Head to head

Private Jet Membership Programs Compared: NetJets, Flexjet, VistaJet, Wheels Up & Sentient (2026)

Private Aviation · Access models · Updated 14 September 2026 · By Richard J.

Three of the five now publish a real number, and two still publish nothing. Sentient prints a full rate card — $183,100 for 25 hours, $7,324 an hour. Wheels Up states a $200,000 minimum deposit. VistaJet publishes an $11,000-an-hour charter reference, a 25-to-49-hour band and a 24-hour notice period, though not the Program price. NetJets and Flexjet publish neither price nor minimum. That spread is the most useful thing on this page, because an operator that shows you a number has decided you will compare before you enquire. Where the break-even sits is unchanged: below roughly 15 hours a year on-demand charter beats every card and share, and the line falls somewhere between 25 and 50 hours depending on your routes.

Start here: who shows you a number, and who does not

Re-read at each operator’s own site on 14 September 2026, and the picture has moved. Sentient publishes a complete rate card: SJ25 at $183,100 for 25 hours and $7,324 an hour, SJ25+ from $235,850 and $9,431, with fuel surcharge and federal excise tax stated as extra and guaranteed availability on ten hours’ notice. Wheels Up states a minimum $200,000 pre-paid deposit for its Signature membership, though not the monthly fee or the hourly rates. VistaJet publishes a charter reference from $11,000 an hour, a 25-to-49-hour band on VJ25 and a 24-hour notice period for guaranteed availability — but still not the Program’s price. NetJets and Flexjet publish nothing at all: both route you to a consultation.

That order is worth more than any single figure. An operator that prints a rate has concluded its buyer compares before enquiring; one that withholds it has concluded the salesperson owns that step. Neither is dishonest, but they are different businesses to shop, and the second demands a written quote before any comparison is even possible.

A worked example of why third-party figures rot

Wheels Up is the most-quoted programme online and the least reliably quoted. Figures still circulating in 2026 put its entry at around $17,500 initiation plus roughly $4,500 a year; others list $8,500 a year plus a $100,000 deposit, describing a structure revised in 2022. Both are dead. Wheels Up replaced its membership portfolio with Signature Membership in September 2025, whose published minimum is a $200,000 pre-paid deposit, and which the company said in its second-quarter 2026 results now covers more than 1,200 members and over half its active base. Any page still quoting the older numbers — and this one did until today — is quoting a product that no longer exists.

What each operator actually publishes

Re-read at each operator’s own site on 14 September 2026. Where a cell says “not published”, the operator does not disclose it publicly; where a figure appears, the operator prints it itself.
ProgrammeModelPublished by the operatorPositioningBest suited to
NetJetsNetJets Share (fractional or lease) and NetJets Card36-month minimum commitment on Share; up to 365 days annual travel access; 9 jet models. Pricing: not published. Note: NetJets curtailed new Card and lease sales from around 31 July 2026 to concentrate on shared ownership — a change it has not disclosed on its own siteFerry Waiver Program — owners “rarely incur ferry fees”, so ferry is charged and waived, not simply absentHeavy domestic flying where a missed departure is expensive — and, since July, owners rather than card buyers
FlexjetFractional share and jet card; Red Label dedicated-crew tierProgramme structure and fleet, and that the card suits those anticipating 25 hours a year. Pricing: not published — nothing at allNot published either way — get it in the contractCabin and crew quality over peak-day certainty
VistaJetProgram — a flight subscription with guaranteed fleet accessFleet spans Bombardier, Gulfstream, Cessna, Embraer and Dassault. Charter reference from $11,000/hour; VJ25 stated as 25–49 hours a year; 24 hours’ notice for guaranteed availability. Program price: not publishedThe Program's selling point; scope has to be confirmed against your own routesHeavy international and transoceanic patterns
Wheels UpMembership plus deposit, with Delta SkyMiles integrationSignature Membership, launched September 2025: minimum $200,000 pre-paid deposit, stated by Wheels Up. The monthly fee and hourly rates: not publishedChargedMid-market flying where a six-figure deposit is acceptable and guarantees are not the point
SentientJet card, aircraft sourced rather than ownedThe most transparent of the five. SJ25: $183,100 for 25 hours, $7,324/hour. SJ25+: from $235,850, from $9,431/hour. Fuel surcharge and federal excise tax stated as additional; guaranteed availability on 10 hours’ noticeInside the fixed rate, with fuel and FET called out as the exceptionsA first card, and the benchmark the other four should be made to beat in writing
Corrections made on 14 September 2026

Four, and the first is ours to own. Sentient does publish its rates, in full, on its own site. The August version of this page said its site “did not serve terms to us” and withdrew a figure on that basis — that was a failed fetch read as an absence, and it produced a false statement about an operator. The rate card is restored above. Wheels Up is 36.3% Delta-held, per Delta’s SEC filing of 2 June 2026, not the roughly 95% this page reported; 95% was the four-party 2023 consortium and is still repeated widely, including by specialist trade sources. VistaJet publishes a notice period and an hours band, which this page said it did not. And NetJets stopped selling new Cards and leases around 31 July 2026, which this page presented as a live product.

