Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania

An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Garonga Safari Co. a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Garonga Safari Co. is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Garonga Safari Co.?

Garonga Safari Co. has 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Garonga Safari Company') from 130 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.9 out of 5 from 130 reviews. On the Google listing 'Garonga Safari Company' (hotel), Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, Limpopo, South. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Garonga Safari Co.'s name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Garonga Safari Co.'s name was found.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 20 October 2026.

Where are Garonga Safari Co.'s camps?

South Africa. Three camps: Garonga Safari Camp, Little Garonga and MCH Luxury Tented Camp ('three intimate sanctuaries').

Countries
South Africa.
Camps
Three camps: Garonga Safari Camp, Little Garonga and MCH Luxury Tented Camp ('three intimate sanctuaries'). Owned versus managed is not stated.
Where they are
All three of its camps are in the Greater Makalali Private Nature Reserve (Limpopo, about 90 km from Hoedspruit): Garonga Safari Camp (main camp), Little Garonga and MCH on a kopje with views of the Drakensberg.
Land and traversing
Not a national park.
Camp sizes
Garonga Safari Camp: 6 tents, max 12 guests. Little Garonga: 3 suites, max 8 guests.
Sources: countries with camps, camp sizes. Read 20 October 2026.
A cheetah sitting in dry grass
A cheetah sitting in dry grass. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Garonga Safari Co.'s camp.

How much does Garonga Safari Co. cost?

Garonga Safari Co. publishes its own rates: Lowest: R12 310 per person per night, Garonga Safari Camp, 2026/27.

Lowest published
Lowest: R12 310 per person per night, Garonga Safari Camp, 2026/27.
What the rate includes
Excludes: curios, phone calls, massages, levies, special wines and champagne, micro-lite flights, gratuities. Conservation levy 2026/27: R620 per person first day (park entry), R620 per person per day after (anti-poaching). R650 in 2027/28.
Minimum stay
Minimum 2-night stay throughout the year at all three camps. The wedding package is based on a minimum three-night stay.
Resident rates
UK-only 'Rewards' offers exist for UK armed forces, rescue teams and police.
Sources: price per person per day, resident and regional rates. Read 20 October 2026.

What are Garonga Safari Co.'s booking terms?

Garonga Safari Co.'s published terms: group bookings of three rooms or more need 20% of the accommodation value on booking confirmation, refundable only up to 181 days before arrival.

Deposit
Group bookings of three rooms or more need 20% of the accommodation value on booking confirmation, refundable only up to 181 days before arrival. Provisional bookings are held for 14 days, plus 14 more in exceptional cases.
Balance due
Standard bookings: full prepayment 45 days before arrival, including additional services; unpaid bookings are released with no refund. Group bookings: balance 180 days before arrival.
Cancellation charges
Standard cancellation policy: from 45 days before arrival to the day of arrival, 100% of accommodation costs. No earlier scale is published. Group deposits are refundable only up to 181 days before arrival.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are quoted in South African Rand. Credit card payments (Mastercard and Visa only) attract a 3% administration fee and Flywire is recommended for payments.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit. Read 20 October 2026.

Who is Garonga Safari Co. best for?

Best for: Three camps in Greater Makalali, on Garonga Safari Co.'s own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Minimum ages by camp: Safari Camp 12 and over (rate sheet; the FAQ also says 'Children aged 8 and above are welcome'), Little Garonga 6 and over, MCH 8 and over. No kids' rates at Safari Camp or MCH. Little Garonga 2026/27: children 6-16 free sharing with parents, 17-20 R7 010, 21 and over R12 310 per night.
Teenagers and families
Little Garonga is 'ideal for families and multi-generational travellers': Hambleden Suite takes 2 adults and 2 children, a third child on a floor bed (max 3 children). Private safari vehicle R7 370 net per day (2026/27) for two drives of 3.5 hours.
Honeymoon
Honeymoon Package: a 45-minute massage each, a 375ml bottle of champagne on arrival and complimentary return Hoedspruit transfers (not for a 2-night stay). Little Garonga is named for a 'luxury wedding or honeymoon'.
Solo travellers
Safari Camp: 'No Single Supplement'. Solo traveller per night, 2026/27: Hambleden R21 780, Chiltern and Buckingham R18 230, MCH R23 870. 2027/28: Hambleden R24 830, Chiltern and Buckingham R20 780.
Private guide and vehicle
Available at all three camps: Private Safari Vehicle R7 370 nett per day for 2026/27 (R8 110 for 2027/28), based on two drives of 3.5 hours.
Exclusive use
Exclusive camp takeover, 2026/27 per night: Safari Camp R122 290 (12 adults max), Little Garonga R80 150 (6 adults and 2 children), MCH R125 230 (8 guests). A 3-tent package at Safari Camp is R69 720 per night (6 adults). 2027/28: Safari Camp R136 965, Little Garonga R91 370, 3 tents R70 930.
Activities
Two safaris a day (drive or walk, 3.5 hours each), guided bush walks, sundowner stops on evening drives, sleep-out deck, star bath, bush dinners and boma, massage sala, yoga sala and photographic safaris. Night drives, boating, horseback and fishing are not mentioned.

When is Garonga Safari Co. not the right choice?

Garonga Safari Co. is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Children
Minimum ages by camp: Safari Camp 12 and over (rate sheet; the FAQ also says 'Children aged 8 and above are welcome'), Little Garonga 6 and over, MCH 8 and over. Little Garonga 2026/27: children 6-16 free sharing with parents, 17-20 R7 010, 21 and over R12 310 per night.
Minimum stay
Minimum 2-night stay throughout the year at all three camps. The wedding package is based on a minimum three-night stay.
Sources: family and child policy, minimum stay. Read 20 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Garonga Safari Co.?

