Travel Intelligence · Michelin three-star guide 2026
By Richard J. · written from Valencia162 restaurants in 25 countries and territoriesVerified 24 September 2026
There are 162 three-Michelin-star restaurants in the world as of 24 September 2026, by the guide's own count: France has 30 (plus Le Louis XV in Monaco), Japan 20, Spain and the United States 16 each, Italy 15, Germany 12 and the United Kingdom 10, and Tokyo, with 11, has more than any other city. Below are all 162 by country and town, followed by the cities with the most, what 36 of them charge, how far ahead their books open, which take the longest to reach, and the promotions and losses of the past twelve months.
Verified 24 September 2026 · Michelin Guide listings for all 25 countries and territories · 2025-26 selection announcements · menus, prices and booking rules re-read at each restaurant's own site · euro figures at ECB reference rates of 23 September 2026
The Michelin Guide lists 162 three-star restaurants worldwide on 24 September 2026: 0.8 per cent of the 19,740 restaurants in its selection and 4.2 per cent of the 3,882 that hold at least one star. The guide's restaurant search shows 545 restaurants with two stars and 3,175 with one. Michelin describes three stars as its highest honour, for restaurants where "the cooking elevates the craft to an art form, with some dishes destined to become classics". Its inspectors, full-time employees who visit at lunch and dinner across the seasons, judge ingredient quality, harmony of flavours, mastery of technique, the chef's personality in the cooking and consistency across the menu and over time.
The table groups all 162 the way the guide publishes them, by country or territory, with each restaurant's town. Every restaurant name opens its location on Google Maps, and each count links to the Michelin listing or announcement it was taken from.

France's 30 are spread more widely than its capital suggests. Paris has nine and Marseille two, and the other 19 are in 19 different towns, from Menton on the Italian border to L'Herbaudière on the island of Noirmoutier. Japan's 20 are in three cities: Tokyo 11, Kyoto six and Osaka three. California holds ten of the 16 American three-stars, New York five and Chicago one. Italy's 15 are in 15 different towns, and Spain's 16 cluster in Barcelona (four) and the Basque Country (four: Akelaŕe and Arzak in San Sebastián, Martín Berasategui in Lasarte-Oria and Azurmendi in Larrabetzu). Counting Hong Kong's seven and Macau's two with the mainland's four gives China 13.
Girona has one, El Celler de Can Roca. For where to eat in the city beyond it, our Spanish-language Girona ranking scores 63 restaurants from 47,775 cross-checked Google, Tripadvisor and TheFork reviews, and puts El Celler de Can Roca first.
One chef's name is on three of the 162: Björn Frantzén, with Frantzén in Stockholm, Zén in Singapore and FZN in Dubai. No other chef's name appears on more than two. Pairs include Thomas Keller (The French Laundry and Per Se), Yannick Alléno (Alléno Paris and Le 1947 in Courchevel), Arnaud Donckele (Plénitude and La Vague d'Or), Alain Ducasse (Le Louis XV in Monaco and The Dorchester in London) and Pierre Gagnaire (his Paris restaurant and Sketch in London).
Three famous names are not among the 162. Noma in Copenhagen reopened on 5 August 2026 under executive head chef Pablo Soto and had said in May that it would not be part of this year's guide, as it had not been open long enough in 2026 (PBS NewsHour). Sukiyabashi Jiro and Sushi Saito in Tokyo have been outside the guide since the 2020 Tokyo edition because they do not take reservations from the public, and Michelin only lists restaurants anyone can book (Euronews).
Tokyo has the most three-star Michelin restaurants of any city, with 11 in September 2026, followed by Paris with nine, Hong Kong with seven, Kyoto and London with six each, New York with five, and Barcelona and San Francisco with four each. Tokyo also leads on stars overall: its 2026 selection, published on 24 September 2025, named 160 starred restaurants, which Michelin calls the highest number of any city in the world. It had 12 three-stars that day; Sézanne's listing was withdrawn in the spring after its chef left, which leaves 11.