Memberships are sold on status. They only make sense on utilisation.

Every brochure sells the same dream: an aircraft that appears on a few hours' notice, forever. None leads with the break-even. Between deposits, dues, peak-day rules and hourly rates, a membership only beats on-demand charter once you fly roughly 25 to 50 hours a year on the right routes. Below that you are paying a large sum for a phone number. Above it, the right programme genuinely saves money and failure-proofs a calendar. The whole decision is knowing which side of that line you are on — and the line moves with how much empty repositioning your particular routes generate, which is why deadhead and repositioning fees deserve more attention than the headline hourly rate.

Pick by your hours — printed, no clicking required

The same logic the matcher below runs, written out so it can be read without JavaScript.
Genuine hours a yearThe modelWhy
Under 15On-demand charter — no programmeEvery deposit and due works against you. This is the right answer for most readers
15–25A jet card, at bestMarginal. Only commit if a written card quote beats a year of real charter quotes on your own routes
25–60A jet card with published rates, plus supplemental charterCard territory. Start with the one card that prints its rate and make the others beat it in writing; peak-day rules and positioning matter more than the headline
60–150, mostly domesticFractional share — NetJets or FlexjetGuaranteed lift and short call-outs start to earn the commitment. Budget for share depreciation
60+, mostly internationalA subscription such as VistaJet's ProgramAbsorbed positioning is worth most where empty legs are longest
150+Run the whole-ownership comparisonAt the fractional ceiling, ownership plus management deserves a proper look before any renewal

Which access model fits your flying?

Three questions against the five programmes — including the honest answer when no membership is worth it. The printed table above says the same thing.

Whatever the verdict, price your three most-flown city pairs as on-demand charter first. That number is the benchmark every programme has to beat — the arithmetic is in our jet card index and annual cost by hours.

A private jet parked on an airport tarmac with a ground support vehicle beside it under a clear sky
The aircraft is the easy part. What separates the five programmes is what happens when it is not where you are — which is a contract question, not an aviation one. Photo: Chris / Pexels.

The five, one honest paragraph each

NetJets — the utility company of the sky

The deepest fleet and the most institutional operation of the five. What it publishes is structural rather than financial: a 36-month minimum commitment on Share, up to 365 days of annual travel access, nine jet models, and a Ferry Waiver Program under which owners rarely incur ferry fees. Note the wording — ferry fees exist and are waived, which is not the same as a contract that never charges them. The material change since the summer is who NetJets will sell to: from around 31 July 2026 it curtailed new Card and lease sales to concentrate on shared ownership, with existing card holders able to renew and 25-hour lease holders able to convert. It has not said so anywhere on netjets.com, where the Card page still reads as openly purchasable, so treat any current NetJets Card quote as something to confirm before you plan around it. For heavy domestic flying where a missed departure costs real money, nothing else is as institutionally solid; expect substantial share depreciation over the term as the price of that.

Flexjet — the owner experience without owning

Red Label’s dedicated-crew model means the same people fly you — Flexjet’s own phrasing is that “a single, truly dedicated crew flies their dedicated tail number day after day” — which is the closest a fractional gets to a family-office feel, and the cabins are the strongest in the class. It is also, with NetJets, one of the two programmes here that publishes no figure of any kind: not a price, not a minimum, not a positioning policy. An earlier version of this page asserted that Flexjet charges positioning; that could not be sourced to Flexjet and has been withdrawn rather than repeated. Pick it over NetJets for comfort; pick NetJets for peak-day certainty. Either way, the cancellation and change terms deserve more scrutiny than the hourly rate.

VistaJet — the international case, if your routes justify it

A subscription with guaranteed access to the whole fleet, which now spans Bombardier, Gulfstream, Cessna, Embraer and Dassault rather than the Bombardier-only fleet it was once described as. The commercial logic is real: on transoceanic patterns, absorbing positioning inside the subscription can be worth six figures a year against per-leg ferry charges. The catch is narrower than it was: VistaJet now publishes the shape of the thing — VJ25 stated as 25 to 49 hours a year, 24 hours’ notice for guaranteed availability — but still not what the Program costs, so the value can only be established against your own route map rather than read off a page. Its published charter reference rate starts at $11,000 an hour, which is a useful anchor for nothing except how far above light-jet flying this sits.