Cheetah Plains, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Etali Safari Lodge, Jaci's Lodges, Jamala Madikwe and Kapama Private Game Reserve also own and run their own camps in South Africa only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Cheetah Plains: best for: Sole-use villas in the Sabi Sand. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cheetah Plains Private Game Reserve') from 73 reviews.
  • Elephant Plains Game Lodge: best for: Big Five game viewing in the northern Sabi Sand. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Elephant Plains Game Lodge') from 242 reviews.
  • Etali Safari Lodge: best for: A small malaria-free Madikwe lodge. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Etali Safari Lodge') from 134 reviews.
  • Jaci's Lodges: best for: A personal family lodge in Madikwe. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Jaci') from 162 reviews.
  • Jamala Madikwe: best for: A small villa lodge in Madikwe. 5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Jamala Madikwe') from 81 reviews.
  • Kapama Private Game Reserve: best for: A large Greater Kruger private reserve. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kapama Private Game Reserve') from 870 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Garonga Safari Co.?

Garonga Safari Co.'s ownership is not stated on its own website.

Trading name
Trading name 'Garonga Safari Co.' (also 'Garonga Safari Camp'). The rate sheets name the legal entity as 'Garonga Safari Camp (pty) ltd'.
In its own words
'Garonga Safari Camp offers an intimate encounter with Africa's untamed beauty' in the 27,000ha Greater Makalali Private Nature Reserve.
Conservation model
Conservation levy (2026/27): park entry R620 per person on day one, anti-poaching R620 per person per day from day two. R650 each in 2027/28.
Sources: trading name and legal entity, conservation model. Read 20 October 2026.

How do you book Garonga Safari Co.?

Direct to guests: 'Book Your Stay' with live availability, a reservations team and 'Direct Rack Rate' sheets.

Where it sells
Direct to guests: 'Book Your Stay' with live availability, a reservations team and 'Direct Rack Rate' sheets. Through agents and tour operators: the rate sheets cover nett rates, commission, Best Available Rate and Flywire payments.
How it is paid
Direct bookings are paid to Garonga as above. For agents, the sheets describe nett rates, 'Commission can only be deducted from the full paying nights', levies and wedding rates are non-commissionable and tour operators using standalone rates must mark up wholesale rates.
Price against a planner
Yes, in effect: the sheets say a tour operator's wholesale rate must be marked up so 'rates are never published below the hotel's Best Available Rate (BAR) to the end consumer', backed by a 'Best Rate guarantee'.
Planner partnerships
Sells through tour operators and agents: the rate sheets set out nett rates, commission, Best Available Rate mark-up, Flywire payments and agent duties for self-drive directions. No agent portal or preferred-partner list is named.
Sources: where it sells, how it is paid. Read 20 October 2026.

Garonga Safari Co.: the questions people ask

How much does Garonga Safari Co. cost per night?

Lowest: R12 310 per person per night, Garonga Safari Camp, 2026/27.

How many camps does Garonga Safari Co. have?

Three camps: Garonga Safari Camp, Little Garonga and MCH Luxury Tented Camp ('three intimate sanctuaries').

What activities does Garonga Safari Co. offer?

Two safaris a day (drive or walk, 3.5 hours each), guided bush walks, sundowner stops on evening drives, sleep-out deck, star bath, bush dinners and boma, massage sala, yoga sala and photographic safaris. Night drives, boating, horseback and fishing are not mentioned.

Does Garonga Safari Co. have honeymoon offers?

Honeymoon Package: a 45-minute massage each, a 375ml bottle of champagne on arrival and complimentary return Hoedspruit transfers (not for a 2-night stay). Little Garonga is named for a 'luxury wedding or honeymoon'.

How does Garonga Safari Co. fund conservation?

Conservation levy (2026/27): park entry R620 per person on day one, anti-poaching R620 per person per day from day two. R650 each in 2027/28.

What is included in Garonga Safari Co.'s rates?

Excludes: curios, phone calls, massages, levies, special wines and champagne, micro-lite flights, gratuities. Conservation levy 2026/27: R620 per person first day (park entry), R620 per person per day after (anti-poaching).

What deposit does Garonga Safari Co. ask for?

Group bookings of three rooms or more need 20% of the accommodation value on booking confirmation, refundable only up to 181 days before arrival.

What are Garonga Safari Co.'s cancellation charges?

Standard cancellation policy: from 45 days before arrival to the day of arrival, 100% of accommodation costs. No earlier scale is published.

Does Garonga Safari Co. charge a single supplement?

Safari Camp: 'No Single Supplement'. Solo traveller per night, 2026/27: Hambleden R21 780, Chiltern and Buckingham R18 230, MCH R23 870. 2027/28: Hambleden R24 830, Chiltern and Buckingham R20 780.

Does Garonga Safari Co. accept children?

Minimum ages by camp: Safari Camp 12 and over (rate sheet; the FAQ also says 'Children aged 8 and above are welcome'), Little Garonga 6 and over, MCH 8 and over. No kids' rates at Safari Camp or MCH.

Does Garonga Safari Co. offer a private vehicle?

Available at all three camps: Private Safari Vehicle R7 370 nett per day for 2026/27 (R8 110 for 2027/28), based on two drives of 3.5 hours.

Where are Garonga Safari Co.'s camps?

All three of its camps are in the Greater Makalali Private Nature Reserve (Limpopo, about 90 km from Hoedspruit): Garonga Safari Camp (main camp), Little Garonga and MCH on a kopje with views of the Drakensberg.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Garonga Safari Co. published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Garonga Safari Co. did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.