| City | Three-stars | The restaurants |
|---|---|---|
| Tokyo | 11 | Azabu Kadowaki, Harutaka, Joël Robuchon, Kagurazaka Ishikawa, Kanda, L'Effervescence, L'Osier, Myojaku, Quintessence, RyuGin, Sazenka |
| Paris | 9 | Alléno Paris, Arpège, Épicure, Kei, Le Cinq, Le Gabriel, Le Pré Catelan, Pierre Gagnaire, Plénitude |
| Hong Kong | 7 | 8½ Otto e Mezzo Bombana, Amber, Caprice, Forum, Sushi Shikon, Ta Vie, T'ang Court |
| Kyoto | 6 | Gion Sasaki, Hyotei, Isshisoden Nakamura, Kikunoi Honten, Miyamaso, Mizai |
| London | 6 | Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester, Core by Clare Smyth, Hélène Darroze at The Connaught, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, Sketch (The Lecture Room and Library), The Ledbury |
| New York | 5 | Eleven Madison Park, Jungsik, Le Bernardin, Per Se, Sushi Sho |
| Barcelona | 4 | ABaC, Cocina Hermanos Torres, Disfrutar, Lasarte |
| San Francisco | 4 | Atelier Crenn, Benu, Californios, Quince |
| Osaka | 3 | Hajime, Kashiwaya Osaka Senriyama, Taian |
| Singapore | 3 | Les Amis, Odette, Zén |

Fourteen more towns and cities have two each: Baiersbronn, Bangkok, Beijing, Bray, Copenhagen, Dubai, Hamburg, Macau, Marseille, Munich, San Sebastián, São Paulo, Taipei and Vienna. Tokyo's count is the next likely to move: its 2026 selection appeared on 24 September 2025, so the next one could land within days of this update. For the city itself, our Tokyo Michelin guide and the Tokyo pre-arrival checklist cover neighbourhoods and logistics.
A three-star tasting menu costs from about €208 to €589 per person before drinks in September 2026, and 32 of the 36 menus checked for this guide cost between €280 and €450: Atrio in Cáceres charges €295, Osteria Francescana in Modena €350, The French Laundry $425 (about €372) and Geranium in Copenhagen DKK 4,400 (about €589), the highest. The lowest figure, Quintessence in Tokyo at ¥37,500, is before tax and a 10 per cent service charge; with tax it is ¥41,250. Every price below was read on the restaurant's own website or official booking page on 24 September 2026; euro figures use the European Central Bank's reference rates of 23 September 2026.
| Restaurant, city | Menu and price | In euros | Pairing and extras |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quintessence Tokyo | One course of 12 dishes, ¥37,500 before tax (¥41,250 with tax) | about €208 | 10% service charge added |
| Sühring Bangkok | Or Prestige, ฿9,800 | about €258 | Not stated on the menu |
| Maaemo Oslo | The Seasonal Menu, NOK 3,000 | about €278 | Pairing NOK 1,800 |
| Les Morainières Jongieux | Expérience, €280 (Découverte €220) | €280 | Pairing not published |
| Schloss Schauenstein Fürstenau | 3, 4 or 5 courses, CHF 266 / 298 / 318 | about €283–€339 | Wine pairing CHF 186; alcohol-free CHF 110 |
| Enclos Sonoma | Enclos Dining, $325 | about €285 | 20% service charge added |
| Kei Paris | Tasting, €290 (longer menus to €580) | €290 | Pairing not published |
| Atrio Cáceres | Menú Degustación Atrio, €295 | €295 | Pairing not published |
| Pic Valence | 7 courses €310; 10 courses €410 | €310–€410 | Pairings €120 to €540 |
| Quique Dacosta Dénia | Octavo, €315 | €315 | Pairing €165 or €215 |
| De Librije Zwolle | Librije's Menu, €319 (vegetable menu €299) | €319 | Pairing from €155 |
| Core by Clare Smyth London | Core Seasons, £275 (Core Classics £265) | about €320 | Pairing £175 |
| Eleven Madison Park New York | Full Tasting, $365 (5 courses $285) | about €320 | Gratuity not included |
| L'Enclume Cartmel | The L'Enclume Experience, £275 | about €320 | Pairing not published |
| Disfrutar Barcelona | Classic or Festival, €325 | €325 | Pairing €180 |
| Providence Los Angeles | Classic $375; Chef's Tasting $495 | about €329–€434 | Tax and gratuity extra |
| The Fat Duck Bray | Set menu, £285 to £365 by date | about €332–€425 | Full prepayment |
| Hiša Franko Kobarid | Euphorest, €335 | €335 | Pairing €190; alcohol-free €135 |
| The Waterside Inn Bray | Menu Exceptionnel, £290 | about €337 | Pairings from £195 |
| Odette Singapore | Épicure (dinner), S$498++ | about €341 | “++”: service charge and GST added |
| Addison San Diego | 10-course tasting, $398 | about €349 | Tax and service not stated |
| Azurmendi Larrabetzu | Gran Menú, €350 | €350 | Pairing €150 or €300 |
| Osteria Francescana Modena | Ho Fame! Ho Fame!, €350 | €350 | Pairing €240 |
| Benu San Francisco | Tasting menu, $425 | about €372 | 22% service charge added |
| Per Se New York | Chef's Tasting or Tasting of Vegetables, $425 | about €372 | $200 deposit, applied to the bill |
| The French Laundry Yountville | Dining Room, $425 | about €372 | Prepaid at booking; add-ons extra |
| Californios San Francisco | Chef's Tasting Menu, $450 | about €394 | Includes service and tax |
| Akelaŕe San Sebastián | Aranori or Bekarki, €395 | €395 | Pairing not published |
| Martín Berasategui Lasarte-Oria | Tasting menu, €395 | €395 | Pairing €210 |
