Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

Everest Base Camp Trek 2026: Cost, Operators and How Long It Takes

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 19 October 2026

Headline prices for a guided Everest Base Camp trek on 19 October 2026: US$1,299 to US$1,850 with four Kathmandu-based operators, from £2,275 land only with Mountain Kingdoms, £2,335 with Exodus, US$2,999 with Himalayan Glacier, from US$3,165 with KE Adventure Travel, US$5,700 with Adventure Consultants and $6,500 with Alpine Ascents, whose prices include helicopter flights to Lukla. Ten of the 13 trips read take 14 to 16 days from arrival in Kathmandu. Intrepid had a last-minute fare of £972, down from £1,215. Operator prices, tips and insurance terms come from each operator’s own pages; fees, the visa and evacuation costs from the Nepal Tourism Board, Himal Press and the UK FCDO; helicopter seat prices from Air Dynasty Heli. Nothing is ranked or scored.

How much does the Everest Base Camp trek cost in 2026?

Headline package prices are US$1,299 to US$1,850 with Alpine Ramble Treks, Ace the Himalaya, Nepal Hiking Team and Peregrine Treks; £972 with Intrepid on a last-minute fare; from £2,275 land only with Mountain Kingdoms and £2,335 with Exodus; US$2,999 with Himalayan Glacier; from US$3,165 with KE Adventure Travel; US$5,700 with Adventure Consultants and $6,500 with Alpine Ascents; on top come the Nepal visa (US$50 for 30 days), insurance that covers helicopter evacuation, tips, trail extras and international flights. Operator prices, tips, insurance terms and flight-cancellation costs come from each operator’s own pages; the fees and the visa from the Nepal Tourism Board and Himal Press; evacuation costs from the UK FCDO; all read on 19 October 2026.

The cost, line by line

  • The package: stays, Lukla flights, a guide, porters and some or all meals (Alpine Ramble Treks leaves porters out of the price at US$25 a day, its page says; the page is not clear on whether Lukla flights are in it). Headline prices of US$1,299 to US$1,850 with Alpine Ramble Treks, Ace the Himalaya, Nepal Hiking Team and Peregrine Treks; US$2,999 with Himalayan Glacier; from £2,275 land only with Mountain Kingdoms and £2,335 with Exodus; from US$3,165 with KE Adventure Travel; US$5,700 with Adventure Consultants and $6,500 with Alpine Ascents, helicopter flights to Lukla included. Group rates go lower; what each includes is on its card below.
  • Park and local fees: Sagarmatha National Park NPR 3,000 per person per entry (Nepal Tourism Board); the TIMS card NPR 2,000 (Nepal Tourism Board); the Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee NPR 3,000, according to Himal Press in July 2024 and Himalayan Glacier’s FAQ (the municipality’s own site could not be read). Eleven of the 13 operators list permits or park fees as included; Intrepid’s list does not name them and KE’s trip notes do not say.
  • Visa: US$30 for 15 days, US$50 for 30 days, US$125 for 90 days (Nepal Tourism Board). Adventure Consultants suggests the 30-day visa.
  • International flights: not in any land-only price. Mountain Kingdoms quotes from £3,625 with economy flights from the UK.
  • Insurance: Himalayan Glacier says it is mandatory and must cover trekking to 6,000 m and helicopter evacuation; Ian Taylor Trekking calls helicopter evacuation cover compulsory. The UK FCDO says helicopter evacuation usually costs £1,000 to £2,000 or more per flying hour.
  • Tips: KE suggests each trekker gives around £100 for the porters and trek staff; Ian Taylor Trekking gives approximately $250 for guides and porters.
  • Extras on the trail: hot showers, battery charging and Wi-Fi are not in the price on the Intrepid and Alpine Ramble trips, their pages say; Nepal Hiking Team includes hot showers at Phakding, Namche and Lukla and leaves hot showers elsewhere, Wi-Fi and charging out of the price (unless free at the lodge).
  • Contingency: if planes cannot fly to Lukla, Intrepid says a group helicopter could cost up to US$500 per person and Exodus about US$600, of which Exodus pays half.