Wheels Up — the low door, honestly framed

No longer the cheapest way into anything: Signature Membership, which replaced the old portfolio in September 2025, states a minimum $200,000 pre-paid deposit, and by the second quarter of 2026 Wheels Up said it covered more than 1,200 members and over half its active base. On ownership, the widely repeated “Delta owns about 95%” is wrong — that was the four-party consortium of September 2023, Delta with Certares, Knighthead and Cox Enterprises, after genuine distress. Delta’s own SEC filing of 2 June 2026 puts its holding at 36.3%, and its quarterly report calls it a 36% interest. Delta has not bought the rest; it extended its lock-up and co-lent into a 2026 term loan alongside Cox. The trade remains longer call-outs and a fleet built around smaller types. Right answer for mid-market hours if a six-figure deposit is acceptable; wrong answer if guaranteed peak-day lift is the point.

Sentient — the one that tells you the price

A jet card built on sourced aircraft rather than an owned fleet, and the only programme of the five that puts its rate card on its own website. SJ25 is $183,100 for twenty-five hours, $7,324 an hour; SJ25+ starts at $235,850 and $9,431, with guaranteed availability on ten hours’ notice. Fuel surcharge and federal excise tax are stated as additional, which is the honest version of “all-in” and exactly the clause to check on every rival card. Sentient sits inside Flexjet under Kenn Ricci’s Directional Aviation, which makes the contrast instructive: the same ownership publishes everything on one brand and nothing on the other. The August version of this page reported that Sentient’s site did not serve terms — it does, and that error is corrected here.

The 2026 entrant worth a line

flyExclusive launched Jet Club 2026 in April, built squarely against the opacity this page is about: all-in pricing with no fuel surcharge, federal excise tax included, no monthly membership fee, no taxi-time billing, and member rates locked for twenty-four months from deposit. It does not publish absolute rates either, so it is a structural answer rather than a transparent one — but a card that removes the fuel surcharge removes the single clause that most often makes a headline hourly rate meaningless. Worth a quote alongside the five if price certainty is what you are buying.

Before any deposit: the two checks the salespeople skip

Check one — price your actual routes on demand. Take your three most-flown city pairs, get real charter quotes for them, and multiply by your genuine annual trips. That number, not the brochure, is the benchmark every programme must beat once deposits, dues and depreciation are included. The hourly arithmetic by aircraft class is in our cost-per-hour guide, broken out for very light, midsize, super-midsize and ultra-long-range types, with the annual view in what 25, 50, 100 and 200 hours actually cost. Learn to read the quote itself before you compare any of them: how to read a charter quote and the hidden fees.

Check two — read the exits, not the entries. Peak-day definitions (how many days a year, and on whose calendar), fuel-adjustment clauses, change and cancellation windows, and share buyback formulas decide the real cost far more than the entry price does. Our jet card index runs the true cost-per-hour maths across the programmes, cancellation policies compared covers the change terms, and how to verify an operator matters most on the sourced-aircraft models where you are not always flying the brand on the invoice. If the flying is corporate rather than personal, the policy template and flight department benchmarks are the better starting point, and at genuinely high utilisation the buy-versus-charter crossover and management company comparison are the next conversations.

And if the ladder above put you in the charter column: that is most readers, it is the right answer more often than any programme admits, and empty-leg platforms and the empty-leg price index make it cheaper still on flexible dates — with the honest caveats in our empty-leg guide. Membership can wait until the hours justify it, and the deposit can stay invested until then.

On which of those legs is worth flying privately at all, our comparison of private jet versus first class cost and the honest read on whether first class is worth it are the two that change minds most often. On the ground side, the best US FBOs, the European equivalents and what actually makes a great FBO decide how much of the time saving survives the arrival.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to join a private jet membership programme in 2026?

It depends which of the five you ask, because three of them now tell you. Sentient publishes a full rate card: 183,100 US dollars for twenty-five hours, 7,324 an hour, with fuel surcharge and federal excise tax additional. Wheels Up states a minimum 200,000 US dollar pre-paid deposit for Signature membership. VistaJet publishes a charter reference from 11,000 US dollars an hour and a twenty-five to forty-nine hour band, but not the Program price. NetJets and Flexjet publish nothing at all and route you to a consultation. For those two, the figures that circulate come from third-party comparison services and brokers rather than the operators, and they disagree with each other, so treat them as an order of magnitude and insist on a written quote.

Which programme is best for under 25 hours a year?

Usually none. Below roughly 15 hours a year, on-demand charter is almost always cheaper than any card once deposits, dues and unused hours are counted. Between 15 and 25 hours the arithmetic is marginal and depends entirely on your routes: a card can win on repeated point-to-point flying and lose badly on one-way legs that need repositioning. Price your three most-flown city pairs as charter, multiply by your real annual trips, and only then compare a card against that number.

Is NetJets worth the premium over Flexjet or Wheels Up?