| Zén Singapore | Dinner menu, S$620++ | about €425 | “++”: service charge and GST added |
| Somni West Hollywood | Chef's Counter, $495 | about €434 | Tax, service and drinks extra |
| Pierre Gagnaire Paris | Menu Pierre Gagnaire, €435 | €435 | Pairing €180 |
| Atelier Crenn San Francisco | Tasting menu, $498.15 | about €437 | Includes 20% service; 3% SF health surcharge extra |
| DiverXO Madrid | La Cocina de los Cerdos Voladores, €450 | €450 | Pairings €300, €600 or €900 |
| Mirazur Menton | Mirazur Universe, €450 | €450 | Pairings €350 to €950; prices from the restaurant's gift-voucher shop |
| Geranium Copenhagen | The Autumn Universe, DKK 4,400 | about €589 | Pairings from DKK 2,300; DKK 1,500 deposit |

Two things move the final bill. The first is how service is quoted: Californios includes service and tax in its $450, Atelier Crenn includes a 20 per cent service charge, while Benu adds 22 per cent to $425 and Enclos 20 per cent to $325; in Singapore, "++" means service charge and GST are added. The second is drink: pairings at the European restaurants checked run from €155 at De Librije to €240 at Osteria Francescana, and DiverXO's go up to €900. Lunch is the cheaper way in: Troisgros serves a €170 lunch menu on Thursdays and Fridays, Pierre Gagnaire a €190 lunch menu, Kei a €195 Discovery menu at Friday and Saturday lunch, and Le Petit Nice its Maldormé menu at €230. For good cooking at lower prices, our Bib Gourmand guide compares the guide's value tier with its stars.
Between one and eleven months: Eleven Madison Park and SingleThread release each month's tables on the 1st of the month before, Geranium and Quintessence open three months ahead, Mirazur about four, Osteria Francescana about six and El Celler de Can Roca up to eleven, at midnight on the 1st of each month. The twelve restaurants in the table publish their booking rules online, and most ask for a card guarantee, a deposit or the full price at booking. The rules below are the ones each restaurant states.
| Restaurant | When tables open | Deposit or prepayment | Cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|
| El Celler de Can Roca Girona | Up to 11 months ahead; each month opens at 00:00 CET on the 1st | Card guarantee, no prepayment | Free until 10 days before; €100 per person after that. Reconfirm 10 days ahead or the booking lapses |
| Osteria Francescana Modena | About six months ahead, on announced dates at 10:00 (April 2027 tables open on 1 October 2026) | €300 per person card hold, four days before | Free until 96 hours before; €300 per person after that |
| Mirazur Menton | Monthly, on a fixed Monday at 9:00 CET, about four months ahead (February 2027 opens on 5 October 2026) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Geranium Copenhagen | Up to three months ahead | DKK 1,500 deposit per guest | Not stated |
| Quintessence Tokyo | Up to three months ahead, online in English through OMAKASE | ¥390 booking fee per seat | 5 per cent of the charge at first, rising to 100 per cent on the day |
| The French Laundry Yountville | Monthly releases on Tock; the next is on 1 October 2026 at 5:00 pm local time | Full prepayment ($425 Dining Room) | Not stated in the FAQ |
| SingleThread Healdsburg | The 1st of each month at 9:00 am Pacific, for the following month; a room at the inn (three months ahead) guarantees a table | Full prepayment | No refunds; bookings can be transferred |
| Per Se New York | Release pattern not stated | $200 per person deposit, applied to the bill | Not stated |
| Eleven Madison Park New York | The 1st of each month, for the following month | Not stated | All sales final |
| Somni West Hollywood | One month ahead | Not stated | Full refund up to seven days before; none after |
| The Fat Duck Bray | Not stated | Full prepayment at booking | Forfeited inside seven days |
| L'Enclume Cartmel | First come, first served | Card guarantee | Full menu price charged inside seven days |
Book on the restaurant's own site or the platform it names, at the hour its tables are released, with the card you will pay with. Check the release rule first: El Celler de Can Roca opens at 00:00 CET, Mirazur at 9:00 CET, Osteria Francescana at 10:00 on dates it announces, and The French Laundry's next Tock release is at 5:00 pm Pacific time on 1 October 2026. Read the cancellation terms before paying: free cancellation ends ten days before the meal at El Celler de Can Roca and 96 hours before at Osteria Francescana, and SingleThread and Eleven Madison Park do not refund at all. In Japan, several three-stars now take bookings in English online: Quintessence through OMAKASE, and Kikunoi Honten through TABLE ALL and MY CONCIERGE; for the rest of a Kyoto trip, our sister site Things to Do Kyoto times the city's busiest temples by hour. Our guide to booking a three-star covers waiting lists, cancellations and when a concierge earns its fee.