Published prices are lower when you:

  • travel as a larger group: Ace the Himalaya’s price falls from USD 1,550 for one person to USD 1,380 for 10 to 14; Nepal Hiking Team’s from US$1,595 to US$1,450;
  • share a room: Himalayan Glacier’s single supplement is US$425 and Exodus’s +£165 on its 2026 departures;
  • take a sale fare: Intrepid’s last-minute fare was £972, down from £1,215.
A trekker in a wide-brimmed hat standing on the rocky Khumbu Glacier at Everest Base Camp, the icefall behind him
A trekker on the Khumbu Glacier at South Everest Base Camp, beside a temporary tent platform. Photo: Alpalfour, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0.

What are the best Everest Base Camp trek companies in 2026?

It depends on what you want: Alpine Ramble Treks, Ace the Himalaya and Nepal Hiking Team publish headline prices of US$1,299 to US$1,525 with lower rates for larger groups; Peregrine Treks includes Kathmandu sightseeing at US$1,850; Himalayan Glacier, based in Baltimore, has six fixed 2026 departures at US$2,999; Exodus, Intrepid, KE and Mountain Kingdoms sell from the UK with ATOL numbers for flight-inclusive bookings and ABTA or ABTOT membership; Adventure Consultants and Alpine Ascents include helicopter flights between Kathmandu and Lukla; Ian Taylor Trekking runs groups of up to 10 with four guides; Furtenbach Adventures’ trek accompanies its Everest expedition team, with dates in 2027 and 2028. No operator below is ranked or scored; they are grouped by type and listed alphabetically in each group.

Kathmandu operators and Nepal specialists

Ace the HimalayaThamel, Kathmandu · founded 2006

Best for
Group discounts on a 14-day trek
Why choose them
USD 1,500 per person, falling to USD 1,380 for groups of 10 to 14. Trustpilot: 4.9 from 160 reviews.
Ask for
The maximum group size: none is stated on the trek page read.
Not the fit if
You want a refundable deposit: its 20% deposit is non-refundable.
Published price
USD 1,500 per person (one person USD 1,550; 4 to 9 USD 1,450; 10 to 14 USD 1,380). Includes Lukla flights from Kathmandu or Manthali, 11 nights in guesthouses with three meals a day, two nights in a 3-star Kathmandu hotel and the park, municipality and TIMS fees.
Days
14 from arrival in Kathmandu.
Group size
Not stated on the trek page read; private treks from two people.
Guides
Government-licensed and wilderness first-aid trained, it says; one porter for every two clients.
Licences
Shown as images on its legal documents page; no numbers in the text read.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, terms, legal documents, about page, Trustpilot

Alpine Ramble TreksThamel, Kathmandu · founding year not stated on the pages read

Best for
Named lodges and groups of 1 to 30
Why choose them
Names the lodge for each stop, such as Sakura Lodge in Namche Bazaar and Oxygen Lodge in Lobuche. Trustpilot: 4.9 from 111 reviews.
Ask for
Which price applies to your group: its headline US$1,299 sits below its own rates for one person (US$1,399) and for two to four (US$1,355).
Not the fit if
You want porters in the price: they are optional at US$25 a day.
Published price
From US$1,299 (US$1,599 also shown); group rates of US$1,099 to US$1,399. The page does not say per person and is not clear on whether Lukla flights are included. Includes the park, municipality and TIMS fees, two nights at Hotel Thamel Park and three meals a day on the trek.
Days
14, Kathmandu to Kathmandu.
Group size
1 to 30; an assistant guide is added above six.
Licences
Its contact page gives Tourism License 2452 and another page registration number 2440; the two differ.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, terms, contact page, about page, Trustpilot

Himalayan GlacierBaltimore, with an operations team in Kathmandu · founded 1992

Best for
Fixed 2026 departures with a US office
Why choose them
Six fixed departures between 25 October and 12 December 2026, each at US$2,999 per person on twin share. Trustpilot: 3.7 from 1 review.
Ask for
The group rate: US$2,499 for 2 to 4, US$2,299 for 5 to 7 and US$2,099 for 8 to 10.
Not the fit if
You want your deposit back in cash: its 25% deposit is kept as a credit, not refunded.
Published price
US$2,999 per person twin share. Includes Lukla flights, the park, municipality and TIMS fees and 13 breakfasts, 11 lunches and 13 dinners. Single room US$425.
Days
14 from arrival in Kathmandu.
Group size
Up to 12.
Guides
Certified by NATHM and trained in wilderness first aid, it says.
Licences
No licence or membership number on the pages read.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, terms, company story, Trustpilot, why book with them

