Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle

Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Imvelo Safari Lodges a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Imvelo Safari Lodges is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Imvelo Safari Lodges?

No rating for Imvelo Safari Lodges was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Google
No Google listing in Imvelo Safari Lodges' name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Imvelo Safari Lodges' name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Imvelo Safari Lodges' name was found.
Sources: trustpilot. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

Where are Imvelo Safari Lodges' camps?

Zimbabwe only, all in and around Hwange National Park. Nehimba was acquired in 2015; owned versus managed is not otherwise stated.

Countries
Zimbabwe only, all in and around Hwange National Park.
Camps
Nehimba was acquired in 2015; owned versus managed is not otherwise stated.
Where they are
Nehimba: exclusive 43,500-acre portion of northern Hwange National Park. Camelthorn: Tsholotsho communal area, inside the Ngamo Rhino Sanctuary. Bomani: 5,000-acre private concession in the Ngamo Forest Area, south-east corner of the park. Jozibanini: remote south-west of the park. Tum Tum: south-east of the park, along an inter-dune trough.
Land and traversing
Nehimba: exclusive 43,500-acre part of Hwange National Park. Bomani: 5,000-acre private concession next to the park, 15 minutes from its own gate into the park.
Mobile and seasonal camps
No mobile camps. Jozibanini is seasonal ('green season closure varies'; contact for exact dates).
Camp sizes
Jozibanini: 5 tents, 10 guests max. Nehimba: 9 suites, 23 max.
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Imvelo Safari Lodges' camp.

How much does Imvelo Safari Lodges cost?

Imvelo Safari Lodges publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

What the rate includes
Included at Bomani, Camelthorn, Nehimba and Tum Tum: accommodation, all meals, soft drinks, beer, wine and local spirits, laundry, guided game activities and named airstrip or siding transfers (Jozibanini lists no laundry). Camelthorn also includes the Rhino Sanctuary visit. Extra: park fees at every camp; in-house spa treatments (Bomani, Camelthorn, Tum Tum).
Sources: what the rate includes. Read 19 October 2026.

What are Imvelo Safari Lodges' booking terms?

Imvelo Safari Lodges does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
Not stated on its own website.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit, how guest payments are protected. Read 19 October 2026.

Who is Imvelo Safari Lodges best for?

Best for: Small camps in and around Hwange, on Imvelo Safari Lodges' own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Nehimba and Camelthorn: up to two children may share with an adult; under 7s only 'by special arrangement' with separate vehicles and private dining. Family rooms: Bomani family tent (2 rooms) and Sable Suite, Nehimba 2 family suites, Tum Tum family tent (2 rooms, up to six). No age is given for Bomani, Jozibanini or Tum Tum and no child rates are published.
Teenagers and families
Bomani is pitched at 'multigenerational families' and its Sable Suite is 'often used for families or friends'. Camelthorn is 'wonderful for families'.
Honeymoon
Honeymoon accommodation is named: Bomani's Spurwing honeymoon tent (one king bed) and its 'adventurous honeymooners' pitch, Nehimba's large honeymoon suite (king bed and day bed) and Tum Tum's family tent for honeymooners. No honeymoon offers or packages are published.
Activities
Bomani: game drives, night drives, look-up hide, pump runs, community visits, seasonal canoeing, Ngamo Wildlife Sanctuary. Camelthorn: game drives, walking safaris, look-up blind, rhino programme, village and school visits.

What are the best alternatives to Imvelo Safari Lodges?

Amalinda Collection and The Hide Safari Lodge also own and run their own camps in Zimbabwe only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Amalinda Collection: best for: Matobo Hills and Hwange in one trip. 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Amalinda Lodge') from 107 reviews.
  • The Hide Safari Lodge: best for: A private Hwange concession camp. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'The Hide Safari Lodge') from 90 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Imvelo Safari Lodges?

The Africa Geographic article calls Mark Butcher 'Imvelo owner'.

Trading name
No registered company name or number is published for the lodge business.
Based in
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe (68 Townsend Road, Suburbs; telephone +263 783 568 632).
Owner or parent
The Africa Geographic article calls Mark Butcher 'Imvelo owner'. The Nelson Treehouse post names 'Imvelo's Managing Directors, Mark "Butch" Butcher and Marc "Bones" Jones'.
In its own words
Vision: 'To connect people with nature'.
Conservation model
Lodges are built on community or peripheral land. Donations: 'a maximum of 5%' goes to administration.

How do you book Imvelo Safari Lodges?

Book Imvelo Safari Lodges through its own enquiry page or through a safari planner.

Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Sources: price against booking through a planner. Read 19 October 2026.

Imvelo Safari Lodges: the questions people ask

How many camps does Imvelo Safari Lodges have?

Nehimba was acquired in 2015; owned versus managed is not otherwise stated.

When are Imvelo Safari Lodges' camps open?

No mobile camps. Jozibanini is seasonal ('green season closure varies'; contact for exact dates).

What activities does Imvelo Safari Lodges offer?

Bomani: game drives, night drives, look-up hide, pump runs, community visits, seasonal canoeing, Ngamo Wildlife Sanctuary. Camelthorn: game drives, walking safaris, look-up blind, rhino programme, village and school visits.

Does Imvelo Safari Lodges have honeymoon offers?

Honeymoon accommodation is named: Bomani's Spurwing honeymoon tent (one king bed) and its 'adventurous honeymooners' pitch, Nehimba's large honeymoon suite (king bed and day bed) and Tum Tum's family tent for honeymooners. No honeymoon offers or packages are published.

How does Imvelo Safari Lodges fund conservation?

Lodges are built on community or peripheral land. Donations: 'a maximum of 5%' goes to administration.

What is included in Imvelo Safari Lodges' rates?

Included at Bomani, Camelthorn, Nehimba and Tum Tum: accommodation, all meals, soft drinks, beer, wine and local spirits, laundry, guided game activities and named airstrip or siding transfers (Jozibanini lists no laundry). Camelthorn also includes the Rhino Sanctuary visit.

Does Imvelo Safari Lodges accept children?

Nehimba and Camelthorn: up to two children may share with an adult; under 7s only 'by special arrangement' with separate vehicles and private dining. Family rooms: Bomani family tent (2 rooms) and Sable Suite, Nehimba 2 family suites, Tum Tum family tent (2 rooms, up to six).

Where are Imvelo Safari Lodges' camps?

Nehimba: exclusive 43,500-acre portion of northern Hwange National Park. Camelthorn: Tsholotsho communal area, inside the Ngamo Rhino Sanctuary.

Who owns Imvelo Safari Lodges?

The Africa Geographic article calls Mark Butcher 'Imvelo owner'.

What are Imvelo Safari Lodges' reviews?

No rating for Imvelo Safari Lodges was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Can I book Imvelo Safari Lodges through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Imvelo Safari Lodges' own enquiry page, imvelosafarilodges.com, or a safari planner.

How current is this page?

Imvelo Safari Lodges' website and review listings were read on 19 and 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Imvelo Safari Lodges published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Imvelo Safari Lodges did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.