The three-stars that take the longest to reach are in villages and valleys rather than cities: Hiša Franko in Kobarid is 1 hour 20 minutes by road from its nearest airport, Trieste; Troisgros in Ouches is 1 hour 30 minutes from Lyon-Saint-Exupéry; L'Enclume in Cartmel is about two hours from Manchester Airport by train; and Miyamaso is a ryokan that cooks with what is foraged from the satoyama, Kyoto's rural mountain country. These are the restaurants the guide's long-standing description of three stars, "worth a special journey", fits best. The table gives each one's own directions.
| Restaurant | Where | Getting there | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hiša Franko | Kobarid, Slovenia | Trieste airport 1 hour 20 minutes by road; Ljubljana and Venice Marco Polo about 2 hours; helicopter landing at the restaurant | Restaurant's travel page |
| Troisgros - Le Bois sans Feuilles | Ouches, France | Lyon-Saint-Exupéry airport 1 hour 30 minutes by road; Roanne station and Roanne airport about 10 minutes; Paris Gare de Lyon about 3 hours 30 minutes by TGV | Restaurant's access page |
| Flocons de Sel | Megève, France | Geneva airport 100 km (about 1 hour 15 minutes); Annecy airport 80 km; Sallanches station 15 km; Megève altiport 7 km | Restaurant's access page |
| L'Enclume | Cartmel, England | About 3 hours 30 minutes by train from London Euston, or about 2 hours from Manchester Airport, to Grange-over-Sands or Oxenholme; book the station taxi in advance | Restaurant's FAQ |
| Enclos | Sonoma, California | San Francisco and Oakland airports are both about 60 miles (100 km) south of Sonoma | Wikipedia: Sonoma |

Others ask for a similar effort: El Cenador de Amós in Villaverde de Pontones (Cantabria), Casa Marcial in Arriondas (Asturias), Reale in Castel di Sangro (Abruzzo), Schloss Schauenstein in Fürstenau (Graubünden), Restaurant Marcon in Saint-Bonnet-le-Froid, Les Prés d'Eugénie in Eugénie-les-Bains and Auberge du Vieux Puits in Fontjoncouse. Plan the return as carefully as the arrival: L'Enclume asks guests to book station taxis in advance, Flocons de Sel lists the Megève altiport 7 km away, and Hiša Franko can take a helicopter. The secondary airports that save hours and our comparison of luxury airport transfers cover the last stretch, and for the three-stars in wine country there is our guide to the best luxury wine lodge stays.
A third star is worth planning a trip around when three things hold: the chef whose cooking earned it is still in the kitchen, the restaurant has kept it through at least one new edition, and its menu suits the way you eat. The 2026 selections show why the first test matters. L'Ambroisie in Paris, three-starred since 1988, dropped to two stars in March 2026, months after founding chef Bernard Pacaud left. Sézanne in Tokyo lost its listing after chef Daniel Calvert's departure in April 2026 and is being re-inspected. Continuity can also hold: Épicure at Le Bristol kept its three stars after Arnaud Faye succeeded Éric Frechon in 2025, and De Librije in Zwolle kept its three in October 2025 after the death of co-founder Jonnie Boer that April, with head chef Nelson Tanate leading the kitchen.