Nepal Hiking TeamKathmandu · founded 2009

Best for
Full board on the trail at a published group rate
Why choose them
US$1,525 per person for 2 to 6, with full-board meals on the 11-day trek. Trustpilot: 4.8 from 39 reviews.
Ask for
The group size: its FAQ gives a maximum of 10, while its price table runs to 15.
Not the fit if
You may need a refund: its 20% deposit is non-refundable, though usable as credit towards a future trip; the page says refunds are generally not possible.
Published price
US$1,525 per person (one person US$1,595; 7 to 9 US$1,490; 10 to 15 US$1,450). Includes Lukla flights, four nights in a 3-star Kathmandu hotel, full board on the trek and the park and municipality fees.
Days
16 from arrival in Kathmandu, 11 of them trekking.
Group size
Typically 6 to 8, with a maximum of 10, its FAQ says.
Guides
A government-licensed senior guide, assistants for groups over four and one porter for every two trekkers, it says.
Licences
Tourism licence No. 1033, its footer says.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, legal documents, about page, Trustpilot

Peregrine TreksThamel, Kathmandu · founded 2002

Best for
A Kathmandu hotel stay and city sightseeing in the price
Why choose them
US$1,850 per person, with guided Kathmandu sightseeing and its entrance fees included. Trustpilot: 2.5 from 5 reviews.
Ask for
The deposit terms in writing: its terms page says 20%; its trek page gives at least 30% in a sentence about its Luxury trek.
Not the fit if
You want a published 2026 date: none is listed on the trek page; it runs private trips.
Published price
US$1,850 per person; no group rates on the trek page read. Includes Lukla flights, lodges at each stop, trek permits and a guide with porters.
Days
15 from arrival in Kathmandu.
Group size
1 to 12.
Licences
Registration No. 153337 and a member of TAAN, its contact page says.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, terms, contact page, about page, Trustpilot

UK and Australian adventure travel companies

ExodusSurbiton, Surrey · since 1974

Best for
An ABTA member’s group trek, with ATOL for flight-inclusive bookings
Why choose them
ATOL 2582 and ABTA Y0751; one staff member to every four travellers. Trustpilot: 4.9 from 5,780 reviews.
Ask for
Whether the 20% OFF label shown on the trip applies to the £2,335 price.
Not the fit if
You want most meals in the price: the trip includes all breakfasts and one dinner.
Published price
£2,335 excluding flights for the 31 October and 7 November 2026 departures. Single supplement +£165.
Days
16, Kathmandu to Kathmandu, 12 of walking.
Group size
4 to 16.
Guides
Experienced English-speaking local leaders qualified in first aid, it says.

IntrepidRegistered in Melbourne; UK company in Brixton, London · since 1989

Best for
A last-minute fare on a 15-day group trek
Why choose them
A last-minute fare of £972, down from £1,215, on its UK Everest treks page. Trustpilot: 4.4 from 2,493 reviews.
Ask for
Which departure the £972 fare is for: the listing shows Lowest price 18 Nov 2026 without saying what the date refers to.
Not the fit if
You want most meals in the price: the trip lists two breakfasts and one dinner; it says teahouse toilets and washing are shared and rudimentary.
Published price
£972 last minute (was £1,215), flights booked separately; per person not stated. The included list does not name permits or park fees.
Days
15, Kathmandu to Kathmandu, 12 of trekking.
Group size
1 to 16; minimum age 15.
Protection
ATOL 6352, ABTA Y0766 and ABTOT for non-flight packages.

KE Adventure TravelKeswick, Cumbria · since 1984

Best for
All meals included on a UK-protected trek
Why choose them
All meals included, its trip page says; ATOL 2808 and ABTA W4341. Trustpilot: 4.6 from 72 reviews.
Ask for
Whether the trekking permits and park fees are included: the trip notes read do not say.
Not the fit if
You want a single room on the trek: it says single accommodation cannot be arranged in lodges.
Published price
From US$3,165 without flights.
Days
16, 12 of trekking.
Group size
5 to 16.
Guides
A professional and qualified Nepalese tour leader with Sherpa guides and porters, it says.

