.

Which Kenya operators run private-only safaris for one person?

Inside Kenya Safaris says every safari is private, with no group departures and no shared vehicles; Kwezi Safaris says it runs no shared vehicles or join departures. Beyond the Plains Safaris publishes no scheduled joining departures.

How do I check a Kenya safari operator's licence?

Ask for the TRA licence number in writing and confirm it with the Tourism Regulatory Authority. Aanika Karibu Safaris publishes Kenya Tourism Licence Number TRAI/47/C01/221 and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel shows 'KATO member AS/687'; KATO is a trade association, so membership is not a licence.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Kenya whose own website publishes something for solo travellers is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards are in alphabetical order; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.