The second test is time. Thirteen of the 162 were promoted in the past twelve months and have not yet been through a second edition at three stars. The third test is the menu. Most of the menus in the price table are fixed tasting menus, so dietary needs have to fit them, and some restaurants publish alternatives: Per Se offers a Tasting of Vegetables at the same $425 as its chef's menu, and De Librije a vegetable menu at €299. Eleven Madison Park, fully plant-based from 2021, put fish and meat back on its menu on 14 October 2025, while Arpège in Paris went the other way: since 21 July 2025 its cooking has been exclusively plant-based. Give allergies and restrictions when you book, not on the night.
1 · Book the hardest table first and build the route around it. Release rules set the order: El Celler de Can Roca opens up to eleven months ahead, Osteria Francescana about six, Mirazur about four, Geranium three and Eleven Madison Park one. Put the release times in a calendar: Mirazur's February 2027 tables open at 9:00 CET on 5 October 2026, and The French Laundry's next Tock release is at 5:00 pm Pacific time on 1 October 2026. Our lead-times guide covers booking windows for the rest of the trip.
2 · Eat at one three-star a day at most, and use lunch. Pic's menus run to seven or ten courses, which fills an afternoon or an evening. Lunch is also cheaper: €170 at Troisgros on Thursdays and Fridays, €190 at Pierre Gagnaire, €195 at Kei on Fridays and Saturdays. On pacing a trip across several countries, see slow travel against a multi-country trip.
3 · Arrange the ride back before you choose the wine pairing. Flocons de Sel is 100 km from Geneva airport, Troisgros 1 hour 30 minutes by road from Lyon-Saint-Exupéry, and L'Enclume asks guests to book station taxis in advance. Book the driver when you book the table. For the wider food and wine map, see the best foodie travel destinations of 2026 and the best wine regions.
Thirteen restaurants were promoted to three stars in the selections published between September 2025 and September 2026, including Brazil's first two, Evvai and Tuju, and Californios in San Francisco, the first Mexican restaurant with three stars; the best-known departures were Alinea, L'Ambroisie, Aqua and Sézanne. The table lists each change by date with its source. Next on the calendar is the Dubai selection, with its ceremony set for 6 October 2026 (Gulf News).
| Date | Selection | What changed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 24 Sep 2025 | Tokyo 2026 | Myojaku promoted. The selection named 12 three-stars and 160 starred restaurants in all. | Michelin Guide |
| 12 Nov 2025 | Chicago | Alinea, three-starred since the Chicago guide began in 2011, drops to two stars. Smyth is now the city's only three-star. | NBC Chicago |
| 19 Nov 2025 | New York | Sushi Sho promoted, giving New York five three-stars. | Michelin Guide |
| 20 Nov 2025 | Italy 2026 | La Rei Natura by Michelangelo Mammoliti, in Serralunga d'Alba, promoted. Italy has 15. | Michelin Guide |
| 25 Nov 2025 | Spain 2026 | All 16 Spanish three-stars kept; no promotions. | Michelin Guide |
| 27 Nov 2025 | Thailand 2026 | Sühring promoted, joining Sorn as Thailand's second three-star. | Michelin Guide |
| 9 Feb 2026 | Great Britain & Ireland 2026 | All ten three-stars kept. | Michelin Guide |
| 16 Mar 2026 | France 2026 | Les Morainières, in Jongieux, promoted. L'Ambroisie in Paris, three-starred since 1988, drops to two stars after founding chef Bernard Pacaud left in July 2025. | Sortiraparis |
| 19 Mar 2026 | Hong Kong & Macau 2026 | No change to the nine three-stars. | Michelin Guide |
| 21 Mar 2026 | Germany | Aqua in Wolfsburg, three-starred continuously since 2009, closes by its chef's choice. | Tageskarte |
| April 2026 | Rio de Janeiro & São Paulo 2026 | Evvai and Tuju, both in São Paulo, become Brazil's first three-star restaurants. | Wikipedia |
| April 2026 | Tokyo | Sézanne's listing is withdrawn after chef Daniel Calvert leaves; Michelin is re-evaluating it under the new team. Tokyo now has 11. | South China Morning Post |
| 22 Apr 2026 | Kyoto & Osaka 2026 | Miyamaso, a ryokan, promoted: the first new three-star in Kyoto and Osaka since the 2020 edition. Kyoto has six. | Michelin Guide |
| 1 Jun 2026 | Nordic Countries 2026 | Kadeau Copenhagen promoted, making six Nordic three-stars. | Michelin Guide |
| 24 Jun 2026 | California 2026 | Californios becomes the first Mexican restaurant in the world with three stars; Enclos in Sonoma is also promoted. California has ten. | Michelin Guide |
| 24 Jun 2026 | Germany 2026 | L.A. Jordan, in Deidesheim, promoted. Germany has 12. | Michelin Guide |
| 5 Aug 2026 | Copenhagen | Noma reopens under executive head chef Pablo Soto. It had said in May that it would not be part of this year's guide because it had not been open long enough in 2026. | PBS NewsHour |
| 2 Sep 2026 | Chengdu | Xin Rong Ji becomes Chengdu's first three-star restaurant. | Michelin Guide |
There are 162 three-star Michelin restaurants in the world as of 24 September 2026, according to the Michelin Guide's own restaurant listing. That is 0.8 per cent of the 19,740 restaurants in the guide's selection and 4.2 per cent of the 3,882 restaurants with at least one star. France has 30, Japan 20, Spain and the United States 16 each, and Italy 15.