Mountain KingdomsWotton-under-Edge, Gloucestershire · founded 1987

Best for
Booking flights and trek together from the UK
Why choose them
Full board on the trek and a Sherpa leader; many of its leaders have climbed Everest, it says. Trustpilot: an unclaimed profile with no reviews; its home page shows 4.9/5 with no platform named.
Ask for
A single room: it says single rooms cannot be guaranteed in tea houses.
Not the fit if
You want a fixed 2026 price: the trip page shows a from price not tied to a departure.
Published price
Land only from £2,275; with UK flights from £3,625. Includes 16 breakfasts, 14 lunches and 14 dinners and the park fees.
Days
19 from the UK, 14 on trek.
Group size
Up to 12; runs with four.
Protection
ATOL 2973 and ABTOT 5238, its booking conditions say.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, booking conditions, about page, contact page

Mountain guiding and trekking companies

Adventure ConsultantsWanaka, New Zealand · guiding since 1991

Best for
Helicopter flights to and from Lukla with a guiding company
Why choose them
Helicopter flights between Kathmandu and Lukla included, with a spare weather day in the itinerary. Trustpilot: an unclaimed profile titled Wasatch Adventure Consultants, with no reviews.
Ask for
The 2027 dates: the one 2026 group departure on the trip page, 5 to 22 October, was already under way on 19 October.
Not the fit if
You want Kathmandu hotel nights and meals in the price: they are excluded.
Published price
US$5,700 for the 5 to 22 October 2026 departure; its Trip Notes give US$6,000 for two other 2026 trips.
Days
18, 13 of trekking from Lukla.
Group size
Up to 12.
Guides
Specialised trek leaders and Sherpa staff, it says.

Alpine Ascents InternationalSeattle · since 1986

Best for
A Western-led trek with a named lead guide
Why choose them
Its Everest Base Camp page says all trips are led by Western Himalayan guides and that its lead guides are EMT or WFR certified. Trustpilot: an unclaimed profile with no reviews.
Ask for
The 2027 dates: the Fall 2026 departure (18 October to 6 November) was under way on 19 October; spring 2027 runs 15 March to 3 April.
Not the fit if
You want a single room on the trek: single rooms are offered in Kathmandu only.
Published price
$6,500 for Fall 2026, all inclusive, it says, with a helicopter flight to and from Lukla. Deposit $700.
Days
20 from arrival in Kathmandu, 15 of them trekking.
Group size
Not stated on the pages read; each date is marked based on team size.

Furtenbach AdventuresInnsbruck, Austria

Best for
Trekking alongside an Everest expedition team
Why choose them
Its trek accompanies its Everest expedition team, with Kala Patthar as the high point. No Trustpilot profile was found.
Ask for
The price: the trek page read shows none.
Not the fit if
You want to go in 2026: the dates listed are 16 April to 1 May 2027 and 2028.
Published price
Not stated on the trek page read.
Days
16, Kathmandu to Kathmandu.
Group size
Not stated on the trek page read.
Protection
Client money protected by a bank guarantee, its imprint says.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, imprint

Ian Taylor TrekkingAvon, Colorado

Best for
Small groups with four guides for ten trekkers
Why choose them
Four guides and support staff for every 10 trekkers; its guides hold Wilderness First Aid certificates, it says. Trustpilot: no reviews; its home page shows 422 Google reviews.
Ask for
The 2026 price: none is published on the trip page read; an undated company blog gives $2,900 to $3,700.
Not the fit if
You want a named financial protection scheme: none is named on the pages read.
Published price
Not published on the trip page read. Deposit $500 per person.
Days
15 from arrival in Kathmandu.
Group size
Up to 10.
Sources, read 19 October 2026: trip page, payments and deposits, terms

Which companies offer luxury Everest Base Camp treks with lodge upgrades or a helicopter return?

Ace the Himalaya, Alpine Ramble Treks, Himalayan Glacier, Nepal Hiking Team and Peregrine Treks sell both, with helicopter-return treks of 7 to 12 days at US$2,300 to US$2,890 (US$4,290 with Himalayan Glacier) and luxury-lodge treks at US$3,150 to US$3,840; Mountain Kingdoms sells Everest Base Camp in Style from £3,345 land only; Ian Taylor Trekking offers a helicopter return and a luxury trek with helicopters both ways, with no price on the pages read; Alpine Ascents includes helicopter flights to and from Lukla in its $6,500; Adventure Consultants’ luxury trek, with helicopters in and out and six guests at most, is US$12,900. Prices as published on 19 October 2026, per person where the page says so.