If your flying is heavy, domestic and schedule-critical, NetJets is the most bulletproof of the three — it publishes a 36-month minimum commitment on its Share programme, up to 365 days of annual travel access and nine jet models, and it operates a Ferry Waiver Program under which owners rarely incur ferry fees. One caveat that changes the question: from around 31 July 2026 NetJets curtailed new Card and lease sales to concentrate on shared ownership, a change it has not disclosed on its own site, so the realistic comparison for a new customer is now Share against the others rather than Card. If cabin and crew quality matter more than peak-day certainty, Flexjet's dedicated-crew model is the better experience. Wheels Up competes on Delta integration rather than on guarantees, and since September 2025 its Signature membership has carried a stated minimum 200,000 US dollar deposit.

Does NetJets still sell the Marquis Jet Card?

No. NetJets today presents two programmes, NetJets Share and NetJets Card. Marquis Jet was the separate company whose 25-hour card NetJets sold through and later absorbed; the Marquis name is no longer a current NetJets product, and pricing quoted under that label anywhere online is by definition out of date. If a broker quotes you a Marquis card in 2026, that is a signal about the broker.

What is VistaJet's no-repositioning model worth?

On international flying, a great deal — and VistaJet now publishes two of the three numbers you need: VJ25 is stated as twenty-five to forty-nine hours a year, with twenty-four hours' notice for guaranteed availability. It still does not publish what the Program costs, so the value has to be calculated against your own routes rather than read off a rate card. The principle is straightforward: competitors charge ferry time when the aircraft is not where you are, so on transoceanic patterns with long empty positioning legs, absorbing those costs inside a subscription can be worth six figures a year. Below heavy international use it rarely pays. VistaJet's fleet is no longer Bombardier-only; it now spans Bombardier, Gulfstream, Cessna, Embraer and Dassault types.

Who owns Wheels Up in 2026?

Delta Air Lines holds 36.3%, per its SEC filing of 2 June 2026, and describes it in its own quarterly report as a 36% interest. The widely repeated figure of roughly 95% refers to the September 2023 consortium — Delta together with Certares, Knighthead and Cox Enterprises — which took control after genuine financial distress; Delta alone has never held 95%, and it has not bought the rest, though it extended its lock-up in May 2026 and co-lent into a 2026 term loan alongside Cox. Membership was restructured in September 2025 into Signature, whose stated minimum is a 200,000 US dollar pre-paid deposit, which is why older initiation-fee and annual-dues figures still circulating are describing a product that no longer exists.

Do fractional shares lose money?

Yes, by design. A share is prepaid transportation with a residual value, not an investment, and the residual is set by a contractual buyback formula rather than by the market. Depreciation over a typical multi-year term is substantial and is disclosed in the documents. The question is not whether you lose value but whether the loss, plus dues and hourly rates, beats what the same flying would have cost on demand. If that arithmetic offends, stay with cards or charter, where the cost is visible per trip.

Should I commit to a membership or stay on demand?

Count your genuine hours for the last two years, not your hoped-for hours. Under 25, stay on demand and use empty legs. Between 25 and 60, a card or a Wheels Up style membership benchmarked against real charter quotes for your actual routes. Above 60, fractional or a subscription by route pattern. The break-even between charter and any programme sits roughly between 25 and 50 hours a year depending on how much repositioning your routes generate.

Method and sources. Every programme was re-read at its own site on 14 September 2026. Operator-published figures used here: NetJets’ 36-month minimum commitment, 365-day access, nine jet models and Ferry Waiver Program at netjets.com; VistaJet’s fleet composition, $11,000-an-hour charter reference, VJ25 band and 24-hour notice at vistajet.com; Sentient’s SJ25 and SJ25+ rate card at sentient.com; Wheels Up’s $200,000 Signature minimum from its own Signature Membership announcement and its second-quarter 2026 results. Flexjet publishes no figure and none is asserted for it. Two items are sourced to reporting rather than to the operator and are labelled as such in the text: NetJets’ curtailment of new Card and lease sales from around 31 July 2026, which NetJets has not published, and Wheels Up ownership, where Delta’s 36.3% is taken from its SEC filing of 2 June 2026 and its own quarterly report. The August version of this page stated that none of the five published pricing and that Sentient’s site did not serve terms; both were wrong and are corrected above. Where a figure cannot be read at source it is marked “not published” rather than estimated, and the assertion that Flexjet charges positioning has been withdrawn for the same reason. There is no paid placement on this page, and no charter operator is linked from it. Rankings are scored against published criteria. Partners are labelled.
Affiliate disclosure: this page contains affiliate links to GetTransfer and AirHelp — using them may earn us a commission at no cost to you, and neither is a private aviation programme. The five programmes assessed above are not linked, affiliated or paid, and nothing in the verdicts depends on commission. See our full disclosure.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.