France has the most three-star Michelin restaurants, with 30 in the 2026 guide, nine of them in Paris; Le Louis XV in Monaco adds one more to the same guide. Japan is second with 20, Spain and the United States have 16 each, Italy 15, Germany 12 and the United Kingdom 10. Counting Hong Kong and Macau with mainland China gives China 13.
Tokyo has the most three-star Michelin restaurants of any city, with 11 in September 2026, followed by Paris with nine, Hong Kong with seven, and Kyoto and London with six each. Tokyo's 2026 selection named 160 starred restaurants at all levels, which Michelin describes as the highest number of any city in the world.
Most three-star tasting menus cost between about €280 and €450 per person before drinks: 32 of the 36 menus checked for this guide on 24 September 2026 fall in that band. Atrio in Cáceres charges €295, Osteria Francescana in Modena €350, The French Laundry in California $425 (about €372) and Geranium in Copenhagen DKK 4,400 (about €589), the highest in the sample. Wine pairings at the European restaurants checked cost €155 to €240.
Between one and eleven months, depending on the restaurant. Eleven Madison Park and SingleThread release each month's tables on the 1st of the month before, Geranium and Quintessence in Tokyo open three months ahead, Mirazur about four months ahead, Osteria Francescana about six months ahead and El Celler de Can Roca up to eleven months ahead, at midnight CET on the 1st of each month.
Book on the restaurant's own website or the platform it names, at the time its tables are released, with a card ready for a guarantee, deposit or full prepayment. The French Laundry and Per Se sell tables on Tock, SingleThread on OpenTable and Quintessence in Tokyo on OMAKASE; El Celler de Can Roca, Osteria Francescana and Geranium use their own systems. Free cancellation ends ten days before the meal at El Celler de Can Roca and four days before at Osteria Francescana, while SingleThread and Eleven Madison Park do not refund at all.
Thirteen restaurants were promoted to three stars in the selections published between September 2025 and September 2026: Myojaku in Tokyo, Sushi Sho in New York, La Rei Natura by Michelangelo Mammoliti in Serralunga d'Alba, Sühring in Bangkok, Les Morainières in Jongieux, Evvai and Tuju in São Paulo, Miyamaso in Kyoto, Kadeau Copenhagen, Californios in San Francisco, Enclos in Sonoma, L.A. Jordan in Deidesheim and Xin Rong Ji in Chengdu.
The best-known departures from the three-star list in the 2026 cycle were L'Ambroisie in Paris, three-starred since 1988, which dropped to two stars in March 2026 after founding chef Bernard Pacaud left in 2025; Alinea in Chicago, which dropped to two stars on 12 November 2025; Aqua in Wolfsburg, which closed on 21 March 2026 after holding three stars since 2009; and Sézanne in Tokyo, whose listing was withdrawn after its chef left in April 2026 and which Michelin is re-evaluating.
Sukiyabashi Jiro in Tokyo has been outside the Michelin Guide since the 2020 Tokyo edition because it no longer takes reservations from the general public, and Michelin only lists restaurants that anyone can book. Sushi Saito left the guide for the same reason. Neither restaurant was removed for its cooking.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 16 May 2026 · rebuilt 24 September 2026 · facts re-verified 24 September 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.