Helicopter return

  • Ace the Himalaya: 12 days, USD 2,300, with a shared helicopter from Gorak Shep to Lukla on Day 10.
  • Nepal Hiking Team: 12 days, US$2,350 for two to four.
  • Alpine Ramble Treks: 7 days, US$2,439 (US$3,000 also shown).
  • Peregrine Treks: 11 days, US$2,890.
  • Himalayan Glacier: 12 days, US$4,290 twin share.
  • Adventure Consultants and Alpine Ascents fly their trekkers between Kathmandu and Lukla by helicopter as standard; Ian Taylor Trekking offers a helicopter return from Base Camp, with no price on the pages read.
A white and red helicopter landing on the apron at Lukla airport, with the sloping runway and green hills behind
A helicopter landing at Tenzing-Hillary Airport, Lukla. Photo: Vyacheslav Argenberg, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 4.0.

Luxury lodges

  • Ace the Himalaya: 14 days, USD 3,150; Hotel Yak & Yeti in Kathmandu and Mountain Lodges of Nepal on the trail.
  • Nepal Hiking Team: 16 days, US$3,185 for two to five; Hotel Yak and Yeti and Yeti Mountain Home lodges.
  • Alpine Ramble Treks: from US$3,600 (US$4,800 also shown).
  • Himalayan Glacier: 15 days, US$3,790 twin share; Yeti Mountain Home lodges.
  • Peregrine Treks: 16 days, US$3,840; Yeti Mountain Home lodges and Hotel Everest View at Syangboche.
  • Mountain Kingdoms: Everest Base Camp in Style, land only from £3,345, with Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu.
  • Adventure Consultants: 15 days, US$12,900 for 2026, six guests at most, by helicopter from Kathmandu to Phakding and back from Base Camp or Gorak Shep.

Exodus and KE sell comfort-lodge treks in the Everest region (Everest Treks in Comfort, £4,003; Everest Yeti Trail Luxury Lodge Trek, from US$3,995) whose pages read do not mention Base Camp. For a helicopter seat alone, Air Dynasty Heli publishes Gorak Shep to Lukla at US$650 per person shared or US$1,750 per helicopter; the same page also gives US$500 to US$600 per person.

How long does the Everest Base Camp trek take?

Ten of the 13 trips read take 14 to 16 days from arrival in Kathmandu, with 11 or 12 days on trek where the operator says; Mountain Kingdoms takes 17 days in Nepal, Adventure Consultants 18 and Alpine Ascents 20, while helicopter-return versions take 7 to 12 days. Ace the Himalaya’s 14-day itinerary shows how the nights fall:

  1. Day 1: Kathmandu (1,400 m).
  2. Day 2: fly to Lukla, walk to Phakding (2,610 m).
  3. Days 3 and 4: Namche Bazaar (3,440 m), with Day 4 an acclimatisation day and a hike to Hotel Everest View.
  4. Day 5: Tengboche (3,860 m).
  5. Days 6 and 7: Dingboche (4,410 m), with Day 7 an acclimatisation day and a hike up Nangkartsang Peak (5,083 m).
  6. Day 8: Lobuche (4,910 m).
  7. Day 9: Everest Base Camp, then the night at Gorak Shep (5,190 m).
  8. Day 10: Kala Patthar (5,555 m), then down to Pheriche (4,240 m).
  9. Days 11 and 12: Namche Bazaar, then Lukla (2,840 m).
  10. Day 13: fly to Kathmandu. Day 14: depart.
Namche Bazaar’s blue and green roofs spread across a hillside bowl, seen from above with an orange tent in the foreground
Namche Bazaar from the hill above the village, with a trekker’s tent in the foreground. Photo: Vyacheslav Argenberg, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 4.0.

The NHS says that above 3,000 metres you should try not to sleep more than 500 metres higher than the night before and take a rest day at the same altitude every 3 to 4 days; the Nepal Tourism Board gives 300 to 500 metres a day above 2,500 metres, with a rest day for every 1,000 metres gained. On Ace’s itinerary the nights climb 830 m from Phakding to Namche Bazaar and 550 m from Tengboche to Dingboche, each followed by an acclimatisation day.

When is the best time to trek to Everest Base Camp?

October and November, then March to May: the Nepal Tourism Board names these as the best seasons, with the clearest skies after the monsoon in October and November; December to February brings snow and June to September is the rainy season. Its Sagarmatha National Park page gives daytime temperatures of about 5 degrees Celsius in the snow season.

  • January and February: snow season; KE lists departures in both months.
  • March to May: a best season; Mountain Kingdoms’ 2026 itinerary listed departures on 18 March and 8 April, both now past; Alpine Ascents starts on 15 March 2027.
  • June to September: the rainy season; KE lists June departures.
  • October and November: a best season, with the clearest skies; most 2026 departures read fall here, from Exodus, Himalayan Glacier, Alpine Ramble Treks and Ian Taylor Trekking.
  • December: snow season; Mountain Kingdoms has a departure on 9 December 2026 and Ian Taylor Trekking’s 2026 calendar runs to 5 December.

Flights move in the busy months. Summit Air says that in the high seasons (March to April and October to December) all its Lukla flights are rerouted to Ramechhap, about four hours by road from Kathmandu; Ace the Himalaya says its flights leave from Manthali (Ramechhap) in March to May and September to November.

The painted entrance gate and red buildings of Tengboche Monastery under a blue sky, with snow peaks behind
Tengboche Monastery, with Everest, Lhotse and Ama Dablam behind, as the photographer names them. Photo: Rohit Sharma, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Is the Everest Base Camp trek worth it?

It depends on what you want from it: the trek crosses Sagarmatha National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1979, to Base Camp and up Kala Patthar in about two weeks; it is not the fit if you cannot accept basic standard teahouses, the altitude-sickness risk the FCDO names or Lukla flights that weather can hold up. The park was inscribed in 1979 (UNESCO). Seven of the 13 operators read give Base Camp as 5,364 m and all 13 itineraries climb Kala Patthar, which they put at 5,545 m to 5,675 m; no official figure for either was found.

  • The Nepal Tourism Board says a licensed guide is required. The Nepal Tourism Board lists the Everest Base Camp trek among routes where, since 31 March 2023, trekkers must be accompanied by a licensed guide and carry a TIMS card; the UK FCDO says independent trekkers must use a local guide or porter in national parks.
  • Standard teahouses are basic. Intrepid says teahouse toilets and washing facilities are shared and rudimentary; Himalayan Glacier says private bathrooms are mainly found at lower elevations.
  • Altitude is a risk. The FCDO calls altitude sickness a risk in Nepal’s trekking areas and says rapid helicopter evacuation may be difficult in remote areas.
  • Weather moves the flights. Intrepid and Exodus both publish a plan for when planes cannot fly to Lukla, with a helicopter at extra cost; Adventure Consultants builds in a spare weather day.
The dark summit pyramid of Mount Everest with a plume of cloud, above snow and ice ridges
Everest from Kala Patthar. Photo: Bijay Chaurasia, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.

What are the best alternatives to Intrepid for the Everest Base Camp trek?

For the same 15 to 16 days from a UK company with ATOL and ABTA numbers, Exodus (£2,335 land only, groups of up to 16) or KE Adventure Travel (from US$3,165, all meals included, it says); for a Kathmandu operator with published group rates, Ace the Himalaya (USD 1,500), Alpine Ramble Treks (from US$1,299) or Nepal Hiking Team (US$1,525); for a smaller group than Intrepid’s 16, Ian Taylor Trekking and Nepal Hiking Team (its FAQ) cap groups at 10 and Adventure Consultants, Himalayan Glacier, Mountain Kingdoms and Peregrine Treks at 12. Each is read on the same facts as Intrepid, in the cards above.

Who to contact first

Ask for quotes on the same dates from a Kathmandu operator that publishes group rates (Ace the Himalaya, Alpine Ramble Treks or Nepal Hiking Team) and a company selling from the UK with ATOL and ABTA or ABTOT numbers (Exodus, Intrepid, KE or Mountain Kingdoms). Ask each to itemise: the Lukla flights and whether they leave from Kathmandu or Ramechhap; the park, municipality and TIMS fees; meals on the trek; the guide’s licence and the number of guides and porters per trekker; the group size; what happens if flights are cancelled; the deposit, the balance date and what is refundable; the single supplement.

Questions people ask

How much does the Everest Base Camp trek cost in 2026?

Headline prices on the operators’ own pages on 19 October 2026: US$1,299 to US$1,850 with four Kathmandu-based operators, from £2,275 land only with Mountain Kingdoms, £2,335 with Exodus, US$5,700 with Adventure Consultants and $6,500 with Alpine Ascents. Group rates go lower. Add the visa, insurance, tips and international flights.

How much are the Everest Base Camp permits?

The Nepal Tourism Board gives NPR 3,000 per person per entry for Sagarmatha National Park and NPR 2,000 for the TIMS card. The Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee is NPR 3,000, according to Himal Press (July 2024) and Himalayan Glacier.

Do you need a guide for the Everest Base Camp trek?

The Nepal Tourism Board says yes: since 31 March 2023 trekkers on listed routes, the Everest Base Camp trek among them, must be accompanied by a licensed guide. The UK FCDO says independent trekkers must use a local guide or porter in national parks.

How long does the Everest Base Camp trek take?

Ten of the 13 trips read take 14 to 16 days from arrival in Kathmandu, with 11 or 12 days on trek where the operator says. Helicopter-return versions take 7 to 12 days.

Can you fly back from Everest Base Camp by helicopter?

Yes. Ace the Himalaya, Alpine Ramble Treks, Himalayan Glacier, Nepal Hiking Team and Peregrine Treks sell helicopter-return treks at US$2,300 to US$4,290; Air Dynasty Heli publishes a shared seat from Gorak Shep to Lukla at US$650.

Where do flights to Lukla leave from?

Kathmandu or Ramechhap (Manthali). Summit Air says that in the high seasons all its Lukla flights are rerouted to Ramechhap, about four hours by road from Kathmandu.

When is the best time to trek to Everest Base Camp?

October and November, then March to May, according to the Nepal Tourism Board. December to February brings snow and June to September is the rainy season.

How high is Everest Base Camp?

Seven of the 13 operators read give 5,364 m and Alpine Ascents about 17,600 feet; four give 5,140 m to 5,300 m and Exodus gives no figure for Base Camp on the pages read. They put Kala Patthar, which all 13 itineraries climb, at 5,545 m to 5,675 m. No official figure was found.

Is travel insurance required for the Everest Base Camp trek?

Himalayan Glacier says it is mandatory and must cover trekking to 6,000 m and helicopter evacuation; Ian Taylor Trekking calls helicopter evacuation cover compulsory. The FCDO says helicopter evacuation usually costs £1,000 to £2,000 or more per flying hour.

What are the best alternatives to Intrepid for Everest Base Camp?

Exodus or KE Adventure Travel for a UK company with ATOL and ABTA numbers; Ace the Himalaya, Alpine Ramble Treks or Nepal Hiking Team for a Kathmandu operator with published group rates; Ian Taylor Trekking or Nepal Hiking Team (its FAQ) for groups capped at 10; Adventure Consultants, Himalayan Glacier, Mountain Kingdoms or Peregrine Treks for 12.

This page gives no score and no ranking; operators are grouped by type and listed alphabetically in each group. The 13 are: the eight listed for this page in our article queue (Alpine Ascents International, Exodus, Furtenbach Adventures, Himalayan Glacier, Ian Taylor Trekking, Intrepid, Mountain Kingdoms and Nepal Hiking Team); four more that ChatGPT named in at least five of its 25 answers to five Everest and Nepal trek questions we put to it daily from 15 to 19 October 2026 (Ace the Himalaya, Adventure Consultants, Alpine Ramble Treks and Peregrine Treks); KE Adventure Travel, named in all five of its answers on alternatives to Intrepid. Dream Himalaya Adventures (six answers) and The Mountain Company (five), also named at least five times, were not read for this edition. No company on this page pays Uncompromised Travel. Sources, read 19 October 2026: each operator’s own pages and Trustpilot; the Nepal Tourism Board, UNESCO, the UK FCDO and the NHS; Summit Air and Air Dynasty Heli; Himal Press. Altitudes are the operators’ own figures. “Not stated” means what it says and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.